Claims 19-38 are pending in this application.
DETAILED ACTION
1 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
3 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 19-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross et al. (WO 2018/053117 A1) in view of Wang Jeffrey (US 20170027832 A1).
Gross et al. (WO’ 117 A1) teaches a hair dyeing composition comprising at least two oxidative dye precursors comprising primary intermediates include 3-methoxymethyl-p-phenylenediamine that represents the claimed formula (I) (see page 15, line 31) and couplers include hydroxyethyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline represents the claimed formula (II) as claimed in claim 19 (see page 15, line 22), wherein the dyeing composition comprises oxidative dye precursors in the amounts of 0.2% to 12% as claimed in claims 20-21 (see 25, lines 27-29), wherein the dyeing composition also comprises fatty substances include liquid or non-liquid fatty substances comprises liquid petroleum jelly and non-liquid fatty alcohols as claimed in claims 26-29 (see page 7, line 20, 27-34 and page 10, lines 22 and 32-34), wherein the dyeing composition also comprises surfactants include nonionic surfactants as claimed in claims 30-32 (see page 19, lines 6-35) and wherein the dyeing composition also comprises sequestering agent as claimed in claim 33 (see page 21, lines 15-16) and alkalizing agents as claimed in claims 34-35 (see page 12, lines 15-27), wherein the dyeing composition also comprises oxidizing agents as claimed in claim 36 (see page 24, lines 10-11). Gross et al. (WO’ 117 A1) also teaches a method for dyeing hair and kits as claimed in claims 37 and 38 (see page 27, lines 20-34).
The instant claims differ from the teaching of Gross et al. (WO’ 117 A1) by reciting a dyeing composition comprising nonionic surfactant of alkyl(poly)glycoside.
However, Gross et al. (WO’ 117 A1) teaches a dyeing composition comprising nonionic surfactants (see page 19, lines 14-15).
Wang Jeffrey (US’ 832 A1) in analogous art of hair dyeing formulation, teach a dyeing composition comprising nonionic surfactants include alkyl glycosides having a formula (S)n-O-R wherein S is a sugar moiety such as glucose, fructose and galactose, n is an integer of 1 and R is an alkyl group of C8-C30 which is similar to the claimed formula as claimed in claims 19, 23-24 and 37-38 (see page 20, paragraph, 0365) and wherein the nonionic surfactant presents in the dyeing composition in an amount from about 1% to about 5% by wt., as claimed in claim 25 (see page 20, paragraph, 0369).
Therefore, in view of the teaching of Wang Jeffrey (US’ 832 A1), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to modify the dyeing composition of Gross et al. (WO’ 117 A1) by incorporating the nonionic surfactants of alkyl(poly)glycoside as taught by Wang Jeffrey (US’ 832 A1) to arrive at the claimed invention. Such a modification would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art based on the teaching of Gross et al. (WO’ 117 A1) that refers to use nonionic surfactants in a dyeing composition, and, thus, the person of the ordinary skill in the art would expect that the use of nonionic surfactants of alkyl(poly)glycoside as taught by Wang Jeffrey (US’ 832 A1) would be similarly useful and applicable to the analogous dyeing composition taught by Gross et al. (WO’ 117 A1), absent unexpected results.
With regards to the weight ratio between the oxidation bases and the couplers as recited in claim 22. Gross et al. (WO’ 117 A1) clearly teaches oxidative dye precursors include oxidation dyes and couplers in the amounts of 0.2% to 12% (see 25, lines 27-29). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the weight ratio between the oxidation bases and the couplers in the dyeing composition so as to get the maximum effective amounts of these dyeing ingredients in the dyeing composition. The person of ordinary skill in the art would expect such a dyeing composition to have the similar properties to those claimed, absent unexpected results.
Conclusion
/EISA B ELHILO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761