DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kito (JP 2013147645) in view of Hughes (US 5,705,565). As the JP reference is not in English, citations are made to the attached translation.
Kito teaches thermoplastic resin compositions comprising a polyamide, polyolefin, and compatibilizer (¶ 10) where examples of the polyamide include polyamide 6, polyamide 66, and polyamide 612 (¶ 16) which meets claim 3. Kito teaches the polyolefin includes propylene homopolymers (¶ 19) which meets claim 3. Kito teaches the compatibilizer is an elastomer such as an ethylene/alpha-olefin copolymer including ethylene-butene copolymers (¶ 22-23) which are modified by acid groups (¶ 26-27). Kito teaches the amount of polyolefin is preferably 40-70 mass%, the polyamide is preferably 15-30 mass%, (¶ 31) and the amount of compatibilizer is preferably 5-30 mass% (¶ 31). These amounts overlap the amounts in claim 1. Kito teaches the process of producing the composition includes melt kneading the composition (¶ 10, 66).
Kito teaches examples which include 30mass% polyamide11, 60mass% polypropylene, and 10 mass% maleic anhydride modified EBR (¶45-50). These amounts fall in the claimed ranges.
Kito does not explicitly recite the density of the compatibilizer.
However, Hughes teaches polymer compositions which have been graft modified with maleic anhydride (abstract) where these polymers impart compatibility and impact properties (abstract) and provides examples having a density of 0.87 g/cm3 (Table 15) which are used in polyamide/polyolefin compositions (col. 14, ln. 35-40). This density meets claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a modified polyolefin with a low density because it provides superior low temperature toughness which has commercial advantages (col. 17, ln. 48-59).
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kito (US 2014/0371394) in view of Hughes (US 5,705,565).
Kito teaches thermoplastic resin compositions comprising a polyamide, polyolefin, and compatibilizer (abstract) where examples of the polyamide include polyamide 6, polyamide 66, and polyamide 612 (¶ 21) which meets claim 3. Kito teaches the polyolefin includes propylene homopolymers (¶58) which meets claim 3. Kito teaches the compatibilizer is an elastomer such as an ethylene/alpha-olefin copolymer including ethylene-butene copolymers (¶ 25) which are modified by acid groups (abstract, ¶ 35). Kito teaches the amount of polyolefin is preferably 40-70 mass%, the polyamide is preferably 15-30 mass%, (¶ 79-81) and the amount of compatibilizer is preferably 5-30 mass% (¶ 79-81). These amounts overlap the amounts in claim 1. Kito teaches the process of producing the composition includes melt kneading the composition (abstract, ¶ 92).
Kito teaches examples which include 30mass% polyamide11, 60mass% polypropylene, and 10 mass% maleic anhydride modified EBR (¶ 174-179, Table 1). These amounts fall in the claimed ranges.
Kito does not explicitly recite the density of the compatibilizer.
However, Hughes teaches polymer compositions which have been graft modified with maleic anhydride (abstract) where these polymers impart compatibility and impact properties (abstract) and provides examples having a density of 0.87 g/cm3 (Table 15) which are used in polyamide/polyolefin compositions (col. 14, ln. 35-40). This density meets claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a modified polyolefin with a low density because it provides superior low temperature toughness which has commercial advantages (col. 17, ln. 48-59).
Conclusion
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764