DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ assertion-What is disclosed in the paragraphs [0021], [0023] and [0024] of Jung is that the amount of data to be transmitted through the link between the satellite (e.g. the gNB-DU 120 shown in Fig. 1 of Jung) and the base station (e.g. the gNB-CU 130 shown in Fig. 1 of Jung) is reduced only on a basis of the frequency usage rate between the user terminal (e.g. the UE 110 shown in Fig. 1 of Jung) and the satellite is low. Thus, Jung does not teach or suggest the combination of the [Feature X1] and [Feature X2] as recited in amended claim 1.-
While Jung does teach controlling the amount of data based on frequency usage that does not negate Examiner’s position that Jung teaches the limitations in question. Regarding Claim 10, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Jung teaches in Sections 0021, 0023, 0024 a controlled variable determiner that determines a control value for the transmission data controller to control the data amount of the waveform data generated by the first signal receiver at the relay apparatus position on a basis of information of the communication quality between the relay apparatus and the first communication apparatus at the relay apparatus position. Sections 0021, 0023, 0024 teach that the satellite conducts data compression, which can reduce the amount of data based on the frequency usage rate and noise level on the user-satellite link. There will thus be some kind of compression value for said compression. Jung also teaches in Sections 0021, 0023, 0024 wherein the transmission data controller controls the first signal receiver to generate, at a predetermined timing, waveform data of a waveform data amount larger than a waveform data amount corresponding to the information regarding the communication quality between the relay apparatus and the first communication apparatus at the relay apparatus position at the predetermined timing. The compression is dynamic and thus changes based on frequency usage rate and noise on the user-satellite link thus rendering a scenario wherein the compression is reduced at a particular time thus producing a larger amount of data. Jung further teaches in Sections 0021, 0023, 0024 the controlled variable determiner determines the control value corresponding to the relay apparatus position at the predetermined timing on a basis of the waveform data at the predetermined timing obtained by the second signal reception processor performing the reception processing of the second signal. The satellite conducts data compression, which can reduce the amount of data based on the frequency usage rate and noise level on the user-satellite link thus there will be some kind of compression value for said compression. The resulting adjusted data signal is then sent to the base station which will receive and process said signal. Jung therefore teaches the limitations in question.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9 – 11, 13, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (KR 20200051511).
Regarding Claim 1, Jung teaches a wireless communication system comprising a first communication apparatus, a second communication apparatus, and a moving relay apparatus, wherein the relay apparatus includes a first signal receiver that receives a wireless first signal transmitted by the first communication apparatus by a reception antenna, and acquires waveform data of the first signal received by the reception antenna (Section 0019, relay apparatus (satellite (120)) receives RF signals from the user terminal (110) and converts said RF signals to digital signals (Sections 0021, 0023), which are the waveforms), a second signal transmitter that transmits the waveform data acquired by the first signal receiver to the second communication apparatus by a second signal (satellite transmits signals to the base station (130) (Sections 0019, 0021)), and a transmission data controller that controls a data amount of the waveform data generated by the first signal receiver on a basis of information regarding communication quality between the relay apparatus and the first communication apparatus at a relay apparatus position where the first signal has been received (satellite conducts data compression, which can reduce the amount of data based on the frequency usage rate and noise level (Sections 0021, 0023, 0024)), and the second communication apparatus includes a second signal receiver that receives the second signal transmitted from the relay apparatus (base station receives the signal transmitted by the satellite (Section 0021)), a second signal reception processor that performs reception processing of the second signal received by the second signal receiver and acquires the waveform data (Section 0021, typical base stations comprise front end receivers that receive signals, downconverters that downcovert signals, and demodulators that acquire the data signals off of the carrier, and processors the process the acquired data) and a first signal reception processor that performs reception processing of the first signal indicated by the waveform data acquired by the second signal reception processor, and acquires data set to the first signal by the first communication apparatus (Section 0021, typical base stations comprise front end receivers that receive signals, downconverters that downcovert signals, and demodulators that acquire the data signals off of the carrier, and processors the process the acquired data, this acquired data is data from the signal transmitted by the user terminal (110) to the satellite) and a controlled variable determiner that determines a control value for the transmission data controller to control the data amount of the waveform data generated by the first signal receiver at the relay apparatus position on a basis of information of the communication quality between the relay apparatus and the first communication apparatus at the relay apparatus position (satellite conducts data compression, which can reduce the amount of data based on the frequency usage rate and noise level (Sections 0021, 0023, 0024), there will be some kind of compression value for said compression), wherein the transmission data controller controls the first signal receiver to generate, at a predetermined timing, waveform data of a waveform data amount larger than a waveform data amount corresponding to the information regarding the communication quality between the relay apparatus and the first communication apparatus at the relay apparatus position at the predetermined timing (the compression is dynamic and thus changes based on frequency usage rate and noise (Sections 0021, 0023, 0024) thus rendering a scenario wherein the compression is reduced at a particular time thus producing a larger amount of data), and the controlled variable determiner determines the control value corresponding to the relay apparatus position at the predetermined timing on a basis of the waveform data at the predetermined timing obtained by the second signal reception processor performing the reception processing of the second signal (satellite conducts data compression, which can reduce the amount of data based on the frequency usage rate and noise level (Sections 0021, 0023, 0024), there will be some kind of compression value for said compression).
Regarding Claims 7, 21, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 2. Jung further teaches wherein the information regarding the communication quality is information of an interference signal measured by a measurement apparatus (Section 0024, noise is a form of interference).
Regarding Claim 9, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Jung further teaches wherein the second communication apparatus further includes an instructor that instructs the relay apparatus to increase the data amount of the waveform data when a decrease in the communication quality is detected during the reception processing in the first signal reception processor (reduce data amount when correlation is high (Section 0026) therefore there will be an increase data amount when correlation is low).
Regarding Claim 10, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Jung further teaches
Regarding Claim 11, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 10. Jung further teaches
Regarding Claim 13, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Jung further teaches wherein the relay apparatus is provided in a flying object (Section 0019, satellite).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 16, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 20200051511) in view of Michaels (US 2018/0241464)
Regarding Claim 15, Jung teaches a relay apparatus in a wireless communication system including a first communication apparatus, a second communication apparatus, and a moving relay apparatus, the relay apparatus comprising: a first signal receiver that receives a wireless first signal transmitted by the first communication apparatus by a reception antenna, and acquires waveform data of the first signal received by the reception antenna (Section 0019, relay apparatus (satellite (120)) receives RF signals from the user terminal (110) and converts said RF signals to digital signals (Sections 0021, 0023), which are the waveforms, typical satellites comprise antennas for receiving and transmitting signals); a second signal transmitter that transmits the waveform data acquired by the first signal receiver to the second communication apparatus by a second signal (satellite transmits signals to the base station (130) (Sections 0019, 0021)); and a transmission data controller that controls a data amount of the waveform data generated by the first signal receiver on a basis of information regarding communication quality between the relay apparatus and the first communication apparatus at a relay apparatus position where the first signal has been received (satellite conducts data compression, which can reduce the amount of data based on the frequency usage rate and noise level (Sections 0021, 0023, 0024)), a controlled variable receiver that receives, from the second communication apparatus, a control value for the transmission data controller to control the data amount of the waveform data generated by the first signal receiver at the relay apparatus position, the control value being determined on a basis of information of the communication quality between the relay apparatus and the first communication apparatus at the relay apparatus position (satellite conducts data compression, which can reduce the amount of data based on the frequency usage rate and noise level (Sections 0021, 0023, 0024), there will be some kind of compression value for said compression), wherein the transmission data controller controls the first signal receiver to generate, at a predetermined timing, waveform data of a waveform data amount larger than a waveform data amount corresponding to the information regarding the communication quality between the relay apparatus and the first communication apparatus at the relay apparatus position at the predetermined timing (the compression is dynamic and thus changes based on frequency usage rate and noise (Sections 0021, 0023, 0024) thus rendering a scenario wherein the compression is reduced at a particular time thus producing a larger amount of data).
Jung does not teach the control value corresponding to the relay apparatus position at the predetermined timing is determined on a basis of the waveform data at the predetermined timing obtained by performing a reception processing of the second signal by the second communication apparatus.
Michaels, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches the control value corresponding to the relay apparatus position at the predetermined timing is determined on a basis of the waveform data at the predetermined timing obtained by performing a reception processing of the second signal by a communication apparatus (Section 0041, the compressed data is received by the satellite via an uplink from a ground communication device, the compressed data information is the control value, said compressed data is forwarded to another satellite via and inter-satellite link).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jung with above features of Michaels for the purpose of extending geographic coverage to under-served areas while preserving investments in mobile user equipment, network infrastructure and spectrum licenses as taught by Michaels.
Regarding Claim 16, Jung teaches a wireless communication method executed by a wireless communication system including a first communication apparatus, a second communication apparatus, and a moving relay apparatus, the wireless communication method comprising: a first signal reception step of receiving, by the relay apparatus, a wireless first signal transmitted by the first communication apparatus by a reception antenna, and acquiring, by the relay apparatus, waveform data of the first signal received by the reception antenna (Section 0019, relay apparatus (satellite (120)) receives RF signals from the user terminal (110) and converts said RF signals to digital signals (Sections 0021, 0023), which are the waveforms); a second signal transmitting step of transmitting, by the relay apparatus, the waveform data acquired in the first signal reception step acquired by the relay apparatus to the second communication apparatus by a second signal (satellite transmits signals to the base station (130) (Sections 0019, 0021)); a transmission data control step of controlling, by the relay apparatus, a data amount of the waveform data generated in the first signal reception step acquired by the relay apparatus on a basis of information regarding communication quality between the relay apparatus and the first communication apparatus at a relay apparatus position where the first signal has been received (satellite conducts data compression, which can reduce the amount of data based on the frequency usage rate and noise level (Sections 0021, 0023, 0024)); a second signal reception step of receiving, by the second communication apparatus, the second signal transmitted from the relay apparatus (base station receives the signal transmitted by the satellite (Section 0021)); a second signal reception processing step of performing, by the second communication apparatus, reception processing of the second signal received in the second signal reception step and acquiring, by the second communication apparatus, the waveform data (Section 0021, typical base stations comprise front end receivers that receive signals, downconverters that downcovert signals, and demodulators that acquire the data signals off of the carrier, and processors the process the acquired data); and a first signal reception processing step of performing, by the second communication apparatus, reception processing of the first signal indicated by the waveform data acquired in the second signal reception processing step by the second communication apparatus, and acquiring data set to the first signal by the first communication apparatus (Section 0021, typical base stations comprise front end receivers that receive signals, downconverters that downcovert signals, and demodulators that acquire the data signals off of the carrier, and processors the process the acquired data, this acquired data is data from the signal transmitted by the user terminal (110) to the satellite) and a control value for the relay apparatus to control the data amount of the waveform data generated by the relay apparatus at the relay apparatus position on a basis of information of the communication quality between the relay apparatus and the first communication apparatus at the relay apparatus position (satellite conducts data compression, which can reduce the amount of data based on the frequency usage rate and noise level (Sections 0021, 0023, 0024), there will be some kind of compression value for said compression), wherein the relay apparatus controls the relay apparatus to generate, at a predetermined timing, waveform data of a waveform data amount larger than a waveform data amount corresponding to the information regarding the communication quality between the relay apparatus and the first communication apparatus at the relay apparatus position at the predetermined timing (the compression is dynamic and thus changes based on frequency usage rate and noise (Sections 0021, 0023, 0024) thus rendering a scenario wherein the compression is reduced at a particular time thus producing a larger amount of data).
Jung does not teach determining, by the second communication apparatus, a control value for the relay apparatus to control the data amount of the waveform data generated by the relay apparatus at the relay apparatus position on a basis of information of the communication quality between the relay apparatus and the first communication apparatus at the relay apparatus position, the second communication apparatus determines the control value corresponding to the relay apparatus position at the predetermined timing on a basis of the waveform data at the predetermined timing obtained by the second communication apparatus performing the reception processing of the second signal.
Michaels, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches determining, by the second communication apparatus, a control value for the relay apparatus to control the data amount of the waveform data (Section 0041, the compressed data is received by the satellite via an uplink from a ground communication device, the compressed data information is the control value, said compressed data is forwarded to another satellite via and inter-satellite link), a communication apparatus determines the control value corresponding to the relay apparatus position at the predetermined timing on a basis of the waveform data at the predetermined timing obtained by the second communication apparatus performing the reception processing of the second signal (Section 0041, the compressed data is received by the satellite via an uplink from a ground communication device, the compressed data information is the control value, said compressed data is forwarded to another satellite via and inter-satellite link).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jung with above features of Michaels for the purpose of extending geographic coverage to under-served areas while preserving investments in mobile user equipment, network infrastructure and spectrum licenses as taught by Michaels.
Regarding Claim 23, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Jung does not teach wherein the second communication apparatus further comprises a transmitter that transmits, to the relay apparatus, information regarding the control value determined by the controlled variable determiner.
Michaels, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches wherein the second communication apparatus further comprises a transmitter that transmits, to the relay apparatus, information regarding the control value determined by the controlled variable determiner (Section 0041, the compressed data is received by the satellite via an uplink from a ground communication device, the compressed data information the control value, said compressed data is forwarded to another satellite via and inter-satellite link).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jung with above features of Michaels for the purpose of extending geographic coverage to under-served areas while preserving investments in mobile user equipment, network infrastructure and spectrum licenses as taught by Michaels.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 20200051511) in view of Guo et al. (US 9,135,723)
Regarding Claim 2, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Jung further teaches wherein the transmission data controller controls the data amount of the waveform data generated by the first signal receiver by changing a quantization level used for generating the waveform data (Section 0027, quantization level).
Jung does not teach changing a quantization bit number used for generating the waveform data.
Guo, which also teaches the use of quantization, teaches changing a quantization bit number (Col. 11 lines 18 – 24, quantization level bits thus there will be a quantization bit number).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jung with the above features of Guo for the purpose of providing efficient visually lossless compression thereby reducing the memory require to store images while maintaining the quality of the image for further processing as taught by Guo.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 20200051511) in view of Barbieri et al. (US 2019/0208575)
Regarding Claim 3, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Jung does not teach wherein the transmission data controller controls the data amount of the waveform data generated by the first signal receiver by increasing or decreasing a number of the reception antennas from which the waveform data is obtained among a plurality of the reception antennas.
Jung teaches the base process of wherein the transmission data controller controls the data amount of the waveform data generated by the first signal receiver, which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that the transmission data controller controls the data amount of the waveform data generated by the first signal receiver by increasing or decreasing a number of the reception antennas from which the waveform data is obtained among a plurality of the reception antennas
Barbieri teaches the known technique wherein the transmission data controller controls the data amount of the waveform data generated by the first signal receiver by increasing or decreasing a number of the reception antennas from which the waveform data is obtained among a plurality of the reception antennas (compression can be based on the number of antennas (Section 0066, 0102)) that is applicable to the base process of Jung.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base process of Jung with the above features of Barbieri for the purpose of providing a more efficient use of compression as taught by Barbieri.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 20200051511) in view of Barbieri et al. (US 2019/0208575) and in further view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0155378)
Regarding Claim 4, Jung in view of Barbieri teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 3. Jung in view of Barbieri does not teach wherein the transmission data controller selects the reception antenna from which the waveform data of the first signal is obtained in such a manner that a distance between selected reception antennas increases.
Kim, which also teaches a satellite system, teaches wherein the transmission data controller selects the reception antenna from which the waveform data of the first signal is obtained in such a manner that a distance between selected reception antennas increases (Figure 1, Section 0076, different antenna feed groups can be selected thus rendering feed group 130 and feed group 110 whose antennas have an increased distance, typical satellite antennas that communicate with UEs can transmit and receive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jung in view of Barbieri with the above features of Kim for the purpose of providing multiuser diversity gain as taught by Kim.
Claim(s) 5, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 20200051511) in view of Dankberg (US 8,712,321)
Regarding Claims 5, 19, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 2. Jung does not teach wherein the information regarding the communication quality is information of an elevation angle from a predetermined position in an area where the first communication apparatus that communicates with the relay apparatus is installed to the relay apparatus position, or information of a population density of an area where the first communication apparatus that communicates with the relay apparatus is installed.
Dankberg, which also teaches a satellite system, teaches wherein the information regarding the communication quality is information of an elevation angle from a predetermined position in an area where the first communication apparatus that communicates with the relay apparatus is installed to the relay apparatus position, or information of a population density of an area where the first communication apparatus that communicates with the relay apparatus is installed (Col. 8 lines 42 – 63, increasing capacity reads on increasing the amount of data at a higher density location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jung with the above features of Dankberg for the purpose of effectively meeting communication demand of a targeted area as taught by Dankberg.
Regarding Claim 14, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Jung further teaches wherein the relay apparatus is provided in a low earth orbiting satellite, and the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus are installed on the earth (Section 0019, satellite, user terminal, and base station).
Jung does not teach a low earth orbiting satellite
Dankberg, which also teaches a satellite system, teaches a low earth orbiting satellite (Col. 6 lines 4 – 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jung with the above features of Dankberg for the purpose of effectively meeting communication demand of a targeted area as taught by Dankberg.
Claim(s) 6, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 20200051511) in view of Iyer et al. (US 11,792,832)
Regarding Claims 6, 20, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 2. Jung further teaches wherein the information regarding the communication quality is information of reception quality of a first signal obtained when the first signal received by the reception antenna is subjected to the reception processing in the first signal reception processor (Section 0024, noise level of the received signal is the communication and reception quality).
Jung does not teach wherein the information regarding the communication quality is information of reception quality of a first signal obtained when the first signal received by the reception antenna in a past is subjected to the reception processing in the first signal reception processor.
Iyer, which also teaches a satellite system, teaches wherein the information regarding the communication quality is information of reception quality of a first signal obtained when the first signal received by the reception antenna in a past is subjected to the reception processing in the first signal reception processor (Col. 3 lines 39 – 50, previous uplink SNR, which comprises noise, also SNR is measure of quality).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jung with the above features of Iyer for the purpose of providing adaptive coding modulation that is targeted to give each terminal the highest possible data rate that the link will support at those individual terminals, while preserving some operating margin to accommodate short-term fluctuations as taught by Iyer.
Claim(s) 8, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 20200051511) in view of Tronc et al. (US 2014/0321358)
Regarding Claims 8, 22, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 2. Jung does not teach wherein the information regarding the communication quality is one or both of a number of the first communication apparatuses estimated on a basis of the first signal received by each of the plurality of reception antennas and an arrival direction of the first signal.
Tronc, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches wherein the information regarding the communication quality is one or both of a number of the first communication apparatuses estimated on a basis of the first signal received by each of the plurality of reception antennas and an arrival direction of the first signal (Section 0107, interference based on direction of arrival).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jung with the above features of Tronc for the purpose of controlling the interference experienced by the satellite when a satellite frequency channel is used by a terrestrial network as taught by Tronc.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 20200051511) in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0155378)
Regarding Claim 12, Jung teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Jung further teaches wherein the second signal transmitter transmits the wireless second signal using at least one transmission antenna (Sections 0021, 0023, 0024, satellite will have at least one antenna that transmits the compressed data to the base station and that corresponds to said compressed data), and the relay apparatus further includes a transmission antenna controller that controls the second signal transmitter to transmit the second signal using the transmission antenna corresponding to the data amount of the waveform data transmitted by the second signal (Sections 0021, 0023, 0024, satellite will have at least one antenna that transmits the compressed data to the base station and that corresponds to said compressed data).
Jung does not teach using a plurality of transmission antennas and using the transmission antennas of a number of transmission antennas.
Kim, which also teaches a satellite system, teaches using a plurality of transmission antennas and using the transmission antennas of a number of transmission antennas (Figure 1, Section 0035, plurality of antennas).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jung with the above features of Kim for the purpose of providing multiuser diversity gain as taught by Kim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND S DEAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
April 24, 2026