A9DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/16/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite optional steps (claim 1) and a choice of additives in the alternative (claim 5). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. [See MPEP 2111.04].
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “neemcake” in line 8 should read “neem cake” as two words.
The term “terraole” in line 9 should read “Terrazole” which is the trade name for 5-ethoxy-3- trichloromethyl-1,2,4-thiadiazol
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is incomplete for omitting the step of adding an additive. The preamble recites a composition comprising “urea and an additive” but there is no step of adding an additive to the urea-based composition. Lines 19-22 in claim 1 describe adding the additive to the “effluent gas treatment section” or the “scrubber solution storage section”. The claim fails to teach any recycling or returning of the additive to the urea-containing composition. For the purposes of examination, the (iv) and (v) steps of the claims are presented as optional (e.g. the limitations following “optionally” in line 13 are not required). See MPEP § 2172.01.
Claim 1 defines the limitation “urea melt” in step (i), step (ii) describes “urea or urea-based melt”, step (iv) describes producing a “urea-based melt” from “the urea melt” and step iv) recites "urea or urea-based composition". It is unclear what these terms define and how they relate to one another.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "urea particles" in line 3. Claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, recites “urea-based dust particles” but does not define “urea particles”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "[…] and derivatives and salts thereof" in the last line. This limitation leaves the scope of the claim as open-ended because a “derivative” can include any structurally distinct composition not described by the specification.
In regard to claims 8 and 15, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 11 and 21 recite the limitation "the alkaline-forming or alkaline compound" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination this limitation is interpreted as "the alkaline-forming or alkaline inorganic compound".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gabrielson et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2017/0247297 A9).
In regard to claim 1, Gabrielson et al. disclose a method for the manufacture of a homogeneous, solid, particulate, urea-based composition (e.g. homogenous granular urea-based fertilizer) [0201] comprising urea and an additive [0203], in a urea production plant comprising at least an evaporator section (23) [0191] and a particulation section (e.g. granulator) [0197], further comprising at least one of a mixing section (e.g. mix tank 25) [0212] and an effluent gas treatment section (e.g. scrubbing unit) [0163] wherein the method comprises at least the steps of:
concentrating in the evaporator section-concentrating a urea melt to 95 to 99 weight% of urea (e.g. the molten urea is concentrated by evaporation to reduce the water to 5%, 4.5%, 4%, 3.5%, 3%, 2.5%, 2%, 1.5%, or 1%) [0048];
particulating in the particulation section (e.g. granules produced in a standard granulator) [0160] a urea or urea-based melt into a homogeneous (e.g. the nitrogen stabilizer composition is homogenous within the solid urea composition) [0111], solid, particulate, urea-based composition (e.g. to form urea-based granules) [0160], thereby producing an effluent gas comprising urea-based dust particles and ammonia gas (e.g. a scrubbing unit to capture dust from the granulation process; to capture ammonia and basic impurities) [0163-0164];
treating in the effluent gas treatment section the effluent gas from the particulation section comprising urea-based dust particles and ammonia gas (e.g. scrubbing unit to capture ammonia and basic impurities) with an aqueous solution to produce a scrubber solution (e.g. acid treatment) [0164];
wherein steps (iv) and (v) are optional and not required to be performed.
In regard to claim 2-3, steps (iv) and (v) are optional limitations and therefore the steps recited in claims 2 and 3 are contingent limitations and are therefore not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not required to be met.
In regard to claim 4, Gabrielson et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the particulation section is selected from the group consisting of fluidized bed granulator or drum granulator [0160].
In regard to claims 5-7 and 18, Gabrielson et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the additive is a phosphoric triamide urease inhibitor - N-(n-butyl) thiophosphoric triamide (NBPT) [0103], wherein the urease inhibitor is present an amount of about 0.1% by weight [0060].
In regard to claims 5, 8-9 and 19, Gabrielson et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the additive is a nitrification inhibitor – dicyandiamide (DCD) [0055], wherein the nitrification inhibitor is present in an amount between about 0.03% and about 3.0% by weight [0058].
In regard to claims 10-14 and 20-23, Gabrielson et al. disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein the additive is at least one of a phosphoric triamide urea inhibitor and/or a nitrification inhibitor (see rejection of claim 5 above). The claim does not require, in addition to these inhibitors, the components further defined in the present claims.
In regard to claim 15, Gabrielson et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the solid, solid, particulate, urea-based composition further comprises mono- ammonium phosphate (MAP) or di-ammonium phosphate (DAP) [clm. 11].
In regard to claim 16, Gabrielson et al. disclose the method according to claim 15, wherein the solid, particulate, urea- based composition comprises from about 40 to 99 weight% of urea (e.g. the amount of the urea in the urea-nitrogen stabilizer composition is at least about 60 wt. %, about 70 wt. % about 80 wt. % about 90 wt. %, about 91 wt. %, about 92 wt. %, about 93 wt. %, about 94 wt. %, about 95 wt. %, about 96 wt. %, about 97 wt. %, about 98 wt. %, or about 99 wt. %. by weight of the total weight of the urea-nitrogen stabilizer composition) [0047].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18/265,351 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application being examined is directed to a species or sub-genus covered by the generic claim in the conflicting application and can be said to “anticipate” the examined claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kuttenkuler (US-20190256432-A1) describes a method for recovering and reusing compounds from a waste stream of an enhanced efficiency urea finishing facility including collecting a liquid waste stream from a scrubber designed to purify waste air stream [0009].
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 December 12, 2025