DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is responsive to amendments and remarks filed on 7/31/2026.
No claims have been amended.
Claims 2 and 10 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3-9 and 11-16 are currently pending, claims 13-14 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/09/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The examiner notes that in the first page of the remarks dated 7/31/2026 the applicant indicated that the claims have been amended. None of the claims are presently amended and this will be understood to be a typographical error.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments appear to center around the composition of the binder as well as the additives in the binder of the instantly claimed invention. The argument in essence is that DURSTOCK uses PVDF as a binder in example 1 and graphite as a conductive additive and that the applicant adds the graphite directly into the active material and uses CMC and SBR as the binder. The applicant fails to explain how this would have any effect on the instantly claimed physical properties, namely the values of Rs and ρv. While the examiner concedes that there is a possibility that the composition of the binder may affect these physical property values, there is nowhere in the claims where the binder is mentioned or claimed as a part of the instant invention. If the composition of the binder is critical to the applicant’s arguments and supporting data, then the claims must be commensurate in scope with the data. If the applicant wishes to pursue this argument further, or an argument of a product by process for that matter, the claims must capture the essence as to why the physical property of the electrode is not anticipated by, or obvious over the prior art. The examiner would also like to point out that DURSTOCK [0114] discloses that “Appropriate examples of the binder 83 may include PVDF, polyvinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene (“PVDF-HFP”), polytetrafluoroethylene (“PTFE”), styrene-butadiene rubber (“SBR”), carboxymethyl cellulose (“CMC”), and so forth.”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the binder and its composition) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 20170373284 A1, DURSTOCK et al.
Regarding claims 1, 3-7, 9 and 11. DURSTOCK [0017] discloses a negative electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising
[0146] a negative-electrode mixture layer containing a negative-electrode active material on the surface of a current collector which also satisfies the limitations in claim 3, wherein
[0146] the negative-electrode mixture layer on one surface of the current collector has a thickness of 35 μm or more and less than 50 μm,
DURSTOCK [0146] discloses that the samples are coated on the foil in a range of 50-60 µm and is thereby obvious over and anticipating the claimed instant range of 35-50 µm in claim 1 and the limitations of claim 4 which is under 100µm.
DURSTOCK does not explicitly disclose the physical properties of Rs/(ρv x d) is a value described below, where Rs is an interface resistance (Ωcm2) between the negative-electrode mixture layer and the current collector, ρv is a volume resistivity (Ωcm) of the negative-electrode mixture layer, and d is the a thickness (cm) of the negative-electrode mixture layer on one surface of the current collector, when the thickness of the negative-electrode mixture layer is 35 μm or more and less than 50 μm, Rs/(ρv x d) is 5 to 20, when the thickness of the negative-electrode mixture layer is 50 μm or more and 100 μm or less, Rs/(ρv x d) is 10 to 38.5.
DURSTOCK [0146] Example 1 does however disclose a method for manufacturing a negative electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising, when forming a negative-electrode mixture layer containing a negative-electrode active material on one surface or both surfaces of a current collector:
adjusting a thickness of the negative-electrode mixture layer on one surface of the current collector to 35 μm or more and less than 50 μm, in the instant case DURSTOCK [0146] discloses a range of 50-60µm
DURSTOCK does not disclose making adjustments according to claim 9 with respect to physical properties by adjusting Rs/(ρv x d) to 5 to 20, where Rs is an interface resistance (Ωcm2) between the negative-electrode mixture layer and the current collector, ρv is a volume resistivity (Ωcm) of the negative-electrode mixture layer, and d is the thickness (cm) of the negative-electrode mixture layer, to values described below;
when the thickness of the negative-electrode mixture layer is 35 μm or more and less than 50 μm, Rs/(ρv x d) is 5 to 20,
when the thickness of the negative-electrode mixture layer is 50 μm or more and 100 μm or less, Rs/(ρv x d) is 10 to 38.5
as well as adjusting an interface resistance Rs (Ωcm2) between the negative-electrode mixture layer and the current collector and a thickness d (cm) of the negative-electrode mixture layer on one surface of the current collector so as to satisfy a relationship: Rs ≤ 1.67d + b, where b is -0.01 or more and 0 or less according to the limitations of instantly claimed claim 11,
However, when referencing the instant specification for the method of making the claimed anode a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the similarities would render obvious over and anticipated the physical properties that are instantly claimed.
When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
DURSTOCK does not explicitly disclose the properties as claimed in the instant application, however because of the application of the anode active material along with the same binder (PVDF) and conductive additive (graphite) it would be reasonable to conclude that the properties of negative electrode would also be the same.
This also applies to the physical properties being claimed in claims 6 and 7.
DURSTOCK discloses the method of making the claimed anode thereby anticipating the claimed physical properties and likewise a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used these methods disclosed by DURSTOCK in order to produce an anode with the same properties before the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 8 and 15. DURSTOCK discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising:
[0031] a positive electrode called a cathode;
[0017] a negative electrode;
[0017] a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and
[0017] a non-aqueous electrolyte, wherein
DURSTOCK discloses the negative electrode is the negative electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1 or claim 3 meeting the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claims 12 and 16. DURSTOCK a method for manufacturing a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery including a [0031] positive electrode, [0017] a negative electrode, [0017] a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, and [0017] a non-aqueous electrolyte, wherein
a negative electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery manufactured using the method for manufacturing a negative electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claims 9 and 11 is used as the negative electrode as detailed in the rejections of claims 9 and 11 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727