Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/18/2025 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 8 has been canceled. New limitations have been added to independent claims 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frank (EP 3584199).
Regarding claim-14, Frank discloses a method for operating a processing machine (1, Fig.1) having a processing unit for processing a workpiece (Items) ([0033]) and a conveyor device (1) wherein the conveyor device comprises a revolving conveyor element (10) guided by one or more rollers (12, 15) and a sensor device (20, 21), the method comprising detecting measurement values (wear and tear value) for monitoring an operation of the conveyor element ([0033]).
Regarding claim-15, Frank discloses wherein the step of detecting measurement values further comprises evaluating the wear condition of the one or more rollers (wear and tear value of roller).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, and 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter (US 20160075523) in view of Frank (EP 3584199).
Applicant is reminded a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (MPEP 07-37-09). The reference in the preamble to “a processing machine having a processing unit for processing a workpiece (2) and a conveyor device for transporting the workpiece” amounts to an intended use recitation of the conveyor claimed and the prior art disclosed below includes all the claimed conveyor structure as outlined below.
Regarding claim-1, Peter discloses a processing machine (Fig.1) having a processing unit for processing a workpiece and a conveyor device (1, Fig.1) for transporting workpiece (Abstract; Fig.1) comprising:
a revolving conveyor element (1, Fig.5) which is guided by one or more rollers (23, 24, Fig.2) and
a top pressure (70, Fig.5) which comprises a belt revolving around a drive roller, and a deflection roller (Fig.5).
But Peter does not disclose a sensor device for monitoring the operation of the conveyor element.
Frank also discloses a conveying system and also, teaches a sensor device (20, 21, Fig.4) for monitoring the operation of the conveyor element (10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to provide Peter conveying device with sensor as taught by Frank for purpose of detecting any wear and tear in conveying components i.e., rollers so components can be replaced when needed on timely manner.
Regarding claim-2, Peter as modified discloses wherein the sensor device (20, 21 as taught by Frank) is configured to detect measurement values for evaluating a condition of the one or more rollers (Abstract, [0016], Fig.7)
Regarding claim-3, Peter as modified discloses wherein the sensor device (20, 21 as taught by Frank) is arranged in a deflection area of the conveyor device (Fig.2-4 as taught by Frank).
Regarding claim-5, Peter as modified discloses wherein the sensor device comprises at least one of a microphone, a temperature sensor, a strain sensor, an acceleration sensor, a torque sensor or an optical sensor (oscillation/Vibration sensor detect vibration speed as taught by Frank).
Regarding claim-6, Peter as modified discloses wherein the conveyor element (1) is a conveyor chain which comprises a plurality of chain links (Alternative Option/Design well known in the art for conveyor element [0003]).
Regarding claim-10, Peter as modified discloses further comprising a control device (computer system as taught by Frank) which is configured to monitor an operation (wear V) of the conveyor element based on measurement values (wearing value as taught by Frank) detected by the sensor device (20, 21 as taught by Frank)
Regarding claim-11, Peter as modified discloses wherein the control device is configured to monitor the wear condition (wear V as taught by Frank) of the one or more roller (23, 24).
Regarding claim-12, Peter as modified discloses wherein the control device is configured to monitor an operation of the conveyor element for adjusting a position of the one or more rollers for removal to facilitate maintenance of the one or more rollers ([0025-0026] as taught by Frank).
Regarding claim-13, Peter as modified discloses further comprising a central memory device for storing or evaluating the measurement values detected by the sensor device (wear and tear value are evaluated by sensor and computer system as taught by Frank).
Regarding claim-14, Peter as modified discloses a method for operating a processing machine (1, Fig.1) having a processing unit for processing a workpiece (Items) ([0033] as taught by Frank) and a conveyor device (1) wherein the conveyor device comprises a revolving conveyor element (1) guided by one or more rollers (23, 24) and a sensor device (20, 21), the method comprising detecting measurement values (wear and tear value as taught by Frank) for monitoring an operation of the conveyor element ([0033] as taught by Frank).
Regarding claim-15, Peter as modified discloses wherein the step of detecting measurement values further comprises evaluating the wear condition of the one or more rollers (23, 24) (wear and tear value of roller as taught by Frank).
Regarding claim-16, Peter as modified discloses wherein one or more of the rollers comprise running rollers (23).
Regarding claim-17, Peter as modified discloses wherein one or more of the rollers comprise guide rollers (24).
Regarding claim-19, Peter as modified discloses wherein the control device is configured to perform frequency analysis to monitor the wear condition of the one or more rollers ([0030] as taught by Frank).
Regarding claim 4, 7, 18, Peter as modified does not teach wherein the sensor device (20, 21, Fig.4 as taught by Frank) is formed on or attached to a deflection plate, wherein the chain links comprise a ferromagnetic material, wherein the deflection plate is supported by an actuator. However, it is just a mere of design and constructional detail of an apparatus in which skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to place the sensor at desired location of an apparatus according to desired specification. Also, chain links structure and material are well known in the art and can be made of any required material i.e., iron, nickel, cobalt or alloys.
Conclusion
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651