DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communications filed on 10/03/2025, concerning Application No. 18/268,166. The amendments to the claims filed on 10/03/2025 are acknowledged. Presently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a contact portion… to define a sealed space” in claim 1 and similarly claim 16; and “the bubble trap device configured to be in fluid communication with the sealed space so as to allow bubbles in the liquid medium to enter…” in claim 1 and similarly claim 16.
The claim limitation “a contact portion” in claims 1 and 16 has the corresponding structure described in the original filed specification that performs the claimed functions: Page 5, lines 15-17, “…a contact portion (also called "cover") 11. The contact portion 11 engages hermetically with the bulkhead 3 to define a sealed space C in which a liquid medium 13 is completely filled and the transducer 7 can swing in the liquid medium 13”. Therefore, the “contact portion” has been interpreted as corresponding to a transducer bulkhead cover, and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitation “bubble trap device” in claims 1 and 16 has the corresponding structure described in the original filed specification that performs the claimed functions: Page 6, lines 16-23, “The probe 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention may further include a bubble trap device 33. The bubble trap device 33 may comprise a trap container 35 in fluid communication with the sealed space C of the probe 1 and thus is completely filled with the liquid medium 13. The bubble trap device 33 may further comprise a floating body 37 for opening or blocking a passage P between the trap container 35 and the sealed space C. The bubble trap device 33 thus is configured to allow the bubbles B in the liquid medium 13 to enter bubble trap device 33 from the sealed space C when the contact portion 11 faces downwardly but prevent the bubbles B from escaping from bubble trap device 33 when the contact portion 11 faces upwardly”. Therefore, the “bubble trap device” has been interpreted as corresponding to a trap/fluid container and a floating body, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (EP 1 878 388 A1, of record, hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses (Figs. 2-5) an ultrasonic probe (ultrasonic probe 100) comprising:
a bulkhead (housing 112, case 114) (see, e.g., Fig. 2, and Para. [0021], “The ultrasonic probe 100 comprises the following: an ultrasonic element assembly 111; a housing 112 for supporting the ultrasonic element assembly 111 so that the ultrasonic element assembly 111 is reciprocated therein; a cover 113 for covering and protecting the ultrasonic element assembly 111; a case 114 configured to be hand-held by a user and secure the housing 112 and the cover 112 thereto”);
a transducer (ultrasonic element assembly 111), supported by the bulkhead (112, 114), for transmitting and receiving ultrasonic waves (see, e.g., Fig. 2, and Para. [0021], “The ultrasonic probe 100 comprises the following: an ultrasonic element assembly 111; a housing 112 for supporting the ultrasonic element assembly 111 so that the ultrasonic element assembly 111 is reciprocated therein; a cover 113 for covering and protecting the ultrasonic element assembly 111”, and Para. [0023], “The ultrasonic element 111a comprises a number of ultrasonic vibrating elements including a piezoelectric material, a backing layer and a matching layer. The ultrasonic element 111a of this embodiment may be formed so as to allow a number of ultrasonic vibrating elements to be curvilinearly arrayed. The ultrasonic element 111 a is connected to the main body of the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus using the cable 118. The ultrasonic element generates ultrasonic waves from the signals, which are transmitted from the main body of the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus, and transmits the same. The ultrasonic element may further be configured to receive the reflected ultrasonic waves, convert the received ultrasonic waves into electrical signals and output the electrical signals to the main body of the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus”);
a contact portion (cover 113) engaging hermetically with the bulkhead (112, 114) to define a sealed space (enclosed space 115) (see, e.g., Fig. 2, and Para. [0021], “The ultrasonic probe 100 comprises the following: an ultrasonic element assembly 111; a housing 112 for supporting the ultrasonic element assembly 111 so that the ultrasonic element assembly 111 is reciprocated therein; a cover 113 for covering and protecting the ultrasonic element assembly 111”, and Para. [0029], “the cover 113 is joined to the frontward edge of the housing 112 for contacting the skin of the subject. The cover 113 covers and protects the ultrasonic element assembly 111 while defining an enclosed space 115, wherein the ultrasonic element assembly 111 is reciprocated, together with the housing 112”, and Para. [0030-0033], and Para. [0035], “The bubble-removing device 130 is joined to a rearmost portion (e.g., extended portion 112b) among portions of the housing 112, which are opposed to the cover 113”, and Para. [0037], “The connector body 133a is liquid-tightly joined to the rearmost portion of the housing (e.g., extended portion 112b) whereby the bubble-removing device 130 is fixed to the rearmost portion of the housing”); and
a bubble trap device (bubble-removing device 130) selectively in fluid communication with the sealed space (115) via a passage (communication portion 132, communication passage 132a) between the sealed space (115) and the bubble trap device (130) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-5, and Para. [0021], “The ultrasonic probe 100 comprises the following: […] a device for removing bubbles 130”, and Para. [0034], “The surfaces of the components located in the enclosed space 115 (e.g., a surface of the ultrasonic element assembly 112, an inner surface of the housing 112, surfaces of the drive device 120, etc.) are not even. Rather, they have various concave-convex portions. Therefore, when the liquid medium is injected, the air in said concave-convex portions remains in the liquid medium to thereby form bubbles. Such bubbles obstruct the propagation of the ultrasonic waves to thereby deteriorate the performance of the ultrasonic probe 100. However, the bubble-removing device 130 removes the bubbles from the liquid medium and accumulates the removed bubbles”, and Para. [0039], “Fig. 4 illustrates a state where the ultrasonic probe 100 is placed vertically so that its cover side faces the ground (hereinafter, such a state is referred to as "a bubble-removing state")”, and Para. [0040-0042]),
wherein the sealed space (115) and the bubble trap device (130) are completely filled with a liquid medium (liquid medium 116) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-3, and Para. [0032], “a liquid medium 116 is filled in the enclosed space 115 to facilitate the unobstructed propagation of ultrasonic waves. Oil or saline solution can be used as the liquid medium 116”, and Para. [0033-0041]), and
wherein the bubble trap device (130) is configured to be in fluid communication with the sealed space (115) so as to allow bubbles (bubbles 116a) in the liquid medium (116) to enter the bubble trap device (130) from the sealed space (115) via the passage (132, 132a) when the ultrasonic probe (100) is positioned in a downward position where the contact portion (113) faces downwardly (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0039], “Fig. 4 is a partially sectional view of the ultrasonic probe 100, which shows that the bubbles are being accumulated within the tube 131. Fig. 4 illustrates a state where the ultrasonic probe 100 is placed vertically so that its cover side faces the ground (hereinafter, such a state is referred to as "a bubble-removing state")”, and Para. [0040], “Referring to Fig. 4, in the bubble-removing state, the bubbles 116a float up rearward (toward the side opposite to the cover 113) due to their buoyancies. The floating up bubbles 116a reach the vicinity of the inlet 132b of the communication portion. Then, the bubbles 116a enter the inlet 132b and gather in the communication passage 132a. When only a single bubble enters the communication passage 132, said bubble 116a moves up along a sloped surface of the communication passage 132a due to its buoyancy and passes through the outlet 132c to enter the inside of the tube 131. When a number of bubbles enters the communication passage 132a, said bubbles 116a gather in the vicinity of the outlet 132c and then pass through the outlet 132c in order to enter the inside of the tube 131 due to their buoyancies one by one”, and Para. [0041], “When the ultrasonic probe 110 is left in the bubble-removing state, the bubbles 116a continuously enter the inside of the tube 131 and can be accumulated inside the tube 131 from the vicinity of the other end 134 of the tube 131. The ultrasonic probe 100 may be left in the bubble-removing state when the ultrasonic probe 100 is placed for a certain period of time after ending assembly in the state where its cover side faces the ground”), and to be not in fluid communication with the sealed space (115) so as to prevent the bubbles (116a) from escaping from the bubble trap device (130) when the ultrasonic probe (100) is positioned in an upward position where the contact portion (113) faces upwardly (see, e.g., Fig. 5, and Para. [0042], “Fig. 5 shows a state where the accumulated bubbles are not discharged again (contrary to the state shown in Fig. 4). When the ultrasonic probe 100 is not utilized, the ultrasonic probe 100 may be placed on any fixture (e.g., a probe holder 20 provided on the main body of the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus). In such a case, the bubbles 116a accumulated within the tube 131 float up along the tube 131 toward the outlet 132c. However, since the diameter of the outlet 132c is very narrow, the floating up bubbles 116a are difficult to move through the outlet 132c toward the inlet 132b. Furthermore, the floating up bubbles 116a are restricted from being discharged to the inside of the housing through the rearmost portion of the housing by the other end 133c of the connector. Although a very small amount of bubbles, among the accumulated bubbles, can enter the inside of the housing 112 through the outlet 132c, such bubbles can be removed from the liquid medium 116 again whenever the ultrasonic probe 100 is in the bubble-removing state. Consequently, the bubbles 116a remaining in the liquid medium 116 are allowed to be accumulated in the tube 131 while being removed successively. Even when the ultrasonic probe 100 is placed horizontally, the bubbles already accumulated in the tube 131 are difficult to be discharged to the housing 112 due to the structure of the bubble-removing device 130”).
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-5) the ultrasonic probe further comprising: a driving mechanism (drive device 120) for driving the transducer (ultrasonic element assembly 111) to move in the liquid medium (liquid medium 116) (see, e.g., Fig. 2, and Para. [0021], “The ultrasonic probe 100 comprises the following: an ultrasonic element assembly 111; a housing 112 for supporting the ultrasonic element assembly 111 so that the ultrasonic element assembly 111 is reciprocated therein; a cover 113 for covering and protecting the ultrasonic element assembly 111; a case 114 configured to be hand-held by a user and secure the housing 112 and the cover 112 thereto; a drive device 120 mounted to the housing 112 for reciprocating the ultrasonic element assembly 111 within a certain range”, and Para. [0025-0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Cho discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-5) an ultrasonic imaging apparatus comprising the ultrasonic probe (ultrasonic probe 100) according to claim 1 (see, e.g., Para. [0021], “The ultrasonic probe 100 comprises the following: an ultrasonic element assembly 111; a housing 112 for supporting the ultrasonic element assembly 111 so that the ultrasonic element assembly 111 is reciprocated therein; a cover 113 for covering and protecting the ultrasonic element assembly 111; a case 114 configured to be hand-held by a user and secure the housing 112 and the cover 112 thereto; a drive device 120 mounted to the housing 112 for reciprocating the ultrasonic element assembly 111 within a certain range; and a device for removing bubbles 130. Various electrical signals of the ultrasonic probe 100 are transmitted and received to and from a main body of an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus (not shown) using a cable 118”, and Para. [0023]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (EP 1 878 388 A1), as applied to claim 1 above (regarding dependent claims 2-13), in view of Na et al. (US 2014/0120432 A1, of record, hereinafter Na).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-5) wherein: the bubble trap device (bubble-removing device 130) comprises a trap container (tube 131), and the trap container (131) is selectively in fluid communication with the sealed space (enclosed space 115) via the passage (communication portion 132, communication passage 132a) between the sealed space (115) and the trap container (131) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0035], “The bubble-removing device 130 is joined to a rearmost portion (e.g., extended portion 112b) among portions of the housing 112, which are opposed to the cover 113. The bubble-removing device 130 comprises a tubular member and a communication portion for allowing the bubbles to pass into the tubular member and restricting a counter passing thereof. The tubular member includes a straight tube 131, which is made from plastic or rubber. The tube 131 is joined to the extended portion 112b at its one end in such a manner that it penetrates a wall of the extended portion 112b. The tube 131 is closed at its other end 134. The one end of the tube 131 consists of a connector 133. The tube 131 is located in the case 114 so that the other end 134 of the tube 131 is farther away from the cover 113 than the connector 133”, and Para. [0037-0042]).
Cho does not specifically disclose wherein: the bubble trap device comprises a floating body, the floating body is made from a material having a density less than a density of the liquid medium so that the floating body moves upwardly in the liquid medium, the floating body opens the passage between the sealed space and the trap container to allow the bubbles in the liquid medium to move from the sealed space into the trap container when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the downward position, and the floating body blocks the passage between the sealed space and the trap container to prevent the bubbles in the liquid medium from moving from the trap container into the sealed space when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the upward position.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bubble removing devices, Na discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein: the bubble trap device (bubble removing means 30) comprises a floating body (ball 36) (see, e.g., Figs. 1-2, and Para. [0033], “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the bubble removing means 30 includes, as a main component, a ball 36 which is movable upwards and downwards through buoyancy of cooling water passing through the cover cap 24. In particular, the ball 36 configured and arranged such that it floats on the surface of the cooling water ejected into the cover cap 24. The ball 36 is elevated and lowered depending upon the cooling water level”), the floating body (36) is made from a material having a density less than a density of the liquid medium so that the floating body (36) moves upwardly in the liquid medium (see, e.g., Para. [0038], “The ball 36 is configured so as to float by buoyancy on the surface of the cooling water. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the ball 36 positioned in the ball departure preventing guide 34 may have a core shell structure with a core 37 formed from a heavier material, such as a steel ball, and a buoyant shell 37 which may be a flexible, such as Styrofoam. However, the ball 36 is not limited to such a core shell structure, and could be formed from a single material having buoyancy, and also flexibility if desired”), the floating body (36) opens the passage between the sealed space and the trap container to allow the bubbles in the liquid medium to move from the sealed space into the trap container when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the downward position, and the floating body (36) blocks the passage between the sealed space and the trap container to prevent the bubbles in the liquid medium from moving from the trap container into the sealed space when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the upward position (see, e.g., Figs. 1-2, and Para. [0043-0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasonic probe of Cho by including wherein: the bubble trap device comprises a floating body, the floating body is made from a material having a density less than a density of the liquid medium so that the floating body moves upwardly in the liquid medium, the floating body opens the passage between the sealed space and the trap container to allow the bubbles in the liquid medium to move from the sealed space into the trap container when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the downward position, and the floating body blocks the passage between the sealed space and the trap container to prevent the bubbles in the liquid medium from moving from the trap container into the sealed space when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the upward position, as disclosed by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide air-tightness and prevent leakage of the liquid medium by providing a ball that opens and closes a bubble outlet, as recognized by Na (see, e.g., Para. [0051], and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 2, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-5) wherein the trap container (tube 131 of bubble-removing device 130) comprises an inlet portion (inlet 132b) having a circular cross section and a container body (131) connecting and communicating with the inlet portion (132b) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0038], “The communication portion 132, which is disposed at the one end of the tube 131 (more specifically, the connector 133), includes the following: a communication passage 132a having a shape of a truncated cone; and an inlet 132b and an outlet 132c formed at both ends of the communication passage 132. The communication portion 132 is located in the connector body 133a such that the outlet 132c faces the inside of the tube 131 while the inlet 132b faces the inside of the housing 112. The inlet 132b is coupled to the opening formed at the one end 133b of the connector. The communication passage 132a becomes narrow as it goes toward the outlet 132c. Therefore, the size of the outlet 132c is smaller than that of the inlet 132b. The size of the outlet 132c is determined such that one of the bubbles remaining in the liquid medium can pass through the outlet 132c”).
Cho does not specifically disclose wherein the floating body has a circular cross section, and wherein a largest diameter of the floating body is larger than a largest inner diameter of the inlet portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bubble removing devices, Na discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein the floating body (ball 36) has a circular cross section, and wherein a largest diameter of the floating body (36) is larger than a largest inner diameter of the inlet portion (inlet of ball transfer guide 35 at stopper 39) (see, e.g., Figs. 1-2, and Para. [0033], “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the bubble removing means 30 includes, as a main component, a ball 36 which is movable upwards and downwards through buoyancy of cooling water passing through the cover cap 24. In particular, the ball 36 configured and arranged such that it floats on the surface of the cooling water ejected into the cover cap 24. The ball 36 is elevated and lowered depending upon the cooling water level”, and Para. [0036], “the ball departure preventing guide 34 has a hollow structure with an interior a diameter which gradually decreases from top to bottom. The ball departure preventing guide 34, further includes a ball transfer guide 35 that allows the ball 36 to elevate or lower. A stopper 39 can further be provided at the bottom end of the ball transfer guide 35 to prevent the ball from exiting the bottom of the ball departure preventing guide 34. For example, as shown, the stopper 39 may be in the form of inwardly angled or bent extensions at the bottom of the ball transfer guide 35 which provide an opening that is smaller in diameter than the ball 36 diameter”, and Para. [0046], “the ball 36 is elevated upwards along an the ball departure preventing guide 34 (along an inner surface of the ball departure preventing guide 34 which may be provided with a gradually decreasing diameter from top to bottom) as the cooling water level is raised, until the ball 36 reaches a point in which its diameter is the same as the inner diameter of the ball transfer guide 35 (and, thus, cannot move upwards any further)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic probe of Cho modified by Na by including wherein the floating body has a circular cross section, and wherein a largest diameter of the floating body is larger than a largest inner diameter of the inlet portion, as disclosed by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide air-tightness and prevent leakage of the liquid medium by providing a ball that opens and closes a bubble outlet, as recognized by Na (see, e.g., Para. [0051], and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 3, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-5) wherein the trap container (tube 131) further comprises a transition portion (communication passage 132a) connecting the inlet portion (inlet 132b) and the container body (131) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-5, and Para. [0038], “The communication portion 132, which is disposed at the one end of the tube 131 (more specifically, the connector 133), includes the following: a communication passage 132a having a shape of a truncated cone; and an inlet 132b and an outlet 132c formed at both ends of the communication passage 132. The communication portion 132 is located in the connector body 133a such that the outlet 132c faces the inside of the tube 131 while the inlet 132b faces the inside of the housing 112. The inlet 132b is coupled to the opening formed at the one end 133b of the connector. The communication passage 132a becomes narrow as it goes toward the outlet 132c. Therefore, the size of the outlet 132c is smaller than that of the inlet 132b. The size of the outlet 132c is determined such that one of the bubbles remaining in the liquid medium can pass through the outlet 132c”).
Cho does not specifically disclose wherein an inner diameter of the transition portion is larger than the largest diameter of the floating body.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bubble removing devices, Na discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein an inner diameter of the transition portion (ball departure preventing guide 34) is larger than the largest diameter of the floating body (ball 36) (see, e.g., Figs. 1-2, and Para. [0035], “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the bubble removing means further includes a ball departure preventing guide 34 which houses the ball 36. In particular, the ball departure preventing guide 34 is in the form of a hollow structure extending vertically from a position above the ion resin 18 (and within a passageway through which cooling water flows) to a bubble outlet 32 disposed at the top of the cover cap 24. The ball departure preventing guide 34 may be integrally formed in the top end portion of the cover cap 24”, and Para. [0036], “as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the ball departure preventing guide 34 has a hollow structure with an interior a diameter which gradually decreases from top to bottom. The ball departure preventing guide 34, further includes a ball transfer guide 35 that allows the ball 36 to elevate or lower. A stopper 39 can further be provided at the bottom end of the ball transfer guide 35 to prevent the ball from exiting the bottom of the ball departure preventing guide 34. For example, as shown, the stopper 39 may be in the form of inwardly angled or bent extensions at the bottom of the ball transfer guide 35 which provide an opening that is smaller in diameter than the ball 36 diameter”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic probe of Cho modified by Na by including wherein an inner diameter of the transition portion is larger than the largest diameter of the floating body, as disclosed by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide air-tightness and prevent leakage of the liquid medium by providing a ball that opens and closes a bubble outlet, as recognized by Na (see, e.g., Para. [0051], and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 3, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-6) wherein a through hole is formed in a top of the container body (tube 131) opposite to the inlet portion (inlet 132b) and is sealed by a seal member (blocking plate 131a) (see, e.g., Fig. 6, and Para. [0043], “Fig. 6 shows an alternative to the bubble-removing device shown in Fig. 3 in the bubble-removing state. In a bubble-removing device 130' shown in Fig. 6, the tube 131 includes a blocking plate 131a therein. The blocking plate 131a is sloped toward the other end 134 and blocks the inside of the tube 131 with a gap, which is sized such that the bubbles can move therethrough”).
Regarding claim 6, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 3, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-5) wherein an inner diameter of the inlet portion (inlet 132b) is substantially constant (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0038], “The communication portion 132, which is disposed at the one end of the tube 131 (more specifically, the connector 133), includes the following: a communication passage 132a having a shape of a truncated cone; and an inlet 132b and an outlet 132c formed at both ends of the communication passage 132. The communication portion 132 is located in the connector body 133a such that the outlet 132c faces the inside of the tube 131 while the inlet 132b faces the inside of the housing 112. The inlet 132b is coupled to the opening formed at the one end 133b of the connector. The communication passage 132a becomes narrow as it goes toward the outlet 132c. Therefore, the size of the outlet 132c is smaller than that of the inlet 132b. The size of the outlet 132c is determined such that one of the bubbles remaining in the liquid medium can pass through the outlet 132c”).
Regarding claim 7, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 3, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-5) wherein an inner diameter of the inlet portion (inlet 132b) gradually decreases toward the sealed space (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0038], “The communication portion 132, which is disposed at the one end of the tube 131 (more specifically, the connector 133), includes the following: a communication passage 132a having a shape of a truncated cone; and an inlet 132b and an outlet 132c formed at both ends of the communication passage 132. The communication portion 132 is located in the connector body 133a such that the outlet 132c faces the inside of the tube 131 while the inlet 132b faces the inside of the housing 112. The inlet 132b is coupled to the opening formed at the one end 133b of the connector. The communication passage 132a becomes narrow as it goes toward the outlet 132c. Therefore, the size of the outlet 132c is smaller than that of the inlet 132b. The size of the outlet 132c is determined such that one of the bubbles remaining in the liquid medium can pass through the outlet 132c”).
Regarding claim 8, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 3, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-5) wherein the container body (tube 131) is configured as an elongated body having a substantially right-angled trapezoidal cross section (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0038], “The communication portion 132, which is disposed at the one end of the tube 131 (more specifically, the connector 133), includes the following: a communication passage 132a having a shape of a truncated cone; […] The communication passage 132a becomes narrow as it goes toward the outlet 132c”).
Regarding claim 9, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 8, as set forth above. Cho does not specifically disclose wherein a sloping side of the elongated body limits a position of the floating body so that the floating body is substantially in alignment with the inlet portion when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the downward position.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bubble removing devices, Na discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein a sloping side of the elongated body (ball departure preventing guide 34) limits a position of the floating body (ball 36) so that the floating body (36) is substantially in alignment with the inlet portion (inlet of ball transfer guide 35 at stopper 39) when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the downward position (see, e.g., Fig. 1, and Para. [0035], “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the bubble removing means further includes a ball departure preventing guide 34 which houses the ball 36. In particular, the ball departure preventing guide 34 is in the form of a hollow structure extending vertically from a position above the ion resin 18 (and within a passageway through which cooling water flows) to a bubble outlet 32 disposed at the top of the cover cap 24. The ball departure preventing guide 34 may be integrally formed in the top end portion of the cover cap 24”, and Para. [0036-0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic probe of Cho modified by Na by including wherein a sloping side of the elongated body limits a position of the floating body so that the floating body is substantially in alignment with the inlet portion when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the downward position, as disclosed by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide air-tightness and prevent leakage of the liquid medium by providing a ball that opens and closes a bubble outlet, as recognized by Na (see, e.g., Para. [0051], and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 3, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-5) wherein the container body (tube 131) is configured as a substantially cylindrical body (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0035], “The bubble-removing device 130 is joined to a rearmost portion (e.g., extended portion 112b) among portions of the housing 112, which are opposed to the cover 113. The bubble-removing device 130 comprises a tubular member and a communication portion for allowing the bubbles to pass into the tubular member and restricting a counter passing thereof. The tubular member includes a straight tube 131”).
Regarding claim 11, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 10, as set forth above. Cho does not specifically disclose wherein: a limiting-position portion projects from a top of the container body toward the inlet portion, and the limiting-position portion limits a position of the floating body to be substantially in alignment with the inlet portion when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the downward position.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bubble removing devices, Na discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein: a limiting-position portion (bubble outlet 32) projects from a top of the container body (ball departure preventing guide 34, ball transfer guide 35) toward the inlet portion (inlet of ball transfer guide 35 at stopper 39), and the limiting-position portion (32) limits a position of the floating body (ball 36) to be substantially in alignment with the inlet portion (inlet at stopper 39) when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the downward position (see, e.g., Fig. 1, and Para. [0035], “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the bubble removing means further includes a ball departure preventing guide 34 which houses the ball 36. In particular, the ball departure preventing guide 34 is in the form of a hollow structure extending vertically from a position above the ion resin 18 (and within a passageway through which cooling water flows) to a bubble outlet 32 disposed at the top of the cover cap 24. The ball departure preventing guide 34 may be integrally formed in the top end portion of the cover cap 24”, and Para. [0036-0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic probe of Cho modified by Na by including wherein: a limiting-position portion projects from a top of the container body toward the inlet portion, and the limiting-position portion limits a position of the floating body to be substantially in alignment with the inlet portion when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the downward position, as disclosed by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide air-tightness and prevent leakage of the liquid medium by providing a ball that opens and closes a bubble outlet, as recognized by Na (see, e.g., Para. [0051], and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 3, as set forth above. Cho does not specifically disclose wherein a gap is defined between the floating body and the container body when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the downward position.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bubble removing devices, Na discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein a gap is defined between the floating body (ball 36) and the container body (ball departure preventing guide 34) when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the downward position (see, e.g., Figs. 1-2, and Para. [0033], “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the bubble removing means 30 includes, as a main component, a ball 36 which is movable upwards and downwards through buoyancy of cooling water passing through the cover cap 24”, and Para. [0035], “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the bubble removing means further includes a ball departure preventing guide 34 which houses the ball 36. In particular, the ball departure preventing guide 34 is in the form of a hollow structure extending vertically from a position above the ion resin 18 (and within a passageway through which cooling water flows) to a bubble outlet 32 disposed at the top of the cover cap 24. The ball departure preventing guide 34 may be integrally formed in the top end portion of the cover cap 24”, and Para. [0036-0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic probe of Cho modified by Na by including wherein a gap is defined between the floating body and the container body when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in the downward position, as disclosed by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide air-tightness and prevent leakage of the liquid medium by providing a ball that opens and closes a bubble outlet, as recognized by Na (see, e.g., Para. [0051], and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 3, as set forth above. Cho further discloses wherein a portion of the bulkhead (housing 112, case 114) adjacent the inlet portion (inlet 132b) is shaped as a curved guide surface to guide the bubbles (bubbles 116a) to enter the trap container (tube 131 of bubble-removing device 130) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, where the outer surfaces of the case 114 and the outer surfaces of the portions 112a-d of the housing 112 are shown to comprise curved portions thereon that aid in guiding the bubbles 116a to enter the inlet 132b and the tube 131, and Para. [0040-0042]).
Regarding claim 16, Cho discloses (Figs. 2-5) an ultrasonic probe (ultrasonic probe 100), comprising:
a bulkhead (housing 112, case 114) (see, e.g., Fig. 2, and Para. [0021], “The ultrasonic probe 100 comprises the following: an ultrasonic element assembly 111; a housing 112 for supporting the ultrasonic element assembly 111 so that the ultrasonic element assembly 111 is reciprocated therein; a cover 113 for covering and protecting the ultrasonic element assembly 111; a case 114 configured to be hand-held by a user and secure the housing 112 and the cover 112 thereto”);
a transducer (ultrasonic element assembly 111), supported by the bulkhead (112, 114), configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic waves (see, e.g., Fig. 2, and Para. [0021], “The ultrasonic probe 100 comprises the following: an ultrasonic element assembly 111; a housing 112 for supporting the ultrasonic element assembly 111 so that the ultrasonic element assembly 111 is reciprocated therein; a cover 113 for covering and protecting the ultrasonic element assembly 111”, and Para. [0023], “The ultrasonic element 111a comprises a number of ultrasonic vibrating elements including a piezoelectric material, a backing layer and a matching layer. The ultrasonic element 111a of this embodiment may be formed so as to allow a number of ultrasonic vibrating elements to be curvilinearly arrayed. The ultrasonic element 111 a is connected to the main body of the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus using the cable 118. The ultrasonic element generates ultrasonic waves from the signals, which are transmitted from the main body of the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus, and transmits the same. The ultrasonic element may further be configured to receive the reflected ultrasonic waves, convert the received ultrasonic waves into electrical signals and output the electrical signals to the main body of the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus”);
a contact portion (cover 113) engaging hermetically with the bulkhead (112, 114) to define a sealed space (enclosed space 115) (see, e.g., Fig. 2, and Para. [0021], “The ultrasonic probe 100 comprises the following: an ultrasonic element assembly 111; a housing 112 for supporting the ultrasonic element assembly 111 so that the ultrasonic element assembly 111 is reciprocated therein; a cover 113 for covering and protecting the ultrasonic element assembly 111”, and Para. [0029], “the cover 113 is joined to the frontward edge of the housing 112 for contacting the skin of the subject. The cover 113 covers and protects the ultrasonic element assembly 111 while defining an enclosed space 115, wherein the ultrasonic element assembly 111 is reciprocated, together with the housing 112”, and Para. [0030-0033], and Para. [0035], “The bubble-removing device 130 is joined to a rearmost portion (e.g., extended portion 112b) among portions of the housing 112, which are opposed to the cover 113”, and Para. [0037], “The connector body 133a is liquid-tightly joined to the rearmost portion of the housing (e.g., extended portion 112b) whereby the bubble-removing device 130 is fixed to the rearmost portion of the housing”); and
a bubble trap device (bubble-removing device 130) selectively in fluid communication with the sealed space (115) via a passage (communication portion 132, communication passage 132a) between the sealed space (115) and the bubble trap device (130) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-5, and Para. [0021], “The ultrasonic probe 100 comprises the following: […] a device for removing bubbles 130”, and Para. [0034], “The surfaces of the components located in the enclosed space 115 (e.g., a surface of the ultrasonic element assembly 112, an inner surface of the housing 112, surfaces of the drive device 120, etc.) are not even. Rather, they have various concave-convex portions. Therefore, when the liquid medium is injected, the air in said concave-convex portions remains in the liquid medium to thereby form bubbles. Such bubbles obstruct the propagation of the ultrasonic waves to thereby deteriorate the performance of the ultrasonic probe 100. However, the bubble-removing device 130 removes the bubbles from the liquid medium and accumulates the removed bubbles”, and Para. [0039], “Fig. 4 illustrates a state where the ultrasonic probe 100 is placed vertically so that its cover side faces the ground (hereinafter, such a state is referred to as "a bubble-removing state")”, and Para. [0040-0042]), the bubble trap device (130) comprising a trap container (tube 131) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0035], “The bubble-removing device 130 is joined to a rearmost portion (e.g., extended portion 112b) among portions of the housing 112, which are opposed to the cover 113. The bubble-removing device 130 comprises a tubular member and a communication portion for allowing the bubbles to pass into the tubular member and restricting a counter passing thereof. The tubular member includes a straight tube 131, which is made from plastic or rubber. The tube 131 is joined to the extended portion 112b at its one end in such a manner that it penetrates a wall of the extended portion 112b. The tube 131 is closed at its other end 134. The one end of the tube 131 consists of a connector 133. The tube 131 is located in the case 114 so that the other end 134 of the tube 131 is farther away from the cover 113 than the connector 133”, and Para. [0037-0042]),
wherein the sealed space (115) and the bubble trap device (130) are filled with a liquid medium (liquid medium 116) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-3, and Para. [0032], “a liquid medium 116 is filled in the enclosed space 115 to facilitate the unobstructed propagation of ultrasonic waves. Oil or saline solution can be used as the liquid medium 116”, and Para. [0033-0041]).
Cho does not specifically disclose the bubble trap device comprising a floating body within the trap container, wherein the floating body opens the passage between the sealed space and the trap container to allow bubbles in the liquid medium to move from the sealed space into the trap container when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in a downward position in which the contact portion faces downwardly, and wherein the floating body blocks the passage between the sealed space and the trap container to prevent the bubbles in the liquid medium from moving from the trap container into the sealed space when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in an upward position in which the contact portion faces upwardly.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bubble removing devices, Na discloses (Figs. 1-2) the bubble trap device (bubble removing means 30) comprising a floating body (ball 36) within the trap container (cover cap 24) (see, e.g., Figs. 1-2, and Para. [0033], “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the bubble removing means 30 includes, as a main component, a ball 36 which is movable upwards and downwards through buoyancy of cooling water passing through the cover cap 24. In particular, the ball 36 configured and arranged such that it floats on the surface of the cooling water ejected into the cover cap 24. The ball 36 is elevated and lowered depending upon the cooling water level”),
wherein the floating body (36) opens the passage between the sealed space and the trap container (24) to allow bubbles in the liquid medium to move from the sealed space into the trap container (24) when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in a downward position in which the contact portion faces downwardly, and wherein the floating body (36) blocks the passage between the sealed space and the trap container (24) to prevent the bubbles in the liquid medium from moving from the trap container (24) into the sealed space when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in an upward position in which the contact portion faces upwardly (see, e.g., Figs. 1-2, and Para. [0043-0049], specifically Para. [0043], “In this position, the bubble outlet 32 formed in the top end portion of the cover cap 24 is in communication with the open air, and thus is opened”, and Para. [0044], “Therefore, bubbles collected in the upper space of the cover cap 24 are easily discharged and removed to the outside by passing through bubble through holes 33 in bottom end portion of the ball transfer guide 35 and/or bubble through hole 33 in the stopper 39, and through the bubble outlet 32”, and Para. [0046], “In this position, the ball 36 blocks the bubble outlet 32 by upwards pressure from the cooling water, thereby easily preventing leakage phenomenon of the cooling water leaks outside”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasonic probe of Cho by including the bubble trap device comprising a floating body within the trap container, wherein the floating body opens the passage between the sealed space and the trap container to allow bubbles in the liquid medium to move from the sealed space into the trap container when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in a downward position in which the contact portion faces downwardly, and wherein the floating body blocks the passage between the sealed space and the trap container to prevent the bubbles in the liquid medium from moving from the trap container into the sealed space when the ultrasonic probe is positioned in an upward position in which the contact portion faces upwardly, as disclosed by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide air-tightness and prevent leakage of the liquid medium by providing a ball that opens and closes a bubble outlet, as recognized by Na (see, e.g., Para. [0051], and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 16, as set forth above. Cho does not specifically disclose wherein the floating body is made from a material having a density less than a density of the liquid medium so that the floating body moves upwardly in the liquid medium.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bubble removing devices, Na discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein the floating body (ball 36) is made from a material having a density less than a density of the liquid medium so that the floating body (36) moves upwardly in the liquid medium (see, e.g., Para. [0038], “The ball 36 is configured so as to float by buoyancy on the surface of the cooling water. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the ball 36 positioned in the ball departure preventing guide 34 may have a core shell structure with a core 37 formed from a heavier material, such as a steel ball, and a buoyant shell 37 which may be a flexible, such as Styrofoam. However, the ball 36 is not limited to such a core shell structure, and could be formed from a single material having buoyancy, and also flexibility if desired”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic probe of Cho modified by Na by including wherein the floating body is made from a material having a density less than a density of the liquid medium so that the floating body moves upwardly in the liquid medium, as disclosed by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide air-tightness and prevent leakage of the liquid medium by providing a ball that opens and closes a bubble outlet, as recognized by Na (see, e.g., Para. [0051], and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 16, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-5) wherein the trap container (tube 131 of bubble-removing device 130) comprises an inlet portion (inlet 132b) having a circular cross section and a container body (131) connecting and communicating with the inlet portion (132b) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0038], “The communication portion 132, which is disposed at the one end of the tube 131 (more specifically, the connector 133), includes the following: a communication passage 132a having a shape of a truncated cone; and an inlet 132b and an outlet 132c formed at both ends of the communication passage 132. The communication portion 132 is located in the connector body 133a such that the outlet 132c faces the inside of the tube 131 while the inlet 132b faces the inside of the housing 112. The inlet 132b is coupled to the opening formed at the one end 133b of the connector. The communication passage 132a becomes narrow as it goes toward the outlet 132c. Therefore, the size of the outlet 132c is smaller than that of the inlet 132b. The size of the outlet 132c is determined such that one of the bubbles remaining in the liquid medium can pass through the outlet 132c”).
Cho does not specifically disclose wherein the floating body has a circular cross section, and wherein a largest diameter of the floating body is larger than a largest inner diameter of the inlet portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bubble removing devices, Na discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein the floating body (ball 36) has a circular cross section, and wherein a largest diameter of the floating body (36) is larger than a largest inner diameter of the inlet portion (inlet of ball transfer guide 35 at stopper 39) (see, e.g., Figs. 1-2, and Para. [0033], “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the bubble removing means 30 includes, as a main component, a ball 36 which is movable upwards and downwards through buoyancy of cooling water passing through the cover cap 24. In particular, the ball 36 configured and arranged such that it floats on the surface of the cooling water ejected into the cover cap 24. The ball 36 is elevated and lowered depending upon the cooling water level”, and Para. [0036], “the ball departure preventing guide 34 has a hollow structure with an interior a diameter which gradually decreases from top to bottom. The ball departure preventing guide 34, further includes a ball transfer guide 35 that allows the ball 36 to elevate or lower. A stopper 39 can further be provided at the bottom end of the ball transfer guide 35 to prevent the ball from exiting the bottom of the ball departure preventing guide 34. For example, as shown, the stopper 39 may be in the form of inwardly angled or bent extensions at the bottom of the ball transfer guide 35 which provide an opening that is smaller in diameter than the ball 36 diameter”, and Para. [0046], “the ball 36 is elevated upwards along an the ball departure preventing guide 34 (along an inner surface of the ball departure preventing guide 34 which may be provided with a gradually decreasing diameter from top to bottom) as the cooling water level is raised, until the ball 36 reaches a point in which its diameter is the same as the inner diameter of the ball transfer guide 35 (and, thus, cannot move upwards any further)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic probe of Cho modified by Na by including wherein the floating body has a circular cross section, and wherein a largest diameter of the floating body is larger than a largest inner diameter of the inlet portion, as disclosed by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide air-tightness and prevent leakage of the liquid medium by providing a ball that opens and closes a bubble outlet, as recognized by Na (see, e.g., Para. [0051], and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 18, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-5) wherein the trap container (tube 131) further comprises a transition portion (communication passage 132a) connecting the inlet portion (inlet 132b) and the container body (131) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-5, and Para. [0038], “The communication portion 132, which is disposed at the one end of the tube 131 (more specifically, the connector 133), includes the following: a communication passage 132a having a shape of a truncated cone; and an inlet 132b and an outlet 132c formed at both ends of the communication passage 132. The communication portion 132 is located in the connector body 133a such that the outlet 132c faces the inside of the tube 131 while the inlet 132b faces the inside of the housing 112. The inlet 132b is coupled to the opening formed at the one end 133b of the connector. The communication passage 132a becomes narrow as it goes toward the outlet 132c. Therefore, the size of the outlet 132c is smaller than that of the inlet 132b. The size of the outlet 132c is determined such that one of the bubbles remaining in the liquid medium can pass through the outlet 132c”).
Cho does not specifically disclose wherein an inner diameter of the transition portion is larger than the largest diameter of the floating body.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bubble removing devices, Na discloses (Figs. 1-2) wherein an inner diameter of the transition portion (ball departure preventing guide 34) is larger than the largest diameter of the floating body (ball 36) (see, e.g., Figs. 1-2, and Para. [0035], “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the bubble removing means further includes a ball departure preventing guide 34 which houses the ball 36. In particular, the ball departure preventing guide 34 is in the form of a hollow structure extending vertically from a position above the ion resin 18 (and within a passageway through which cooling water flows) to a bubble outlet 32 disposed at the top of the cover cap 24. The ball departure preventing guide 34 may be integrally formed in the top end portion of the cover cap 24”, and Para. [0036], “as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the ball departure preventing guide 34 has a hollow structure with an interior a diameter which gradually decreases from top to bottom. The ball departure preventing guide 34, further includes a ball transfer guide 35 that allows the ball 36 to elevate or lower. A stopper 39 can further be provided at the bottom end of the ball transfer guide 35 to prevent the ball from exiting the bottom of the ball departure preventing guide 34. For example, as shown, the stopper 39 may be in the form of inwardly angled or bent extensions at the bottom of the ball transfer guide 35 which provide an opening that is smaller in diameter than the ball 36 diameter”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic probe of Cho modified by Na by including wherein an inner diameter of the transition portion is larger than the largest diameter of the floating body, as disclosed by Na. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide air-tightness and prevent leakage of the liquid medium by providing a ball that opens and closes a bubble outlet, as recognized by Na (see, e.g., Para. [0051], and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Cho modified by Na discloses the ultrasonic probe according to claim 18, as set forth above. Cho further discloses (Figs. 2-6) wherein a through hole is formed in a top of the container body (tube 131) opposite to the inlet portion (inlet 132b) and is sealed by a seal member (blocking plate 131a) (see, e.g., Fig. 6, and Para. [0043], “Fig. 6 shows an alternative to the bubble-removing device shown in Fig. 3 in the bubble-removing state. In a bubble-removing device 130' shown in Fig. 6, the tube 131 includes a blocking plate 131a therein. The blocking plate 131a is sloped toward the other end 134 and blocks the inside of the tube 131 with a gap, which is sized such that the bubbles can move therethrough”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed 10/03/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Cho (EP 1 878 388 A1), Applicant argues that Cho does not disclose each and every element of claim 1. Specifically, Applicant argues that Cho “teaches that the bubble-removing device 130 is in constant fluid communication with the enclosed space 115 regardless of whether the ultrasonic probe 100 is positioned in a downward position or an upward position” (see Page 8 of the Remarks filed 10/03/2025).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and emphasizes that Cho does disclose each and every feature of independent claim 1, as set forth above. Examiner emphasizes that Cho discloses a bubble trap device (bubble-removing device 130) selectively in fluid communication with the sealed space (115) via a passage (communication portion 132, communication passage 132a) between the sealed space (115) and the bubble trap device (130) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-5, and Para. [0021], “The ultrasonic probe 100 comprises the following: […] a device for removing bubbles 130”, and Para. [0034], “The surfaces of the components located in the enclosed space 115 (e.g., a surface of the ultrasonic element assembly 112, an inner surface of the housing 112, surfaces of the drive device 120, etc.) are not even. Rather, they have various concave-convex portions. Therefore, when the liquid medium is injected, the air in said concave-convex portions remains in the liquid medium to thereby form bubbles. Such bubbles obstruct the propagation of the ultrasonic waves to thereby deteriorate the performance of the ultrasonic probe 100. However, the bubble-removing device 130 removes the bubbles from the liquid medium and accumulates the removed bubbles” (emphasis added), and Para. [0039], “Fig. 4 illustrates a state where the ultrasonic probe 100 is placed vertically so that its cover side faces the ground (hereinafter, such a state is referred to as "a bubble-removing state")” (emphasis added), and Para. [0040-0042]), wherein the sealed space (115) and the bubble trap device (130) are completely filled with a liquid medium (liquid medium 116) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-3, and Para. [0032], “a liquid medium 116 is filled in the enclosed space 115 to facilitate the unobstructed propagation of ultrasonic waves. Oil or saline solution can be used as the liquid medium 116”, and Para. [0033-0041]), and wherein the bubble trap device (130) is configured to be in fluid communication with the sealed space (115) so as to allow bubbles (bubbles 116a) in the liquid medium (116) to enter the bubble trap device (130) from the sealed space (115) via the passage (132, 132a) when the ultrasonic probe (100) is positioned in a downward position where the contact portion (113) faces downwardly (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0039-0041]), and to be not in fluid communication with the sealed space (115) so as to prevent the bubbles (116a) from escaping from the bubble trap device (130) when the ultrasonic probe (100) is positioned in an upward position where the contact portion (113) faces upwardly (see, e.g., Fig. 5, and Para. [0042]).
Examiner emphasizes that Cho discloses a bubble-removing state that occurs when the ultrasonic probe is placed vertically (see, e.g., Para. [0039-0042]), such that the bubble-removing device 130 is selectively in fluid communication with the enclosed space 115 via the communication passage 132a when the ultrasonic probe is placed vertically because when placed vertically, the fluid within the enclosed space 115 would be placed in the distal most portions of the enclosed space 115 due to gravity (i.e., away from the proximally placed bubble-removing device 130), while the bubbles (i.e., air or gas) would move upwards into the bubble-removing device 130 (i.e., during the bubble-removing state). Changing the position of the ultrasonic probe vertically/horizontally as disclosed by Cho thereby causes selective fluid communication between the bubble-removing device 130 and the enclosed space 115.
Therefore, Cho does disclose each and every feature of independent claim 1, as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798