DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JU et al Journal of BIOSCIENCE and BIOENGINEERING (2009).
Ju discloses an alanine racemase of Bacillus pseudofirmus (claims 10-12). Racemase activity is optimal at pH 10.5 and 40 °C (see abstract and figure 3, from which it can be seen that temperatures of 50 °C and more are also feasible). The amino acid sequence of this alanine racemase (see figure 1) corresponds to that of SEQ ID NO:4 of the present application (claim 13). The enzyme claimed is chemically the same enzyme as that claimed and as such any functional capability must be inherent to the enzyme of the prior art.
The JU reference anticipates the claim subject matter.
Claims 10-11 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kenji et al BIOCHEMISTRY (1986).
Kenji discloses the production and properties of a thermostable alanine
racemase from Bacillus stearothermophilus (claims10-11). Racemization is carried out at 50°C and pH 9 (p 3269). The amino acid sequence of the B. stearothermophilus alanine racemase (see Uniprot accession no. P10724) corresponds to that of SEQ ID NO:2 of the present application (claim 13). The enzyme claimed is chemically the same enzyme as that claimed and as such any functional capability must be inherent to the enzyme of the prior art.
The KENJI reference anticipates the claim subject matter.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uniport October 2002, accession no Q8R860)
Uniport discloses the amino acid sequence of a putative alanine racemase (alanine racemase ) of Caldanaerobacter subterraneus subsp. tengcongensis, which
corresponds to the sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 of the present application. The enzyme claimed is chemically the same enzyme as that claimed and as such any functional capability must be inherent to the enzyme of the prior art.
The UNIPROT reference anticipates the claim subject matter.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR2001 00833959 (Korea Inst)
Korea Inst a heat-resistant alanine racemase of Aquifex pyrophilus (abstract) (claims 10-12). The optimal conditions for the alanine racemase activity are pH 9.5 and a temperature 85-90° (p 0055). The amino acid sequence of the alanine racemase of A. pyrophilus corresponds to that of SEQ ID NO:3 (claim 13). The enzyme claimed is chemically the same enzyme as that claimed and as such any functional capability must be inherent to the enzyme of the prior art.
The reference anticipates the claim subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/158294 (Bou) and JU et al Journal of BIOSCIENCE and BIOENGINEERING (2009); Kenji et al BIOCHEMISTRY (1986); KR2001 00833959 (Korea Inst); & Uniport October 2002, accession no Q8R860).
Bou (0089-0093, 0106-0119) discloses a process for the production of MGDA that includes preparation of racemic α-amino acids, such as racemic alanine, wherein the corresponding racemic α-hydroxycarboxylic acid, such as racemic lactic acid, is reacted in the presence of at least one transition metal heterogeneous catalyst in the presence of hydrogen with a nitrogen compound selected from primary and secondary amines and ammonia. The racemic alanine can be processed very readily into
racemic MGDA for example by Strecker synthesis using HCN/HCHO. (claims 1, 8)
Bou does not teach using an alkaliphilic and thermophilic alanine racemase to produce the racemic alanine for the process however at the time the invention it would have been obvious to use an alkaliphilic and thermophilic alanine racemase because it would be obvious to use any known method and means for making racemic alanine.
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one (emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
In the instant situation, JU, Kenji, Korea Inst & Uniport all teach an alkaliphilic and thermophilic alanine racemase. Specifically: Ju discloses an alanine racemase of Bacillus pseudofirmus (claims 1-5). Racemase activity is optimal at pH 10.5 and 40 °C (see abstract and figure 3, from which it can be seen that temperatures of 50 °C and more are also feasible). The amino acid sequence of this alanine racemase (see figure 1) corresponds to that of SEQ ID NO:4 of the present application. Kenji discloses the production and properties of a thermostable alanine racemase from Bacillus stearothermophilus. Racemization is carried out at 50°C and pH 9 (p 3269). The amino acid sequence of the B. stearothermophilus alanine racemase (see Uniprot accession no. P10724) corresponds to that of SEQ ID NO:2 of the present application. (claims 1-2, 4, 5, 7). Korea Inst a heat-resistant alanine racemase of Aquifex pyrophilus (abstract). The optimal conditions for the alanine racemase activity are pH 9.5 and a temperature 85-90° (p 0055). The amino acid sequence of the alanine racemase of A. pyrophilus corresponds to that of SEQ ID NO:3 (claims 1-5 & 7). Uniport discloses the amino acid sequence of a putative alanine racemase (alanine racemase ) of Caldanaerobacter subterraneus subsp. tengcongensis, which corresponds to the sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 of the present application. (claims 1-5 & 7)
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was made especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary. Note that MPEP § 706.3(e) states that:
"[w]hen the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 of the statute is appropriate. As a practical matter, the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. A lesser burden of proof is required to make out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1063, 173 USPQ 685 (1972) ; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA1974)."
The Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether or not Applicants' seroconversion rates differ and, if so, to what extent, from that discussed in the references. Therefore, with the showing of the references, the burden of establishing non-obviousness by objective evidence is shifted to Applicants.
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657