DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 44 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 44, the claim is labeled as “new” but has underlined amendments. Furthermore, the claimed, “body” lacks antecedent basis in the claim, as it depends from claim 17 which recites both a “test container body” and a “collection container body”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 37–44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ealovega et al. (US Pub. # 20150157300), hereinafter referred to as Ealovega, in view of Casterlin (US Pub. # 20040099628).
Regarding claim 17, Ealovega teaches, “An apparatus for testing a liquid specimen, in which the apparatus comprises: a test container (Fig. 3A–3E) comprising: a body (12); a linear acting mover means (14) movable to and fro in the body; and a does not necessarily teach, “a plurality of response portions”. However, Casterlin teaches the deficiencies of Ealovega (see at least Fig. 1, ref. # 12; para. [0004], describing plural test response areas. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ealovega’s invention to include a plurality of response portions.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ealovega’s invention for at least the purpose of testing plural sample components/drugs/compounds/ingredients within the liquid specimen at the same time, thus leading to increased efficiency.
Notably, “response portions” are claimed throughout the Office action and are taught by the combination of Ealovega and Casterlin, as shown in the rejection above. Further discussion regarding the response portion 16 of Ealovega being modified with Casterlin to include plural response portions will be omitted.
Regarding claim 37, Ealovega teaches, “in which the response portions move into and out of the collection container through a valve means (16 moves into and out of 1 through valve means 3).”
Regarding claim 38, Ealovega teaches, “in which the valve means comprises a valve orifice, and in which the test container opens the valve orifice such that the response portions do not touch the valve means (see Fig. 3B–3E; 12 moving into valve means 3 opens orifice 4/5, where 16 does not touch 3).”
Regarding claims 39–42, Ealovega does not appear to teach, “including remover means for removing unwanted liquid specimen from the response portions after the contact of the response portions with the liquid specimen; in which the remover means is a scraping remover means which operates to scrape the unwanted liquid specimen from the response portions after the contact of the response portions with the liquid specimen; in which the scraping remover means comprises a slot for receiving the response portions, and in which at least a part of the slot is defined by a wall which scrapes against at least a part of the response portions; the remover means is a sponge remover means.” However, Casterlin teaches the deficiencies of Ealovega (see abstract; see para. [0015, 0041, 0042, 0044, 0046, 0047, 0052]).” It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ealovega’s invention to include remover means for removing unwanted liquid specimen from the response portions after the contact of the response portions with the liquid specimen; in which the remover means is a scraping remover means which operates to scrape the unwanted liquid specimen from the response portions after the contact of the response portions with the liquid specimen; in which the scraping remover means comprises a slot for receiving the response portions, and in which at least a part of the slot is defined by a wall which scrapes against at least a part of the response portions; the remover means is a sponge remover means.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ealovega’s invention for at least the purpose of ensuring the proper/desired amount of liquid is applied to the test/response portions ensuring excess remains in the collection container, ultimately avoiding residual dripping or spilling.
Regarding claim 43, Ealovega teaches, “in which the response portions are carried on or by the linear acting mover means (16 connected with 15 to 14).”
Regarding claim 44, Ealovega teaches, “wherein the linear acting mover means comprises a plunger directly abutting the sides of the body (Fig. 3A–3D, ref. # 14 is interpreted as a plunger linear acting mover means, as it plunges into and out of 1 with 16 attached).”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Notably, without providing any specific reasons, the arguments (see applicant’s remarks pages 6 and 7) merely repeat the claim language recited in claim 17 above. Amended claim 17 includes limitations (from claims 19–20, and 32, rejected in the 10/17/2025 Office action) previously rejected by Ealovega in combination with Casterlin. New claims 37–44 are merely substantial duplicates of previous claims 21–23, 25, and 28–31. Therefore, the claims stand rejected using the same rationale as previously set forth.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN D WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852