DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 5 February 2026.
Claims 1-26 were amended.
Claims 1-26 are pending in this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claim 26 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 regarding non-statutory subject matter was addressed and is withdrawn.
Applicants’ amendments and arguments with respect to claims 1-26 filed on 5 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are deemed to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (U.S. 9,973,788) and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 2017/0316541).
With respect to claim 1, Martin teaches a method of display processing, comprising: determining (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25), based on a set of compositions of a plurality of frames using a plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 8, line 23 – col. 9, line 8), a usage frequency of each composition group of the plurality of composition groups, wherein each composition group of the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25); assigning a priority order to the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 5, line 62 – col. 6, line 2) based on the usage frequency (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25); and analyzing, as part of a frame composition procedure, at least one composition group of the plurality of composition groups based on the priority order (Martin, col. 5, line 62 – col. 6, line 2).
Martin does not explicitly teach associated with a plurality of layers for a frame of the plurality of frames.
However, Kim teaches is associated with a plurality of layers for a frame of the plurality of frames (Kim, page 8, paragraph 98, lines 19-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Martin in view of Kim in order to enable associated with a plurality of layers for a frame of the plurality of frames. One would be motivated to do so in order to reduce current consumption for an application output (Kim, page 1, paragraph 6).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Martin and Kim teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method further comprising: configuring a time window for (Martin, col. 6, lines 17-19) determining the usage frequency of each composition group of the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Martin and Kim teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method further comprising: allocating a set of parameters into the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 8, line 23 – col. 9, line 8).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Martin and Kim teaches the invention described in claim 3, including the method wherein allocating the set of parameters into the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 8, line 23 – col. 9, line 8) comprises: allocating the set of parameters into the plurality of composition groups at (Martin, col. 8, line 23 – col. 9, line 8) an initialization time (Martin, col. 6, lines 17-19).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Martin and Kim teaches the invention described in claim 3, including the method wherein allocating the set of parameters into the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 8, line 23 – col. 9, line 8) comprises: updating a prior allocation of the set of parameters (Kim, page 8, paragraph 98, lines 5-8).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Martin and Kim teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method wherein the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 8, line 23 – col. 9, line 8) is based on at least one of: a layer number of the plurality of frames; a flag; a resolution of the plurality of frames; or a format of the plurality of frames (Kim, page 8, paragraph 98, lines 5-8).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Martin and Kim teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method further comprising: storing an indication of a usage of the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 4, lines 33-37) when the plurality of composition groups is used for the composition of the plurality of frames (Kim, page 8, paragraph 98, lines 19-23), the usage frequency being determined based on the indication of the usage (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Martin and Kim teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method wherein assigning the priority order to the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 5, line 62 – col. 6, line 2) based on the usage frequency (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25) comprises: assigning the priority order for the plurality of composition groups on (Martin, col. 5, line 62 – col. 6, line 2) at least one of a device level or an application level (Martin, col. 3, lines 15-19).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Martin and Kim teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method wherein assigning the priority order to the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 5, line 62 – col. 6, line 2) based on the usage frequency (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25) comprises: changing (Martin, col. 6, lines 17-19) the priority order of the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 5, line 62 – col. 6, line 2) based on a change of (Martin, col. 6, lines 17-19) the usage frequency of a composition group of the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Martin and Kim teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method further comprising: determining, based on one or more parameters of at least one frame of the plurality of frames, a composition group for composing the at least one frame (Kim, page 8, paragraph 98, lines 5-8).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Martin and Kim teaches the invention described in claim 10, including the method further comprising: composing the at least one frame by at least one of: a display processor; a graphics processing unit (GPU); a central processing unit (CPU); or a digital signal processor (DSP) (Kim, Fig. 5, element 520; page 10, paragraphs 119-120).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Martin and Kim teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method further comprising: selecting a composition group of the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25) based on the priority order (Martin, col. 5, line 62 – col. 6, line 2); and composing a second plurality of frames based on the selected composition group (Martin, col. 11, lines 11-28).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 13, Martin teaches an apparatus for display processing, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: determine (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25), based on a set of compositions of a plurality of frames using a plurality of compositions groups (Martin, col. 8, line 23 – col. 9, line 8), a usage frequency of each composition group of the plurality of composition groups, wherein each composition group of the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25); assign a priority order to the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 5, line 62 – col. 6, line 2) based on the usage frequency ((Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25); and analyze, as part of a frame composition procedure, at least one composition group of the plurality of composition groups based on the priority order (Martin, col. 5, line 62 – col. 6, line 2).
Martin does not explicitly teach associated with a plurality of layers for a frame of the plurality of frames.
However, Kim teaches is associated with a plurality of layers for a frame of the plurality of frames (Kim, page 8, paragraph 98, lines 19-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Martin in view of Kim in order to enable associated with a plurality of layers for a frame of the plurality of frames. One would be motivated to do so in order to reduce current consumption for an application output (Kim, page 1, paragraph 6).
With respect to claim 25, the combination of Martin and Kim teaches the invention described in claim 13, including the apparatus comprises a wireless communication device (Kim, pages 2-3, paragraph 32, line 4).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 13 above.
With respect to claim 26, Martin teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer executable code, the code when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to: determine (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25), based on a set of compositions of a plurality of frames using a plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 8, line 23 – col. 9, line 8), a usage frequency of each composition group of the plurality of composition groups, wherein each composition group of the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25); assign a priority order to the plurality of composition groups (Martin, col. 5, line 62 – col. 6, line 2) based on the usage frequency (Martin, col. 6, line 25 – col. 7, line 25); and analyze, as part of a frame composition procedure, at least one composition group of the plurality of composition groups based on the priority order (Martin, col. 5, line 62 – col. 6, line 2).
Martin does not explicitly teach associated with a plurality of layers for a frame of the plurality of frames.
However, Kim teaches is associated with a plurality of layers for a frame of the plurality of frames (Kim, page 8, paragraph 98, lines 19-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Martin in view of Kim in order to enable associated with a plurality of layers for a frame of the plurality of frames. One would be motivated to do so in order to reduce current consumption for an application output (Kim, page 1, paragraph 6).
Claims 14-24 do not teach or define any new limitations above claims 2-12 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
Applicants' amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alicia Baturay/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441
May 4, 2026