DETAILED ACTION
New Examiner
This application has been transferred to a new examiner, Nicholas Piro of Art Unit 1738, who can be reached at 571-272-6344.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-13 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 29 December 2025.
Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 8 June 2026 have been entered and considered for this action.
The prior rejections under 35 USC § 112 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8 June 2026 with respect to the rejections under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In particular, while Applicant is correct about the values reported by Marshall being relative and not absolute deviations in isotopic abundance, the values reported by Marshall can be converted to absolute deviations by comparison to the established isotopic abundance standard for water (VSMOW), as analyzed below. By doing so it can be shown that the extent of 2H2O enrichment and H218O depletion reported by Marshall meet the limitations of claim 1.
It is additionally noted that while claims 4 and 6 were previously indicated as containing allowable subject matter, upon further consideration this determination is withdrawn, for the reasons set forth below. Because new rejections of claims 1 and 4 - 6 presented below were not necessitated by Applicant’s amendments, this action is NOT FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitations “wherein the first/second/single composition further comprises…”. It is unclear from this limitation whether the claim requires that the first and second and single compositions to each be comprised of H217O enriched and H217O depleted water, any one of them to meet this limitation, or something else.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marshall et al. (Frontiers in Plant Science 2020, 11, DOI: 10.3389/fpls 2020.00358), as evidenced by IAEA (“Reference Sheet for International Measurement Standards”, IAEA, 1 December 2006).
Regarding claim 1, Marshall discloses that upper stem xylem water is comprised of 2H enriched water and 18O depleted water, where the level of 2H enrichment is +300 per mil and the level of 18O depletion is -13 per mil (Dec 21, Figure 5). Though Marshall does not explicitly disclose what standard the ẟ values are measured relative to, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that they are likely reported relative to Vienna Standard Mean Ocean Water (IAEA, Table on page 3), which has the isotopic abundances reported in the table below (RVSMOW). The water of Marshall therefore contains water enriched in 2H2O at a level of >0.0203% and depleted in H218O to a level of 0.197%, each of which fall in the instantly claimed ranges.
2H
18O
RVSMOW (as equivalent %)
0.0156
0.200
ẟ (xylem)
>300
-12.5
Rsample = (1+ ẟ/1000) RVSMOW
>0.0203
0.197
Regarding claim 4, Marshall teaches the combination of claim 1, but is silent on the H217O content of the samples. However, it is noted that a sample which is comprised of equal parts of equally enriched and depleted H217O would be identical to a sample containing only natural abundance levels of the isotopes. Furthermore, any level of H217O (other than 100% enriched or 100% depleted) could result from the appropriate combination of sufficiently enriched and depleted H217O. It is also noted that the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, and only on the product itself. MPEP 2113.
Therefore, because the composition of Marshall will be identical to one comprised of both H217O enriched and H217O depleted water, Marshall also anticipates the product of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, Marshall teaches the combination of claim 1, where the 2H2O enriched water and the H218O depleted water are comprised in a single composition, the upper stem xylem water (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Marshall teaches the combination of claim 5, wherein the single composition will be identical to one comprised of H217O enriched water and H217O depleted water, as analyzed for claim 4. Marshall therefore also anticipates claim 6.
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xul et al. (CN 101293635 A), as evidenced with respect to claims 4 and 6 by Thode et al. (Can. J. Res. 1944, 22(4), 127-136). The provided English machine translation of Xu (CN 101293635 A) is referenced in the analysis below.
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches in Example 8 ([0054]) the production of one stream that is 2H2O enriched to a deuterium concentration of 34.6% (bottom product) and a stream that is H218O depleted to an oxygen-18 concentration of 0.170% (top product). Because these streams are produced from a single process in a single facility, they can be considered a combination, and therefore meet the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Xu teaches the combination of claim 1, but is silent on the H217O content of the samples. However, it is noted that a sample which is comprised of equal parts of equally enriched and depleted H217O would be identical to a sample containing only natural abundance levels of the isotopes. Furthermore, any level of H217O (other than 100% enriched or 100% depleted) could result from the appropriate combination of sufficiently enriched and depleted H217O. It is also noted that the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, and only on the product itself. MPEP 2113.
Therefore, because each half of the combination taught by Xu will be identical to one comprised of both H217O enriched and H217O depleted water, Xu also anticipates the combination of the instant claim.
Additionally, because the process of distillation used by Xu will necessarily deplete the top product of heavy isotopes including both H18O and H217O and enrich bottom product in heavy isotopes including both H18O and H217O, as evidenced by Thode (Since O18 concentrates in the distillation of water, it is to be expected that O17 will concentrate also, although to a lesser extent; p. 134, ¶ 3), the top product will be depleted in H217O and the bottom product will be enriched in H217O, thereby also meeting the limitations of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Xu teaches the combination of claim 1 where the 2H2O enriched water is comprised in a first composition (bottom product; [0054]) and the H218O depleted water is comprised in a second composition (top product; [0054]).
Regarding claim 6, Xu teaches the combination of claim 5, wherein the first and second compositions will be identical to ones comprised of H217O enriched water and H217O depleted water, as analyzed for claim 4. Xu therefore also anticipates claim 6.
Additionally, because the process of distillation used by Xu will necessarily deplete the top product of heavy isotopes including both H18O and H217O and enrich bottom product in heavy isotopes including both H18O and H217O, as evidenced by Thode (Since O18 concentrates in the distillation of water, it is to be expected that O17 will concentrate also, although to a lesser extent; p. 134, ¶ 3), the top product will be depleted in H217O and the bottom product will be enriched in H217O, thereby also meeting the limitations of claim 6.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A. PIRO/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735