DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
The reference of Marshall et al. discloses all limitations of the special technical feature recited in claim 1 including 2H2O enriched water and H218O depleted water, see the detailed discussion below.
Since the special technical feature is disclosed by the prior art, that special technical feature does not provide a contribution over the prior art. Further, because PCT Rule 13. 2 states that a lack of unity exists when the special technical feature does not provide a contribution over the prior art, and because the examiner has disclosed references which teach this special technical feature, a proper assertion has been made that there exists lack of unity. See the detailed discussion below.
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-6 read on the elected group. Claims 7-8 and 14-14 previously have been cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 3, according to the limitations recited in the instant claim 1, the H218O depleted water recited in claim 3 is consider as greater than 0% H218O.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms "enriched" and "depleted" in claims 1-6 are relative terms which render the claims indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of these terms is impossible to determine because there is no indication of what complexities, and sizes are included/excluded. Appropriated corrections are required.
Regarding claims 2-3, they fails to indicate whether the percentage are calculated based on a total composition, each component of starting reagents or final product, and percentage of volume, a weight or a molar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marshall et al. (Frontiers in Plant Science, 11, 2020, https://doi.org/10.3389/fpls.2020.00358 ).
Regarding claim 1, Marshall et al. teach isotopic composition of tree Xylem water comprising δ18O xylem values are depleted in 18O, -2.8+/- 1.5‰, the δ 2H xylem values increased from initial source water values (natural abundance) to the labeled water value δ 2H =5.3 +/- 3.0‰ enriched (pages 7-8).
Regarding claim 2, as discussed above, Marshall et al. teach the enriched 2H2O % greater than 0.02% as the instant claim (pages 7-8).
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, Marshall et al. teach the depleted H218O greater than 0.0% as the instant claim (pages 7-8).
Regarding claim 5, as discussed above, Marshall et al. teach 2H2O enriched and H218O depleted in a single composition of xylem water as the instant claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Conclusion
YUN . QIAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1732
/YUN QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738