DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 28 November 2025
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-44 are pending;
Claims 1 and 31 are currently amended;
Claims 2-30 and 32-44 were previously presented;
Claims 1-44 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 28 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are moot since new references are being used to reject the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taft et al (U.S. Patent No. 4,176,986).
As to Claim 1, Taft discloses a subsea fluid storage system, comprising:
A seabed foundation (16);
A tensile member (20) anchored to and extending upwardly from the foundation (16);
A subsea buoy (22) coupled to the tensile member (20), the subsea buoy (22) applying tension via its buoyant upthrust to the tensile member (20) to support the tensile member in an upright orientation (Figure 1); and
At least one fluid storage container (Lowermost 21) disposed between the foundation (16) and the buoy (22) and mounted to the tensile member (20. Figure 2), the container having at least one inlet or outlet (32) for fluid communication with a source or a consumer of fluid to be stored in the container (Lowermost 21);
Wherein the tensile member (20) extends from the foundation (16) to the buoy (22) through the container (Figure 2 shows the tensile member 20 through the container 21).
As to Claim 31, Taft discloses a method of storing a fluid underwater, the method comprising:
Conveying the fluid into at least one subsea storage container (Lowermost 21) mounted to a tensile member (20) that extends between a seabed foundation (16) and a subsea buoy (22), the tensile member (20) being anchored to the foundation (16) and coupled to the buoy (22) so that the buoy supporting supports the tensile member in an upright orientation through tension applied via buoyant upthrust of the buoy (Figure 1); and
Dispensing the fluid (via 44) from the container (Lowermost 21) to a subsea consumer or offloading the fluid from the container to a surface vessel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 27-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maus (U.S. Patent No. 6,578,637) in view of Taft et al (U.S. Patent No. 4,176,986).
As to Claim 1, Maus discloses a subsea fluid storage system, comprising:
A seabed foundation (16);
A tensile member (10) anchored to and extending upwardly from the foundation (16);
At least one fluid storage container (90) mounted to the tensile member (10), the container having at least one inlet or outlet (55) for fluid communication with a source or a consumer of fluid to be stored in the container (90);
Wherein the tensile member (10) extends from the foundation (16) through the container (90).
However, Maus is silent about a subsea buoy coupled to the tensile member, the subsea buoy applying tension via its buoyant upthrust to the tensile member to support the tensile member in an upright orientation; wherein the tensile member extends from the foundation to the buoy through the container, the fluid container disposed between the foundation and the buoy. Taft discloses a subsea buoy (22) coupled to the tensile member (20), the subsea buoy (22) applying tension via its buoyant upthrust to the tensile member (20) to support the tensile member in an upright orientation (Figure 1); Wherein the tensile member (20) extends from the foundation (16) to the buoy (22) through the container (Figure 2 shows the tensile member 20 through the container 21), the fluid container disposed between the foundation and the buoy. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a subsea buoy coupled to the tensile member, the subsea buoy applying tension via its buoyant upthrust to the tensile member to support the tensile member in an upright orientation; wherein the tensile member extends from the foundation to the buoy through the container, the fluid container disposed between the foundation and the buoy. The motivation would have been to provide buoyancy for the riser prior to the injection of gas into the storage containers.
As to Claim 2, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the tensile member (10) comprises at least one of a pipe, a wire, or a chain.
As to Claim 3, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the tensile member (10) serves as a riser pipe for conveying hydrocarbon fluid from a seabed source.
As to Claim 4, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the buoy (Taft: 22) is integrated with the container (90).
As to Claim 5, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein fluid communication between the container (90) and the source or the consumer is effected via at least one flow path (53, 54) at a level beneath the container, beside or within the tensile member.
As to Claim 6, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 5 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the tensile member (20) contains one or more fluid lines (53, 54) that define the or each flow path.
As to Claim 7, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein at least one upward fluid flow path (Path within 10) from a subsea source extends through, but does not communicate with, the container (90).
As to Claim 8, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 7 (Refer to Claim 7 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the or each upward fluid flow path (Path within 10) extends to or through the buoy (Taft: 22).
As to Claim 9, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein at least one upward fluid flow path (54) from a subsea source communicates with the container (90).
As to Claim 10, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the container (90) has a first compartment (Compartment above uppermost 64) that communicates with said upward fluid flow path (54) and a second compartment (Compartment below lowermost 64) that communicates with at least one downward fluid flow path (36a) toward a subsea consumer (20).
As to Claim 11, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the container has at least one filling port (Port defined by 55) arranged for subsea connection with a flexible hose (53) for filling with fluid from or offloading fluid to a surface vessel.
As to Claim 12, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the container (90) is coupled to a flexible hose (53, 54) that extends to the surface for filling with fluid from or offloading fluid to a surface vessel.
As to Claim 27, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the container (90) comprises a plurality of interengaged modules (Modules divided by 64), each defining a respective storage compartment.
As to Claim 28, Maus as modified teaches a subsea installation comprising at least one subsea fluid storage system (14) of claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion).
As to Claim 29, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 28 (Refer to Claim 28 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches comprising at least one subsea consumer (20) of fluid stored by the system, in fluid communication (via 34) with the container (90) of the system for supply of that stored fluid to the consumer.
As to Claim 30, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 28 (Refer to Claim 28 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches comprising at least one subsea source (24) of hydrocarbon fluid, in fluid communication with the container of the system or with a riser (10) serving as the tensile member of the system.
As to Claim 31, Maus discloses a method of storing a fluid underwater, the method comprising:
Conveying the fluid into at least one subsea storage container (90) mounted to a tensile member (10), the tensile member being anchored to a foundation (16); and
Dispensing (via 55) the fluid from the container (90) to a subsea consumer or offloading the fluid from the container to a surface vessel.
However, Maus is silent about the at least one subsea storage container mounted to a tensile member that extends between the seabed foundation and a subsea buoy, the tensile member coupled to the buoy so that the buoy supporting supports the tensile member in an upright orientation through tension applied via buoyant upthrust of the buoy. Taft discloses at least one subsea storage container (Lowermost 21) mounted to a tensile member (20) that extends between a seabed foundation (16) and a subsea buoy (22), the tensile member coupled to the buoy (22) so that the buoy supporting supports the tensile member in an upright orientation through tension applied via buoyant upthrust of the buoy (Figure 1). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a subsea buoy above the subsea storage container thereby making the at least one subsea storage container mounted to the tensile member that extends between the seabed foundation and the subsea buoy, the tensile member coupled to the buoy so that the buoy supporting supports the tensile member in an upright orientation through tension applied via buoyant upthrust of the buoy. The motivation would have been to provide buoyancy for the riser prior to the injection of gas into the storage containers.
As to Claim 32, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 31 (Refer to Claim 31 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the fluid is a hydrocarbon fluid (Lift gas can be natural gas which is a hydrocarbon fluid) that is conveyed into the container (90) from a subsea source (20).
As to Claim 33, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 31 (Refer to Claim 31 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the fluid is a chemical (The lift gas is a chemical) for subsea processing or for injection into a subsea well that is conveyed into the container (90) from a surface vessel or underwater vehicle.
As to Claim 34, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 33 (Refer to Claim 33 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the tensile member (10) is a riser up which hydrocarbon fluid flows toward a surface vessel without entering the container (Via path within 10).
As to Claim 35, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 31 (Refer to Claim 31 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches comprising conveying fluid into the container (90) or dispensing fluid from the container via a flow path (53, 54) beside or within the tensile member (10).
As to Claim 36, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 31 (Refer to Claim 31 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches comprising effecting fluid connection, subsea, of a flexible hose (53, 54) of a surface vessel with a port (Port defined by 55) of the container (90) and filling the container with fluid, or offloading fluid from the container, through the hose.
As to Claim 37, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 31 (Refer to Claim 31 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches comprising effecting fluid connection, at the surface, of a surface vessel to a flexible hose (53, 54) in fluid communication with the container (90) and filling the container with fluid, or offloading fluid from the container, through the hose.
Claims 13-26 and 38-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maus (U.S. Patent No. 6,578,637) in view of Taft et al (U.S. Patent No. 4,176,986); and further in view of Skjetne et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0167962).
As to Claim 13, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). However, Maus as modified is silent about wherein the container comprises an outer, flooded, rigid-walled housing and at least one inner chamber within the housing, the inner chamber being defined by a flexible-walled envelope. Skjetne discloses wherein a container (50) comprises an outer, flooded, rigid-walled (“Rigid” is being interpreted as solid) housing (10) and at least one inner chamber (20) within the housing, the inner chamber being defined by a flexible-walled envelope. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the container comprise an outer, flooded, rigid-walled housing and at least one inner chamber within the housing, the inner chamber being defined by a flexible-walled envelope. The motivation would have been to increase the utility of the device by providing pressure compensation for hydrostatic pressure to be maintained during chemical dosing and tank raising operations.
As to Claim 14, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the housing (Skjetne: 10) has a closed top and/or bottom end defining a trap volume for capturing fluid leaking from the inner chamber (Skjetne: Figures 5A and 5B).
As to Claim 15, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the housing (Skjetne: 10) comprises an access opening (Skjetne: Opening of 10 closed by 12) through which the envelope of the inner chamber can be inserted, subsea, into the housing.
As to Claim 16, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 15 (Refer to Claim 15 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches further comprising a movable or removable closure (Skjetne: 12) that is arranged to close the access opening (Skjetne: Opening of 10 closed by 12).
As to Claim 17, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the closure (Skjetne: 12) is attached to or supports the envelope of the inner chamber so that the envelope is inserted into the housing when the closure closes the access opening (Skjetne: Opening of 10 closed by 12).
As to Claim 18, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 17 (Refer to Claim 17 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the closure (Skjetne: 12) supports at least one fluid coupling (Skjetne: 25) that communicates with the envelope to fill the envelope with fluid or to empty fluid from the envelope.
As to Claim 19, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the or each inner chamber (Skjetne: 20) is substantially symmetrical about a central longitudinal axis of the housing (Skjetne: Figure 2).
As to Claim 20, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the envelope of the or each of said inner chambers (Skjetne: 20) is extensible or collapsible longitudinally within the housing (Skjetne: 10).
As to Claim 21, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 20 (Refer to Claim 20 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the envelope is disposed between end plates (Skjetne: 12, 22), at least one of which plates is movable longitudinally within the housing (Skjetne: 10) to guide extension or contraction of the envelope.
As to Claim 22, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 21 (Refer to Claim 21 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein at least one of the end plates (Skjetne: 12, 22) comprises material with positive buoyancy.
As to Claim 23, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches comprising two or more of said inner chambers disposed end-to-end within a common outer housing (Skjetne: Figure 4A).
As to Claim 24, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the envelope comprises a slot (Skjetne: Figures 8A and 8B, 25) that extends from a centre of the envelope to open to an outer edge of the envelope, the slot accommodating the tensile member when the envelope is within the housing.
As to Claim 25, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 24 (Refer to Claim 24 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the slot (Skjetne: Figure 8A and 8B, 25) follows a path that is curved from the centre to the outer edge.
As to Claim 26, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 23 (Refer to Claim 23 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches wherein the housing (Skjetne: 15) comprises at least one port for inward or outward flow of seawater.
As to Claim 38, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 31 (Refer to Claim 31 discussion). However, Maus as modified is silent about comprising holding the fluid in an inner chamber defined by a flexible-walled envelope within an outer, flooded, rigid-walled housing of the container. Skjetne discloses holding fluid in an inner chamber (20) defined by a flexible-walled envelope within an outer, flooded, rigid-walled (“Rigid” is being interpreted as solid) housing (10) of a container (50). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to hold the fluid in an inner chamber defined by a flexible-walled envelope within an outer, flooded, rigid-walled housing of the container. The motivation would have been to increase the utility of the device by providing pressure compensation for hydrostatic pressure to be maintained during chemical dosing and tank raising operations.
As to Claim 39, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 38 (Refer to Claim 38 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches comprising inserting the envelope into the housing (Skjetne: 10) through an access opening (Skjetne: Opening of 10 closed by 12) of the housing, when underwater.
As to Claim 40, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 39 (Refer to Claim 39 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches comprising closing the access opening (Skjetne: Opening of 10 closed by 12) with a closure (Skjetne: 12) that supports the envelope, such that the envelope is inserted into the housing when the closure closes the access opening.
As to Claim 41, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 40 (Refer to Claim 40 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches preceded by lowering the envelope from the surface to the access opening (Skjetne: Opening of 10 closed by 12).
As to Claim 42, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 41 (Refer to Claim 41 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches comprising lowering the envelope and the closure (Skjetne: 12) from the surface together, attaching the closure (Skjetne: 12) to the housing, and inserting the envelope into the housing by closing the closure (Skjetne: 12) across the access opening.
As to Claim 43, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 39 (Refer to Claim 39 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches comprising accommodating the tensile member within a slot (Skjetne: Figure 8A and 8B, 25) of the envelope when the envelope is inserted into the housing.
As to Claim 44, Maus as modified teaches the invention of Claim 38 (Refer to Claim 38 discussion). Maus as modified also teaches comprising extending and contracting the envelope (Skjetne: 20) longitudinally within the housing (Skjetne: 10) in accordance with variations in volume of the fluid held within the envelope.
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678