DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Applicant’s submission dated 06/19/2023. Claim(s) 1–14 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a conveying mechanism configured to transport char from the first end section to the second outlet during use” in claim 1, which has been interpreted to mean “a helical screw housed within a tube element”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1–2, 4–9, & 11–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2,537,912 to Della Toffola et al.
With regard to claims 1 & 12, Della Toffola discloses a char collector for a pyrolysis system and its associated method of operation (abstract), the pyrolysis system featuring a pyrolysis reactor (37) comprising a hot char outlet (46) (Fig. 1; ¶ 0034), the char collector comprises a container (67) and a longitudinal char conveyor unit (69) (Fig. 1; ¶ 0041), and the container (67) comprises a chamber (Fig. 1; ¶ 0041), a first inlet connectable to the hot char outlet (46) and a first outlet (Fig. 1), wherein the first inlet is arranged in an upper portion of the chamber and the first outlet is arranged in a lower portion of the chamber (Fig. 1); and the char conveyor unit (69) comprises a first end section connected to the first outlet (Fig. 1), a second end section featuring a second outlet for cooled char (Fig. 1), and a conveying mechanism (71) configured to transport char from the first end section to the second outlet during use (Fig. 1; ¶ 0041); wherein the second outlet is at a level above the first outlet (Fig. 1), such that a gas trap is formed between the first inlet and the second outlet when the chamber is filled with water up to a level above the first outlet during use (Fig. 1; ¶ 0042).
With regard to claim 2, Della Toffola further discloses the second outlet is at a level above a mid-level of the chamber (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 4, Della Toffola further discloses the char conveyor unit (69) comprises a longitudinal hollow element in which at least a lower section of the conveying mechanism (71) is arranged (Fig. 1; ¶ 0041).
With regard to claim 5, Della Toffola further discloses the conveying mechanism (71) is a helical screw and the longitudinal hollow element is a tube element (Fig. 1; ¶ 0041).
With regard to claim 6, Della Toffola further discloses the char conveyor unit (69) comprises a third outlet (64) positioned between the first outlet and the second outlet (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0040–0041), and a lowest level of the third outlet is above a highest level of the first outlet (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 7, Della Toffola further discloses at least one blade arranged to rotate inside the chamber (67) (Fig. 1; bottom of auger (71) has vanes/flights that can be considered a blade and which extend into the chamber).
With regard to claim 8, Della Toffola further discloses the blade is connected to a rotary shaft arranged to allow rotation of the blade between a first position and a second position (Fig. 1; auger rotates), wherein the blade is at a higher level in the first position than in the second position (Fig. 1; flight move position upward as the shaft rotates).
With regard to claim 9, Della Toffola further discloses the longitudinal char conveyor unit comprises an air inlet (51) arranged at a level above the third outlet (64) (Fig. 1; ¶ 0046).
With regard to claim 11, Della Toffola further discloses the pyrolysis reactor (37) comprises a hot char outlet connected to the first inlet of the char collector (15) (Fig. 1; ¶ 0040).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Della Toffola.
With regard to claim 3, Della Toffola further discloses water is added to the chamber when the water level falls below a predetermined level.
Della Toffola fails to disclose the container comprises a controllable water inlet for providing water into the chamber and a water level sensor for measuring a water level inside the chamber, the water level sensor connected to the controllable water inlet. The use of a controllable water inlet and an accompanying water sensor to maintain a pool of water at a predetermined height is old and well-known in the art (a toilet tank is one common example). As such, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the char collector of Della Toffola with the controllable water inlet and sensor well-known to the prior art because such a combination would have had the added benefit of providing a means for automatically maintaining the water level at a desired height.
With regard to claim 10, Della Toffola fails to disclose sensors for measuring temperature, moisture and/or air flow, arranged at the second outlet, the third outlet and/or the air inlet. Sensors for measuring temperature, moisture, and/or air flow are old and well-known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the char collector of Della Toffola with the sensors known to the prior art because such a combination would have had the added benefit of monitoring the char collection process. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to mount a sensor at the second outlet, third outlet, and/or the air inlet, since to shift the location of parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Della Toffola in view of US 4,557,248 to Richards.
Della Toffola fails to disclose the step of collecting the char from the second outlet comprises loading the char into a fluid tight bag which is subsequently sealed. Richards teaches loading the char into any suitable fluid tight container. Sealable, fluid tight bags are old and well-known in the art (Ziploc ® is one example; poly tubing is another example). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the char collector of Della Toffola with the char collection container of Richards because such a combination would have had the added benefit of safely securing and storing char, which could otherwise be hazardous to the environment. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to use fluid tight bags as the storage container since they are one of a limited number of options for safely and securely storing potentially hazardous material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892. Applicant is encouraged to review the cited references prior to submitting a response to this office action.
/DAVID J LAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
January 30, 2026