Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lincoln et al. (US 2018/0036148).
As per claim 1, Lincoln teaches 1. An apparatus (In Abstract)comprising: a variable stiffness module configured (0005)to be attached between a first portion(element 330 in fig.5) and a second portion (element 311 in fig.4))of a leg prothesis wherein the first portion is configured to move relative to the second portion in a first plane( as shown in fig. 4); wherein the variable stiffness module defines an interior region configured to store pressurized fluid and wherein a value of a volume of the interior region is configured to be varied from a first volume value to a second volume value such that a stiffness of the variable stiffness module in the first plane is varied from a first stiffness value to a second stiffness value(In para. 0063, 0065).
With respect to claim 2, Lincoln teaches the first portion is a blade and the second portion is a pylon and wherein the first plane is a plantar-dorsiflexion (PD) plane(para. 0074).
With respect to claim 3, Lincoln teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the variable stiffness module includes:a linear actuator with a first end coupled to the first portion of the leg prothesis and a second end coupled to the second portion of the leg prothesis such that movement of the first portion relative to the second portion displaces a first fluid within the linear actuator; and an accumulator in flow communication with the linear actuator to receive the displaced first fluid from the linear actuator and to pressurize a second fluid within the interior region(para. 0065, 0066, 0081).
With respect to claim 4, Lincon teaches the apparatus of claim 3 wherein the first portion is a blade of the leg prothesis and wherein the accumulator is positioned between the linear actuator and the blade (see fig. 4).
With respect to claim 5, Lincoln teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the accumulator includes a pair of chambers separated by a diaphragm such that a first chamber of the pair of chambers is configured to receive the first fluid from the linear actuator and a second chamber of the pair of chambers is configured to store the second fluid, wherein the diaphragm is configured to displace upon receiving the first fluid in the first chamber to reduce a volume of the second chamber and pressurize the second fluid in the interior region(Para. 0065, 0066 and 0081).
With respect to claim 6, Lincoln teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the interior region includes a reservoir in flow communication with the accumulator through a valve such that the volume of the interior region is varied to include a volume of the reservoir when the valve is in an open position and exclude the volume of the reservoir when the valve is in a closed position (Para. 0065, 0066).
With respect to claim 7, Lincoln teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein a plurality of reservoirs are in flow communication with the accumulator through a respective plurality of valves such that the volume of the interior region is varied to include a volume of one or more first reservoirs when the respective valves of the one or more first reservoirs are in an open position and exclude a volume of one or more second reservoirs when the respective valves of the one or more second reservoirs are in a closed position(In fig. 4., para. 0081)
With respect to claim 8, Lincoln teaches the apparatus of The apparatus of wherein the linear actuator is a hydraulic cylinder including a piston, wherein the first fluid is hydraulic fluid such that movement of the first portion relative to the second portion causes the piston to displace the hydraulic fluid; wherein the accumulator is in flow communication with the hydraulic cylinder through a hydraulic valve, wherein the accumulator includes a pair of chambers separated by a diaphragm such that a first chamber of the pair of chambers is configured to receive the hydraulic fluid from the hydraulic cylinder when the hydraulic valve is in an open position; wherein the second fluid is pneumatic fluid such that a second chamber of the pair of chambers is configured to store the pneumatic fluid based on displacement of the diagraph of the accumulator upon the hydraulic fluid being received in the first chamber(In fig. 4 and Para. 0081).
With respect to claim 9, Lincoln teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first end of the linear actuator is pivotally coupled to the first portion of the leg prothesis and wherein the second end of the linear actuator is pivotally coupled to the second portion of the leg prothesis such that the linear actuator is configured to rotate in the first plane based on movement of the first portion relative to the second portion(In fig.4).
With respect to claim 10 Lincoln teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the linear actuator is oriented at an angle relative to the first portion, wherein the angle is in a range from about 45 degrees to about 75 degrees (In fig.5).
With respect to claim 11 Lincon teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the second portion of the leg prothesis is a frame of the leg prothesis, wherein the frame of the leg prothesis includes a pyramid configured to be attached to a pylon (Para. 0007, 0031, 0074, 0090).
With respect to claim 12, Lincoln teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the frame further includes an adapter configured to adjust a position of the pyramid on the frame(In fig.4).
With respect to claim 13 Lincoln teaches a system comprising: the apparatus of claim 1; and the leg prothesis including the first portion and the second portion(In fig.4).
With respect to claim 14 the system of claim 13, wherein the first portion is configured to move relative to the second portion in only the first plane(see fig.4).
With respect to claim 15, Lincoln teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the first portion is a blade and the second portion is a pylon of the leg prothesis( same as claim 2 rejection).
With respect to claim 16 Lincoln teaches a method comprising: attaching a variable stiffness module between a first portion and a second portion of a leg prothesis; moving, in a first plane, the first portion relative to the second portion; adjusting a value of a volume of an interior region configured to store pressurized fluid within the variable stiffness module from a first volume value to a second volume value such that a stiffness of the variable stiffness module in the first plane varies from a first stiffness value to a second stiffness value( see rejection of claim 1 it teaches a device so inherently teaches method of using).
With respect to The method of claim 17, further comprising: measuring, with a first sensor, a value of a parameter that indicates a condition of movement of a user during the moving of the first portion relative to the second portion; transmitting, from the first sensor, a first signal to a controller indicating the value of the parameter; determining, with the controller, a desired level of stiffness for the variable stiffness module and a desired volume of the interior region based on the value of the parameter, wherein the second volume is the desired volume and the second stiffness is the desired level of stiffness; and transmitting, from the controller, a second signal to a valve within the variable stiffness module to initiate the adjusting step from the first volume to the desired volume such that the stiffness of the variable stiffness module in the first plane varies from the first stiffness to the desired level of stiffness(In Para. 0023,0025,0040,0042,0070,0071,0074).
Conclusion
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628