DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended claim 1 to now recite that the disrupting device directly disrupts operation of the injection mold via interruption of the mold supply (see claim 1 paragraph b ii).
Applicant's arguments filed September 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding the claims 1-5 and 7-20 rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Starkey (US 2014/0225292 A1) in view of Lillestolen (EP 3 644 212 A10 and further in view of Catoen (US 20212/0231103 A1), that none of these references teach a disrupting device configured directly to disrupt operation of an injection mold by interrupting a supply of the injection mold, where the supply is at least one of the following: a hydraulic supply, a pneumatic supply, an electrical suppl, or a melted plastic supply and the disrupting device is formed as a valve, a switch, or an actuator.
The pogo pins disclosed in Starkey are relied on to teach a disrupting device, however, the applicant argues that these pins are exclusively to detect whether the monitor has bas been removed from the tool to log unauthorized use such as when the monitor is dismounted. Therefore, these pins cannot be considered to interrupt a supply of the injection as recited in the independent claims but merely opens and closes a signal microswitch within the battery circuit of the monitor and sets a time stamp.
The previous final office action (p. 4) states that based on broadest reasonable interpretation, this is a disrupting device because it constitutes a disruption of the injection mold indirectly from a disrupting device in the case of the alternative of an electrical supply even though the injection mold may continue other operations. Therefore, the applicant has amended the claims to recite that the disrupting device directly disrupts operation of the injection mold via interruption of the mold supply. The applicant goes on to argue that pogo pins cannot be considered to directly disrupt operation of the injection mold as disclosed by Starkey and, moreover, that while Starkey teaches “an alarm or indicator is triggered to alert the user that mold maintenance is required” it does not suggest that operation of the injection mold is stopped or that the supply thereto is interrupted when such an alarm is triggered. (Applicant Arguments/Remarks 09/01/2026 pp.11-13).
Examiner counter-argues that the term directly vs. indirectly used in the context of disruption of the operation of the injection mold under broadest reasonable interpretation can be a relative limitation. While monitor as disclosed by Starkey does appear to include an actuator that is triggered by the opening and closing movement an injection mold press (paragraph [0028]) and to send count signal following a mold operation during active injection mold operations, Starkey does suggest that in one embodiment, the actuator is engageable with a surface of an opposite second half or first half of the mold, which can be mechanical or through a magnetic and/or electrical engagement and actuation (paragraph [0031]). This would imply that a direct shutdown (disruption) of the process is possible. Moreover, it would be obvious for the system of Starkey to be configured to at least temporarily directly disrupt the operation of the injection mold if there is a motivation to do so from a critical parameter (See MPEP § 2143 I (E) “obvious to try” choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.)
Applicant further argues that Lillestolen cannot be considered to disclose a disrupting device that directly disrupts the operation of the injection mold via interruption of a mold supply by erasing or disrupting stored program date in response to detection of tampering or unauthorized access to prevent any future unauthorized access to the stored program data. However, Lillestolen does not teach that such erasure interrupts the supply to the injection mold or results in the physical stopping of the injection molding operation (Applicant Arguments/Remarks 09/01/2026 p. 13).
The examiner counter-argues that Lillestolen not only has a disrupting device to erase or disrupt stored program data, but also discloses a disruption device involving a tamper detection system with an embedded transformer connected to components of a physical enclosure whereby if a signal is received from a tamper switch or detector the tamper control evaluates and determines the tamper response (paragraph [0011]) The examiner submits that this could include the shutdown of the equipment and Lillestolen suggests that possibility when it teaches that a power source can remain charged for 2-10 years following shutdown and whereby the storing of program data is still viable to replace disrupted program data since an injection molding equipment designed to run with program data, inherently cannot run without program data (paragraphs [0009] [0010]).
The applicant argues that a person skilled in the art would not be motivated to modify Starkey in view of Lillestolen because this renders Starkey unsuitable for its intended purpose because while the monitor of Starkey indicates the need for maintenance to prevent damage, the tamper detection system of Lillestolen relates to monitoring physical tampering of a chassis or housing and restricting unauthorized access of data in response to such a physical event. Lillestolen responds by erasing all of the collected during operation of the injection mold and this would be directly contradictory to the purpose of the monitor described in Starkey which collects operational data to be evaluated for determining a problem of the injection mold. This would eliminate the entirety of the historical data collected by Starkey, making it impossible to predict the need for maintenance for the injection molding tool with any type of accuracy. This would render Starkey useless with regard to its actual inventive purpose of predicting maintenance needs to avoid damage.
Moreover, applicant contends that with the modification of Starkey with the disruptive device of Lillestolen would not stop the physical operation of the injection molding machine and it will continue to inject plastic into the tool given that the monitor of Starkey operates purely passively and has not control line to the machine and would result in a disruption device as recited in claims 1 and 20. (Applicant Arguments/Remarks 09/01/2026 pp. 13-14).
The examiner counter argues, as previously, that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Lillestolen does disclose the storage of sensor data, at least temporarily, such as RAM, PROM and EPROM (paragraphs [0055]- [0057]) where the detection of a critical condition and a response is provided after evaluation (Fig. 2 paragraph [0011]) and Lillestolen directly disrupts the operation of the injection mold by erasing and/or disrupting the stored program data (paragraph [0008]) which, as described above, could involve a physical shutdown where critical parameters are involved(paragraphs [0009] [0010]). One with ordinary skill would be motivated to combine Starkey and Lillestolen because the determination when a tamper condition occurs, is important so that sensitive stored program data can be destroyed (i.e. removed, erased, wiped, disrupted) (paragraph [0029]). The expectation of some advantage is the strongest rationale for combining references.
Applicant argues that the inclusion of Catoen in the 103 claim rejection provides no motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to monitor an injection molding process of Catoen with the invention of Lillestolen because Lillestolen is intended to address security and software protection while Catoen teaches an injection molding system having melt or cavity pressure sensors. Applicant submits that use of Catoen appears to be based on impermissible hindsight. (Applicant Arguments/Remarks 09/01/2026 p. 14).
The examiner responds to the hindsight argument that it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Here Catoen discloses these recited features and there appears to the examiner that one with ordinary skill would be motivated to use this feature because pressure sensors are indicators of prevailing conditions within an injection molding assembly and can detect a critical condition within the injection mold (paragraph [0005]).
Based on the above arguments, new grounds of rejection are provided for clarification as to claims 1 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Starkey (US 2014/0225292 A1) in view of Lillestolen (EP 3 644 212 A1) both IDS 06/19/2023 and further in view of Catoen (US 2012/0231103 A1), of record.
Regarding Claim 1, Starkey discloses an injection mold (Fig.2 paragraph [0026] mold – 50) suitable to be arranged in and during operation interconnected to an injection molding machine for injection molding of plastic parts (paragraph [0027] plastic injection molds are shown), and Starkey further discloses
at least one sensor, which is a Hall effect sensor used for recording of events based on removal count, however, Starkey further discloses operational temperature monitoring from mold diagnostic and telemetry sensors (paragraph [0073]).
Starkey further discloses what from a broadest reasonable interpretation is a tamper evident safeguarding assembly (Fig. 1 paragraph [0032] The battery is preferably sealed within the housing – 80 and therefore tamper resistant) for safeguarding of the injection mold comprising
an electronic circuit (Fig. 6 paragraph [0034] processor – 100) interconnected to the at least one sensor (Fig. 9 paragraph [0056] sensor – 83 triggered by magnet that operates a printed circuit board) and configured to detect at least one critical injection mold condition (Fig. 9 paragraph [0056 magnet triggers and records an event on monitor – 60).
Finally, Starkey discloses a disrupting device interconnected to the electronic circuit and configured to at least temporarily indirectly disrupt the operation of the Injection mold (paragraph [0050] an alarm or indicator is triggered to alert the user that mold maintenance is required) and
Starkey further discloses that the disrupting device is configured to interrupt a supply of the injection mold (paragraphs [0053] [0054] maintenance work by the user, the supply is in particular at least one out of the following: a hydraulic supply, a pneumatic supply, an electrical supply, or a melted plastic supply and the disrupting device is in particular formed as a valve, a switch, or an actuator (paragraph [0055] force on actuator is actuated by moving (in one embodiment, a Pogo pin) causing an electrical circuit to close and/or open). .
However, Starkey does not disclose explicitly that this disrupting device is configured to at least temporarily directly disrupt the operation of the injection mold in the sense that the injection mold is physically stopped, nor that the electronic circuit interconnected to the at least one sensor comprises at least one member to store, at least temporarily any sensor data, a value derived from the sensor data or a combination thereof or at least one process configured to detect a critical condition based at least partially on the data stored in the memory nor does Starkey disclose the presence of a melt or cavity pressure sensor.
Lillestollen discloses a tamper detection system which is self-powering with architecture for electronic circuitry (abs, paragraph [0001]). Lillestollen further discloses the presence of a pressure sensor which is a piezoelectric transducer acting as a tamper detection transducer transforming pressure from tampering into an electrical signal representing it (paragraph [0008]).
This sensor data is stored by at least on one member configured to store it (Fig. 2 paragraph [0010] storing of program data in program memory – 120), which can be stored at least temporarily (paragraphs [0055]-[0057] where storage ranges from temporary storage such as RAM, PROM and EPROM to a computer system) sensor data received from the at least one sensor; and/or a value derived from the sensor data; or a combination thereof (paragraphs [0006] [0010] a tamper controller is configured to produce a tamper response when the tamper event is identified and program memory configured to store program data; tamper detector – 114 senses a tampering event as a result of the actuation of at least one component of the physical enclosure) and
at least one processor configured to detect a critical condition of the injection mold based at least partially on data stored in the memory Fig. 2 paragraph [0011] tamper controller – 114 evaluates one or more signals received from tamper switch – 116 and/or tamper detector -114 to evaluate the tamper condition and determine the tamper response); and
Lillestolen discloses a disrupting device interconnected to the electronic circuit and configured to at least temporarily indirectly disrupt the operation of the injection mold where in this case, Lillestolen discloses disrupting the operation (paragraphs [0008] if tamper controller – 18 provides instructions to program memory – 20 that disrupt and/or erase the store program data from program memory – 20 thereby preventing the unauthorized access to stored program data).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Starkey with the teachings of Lillestolen whereby an injection mold for injection molding of plastic part comprises at least one sensor being at least one of a temperature sensor having a tamper evident safeguarding assembly for safeguarding of the injection mold having an electronic circuit interconnected to the at least one sensor with a disrupting device to trigger an indicator or alarm to alert the user during the operation of the injection mold, as disclosed by Starkey,
would also include the elements of the tamper detection and response system of Lillestolen with its storage member configured to store, at least temporarily, sensor data and/or values derived from it received from at least one sensor, including a pressure sensor, and having at least one processor configured to detect a critical condition of the injection mold of Starkey, based on the data stored in memory and would apply the disrupting device of Lillestolen to disrupt the operation of the injection mold of Starkey.
One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine this teaching with the disclosure of Starkey because it can be important to determine when a tamper condition exists so that sensitive stored program data can be destroyed (i.e. removed, erased, wiped, disrupted) (paragraph [0029]).
Moreover, while Lillestolen does not explicitly disclose that its disrupting device interconnected to the electronic circuit and configured to at least temporarily directly disrupt the operation of the injection mold, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill to include the shutdown of the equipment upon activation of a disrupting device and Lillestolen suggests that possibility when it teaches that a power source can remain charged for 2-10 years following shutdown of the tamper system equipment and whereby the storing of program data is still viable to replace disrupted program data (paragraphs [0009] [0010]). One with ordinary skill would be motivated because ordinarily a machine cannot inherently run without program data from program memory which has been disrupted or erased for tamper prevention but also it can be beneficial to store energy during a shutdown for a duration of time equivalent to the expected service life of the equipment (paragraph [0009) in which program data is prevented from access by an unauthorized party (paragraph [0002])
However, Lillestolen does not disclose the presence of a melt or cavity pressure sensor.
Catoen teaches an injection molding system with a sensor unit array (abs) used in determining the cycle count of one or more mold components (paragraph [0024]). These sensors include a number of pressure sensor units (paragraph [0024]) including a cavity pressure sensor and a melt pressure sensor (Fig. 6 paragraph [0034] cavity pressure sensor – 192b and a pressures sensor unit can be disposed elsewhere in the melt stream). Additionally, a temperature sensor is also a part of the sensor array (paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill to have modified the combination of Starkey/Lillestolen with the teachings of Catoen whereby an injection mold comprises at least one sensor that is at least one of a melt or cavity pressure sensor in addition to a temperature sensor by which sensors a critical condition is determined based on at least partially on data stored in at least one memory. The one with ordinary skill would consider this feature to be advantageous because these pressure sensors for cavity and melt are indicators of prevailing conditions within an injection molding assembly and can detect a critical condition within the injection mold (paragraph [0005]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Starkey further discloses that the electronic circuit is configured to actuate upon detection of a critical injection mold condition of the disrupting device (Fig. 6 paragraph [0057] the PM due point, display – 65 flashes an alert and/or an alarm.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Starkey further discloses that the electronic circuit is arranged in a housing attached to and/or incorporated in the injection mold (Fig. 2 paragraph [0033] processor – 100 is preferably positioned with respect to the housing – 80 and preferably sealed therein.).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 3 and Starkey further discloses that the housing is tamper evident, such that unauthorized access to the electronic circuit is detectable (paragraph [0053] possible to detect a difference between removing monitor – 60 for authorized purposes and for unauthorized purposes).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Starkey further discloses that the disrupting device is configured to self- actuate when disconnected from the electronic circuit (Fig. 2, paragraph [0053] showing additional or extra counts on the counter of monitor – 60 which is operated by actuator – 70).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Starkey further discloses that the disrupting device is configured to manipulate sensor data transmitted from a sensor arranged in or at the injection mold to a thereto connected external electronic circuit enabling the external electronic circuit based on the manipulated sensor data to at least temporarily prevent operation of the injection mold and/or the injection molding machine (Fig. 9 paragraph [0056] claim 10.sensor feels or senses that the electromagnetic circuit is complete, closed or open).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 7 and Starkey further discloses that the electronic circuit acts as the disrupting device (Fig. 9 paragraph [0056] activation device having a sensor can be triggered by a printed circuit board and produces an end result - triggers and records an event).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Starkey further discloses that the electronic circuit comprises at least one processor configured to determine at least one time interval
a. between receipt of two definable sensor data points; and/or
b. between two or more definable inputs received from an input device connected to the electronic circuit (Figs. 2, 9 paragraph [0057] user action within any desired set point and can set an initial PM point, such as cycles, and then a desired interval between PM activities.).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Starkey further discloses that the electronic circuit comprises
a. at least one memory is configured to store at least temporarily (Fig. 6, paragraph [0034] non-transitory, computer readable medium – 110)
i. at least one time interval (paragraph [0057] desired interval between PM activities); and/or
ii.. at least one input value received from an input device connected to the electronic circuit (paragraph [0056] data collected in real or actual time, such as on a live system); and/or
iii. a value derived from the sensor data and/or the at least one time interval and/or the at least one input value (paragraph [0057]); or
iv. a combination thereof (paragraph [0057]);
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 10 and Starkey further discloses that the at least one memory is configured to store reference data of the critical injection mold condition, the reference data comprising at least one threshold value and/ at least one comparison value (paragraphs [0047] [0040] interval in which the monitor writes data to internal storage, may write gathered data to storage, such as internal memory every 120 minutes; operation time may be compared with downtime and/or sleep time to reach an Activity Percentage) ; and the at least one processor is configured to determine if at least one out of the following:
a. the sensor data received from the at least one sensor (Fig. 9 paragraph [0056] movement and thus resulting removal count through an unlocked data analysis on a report generated in a software program or in real or actual time); and/or
b. the at least one time interval (paragraph [0057] desired interval between PM activities); and/or
c. at least one input value received from an input device connected to the electronic circuit (paragraph [0056] data collected in real or actual time, such as on a live system); and/or
d. a value derived from the sensor data and/or the at least one time interval and/or the at least one input value (paragraph [0057]); and/or
e. a combination thereof (paragraph [0057])
is above or below the at least one threshold value and/or mismatching with a comparison value, each of the threshold value and the comparison value respectively defining a critical injection mold condition (paragraph [0069 input information into the internal and/or external memory of the monitor – 60).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Starkey further discloses that the electronic circuit comprises at least one communication unit configured
a. to transmit an analysis request comprising data related to at least one condition of the injection mold to a computer system via a communication network enabling the computer system to obtain an injection mold analysis at least partially based on data of the analysis request (paragraphs [0056] [0060] unlocked data analysis on a report generated in a software program; save reports remotely by processing device and communicate, such as by email) and to transmit the injection mold analysis for display to a visual user interface (paragraph [0058] data shown on display) ; the injection mold analysis comprising:
i. at least one condition of the injection mold (paragraph [0057] PM due point, display – 65 flashes an alert and/or an alarm) and/or
ii. at least one key performance indicator (KPI) of the injection mold corresponding to at least one out of the following: a value, a goal, a status, a trend and/or a weight (paragraph [0059] to see all data and/or information except for cycle times and efficiencies, such as over a lifetime and/or recent); and/or
b. to receive an analysis response from the computer system via a communication network, the analysis response the comprising at least one condition of the injection mold and/or at least one key performance indicator (KPI) of the injection mold and/or instructions for the disrupting device (paragraph [0069] associated device may be used to input information into the internal and/or external memory of the monitor with respect to a particular desired setting, preventive maintenance operation or other data or operation includes an intended protocol or history of maintenance accomplished or needs to be done.).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 9 and Starkey further discloses that the at least one processor of the electronic circuit is configured to determine at least one key performance indicator (KPI) of the injection mold from data stored in the at least one memory (paragraphs [0056] [0060] unlocked data analysis on a report generated in a software program; save reports remotely by processing device and communicate, such as by email) and to provide the at least one KPI for display to a visual user interface connected to the electronic circuit (interface (paragraph [0058] data shown on display) wherein the at least one key performance indicator (KPI) of the injection mold corresponds to a value, a goal, a status, a trend, and a weight (paragraph [0059] to see all data and/or information except for cycle times and efficiencies, such as over a lifetime and/or recent).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Starkey further discloses that the electronic circuit is configured to trigger depending on at least one condition of the injection mold a display of maintenance information on a thereto connected visual user interface (Fig. 2 paragraph [0058] data shown on display – 65).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Starkey further discloses that the electronic circuit comprises a location module to determine a location of the injection mold within a production and/or storage area, in particular in relation to the injection molding machine (paragraph [0073] a GPS or RFID may be provided within or in association with the monitor – 60 to permit location tracking of the mold).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Starkey further discloses that the housing of the electronic circuit forms part of a cable connection box of the injection mold (Fig. 1 paragraph [0066] port – 90 positioned within the housing – 80 preferably connectable to an external computer)
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Starkey further discloses that the injection mold comprises at least one exchangeable part having a part identification and the electronic circuit being configured to store the part identification of the at least one exchangeable part and to detect at least one critical injection mold condition based on at least one definable critical condition of the at least one exchangeable part (Figs. 4, 5 paragraph [0072] user may enter the serial number to the particular monitor – 60 into an electronic database and track the particular performance of the mold (exchangeable part) – 50 associated with that monitor – 60).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 17 and Starkey further discloses that the at least one exchangeable part comprises an information carrier having stored thereon at least the part identification readable by an input device being connected to the electronic circuit, in particular the information carrier having stored thereon additionally at one out of the following: threshold data defining a critical condition of the at least one exchangeable part, historic data relating to a use of the at least one exchangeable part, or molding recipe data therefore (paragraph [0066] where the mold – 60 is the exchangeable part, monitor includes port connectable to an external computer so that the history and average cycle time and/or total cycles as well as well as any stored maintenance information may be read, recorded and/or offloaded.).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Starkey, Lillestollen and Catoen disclose all the limitations of claim 17 and Starkey further discloses that the electronic circuit is configured to determine a critical condition of the at least one exchangeable part based at least partially on data received from the at least one sensor (Fig. 9 paragraph [0056] sensor – 83 triggered by a magnet that operates a printed circuit board where the mold – 60 is the exchangeable part), in particular the data received in the electronic circuit from the at least one sensor relates to at least one out of the following: an operating temperature of the at least one exchangeable part or a cycle count of the injection mold, preferably of the at least one exchangeable part (Figs, 2, 6, 9 paragraph [0073] mold diagnostics and telemetry sensors and equipment may be connected with respect to the monitor – 60 to provide temperature monitoring and similar information in association with the reports.)
Regarding Claim 20, Starkey discloses an injection mold (Fig.2 paragraph [0026] mold – 50) suitable to be arranged in and during operation interconnected to an injection molding machine for injection molding of plastic parts (paragraph [0027] plastic injection molds are shown), and Starkey further discloses
at least one sensor, which is a Hall effect sensor used for recording of events based on removal count, however, Starkey further discloses operational temperature monitoring from mold diagnostic and telemetry sensors (paragraph [0073]).
Starkey further discloses what from a broadest reasonable interpretation is a tamper evident safeguarding assembly (Fig. 1 paragraph [0032] The battery is preferably sealed within the housing – 80 and therefore tamper resistant) for safeguarding of the injection mold comprising
an electronic circuit (Fig. 6 paragraph [0034] processor – 100) interconnected to the at least one sensor (Fig. 9 paragraph [0056] sensor – 83 triggered by magnet that operates a printed circuit board) and configured to detect at least one critical injection mold condition (Fig. 9 paragraph [0056 magnet triggers and records an event on monitor – 60).
Finally, Starkey discloses a disrupting device interconnected to the electronic circuit and configured to at least temporarily indirectly disrupt the operation of the Injection mold (paragraph [0050] an alarm or indicator is triggered to alert the user that mold maintenance is required) and
Starkey further discloses that the disrupting device is configured to interrupt a supply of the injection mold (paragraphs [0053] [0054] maintenance work by the user, the supply is in particular at least one out of the following: a hydraulic supply, a pneumatic supply, an electrical supply, or a melted plastic supply and the disrupting device is in particular formed as a valve, a switch, or an actuator (paragraph [0055] force on actuator is actuated by moving (in one embodiment, a Pogo pin) causing an electrical circuit to close and/or open). .
However, Starkey does not disclose that the electronic circuit interconnected to the at least one sensor comprises at least one member to store, at least temporarily any sensor data, a value derived from the sensor data or a combination thereof or at least one process configured to detect a critical condition based at least partially on the data stored in the memory. Neither does Starkey disclose that the tamper evident safeguarding assembly does so in an autonomous manner, without a need for external supervision nor that the electronic circuit is configured to actuate upon detection of a critical injection mold condition the disrupting device or that the electronic circuit is arranged in a housing attached to and/or incorporated in the injection mold nor does Starkey disclose the presence of a melt or cavity pressure sensor.
Lillestollen discloses a tamper detection system which is self-powering with architecture for electronic circuitry (abs, paragraph [0001]). Lillestollen further discloses the presence of a pressure sensor which is a piezoelectric transducer acting as a tamper detection transducer transforming pressure from tampering into an electrical signal representing it (paragraph [0008]). Moreover, this tamper detection system operates in an autonomous manner without a need for external supervision (paragraphs [0034] [0051] electrical power is drawn only when a tamper event occurs thereby energizing tamper power source to supply power to tamper unlock circuit; mechanically actuating the tamper switch when an indicia of the tamper event occurs, to cause transmission of an electrical signal)
This sensor data is stored by at least on one member configured to store it (Fig. 2 paragraph [0010] storing of program data in program memory – 120), which can be stored at least temporarily (paragraphs [0055]-[0057] where storage ranges from temporary storage such as RAM, PROM and EPROM to a computer system) sensor data received from the at least one sensor; and/or a value derived from the sensor data; or a combination thereof (paragraphs [0006] [0010] a tamper controller is configured to produce a tamper response when the tamper event is identified and program memory configured to store program data; tamper detector – 114 senses a tampering event as a result of the actuation of at least one component of the physical enclosure) and
at least one processor configured to detect a critical condition of the injection mold based at least partially on data stored in the memory Fig. 2 paragraph [0011] tamper controller – 114 evaluates one or more signals received from tamper switch – 116 and/or tamper detector – 114 to evaluate the tamper condition and determine the tamper response); and
wherein the at least one member is configured to store reference data of the at least one predetermined condition, the reference data comprising at least one threshold value and the at least one processor is configured to determine if at least one of the sensor data received from the at least one sensor and a value derived from the sensor data is above or below the at least one threshold value, the threshold value defining a critical injection mold condition (Fig. 2 paragraph [0011] tamper controller – 118 evaluates one or more signals received from tamper switch – 116 and/or tamper detector – 114 to evaluate the tamper condition and determine the tamper response; and
Lillestolen discloses a disrupting device interconnected to the electronic circuit and configured to at least temporarily indirectly disrupt the operation of the injection mold where in this case, Lillestolen discloses disrupting the operation (paragraphs [0008] if tamper controller – 18 provides instructions to program memory – 20 that disrupt and/or erase the store program data from program memory – 20 thereby preventing the unauthorized access to stored program data).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Starkey with the teachings of Lillestolen whereby an injection mold for injection molding of plastic part comprises at least one sensor being at least one of a temperature sensor having a tamper evident safeguarding assembly for safeguarding of the injection mold having an electronic circuit interconnected to the at least one sensor with a disrupting device to trigger an indicator or alarm to alert the user during the operation of the injection mold, as disclosed by Starkey,
would also include the elements of the tamper detection and response system of Lillestolen with its storage member configured to store, at least temporarily, sensor data and/or values derived from it received from at least one sensor, including a pressure sensor, and having at least one processor having electronic circuitry in a housing attached and/or incorporated in the injection mold of Starkey and configured to detect a critical condition of the injection mold of Starkey, based on the data stored in memory and would apply the disrupting device of Lillestolen to directly disrupt the operation of the injection mold of Starkey.
One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine this teaching with the disclosure of Starkey because it can be important to determine when a tamper condition exists so that sensitive stored program data can be destroyed (i.e. removed, erased, wiped, disrupted) (paragraph [0029]).
Moreover, while Lillestolen does not explicitly disclose that its disrupting device interconnected to the electronic circuit and configured to at least temporarily directly disrupt the operation of the injection mold, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill to include the shutdown of the equipment upon activation of a disrupting device and Lillestolen suggests that possibility when it teaches that a power source can remain charged for 2-10 years following shutdown of the tamper system equipment and whereby the storing of program data is still viable to replace disrupted program data (paragraphs [0009] [0010]). One with ordinary skill would be motivated because ordinarily a machine cannot inherently run without program data from program memory which has been disrupted or erased for tamper prevention but also it can be beneficial to store energy during a shutdown for a duration of time equivalent to the expected service life of the equipment (paragraph [0009) in which program data is prevented from access by an unauthorized party (paragraph [0002])
However, Lillestolen does not disclose the presence of a melt or cavity pressure sensor.
Catoen teaches an injection molding system with a sensor unit array (abs) used in determining the cycle count of one or more mold components (paragraph [0024]). These sensors include a number of pressure sensor units (paragraph [0024]) including a cavity pressure sensor and a melt pressure sensor (Fig. 6 paragraph [0034] cavity pressure sensor – 192b and a pressures sensor unit can be disposed elsewhere in the melt stream). Additionally, a temperature sensor is also a part of the sensor array (paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill to have modified the combination of Starkey/Lillestolen with the teachings of Catoen whereby an injection mold comprises at least one sensor that is at least one of a melt or cavity pressure sensor in addition to a temperature sensor by which sensors a critical condition is determined based on at least partially data stored in at least one memory. The one with ordinary skill would consider this feature to be advantageous because these pressure sensors for cavity and melt are indicators of prevailing conditions within an injection molding assembly and can detect a critical condition within the injection mold (paragraph [0005]).
Conclusion
/WAYNE K. SWIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1748 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748