DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 9 is withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/19/2023, 9/26/2023, 7/16/2024, 4/3/2025 and 9/2/2025 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2020/0291527 A1) to Cho et al. (hereinafter Cho) in view of the teachings of (US 2006/0054248 A1) to Straus (hereinafter Straus).
Cho is directed towards protective coatings for steel substrates. Cho discloses at paragraph [0010] that the coating contains a trivalent chromium compound. Cho discloses at paragraph [0010] that the protective coating further comprises a silane compound. Cho discloses at paragraph [0035] that phosphoric acid compound is present. Cho discloses at paragraph [0039] that a crosslinking compound is present. Cho discloses at paragraph [0038] that a vanadium rust inhibiting compound is present in a concentration of 0.5 to 5%, which reads on Applicants 0.1 to 14.3 parts. Cho discloses at paragraph [0010] that a silane compound is present at 5% to 50% that reads on Applicants range of 0.1 to 40 parts. Cho discloses at paragraph [0010] that a vanadium rust inhibiting compound is present. Cho discloses at paragraph [0052] that the composition includes a solvent. Cho discloses at paragraph [0053] that the chromium may be a chromium phosphate or chromium nitrate. Cho discloses at paragraph [0014] that the silane species is a 3-aminopropyl triethoxysilane. Cho discloses at paragraph [0015] that a vanadium oxide may be present. Cho discloses the coating of a steel panel with a corrosion preventing solution, but is silent regarding a silicate crosslinking agent and a polymer resin.
Straus is directed towards protective coatings for steel substrates. Cho and Straus are both directed towards protective coatings for steel substrates and therefore are analogous art. Straus teaches at paragraph [0038] that the surfaces of steel objects were coated. Straus teaches at paragraph [0027] that the steel surface was treated with chromium nitrate and an acid adjuster of phosphoric acid. Straus teaches at paragraph [0032] that the surface was treated with a solution containing potassium silicate. Straus teaches at paragraph [0012] that the silicate adds corrosion protection, which would motivate one skilled in the art to add it to further protect steel from corrosion. Straus teaches at paragraph [0006] that the potassium silicate is dispersed in a methacrylate coating polymer in a solvent placed upon the trivalent chromium compound on the surface, which would act as a crosslinker of the polymer. One skilled in the art would be further motivated modify the coating of Cho with the teachings of Straus to add a polymer top coat with a crosslinker to the surface of the steel to further increase corrosion protection of the steel substrate. Straus teaches at paragraph [0011] that the chromium may be present in the solution from 1g/l to 100 g/l, which overlaps upon the range of 0.5 to 17 parts of the solvent. Straus teaches at paragraph [0027] that 4 g/l of citric and 10 g/l of phosphoric acid were added to adjust pH that reads on Applicants 0.5 to 11 parts acid. Straus teaches at paragraph [0033] that a polymer having 21% concentration of 21 parts reads on Applicants 0.5 to 25 parts of a polymer. Straus teaches at paragraph [0032] that silicate was applied for a 20% weight that reads on Applicants 2 to 20 parts silicate.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Cho in view of the teachings of Straus to modify the coating of Cho to add a polymer topcoat combined with a silicate to increase the corrosion resistance of a steel substrate that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-8.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766