DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Figures 5 contains hand drawn reference characters and reference callouts, which are inconsistent with the rest of the drawings.
Element 12 appears to be completely different when comparing figs. 1, 3, and 5. For example, in fig. 1, it appears to be a flat bar, in fig. 3 it appears to be a u-shaped channel that extends the height of the device, and in fig. 5 it appears to be a small u-shaped channel that only extends a fraction of the height of the device.
Element 13 is also completely different when comparing fig. 2, fig. 3, fig. 4, and fig. 5. For example, in fig. 2 it is pointing in the vicinity of element 12 but not at a specific object, in fig. 3 element 13 is a box adjacent to but not between side frames 12, in fig. 4 it is a thin plate extending inside of the guides, and in fig. 5 it is found between the side frames 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ulf (EP 3306026A1, translation provided by applicant), in view of Kraeutler (US 10113353).
Regarding claim 1, Ulf teaches a roll door unit (fig. 1, paragraph 13) for covering a door opening comprising a flexible door panel (5), a rotatable roll shaft (paragraph 13) for rolling-up the flexible door panel (5), side frames (2s, paragraph 13), mounting flanges (10a’s, paragraphs 19 and 21) for mounting the roll shaft (15) to the side frames (2s), a connecting element (one of the 11a’s) for connecting a motor unit (6) to the roll shaft, and supporting beams (12a’s, paragraphs 19-20) for supporting the side frames (2s) in a mounted state and being connected or connectable to a wall or ground (capable of), whereby a longitudinal axis of the roll shaft is positioned in alignment with a plane being spanned by the supporting beams (paragraph 21),
characterized in that, the supporting beams (12a’s) and the mounting flanges (10a’s) are each connected with a respective one of the side frames (2s) and arranged along the respective side frame, wherein each mounting flange (10a’s) is arranged vertically above a respective one of the supporting beams (fig. 6), wherein the respective mounting flange (10a’s) and respective supporting beam (12a’s) are connected with the respective side frame (2s) at positions on the respective side frame a distance from one another (12a is connected to 2 all along the length of 2, while 10a is connected to 2 at the top) in such a way, that in the mounted state, forces exerted by the roll shaft are introduced into the supporting beams (12as) indirectly through the side frames (forces exerted by the roll shaft are able to transfer directly to element 2 from element 10a, and then transfer from 2 to element 12a. This is in addition to forces being able to be directly transferred between components 10a and 12a),
wherein the side frames (2s) each comprise a U-shaped profile (fig. 6), and wherein the supporting beams (12a) are at least partly arranged between legs (at least part of the supporting beams is found in an area that is located between the legs of the two side frames) of the U-shaped profile of the side frames (2s).
Ulf does not teach that each mounting flange is not directly connected to the respecting supporting beam.
Kraeutler teaches a roll door unit with side frames (6s), mounting flanges (20s), and supporting beams (17s) for supporting the side frames in a mounted state and being connected or connectable to a wall or ground (capable of, column 3 lines 34-35),
characterized in that, the supporting beams (17s) and the mounting flanges (20s) are each connected with a respective one of the side frames (fig. 2) and arranged along a respective side frame, wherein each mounting flange (20) is arranged vertically above a respective one of the supporting beams (17, fig. 2), wherein the respective mounting flange (20) and respective supporting beam (17) are connected with the respective side frame (6) at positions on the respective side frame a distance from one another (fig. 2) in such a way, that in the mounted state, forces exerted by a roll shaft are introduced into the supporting beams indirectly through the side frames.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Ulf with teachings of Kraeutler by adding the support beams of Kraeutler so that each mounting flange is not directly connected to the respecting supporting beam. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of providing a strong and secure connection between the side frames and the ground.
Regarding claim 5, modified Ulf teaches that a connecting element (the second 11a as there must be one per side) for connecting the mounting flanges (10a’s) with the roll shaft is arranged at least partly above the supporting beams (see modification above, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ulf teaches that the mounting flanges (10a’s) are at least partly connected to legs (the legs form the “u shape” along with a base of the side frames) of the U-shaped profile of the side frames (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ulf teaches that in the mounted state the roll shaft is positioned on a rear side of the flexible door panel (fig. 4), whereby the rear side is located on the same side as a work area of a machine and/or a robot (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, modified Ulf teaches a roll-up door (5) comprising a roll door unit according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ulf teaches a production facility and/or work area (fig. 4) comprising at least one roll-up door (5) according to claim 13 (see claim 13 rejection above).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ulf teaches use of a roll door unit according to claim 1 (the examiner notes that claim 15 is clearly a method claim requiring use of a roll door unit and providing the roll door unit according to claim 1, and that it is inherent to use the roll door unit as described in the claim 1 rejection above) for temporarily separating a work area and/or for protecting a machine or robot comprising the step of providing the roll door unit (intended use).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ulf (EP 3306026A1, translation provided by applicant) in view of Kraeutler (US 10113353) as applied above, and further in view of Jerry (US 7516770).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ulf does not teach that an upper end of the respective mounting flange is arranged below or on a same level with an upper end of the respective side frame.
Jerry teaches (fig. 2) a roll door unit (fig. 1) with an upper end of a mounting flange (top of 42) that is arranged at or the same level with an upper end of a side frame (30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Ulf so that an upper end of the respective mounting flange is arranged on a same level with an upper end of the respective side frame. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of making lining up the components during assembly easier.
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ulf (EP 3306026A1, translation provided by applicant) in view of Kraeutler (US 10113353) as applied above, and further in view of Cloninger (US 20100024992).
Regarding claims 10-11, modified Ulf does not teach at least one sensor element, switch and/or signal unit is connected to the side frames, characterized in that the sensor element, the switch and/or the signal unit is connected to an interface for transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from a signal processing unit of a control system.
Cloninger teaches a roll door unit with at least one sensor element (160 paragraph 24), connected to side frames (171c, all components are connected in the assembly), characterized in that the sensor element (160), is connected to an interface (what connects the sensor to the control system as described in paragraph 24) for transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals (functional language) from a signal processing unit of a control system (150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Ulf so that there is at least one sensor element connected to the side frames, characterized in that the sensor element, is connected to an interface for transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from a signal processing unit of a control system. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of the system being able to determine its opening state, allowing automation of the device.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ulf (EP 3306026A1, translation provided by applicant) in view of Kraeutler (US 10113353) as applied above, and further in view of Veatch (US 20180283091).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ulf does not explicitly teach that the flexible door panel comprises a curtain.
Veatch teaches a roll door unit with a flexible door panel that comprises a curtain (paragraph 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Ulf so that the flexible door panel comprises a curtain. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of a known type of door panel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that “The Examiner alleges that section pieces 6 of Kraeutler show side frames, that pedestals 17 shows supporting beams, and that brackets 20 show mounting flanges. The Examiner proposes that a skilled artisan would modify Ulf by adding pedestal 17 of Kraeutler to find a
mounting flange connected with a side frame and positioned distant from a support beam.
The alleged combination does not show or suggest a structure with U-shaped side frames "wherein the supporting beams are at least partly arranged between legs of the U-shaped profile of the side frames." Such a structure is absent from both Ulf and Kraeutler.
As shown in Ulf, Fig. 6, the alleged support, vertical beam 12a is positioned outside of the side frame 2 along the base of the side frame. Kraeutler shows that pedestal 17 is located below sectional pieces 6 and separated from pieces 6 by junction platen 14. There is nothing to show or suggest that either of the alleged supports are located "between the legs of a U-shaped profile" that forms a side frame.
For at least this reason, Ulf considered in view of Kraeutler does not show or suggest the invention, as recited in Claim 1. The addition of Jerry, Cloninger, and Veatch do not cure this defect. Thus, claim 1 is allowable. Claims 2, 5, 7, 8, and 10-15 depend from claim 1 and for at least these same reasons, these dependent claims are likewise not shown or suggested by the cited references and are also allowable.”
The examiner notes that all the limitations as claimed are taught by the combination above. After the combination above, at least part of the supporting beams (element 17 from Kraeutler after the modification above) is found in an area that is located between the legs of the two side frames, mainly the back wall of the U-shaped profile. This is found to teach this limitation as is claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634