DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Figures 5a and 5b contain hand drawn reference characters and reference callouts, which are inconsistent with the rest of the drawings.
Element 13 is also completely different when comparing fig. 3, fig. 4, and figs. 5a and 5b. For example, in fig. 3 element 13 is a box on the inside of the guides 12, in fig. 4 it is a plate extending inside of the guides, and in figs. 5a and 5b it is found on the back side of the guides.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 recites “the U-profile”, but should say “the U-shaped profile”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ulf (EP 3306026A1, translation provided by applicant), in view of Kraeutler (US 10113353).
Regarding claim 1, Ulf teaches a roll door unit (fig. 1, paragraph 13) for covering a door opening comprising a flexible door panel (5), a rotatable roll shaft (paragraph 13) for rolling-up the flexible door panel (5), side frames (2s, paragraph 13), mounting flanges (10a’s, paragraphs 19 and 21) for mounting the roll shaft (15) to the side frames (2s), a connecting element (one of the 11a’s) for connecting a motor unit (6) to the roll shaft, and supporting beams (12a’s, paragraphs 19-20) for supporting the side frames (2s) in a mounted state and being connected or connectable to a wall or ground (capable of), whereby a longitudinal axis of the roll shaft is positioned in alignment with a plane being spanned by the supporting beams (paragraph 21),
characterized in that, the supporting beams (12a’s) and the mounting flanges (10a’s) are each connected with a respective one of the side frames (2s) and arranged along the respective side frame, wherein each mounting flange (10a’s) is arranged vertically above a respective one of the supporting beams (fig. 6), wherein the respective mounting flange (10a’s) and respective supporting beam (12a’s) are connected with the respective side frame (2s) at positions on the respective side frame a distance from one another (12a is connected to 2 all along the length of 2, while 10a is connected to 2 at the top) in such a way, that in the mounted state, forces exerted by the roll shaft are introduced into the supporting beams (12as) indirectly through the side frames (forces exerted by the roll shaft are able to transfer directly to element 2 from element 10a, and then transfer from 2 to element 12a. This is in addition to forces being able to be directly transferred between components 10a and 12a).
Ulf does not teach that each mounting flange is not directly connected to the respecting supporting beam.
Kraeutler teaches a roll door unit with
side frames (6s), mounting flanges (20s), and supporting beams (17s) for supporting the side frames in a mounted state and being connected or connectable to a wall or ground (capable of, column 3 lines 34-35),
characterized in that, the supporting beams (17s) and the mounting flanges (20s) are each connected with a respective one of the side frames (fig. 2) and arranged along a respective side frame, wherein each mounting flange (20) is arranged vertically above a respective one of the supporting beams (17, fig. 2), wherein the respective mounting flange (20) and respective supporting beam (17) are connected with the respective side frame (6) at positions on the respective side frame a distance from one another (fig. 2) in such a way, that in the mounted state, forces exerted by a roll shaft are introduced into the supporting beams indirectly through the side frames.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Ulf with teachings of Kraeutler by adding the support beams of Kraeutler so that each mounting flange is not directly connected to the respecting supporting beam. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of providing a strong and secure connection between the side frames and the ground.
Regarding claim 5, modified Ulf teaches that a connecting element (the second 11a as there must be one per side) for connecting the mounting flanges (10a’s) with the roll shaft is arranged at least partly above the supporting beams (see modification above, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ulf teaches that the side frames (2s) comprise a U-shaped profile (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ulf teaches that the mounting flanges (10a’s) are at least partly connected to legs (the legs form the “u shape” along with a base of the side frames) of the U-profile of the side frames (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ulf teaches that in the mounted state the roll shaft is positioned on a rear side of the flexible door panel (fig. 4), whereby the rear side is located on the same side as a work area of a machine and/or a robot (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ulf teaches that the supporting beams are at least partly arranged between legs (at least part of the supporting beams is found in an area that is located between the legs of the two side frames after the modification above) of a profile of the side frames (2s).
Regarding claim 13, modified Ulf teaches a roll-up door (5) comprising a roll door unit according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ulf teaches a production facility and/or work area (fig. 4) comprising at least one roll-up door (5) according to claim 13 (see claim 13 rejection above).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ulf teaches use of a roll door unit according to claim 1 (the examiner notes that claim 15 is clearly a method claim requiring use of a roll door unit and providing the roll door unit according to claim 1, and that it is inherent to use the roll door unit as described in the claim 1 rejection above) for temporarily separating a work area and/or for protecting a machine or robot comprising the step of providing the roll door unit (intended use).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ulf (EP 3306026A1, translation provided by applicant) in view of Kraeutler (US 10113353) as applied above, and further in view of Jerry (US 7516770).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ulf does not teach that an upper end of the respective mounting flange is arranged below or on a same level with an upper end of the respective side frame.
Jerry teaches (fig. 2) a roll door unit (fig. 1) with an upper end of a mounting flange (top of 42) that is arranged at or the same level with an upper end of a side frame (30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Ulf so that an upper end of the respective mounting flange is arranged on a same level with an upper end of the respective side frame. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of making lining up the components during assembly easier.
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ulf (EP 3306026A1, translation provided by applicant) in view of Kraeutler (US 10113353) as applied above, and further in view of Cloninger (US 20100024992).
Regarding claims 10-11, modified Ulf does not teach at least one sensor element, switch and/or signal unit is connected to the side frames, characterized in that the sensor element, the switch and/or the signal unit is connected to an interface for transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from a signal processing unit of a control system.
Cloninger teaches a roll door unit with at least one sensor element (160 paragraph 24), connected to side frames (171c, all components are connected in the assembly), characterized in that the sensor element (160), is connected to an interface (what connects the sensor to the control system as described in paragraph 24) for transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals (functional language) from a signal processing unit of a control system (150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Ulf so that there is at least one sensor element connected to the side frames, characterized in that the sensor element, is connected to an interface for transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from a signal processing unit of a control system. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of the system being able to determine its opening state, allowing automation of the device.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ulf (EP 3306026A1, translation provided by applicant) in view of Kraeutler (US 10113353) as applied above, and further in view of Veatch (US 20180283091).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ulf does not explicitly teach that the flexible door panel comprises a curtain.
Veatch teaches a roll door unit with a flexible door panel that comprises a curtain (paragraph 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Ulf so that the flexible door panel comprises a curtain. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of a known type of door panel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634