DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-13, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gebhard (US 2019/0313761 A1) in view of Ehlhardt et al. (US 6,089,239) or Su (CN 2598409 Y).
With regard to claim 1, Gebhard discloses an attachment 120 for a haircare appliance 100 (Fig. 1), the attachment 120 comprising an air inlet (Fig. 1, not numbered, at right end of 120 that connected to the haircare appliance 100), a member 126 comprising an air outlet 124 for emitting an airflow (Fig. 3), and a hair treatment chamber (formed by concave surface 122, paragraph [0018]) for receiving hair, the hair treatment chamber comprising an opening through which hair is insertable into the hair treatment chamber (Figs. 1-4), the opening defined by a rim of the hair treatment chamber (Figs. 1-4).
With regard to claim 21, Gebhard discloses a haircare appliance 100 comprising: an air inlet 110 (Fig. 1, paragraph [0017] last two lines); a member 126 comprising an air outlet 124; an airflow generator for generating an airflow from the air inlet to the air outlet (paragraph [0016], fan); and a hair treatment chamber (formed by concave surface 122, paragraph [0018]) for receiving hair, the hair treatment chamber comprising an opening through which hair is insertable into the hair treatment chamber (Figs. 1-4), the opening defined by a rim of the hair treatment chamber(Figs. 1-4).
However, Gebhard does not disclose the member is movable between an extended position at which the moveable member extends from the rim by a first extent and a retracted position at which the moveable member extends from the rim by a second extent less than the first extent. Ehlhardt et al. discloses an attachment 8 for a haircare appliance 1 (Fig. 1), the attachment 8 comprising a moveable member 12 extends from the rim by a first extent and a retracted position at which the moveable member extends from the rim by a second extent less than the first extent (Fig. 10, spring 30 extends and retracts the member 12). Su discloses an attachment 1 for a haircare appliance 1 (Fig. 1), the attachment 1 comprising a moveable member 2 extends from the rim by a first extent and a retracted position at which the moveable member extends from the rim by a second extent less than the first extent (Figs. 1-6 and the description of Figs. 1-6 disclose when needing to extend the finger 2, clockwise rotating the upper cover 13 to make it rotate relative to the base 12, whereby the upper cover 13 side of the guide column 131 toggle bracket 3, the bracket 3 out of the protrusion on the edge 32 then slides in the base 12 of the inner annular wall 121 of the inclined chute 1211, the chute 1211 of the lower slide and bracket 3 through the guide hole 31 along the guide 131 the upper cover 13 direction so as to realize the finger 2 protrudes outwards. When needs to return the finger 2, it only needs to rotate cover 13 in the opposite direction to realize the finger 2 retracted in the main body 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attachment of Gebhard to provide the member of Gebhard with a moveable mechanism as taught by Ehlhardt et al. or Su in order to enable a better adaptation to the shape of the scalp and therefore providing a better comfort on use of the attachment.
With regard to claim 2, Ehlhardt et al. discloses wherein the movable member is biased into the retracted position (Fig. 10, by spring 30).
With regard to claim 4, Su discloses wherein the attachment comprises a switching arrangement 3, 12-14, configured to move the moveable member 2 between the extended position and the retracted position.
With regard to claim 5, Su discloses wherein the switching arrangement 3, 12-14 comprises a rotational mechanism 13 configured to move the moveable member 2 between the extended position and the retracted position.
With regard to claim 6, Su discloses wherein the switching arrangement 3, 12-14 comprises a first portion 3 and a second portion 121, 1211, one of the first portion and the second portion configured to slide along a surface of the other of the second portion and the first portion (Figs. 1-6), wherein the first portion 3 comprises the moveable member 2 and the moveable member 2 is configured to move between the retracted position and the extended position when the one of the first portion and second portion slides along the surface of the other of the second portion and the first portion (description of Figs. 1-6).
With regard to claim 7, Ehlhardt et al. discloses wherein the moveable member 12 is configured to move between the extended position and the retracted position in response to a force applied by a user to the moveable member 12 (Fig. 10).
With regard to claim 8, both Ehlhardt et al. and Su disclose wherein airflow through the air outlet is unrestricted when the moveable member is in the extended position.
With regard to claim 9, Su discloses wherein airflow through the air outlet is restricted when the moveable member is in the retracted position (Su discloses the finger 2 retracted in the main body 1 for storing).
With regard to claim 10, Gebhard discloses wherein the air outlet 124 is configured to direct airflow toward the opening in the extended position (Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 11, Gebhard as modified by Ehlhardt et al. or Su shows wherein the air outlet is configured to direct airflow away from the opening in the extended position.
With regard to claim 12, Gebhard discloses wherein the attachment comprises a plurality of members 126. Ehlhardt et al. discloses a plurality of movable member 12 and Su discloses a plurality of movable members 2.
With regard to claim 13, Ehlhardt et al. and Su disclose wherein the plurality of moveable members 12, 2 each comprise a respective air outlet 13, 21 respectively.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gebhard (US 2019/0313761 A1) in view of Ehlhardt et al. (US 6,089,239) or Su (CN 2598409 Y) as applied to claim 1 as above, and further in view of Bastien (US 5,235,760).
An attachment of Gebhard as modified by Ehlhardt et al. or Su as above includes all that is recited in claim 20 except for the attachment comprises a sensor configured to output a signal indicative of a property of hair within the hair treatment chamber in use. Bastien discloses an attachment 12 comprises a sensor 36 configured to output a signal indicative of a property of hair within the hair treatment chamber in use (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the attachment of Gebhard to include a sensor configured to output a signal indicative of a property of hair within the hair treatment chamber in use as taught by Bastien in order to control the treatment of the hair.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gebhard (US 2019/0313761 A1) in view of Ehlhardt et al. (US 6,089,239) or Su (CN 2598409 Y) as applied to claim 1 as above, and further in view of Stephens et al. (US 2017/0150796 A1).
With regard to claim 22, Gebhard further discloses wherein the haircare appliance 100 comprises a handle unit (not numbered, Fig. 1), and an attachment 120 comprising the air inlet, the member 126 comprising the air outlet 124, and the hair treatment chamber, that attachment removably attachable to the handle unit (paragraph [0016], last line). Ehlhardt et al. and Su disclose a movable member. The haircare appliance of Ehlhardt et al. as modified by Ehlhardt et al. or Su as above includes all that is recited in claim 22 except for the airflow generator is disposed in the handle unit. Stephens et al. discloses a haircare appliance 10 comprising an airflow generator 70 disposed in the handle unit 2 (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the haircare appliance of Gebhard to dispose the airflow generator in the handle unit as taught by Stephens et al. in order to prevent the hair from being pulled into the airflow generator and therefore improve the safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the primary reason for allowance of claims 3, 14-19 is the inclusion of the limitation “the movable member is moveable between the retracted position and the extended position in response to airflow from the airflow generator in use” in claim 3; and “the hair treatment chamber comprises a wall, an aperture formed in the wall and a further air outlet, the further air outlet configured to direct airflow away from the opening and toward the aperture in use” in claim 14 in combination with the remaining claimed elements.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY