DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the housing" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first configuration and the second configuration" in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krups (DE 9214397).
With regard to claim 1, Krups discloses an attachment 14, 52 (Figs. 1, 12-13) for a haircare appliance 10, the attachment comprising an air inlet (at 50, Figs. 1, 12-13), an air outlet 22 for emitting an airflow, and a hair treatment chamber (Fig. 1, formed by the curved surface 33 of the upper part 21 of the diffuser 14) for receiving hair, the air outlet 22 configured to direct airflow into the hair treatment chamber (Figs. 1, 12-13); wherein the hair treatment chamber is movable from a first orientation relative to the air inlet (Fig. 12) to a second orientation relative to the air inlet (Fig. 13), the second orientation different to the first orientation (Figs. 12-13).
With regard to claim 2, Krups discloses wherein the hair treatment chamber comprises a wall 33, an opening (see reproduced Fig. 1 below) through which hair is insertable into the hair treatment chamber, and an aperture (see reproduced Fig. 1 below) formed in the wall 33.
With regard to claim 4, Krups discloses wherein the wall 33 comprises a porous material (Figs. 1, 12-13, wall 33 is made by material with porous, see 22 and open bottom of 23 in Figs. 1, 12-13)).
With regard to claim 5, Krups discloses wherein the porous material 33 defines the aperture (Figs. 1, 12-13).
With regard to claim 6, Krups discloses wherein the attachment comprises a plurality of apertures formed in the wall 33 (Figs. 1, 12-13).
With regard to claim 7, Krups discloses wherein the air outlet 22 is configured to direct airflow into the hair treatment chamber when the hair treatment chamber is in the first orientation and the second orientation (Figs. 1, 12-13).
With regard to claim 13, Krups discloses wherein the attachment 14, 52 comprises a conduit 51, 56, the conduit providing a flow path from the air inlet to the air outlet (Figs. 1, 12-13), wherein the conduit comprises a first part 56 in fluid communication with the air outlet 22 and fixed relative to the air outlet 22 and a second part 51 in fluid communication with the air inlet 50 and fixed relative to the air inlet 50, the second part 51 moveable relative to the first part 56 between the first configuration (Fig. 12) and the second configuration (Fig. 13).
With regard to claim 17, Krups discloses a haircare appliance 10 comprising: an air inlet 13, 50; an air outlet 22; an airflow generator (paragraphs [00009], [0050], motor, impeller) for generating an airflow from the air inlet 13 to the air outlet 22, the airflow generator disposed in a housing 11, 12 (paragraph [0009]); and a hair treatment chamber (see reproduced Fig. 1 below) for receiving hair, the air outlet 22 configured to direct airflow into the hair treatment chamber; wherein the hair treatment chamber is movable from a first orientation relative (Fig. 12) to the housing 11, 12 to a second orientation (Fig. 13) relative to the housing 11, 12, the second orientation different to the first orientation (Figs. 12-13).
Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 7-11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taylor (US 2017/0231359 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Taylor discloses an attachment 1 for a haircare appliance 8, the attachment 1 comprising an air inlet (Fig. 1, at 9), an air outlet 13 for emitting an airflow (Fig. 2), and a hair treatment chamber (Figs. 1-2, formed by hood 3) for receiving hair, the air outlet 13 configured to direct airflow into the hair treatment chamber; wherein the hair treatment chamber is movable from a first orientation relative to the air inlet to a second orientation relative to the air inlet, the second orientation different to the first orientation (Fig. 1, flexible hose 5 allows any orientation of the hood, i.e. hair treatment chamber).
With regard to claim 2, Taylor discloses wherein the hair treatment chamber 3 comprises a wall 4, an opening (not numbered, Figs. 1-2) through which hair is insertable into the hair treatment chamber 3, and an aperture formed in the wall (Figs. 1-2, aperture formed at connection point of 3 and 5).
With regard to claim 4, Taylor discloses wherein the wall 4 comprises a porous 13 material.
With regard to claim 5, Taylor discloses wherein the porous material 4 defines the aperture 13 (Figs. 1-2).
With regard to claim 7, Taylor discloses wherein the air outlet 13 is configured to direct airflow into the hair treatment chamber 3 when the hair treatment chamber is in the first orientation and the second orientation.
With regard to claim 8, Taylor discloses wherein in the first orientation a central axis of the housing is parallel to a central axis of the opening and in the second orientation the central axis of the housing is perpendicular to the central axis of the opening (Fig. 1, flexible hose 5 allows any orientation of the hood 3).
With regard to claim 9, Taylor discloses wherein the attachment 1 comprises a conduit 5, the conduit 5 providing a flow path between the air inlet and the air outlet (Fig. 1), wherein the conduit is deformable between a first position when the attachment is in the first orientation and a second position when the attachment is in the second orientation (Fig. 1, paragraph [0043], flexile hose).
With regard to claim 10, Taylor discloses wherein the conduit 5 comprises a tube 5 which is configured to concertina (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 11, Taylor discloses wherein the conduit 5 is deformable from the first position to the second position in response to a force applied to the conduit (Fig. 1, paragraph [0043]).
With regard to claim 13, Taylor discloses wherein the attachment 1 comprises a conduit 5, the conduit 5 providing a flow path from the air inlet to the air outlet, wherein the conduit 5 comprises a first part (Fig. 1, part connected to hood 3) in fluid communication with the air outlet 13 and fixed relative to the air outlet and a second part (Fig. 1, part near 9) in fluid communication with the air inlet and fixed relative to the air inlet, the second part moveable relative to the first part between the first configuration and the second configuration (Fig. 1).
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 12-14, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Churas (US 4,021,930).
With regard to claim 1, Churas discloses an attachment 14 for a haircare appliance 13, the attachment 14 comprising an air inlet (Fig. 1, at 28), an air outlet 59 for emitting an airflow (Fig. 1), and a hair treatment chamber (Figs. 1-2, formed by hood 14) for receiving hair, the air outlet 59 configured to direct airflow into the hair treatment chamber 14; wherein the hair treatment chamber 14 is movable from a first orientation relative to the air inlet to a second orientation relative to the air inlet (Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 49-51), the second orientation different to the first orientation (Fig. 1, col. 5,lines 49-54).
With regard to claim 2, Churas discloses wherein the hair treatment chamber 14 comprises a wall 51, an opening (not numbered, Fig. 1) through which hair is insertable into the hair treatment chamber 14, and an aperture 107 formed in the wall (Figs. 1, 6).
With regard to claim 4, Churas discloses wherein the wall 51 comprises a porous 59 material.
With regard to claim 5, Churas discloses wherein the porous material 51 defines the aperture 59 (Figs. 1, 3).
With regard to claim 6, Churas discloses wherein the attachment 14 comprises a plurality of apertures 107 formed in the wall 51 ( Fig. 6).
With regard to claim 7, Churas discloses wherein the air outlet 59 is configured to direct airflow into the hair treatment chamber 14 when the hair treatment chamber is in the first orientation and the second orientation.
With regard to claim 12, Churas et al. discloses a conduit 15 comprises a retaining pin 117 engageable with a part of the hair treatment chamber 14 to restrict movement of the conduit 15 away from the hair treatment chamber 14 (Figs. 1, 6, col. 6, lines 18-26).
With regard to claim 13, Churas discloses wherein the attachment 14 comprises a conduit 15, the conduit 15 providing a flow path from the air inlet to the air outlet, wherein the conduit 15 comprises a first part 97 in fluid communication with the air outlet 59 and fixed relative to the air outlet and a second part 99 in fluid communication with the air inlet and fixed relative to the air inlet (Fig. 1), the second part moveable relative to the first part between the first configuration and the second configuration (Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 47-54).
With regard to claim 14, Churas discloses wherein one of the first part 97 and the second part 99 comprises a channel and the other of the second part and the first part is slidable in the channel (Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 47-54).
With regard to claim 17, Churas discloses a haircare appliance 12 comprising: an air inlet 26; an air outlet 49; an airflow generator 20, 24 for generating an airflow from the air inlet 26 to the air outlet 59, the airflow generator disposed in a housing 19 (Figs. 1-2); and a hair treatment chamber 14 for receiving hair, the air outlet 59 configured to direct airflow into the hair treatment chamber; wherein the hair treatment chamber is movable from a first orientation relative to the housing 19 to a second orientation relative to the housing 19 (Fig. 1), the second orientation different to the first orientation (Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 47-54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Churas (US 4,021,930) in view of Suter (US 1,775,704).
The attachment of Churas as above includes all that is recited in claims 2-3 except for an aperture formed in the wall and the air outlet is configured to direct airflow away from the opening and towards the aperture in use. Suter discloses an attachment 1 for a haircare appliance comprising an air inlet 14, an air outlet 4 for emitting an airflow and a hair treatment chamber 2 for receiving hair, the hair treatment chamber comprises a wall 2, an opening (Fig. 1, at 9) through which hair is insertable into the hair treatment chamber, an aperture (Fig. 1, top end of 19) formed in the wall 2, the air outlet 4 is configured to direct airflow away from the opening and towards the aperture in use (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attachment of Churas to form an aperture in the wall and to configure the air outlet to direct airflow away from the opening and towards the aperture in use as taught by Suter in order to withdrawn the moisture-laden air from the hair treatment chamber.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US 2017/0231359 A1) in view of Churas et al. (US 4,021,930).
The attachment of Taylor as above includes all that is recited in claim 12 except for the conduit comprises a retaining pin engageable with a part of the hair treatment chamber to restrict movement of the conduit away from the hair treatment chamber. Churas et al. discloses a conduit 15 comprises a retaining pin 117 engageable with a part of the hair treatment chamber 14 to restrict movement of the conduit 15 away from the hair treatment chamber 14 (Figs. 1, 6, col. 6, lines 18-26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attachment of Taylor to provide the conduit with a retaining pin engageable with a part of the hair treatment chamber to restrict movement of the conduit away from the hair treatment chamber as taught by Churas et al. in order to securely attach the conduit to the hair treatment chamber.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krups (DE 9214397) or Taylor (US 2017/0231359 A1) or Churas (US 4,021,930) in view of Bastien (US 5,235,760).
The attachment of Krups or Taylor or Churas as above includes all that is recited in claim 16 except for the attachment comprises a sensor configured to output a signal indicative of a property of hair within the hair treatment chamber in use. Bastien discloses an attachment 12 comprises a sensor 36 configured to output a signal indicative of a property of hair within the hair treatment chamber in use (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attachment of Krups or Taylor or Churas to include a sensor configured to output a signal indicative of a property of hair within the hair treatment chamber in use as taught of Bastien in order to control he treatment of the hair.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krups (DE 9214397) in view of Stephens et al.(US 2017/0150796 A1).
With regard to claim 18, Krups further discloses wherein the haircare appliance 10 comprises a handle unit 16 and an attachment 14 comprising the air inlet (Fig. 1, at 50), the air outlet 22 and the hair treatment chamber, the attachment 14 removably attachable to the handle unit 16. However, Krups does not disclose the airflow generator is disposed within the handle unit. Stephens et al. discloses a haircare appliance 10 comprising a handle unit 20 within which an airflow generator 70 is disposed (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the haircare appliance of Krups to dispose the airflow generator within the handle unit as taught by Stephens in order to prevent the hair from being pulled into the airflow generator and therefore improve the safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for allowance of claim 15 is the inclusion of the limitation “the one of the first part and the second part slidable in the channel is slidable through 90 degrees relative to the housing between the first orientation and the second orientation” in claim 15 in combination with the remaining claimed elements.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY