DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leach (GB 576,823).
With regard to claim 1, Leach discloses an attachment 1 for a haircare appliance 3, the attachment 1 comprising: an air inlet (Figs. 1-2, at 4) for receiving an airflow; an air outlet 16 for emitting the airflow (Fig. 1); and a hair treatment chamber 1 for receiving hair (Fig. 1), the hair treatment chamber 1 in fluid communication with the air outlet 16 (Fig. 1); wherein the hair treatment chamber 1 comprises a wall 13, 14, an opening 17 through which hair is insertable into the hair treatment chamber 1 (Fig. 1), and an aperture 19 formed in the wall 13, 14 (Fig. 1), the air outlet 16 configured to direct airflow away from the opening 17 and toward the aperture 19 in use (see air flow arrows in Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 2, Leach discloses wherein the air outlet 16 is configured to direct airflow along a surface of the wall in use (see air flow arrows in Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 3, Leach wherein the wall 13, 14 comprises a porous material (Fig. 1, wall 13, 14 made by material with porous 19).
With regard to claim 4, Leach discloses wherein the porous material defines the aperture 19 (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 5, Leach discloses wherein the attachment 1 comprises a plurality of apertures 19 formed in the wall (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 6, Leach discloses wherein the air outlet 16 extends about at least a part of a periphery 17 of the hair treatment chamber 1 (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 7, Leach discloses wherein the air outlet 16 extends about the entire periphery 17 of the hair treatment chamber 1 (Fig. 1, page 3, lines 19-21).
With regard to claim 11, Leach discloses wherein a portion of the wall (Fig. 1, portion of wall 14 between 19) spaced from the air outlet 16 is shaped to direct airflow within the hair treatment chamber 1 toward the opening.
With regard to claim 18, Leach discloses a haircare appliance comprising: the attachment as claimed claim 1; and an airflow generator (page 2, lines 98-99, a motor driven fan or blower) for generating an airflow from the air inlet to the air outlet.
With regard to claim 19, Leach discloses wherein the haircare appliance comprises a handle unit 3 within which the airflow generator is disposed (Fig. 1, page 2, lines 97-101), and the attachment 1 is removably attachable to the handle unit 3 (Fig. 1, page 2, lines 109-113, by bayonet joint 20).
With regard to claim 20, Leach discloses a haircare appliance comprising: an air inlet 6; an air outlet 16; an airflow generator (page 2, lines 98-99, a motor driven fan or blower) for generating an airflow from the air inlet 6 to the air outlet 16; and a hair treatment chamber 1 for receiving hair, the hair treatment chamber 1 in fluid communication with the air outlet 16 (Fig. 1); wherein the hair treatment chamber 1 comprises a wall 13, 14, an opening (Fig. 1, formed by 17) through which hair is insertable into the hair treatment chamber 1, and an aperture 19 formed in the wall (Fig. 1), the air outlet 16 configured to direct airflow away from the opening and toward the aperture 19 in use (Fig. 1, see airflow arrows).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leach (GB 576,823) in view of Lelieveld (EP 3598919 A1).
The attachment of Leach as above includes all that is recited in claim 10 except for wherein the attachment comprises a sensor configured to output a signal indicative of a property of hair within the hair treatment chamber in use. Lelieveld discloses a hair dryer attachment A comprising a sensor S configured to output a signal indicative of a property of hair within the hair treatment chamber when in use (Figs. 1-4, abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to
modify the attachment of Leach to include a sensor configured to output a signal indicative of a property of hair within the hair treatment chamber in use as taught by Lelieveld in order to control the hair treatment based on the sensed hair property to obtain an optimum hair treatment result.
Claims 12-13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leach (GB 576,823) in view of Murphy (US 2,464,776).
The attachment of Leach as above includes all that is recited in claim 12 except for the attachment comprises a further air outlet configured to direct airflow in a different direction to airflow directed by the air outlet; wherein the further air outlet is configured to direct airflow in a direction orthogonal to, or opposite to, a direction in which airflow is directed by the air outlet. Murphy discloses an attachment 15 for haircare appliance 1 comprising an air outlet (Fig. III, at 19, formed between 17 and 40) and a further air outlet 21 configured to direct airflow in a different direction to airflow directed by the air outlet (Fig. III). wherein the further air outlet 21 is configured to direct airflow in a direction orthogonal to, or opposite to, a direction in which airflow is directed by the air outlet (see air flow arrows in Fig. III). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attachment of Leach to include a further air outlet configured to direct airflow in a different direction to airflow directed by the air outlet; wherein the further air outlet is configured to direct airflow in a direction orthogonal to, or opposite to, a direction in which airflow is directed by the air outlet as taught by Murphy in order to improve the hair drying efficiency. With regard to claim 16, Murphy discloses a plurality of further air outlets 21 spaced about a periphery of the opening, each of the plurality of further air outlets 21 configured to direct airflow in a different direction to airflow directed by the air outlet (Fig. III).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 14-15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the primary reason for allowance of claims 8-9, 14-15, 17 is the inclusion of the limitations “a width of the air outlet varies about the periphery of the hair treatment chamber” in claim 8; “the further air outlet is located on the rim such that airflow is directed away from the periphery of the opening and away from the hair treatment chamber” in claim 14; “the attachment comprises a projection extending in a direction away from the opening, and the further air outlet is located on the projection” in claim 15; and “the attachment comprises a first configuration in which airflow through the air outlet is unrestricted and airflow through the further air outlet is restricted and a second configuration in which airflow through the air outlet is restricted and airflow through the further air outlet is unrestricted” in claim 17 in combination with the remaining claimed elements.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY