DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The subject-matter of claim 1 fails to comply with the enablement requirement because the function of "an inductor having a hybrid saturable magnetic core comprising: a switch magnetic material arranged and selected to function as a magnetic switch; and a damping magnetic material arranged and selected to damp reflections from the laser chamber without interfering with the switch magnetic material functioning as a magnetic switch" does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to carry out the switching function and the damping function. The specification of the present application explains in para 30 that "the saturable magnetic core gives the inductor two states. In one state the inductance of the saturable reactor is high because the magnetic core has a high permeability. In the other state the inductance is low because the magnetic core has been driven into saturation, corresponding to a low permeability" but present description and figures of the application documents do not give any indication concerning the electrical control accesses of said "inductor having hybrid saturable magnetic core" which should be used to perform either the switching function or the damping function. It is therefore not clear how the "inductor" should be implemented in term of electrical accesses. Furthermore, there is no support concerning any reference to the "damping magnetic material" so that it is not clear for the skilled person which material should be used and therefore how the "hybrid saturable magnetic core" should be constructed since no material is disclosed. Therefore, the claimed invention is not defined in a clear and complete way for it to be carried out by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 2-9 are also rejected because they inherit the limitations of claim 1 from which they depend.
The subject-matter of claim 10 fails to comply with the enablement requirement because the function of "an inductor having a hybrid saturable magnetic core comprising: a switch magnetic material arranged and selected to function as a magnetic switch; and a damping magnetic material arranged and selected to damp reflections from the laser chamber without interfering with the switch magnetic material functioning as a magnetic switch" does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to carry out the switching function and the damping function. The specification of the present application explains in para 34 that "the reflected energy is further controlled by modifying the saturable reactor core to include, in addition to the "switch" magnetic material that dominates the switching behavior, a "damper" magnetic material with characteristics that cause the damping magnetic material to dampen out the reflected energy" but present description and figures of the application documents do not give any indication concerning the "damping magnetic material" which should be used so that it is not clear for the skilled person how the "hybrid saturable magnetic core" should be constructed since no material is disclosed. Therefore, the claimed invention is not defined in a clear and complete way for it to be carried out by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 11-18 are also rejected because they inherit the limitations of claim 10 from which they depend.
The subject-matter of claim 19 fails to comply with the enablement requirement because the function of "a damping magnetic material arranged and selected to damp pulse energy reflections without interfering with the switch magnetic material functioning as a magnetic switch" does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to carry out the switching function and the damping function for the same reasons as elaborated above with respect to independent claim 10.
The subject-matter of claim 20 fails to comply with the enablement requirement because the function of "and at least one second layer made of a damping magnetic material arranged and selected to damp pulse energy reflections without interfering with the switch magnetic material functioning as a magnetic switch" does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to carry out the switching function and the damping function for the same reasons as elaborated above with respect to independent claim 10.
The subject-matter of claim 21 fails to comply with the enablement requirement because the function of "the hybrid saturable core reactor comprising a switch magnetic material arranged and selected to function as a magnetic switch and a damping magnetic material arranged and selected to damp reflections from the laser chamber without interfering with the switch magnetic material functioning as a magnetic switch" does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to carry out the switching function and the damping function for the same reasons as elaborated above with respect to independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al. (US 5,184,085) in view of Taparia et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0399149).
Regarding claim 1, Nakajima et al. disclose: a pulse power circuit (Fig. 1: whole circuit) for supplying pulses to a laser chamber (Fig. 1: 9: main laser discharge electrodes), the pulse power circuit including (see col. 1 lines 11, 12 explaining that "a high-voltage pulse generating circuit for use in discharge-exited lasers such as copper vapor lasers") an inductor (10) having a hybrid saturable magnetic core (see col. 11, line 1 mentioning "a main saturable reactor 10". See col. 10, lines 37 to 43 mentioning the general formula comprising a list of different components, being interpreted as said "hybrid saturable magnetic core") comprising: a switch magnetic material (Fig. 1: material of the magnetic core of the main saturable reactor 10) arranged and selected to function as a magnetic switch; (Fig. 3: time T1, Fig. 4: from a1 to c1 through b1: switch- off from a1 to b1 and switch-on from b1 to c1, see col. 11, lines 15 to 59) and to damp reflections from the laser chamber (Fig. 3: T2, Fig. 4 from b1 to e1 through d1) without interfering with the switch magnetic material functioning as a magnetic switch, (see col. 11 line 60 to col. 12 line 31 from which it can be deduced that the impedance of main reactor 10 is reduced with the contribution of the reset winding 12 and permits an inverse current il with a lower magnetic flux being reduced from ΔВ to ΔВ1. See col. 7 line 66 to col. 8 line 11 explaining that "the surge voltage is more effectively blocked by the second saturable reactor in the reset circuit output jitter can be reduced").
Nakajima et al. do not disclose: and a damping magnetic material arranged and selected.
Taparia et al. disclose: a hybrid magnetic core loaded power inductor for high frequency application, wherein the hybrid magnetic core loaded power inductor includes a substrate, a first magnetic layer formed on the substrate, a conductive pattern formed on the first magnetic layer, at least an upper surface of the conductive pattern and a second magnetic layer ([0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakajima by forming the inductor with switch magnetic material and damping magnetic material in order to increase the energy density of the inductor.
Regarding claim 10, Nakajima et al. disclose: an inductor (10) having a hybrid saturable magnetic core (see col. 11, line 1 mentioning "a main saturable reactor 10". See col. 10, lines 37 to 43 mentioning the general formula comprising a list of different components, being interpreted as said "hybrid saturable magnetic core") comprising: a switch magnetic material (Fig. 1: material of the magnetic core of the main saturable reactor 10) arranged and selected to function as a magnetic switch; (Fig. 3: time T1, Fig. 4: from a1 to c1 through b1: switch- off from a1 to b1 and switch-on from b1 to c1, see col. 11, lines 15 to 59) and to damp reflections from the laser chamber (Fig. 3: T2, Fig. 4 from b1 to e1 through d1) without interfering with the switch magnetic material functioning as a magnetic switch, (see col. 11 line 60 to col. 12 line 31 from which it can be deduced that the impedance of main reactor 10 is reduced with the contribution of the reset winding 12 and permits an inverse current il with a lower magnetic flux being reduced from ΔВ to ΔВ1. See col. 7 line 66 to col. 8 line 11 explaining that "the surge voltage is more effectively blocked by the second saturable reactor in the reset circuit output jitter can be reduced").
Nakajima et al. do not disclose: and a damping magnetic material arranged and selected.
Taparia et al. disclose: a hybrid magnetic core loaded power inductor for high frequency application, wherein the hybrid magnetic core loaded power inductor includes a substrate, a first magnetic layer formed on the substrate, a conductive pattern formed on the first magnetic layer, at least an upper surface of the conductive pattern and a second magnetic layer ([0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakajima by forming the inductor with switch magnetic material and damping magnetic material in order to increase the energy density of the inductor.
Regarding claim 21, Nakajima et al. disclose: a laser chamber containing a pair of electrodes (Fig. 1: 9: main laser discharge electrodes), and a pulse power supply system arranged to supply pules to the electrodes (see col. 1 lines 11, 12 explaining that "a high-voltage pulse generating circuit for use in discharge-exited lasers such as copper vapor lasers") the pulsed power system including a hybrid saturable core reactor (10) (see col. 11, line 1 mentioning "a main saturable reactor 10". See col. 10, lines 37 to 43 mentioning the general formula comprising a list of different components, being interpreted as said "hybrid saturable magnetic core") the hybrid saturable core reactor comprising: a switch magnetic material (Fig. 1: material of the magnetic core of the main saturable reactor 10) arranged and selected to function as a magnetic switch; (Fig. 3: time T1, Fig. 4: from a1 to c1 through b1: switch- off from a1 to b1 and switch-on from b1 to c1, see col. 11, lines 15 to 59) and to damp reflections from the laser chamber (Fig. 3: T2, Fig. 4 from b1 to e1 through d1) without interfering with the switch magnetic material functioning as a magnetic switch, (see col. 11 line 60 to col. 12 line 31 from which it can be deduced that the impedance of main reactor 10 is reduced with the contribution of the reset winding 12 and permits an inverse current il with a lower magnetic flux being reduced from ΔВ to ΔВ1. See col. 7 line 66 to col. 8 line 11 explaining that "the surge voltage is more effectively blocked by the second saturable reactor in the reset circuit output jitter can be reduced").
Nakajima et al. do not disclose: and a damping magnetic material arranged and selected.
Taparia et al. disclose: a hybrid magnetic core loaded power inductor for high frequency application, wherein the hybrid magnetic core loaded power inductor includes a substrate, a first magnetic layer formed on the substrate, a conductive pattern formed on the first magnetic layer, at least an upper surface of the conductive pattern and a second magnetic layer ([0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakajima by forming the inductor with switch magnetic material and damping magnetic material in order to increase the energy density of the inductor.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al. (US 5,184,085) in view of Taparia et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0399149) and Basley et al. (US PG Pub 2007/0262839).
Regarding claim 19, Nakajima et al. disclose: an inductor (10) having a hybrid saturable magnetic core (see col. 11, line 1 mentioning "a main saturable reactor 10". See col. 10, lines 37 to 43 mentioning the general formula comprising a list of different components, being interpreted as said "hybrid saturable magnetic core") comprising: a switch magnetic material (Fig. 1: material of the magnetic core of the main saturable reactor 10) arranged and selected to function as a magnetic switch; (Fig. 3: time T1, Fig. 4: from a1 to c1 through b1: switch- off from a1 to b1 and switch-on from b1 to c1, see col. 11, lines 15 to 59) and to damp reflections from the laser chamber (Fig. 3: T2, Fig. 4 from b1 to e1 through d1) without interfering with the switch magnetic material functioning as a magnetic switch, (see col. 11 line 60 to col. 12 line 31 from which it can be deduced that the impedance of main reactor 10 is reduced with the contribution of the reset winding 12 and permits an inverse current il with a lower magnetic flux being reduced from ΔВ to ΔВ1. See col. 7 line 66 to col. 8 line 11 explaining that "the surge voltage is more effectively blocked by the second saturable reactor in the reset circuit output jitter can be reduced").
Nakajima et al. do not disclose: a plurality of first toroidal elements arranged in a stack; and at least one second toroidal element arranged in the stack, the second toroidal element comprising a damping magnetic material arranged and selected.
Basley et al. disclose: a stacked magnetic core assembly 60, comprising first core assembly 63 and second magnetic core assembly 65 ([0066]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakajima by forming a plurality of first and second toroidal element arranged in a stack in order to minimize magnetic flux leakage.
Nakajima as modified do not disclose: the second toroidal element comprising a damping magnetic material arranged and selected.
Taparia et al. disclose: a hybrid magnetic core loaded power inductor for high frequency application, wherein the hybrid magnetic core loaded power inductor includes a substrate, a first magnetic layer formed on the substrate, a conductive pattern formed on the first magnetic layer, at least an upper surface of the conductive pattern and a second magnetic layer ([0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakajima as modified by forming the at least one second toroidal element comprising a damping magnetic material in order to increase the energy density of the inductor.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al. (US 5,184,085) in view of Taparia et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0399149) and Melnychuk et al. (US PG Pub 2003/0006383).
Regarding claim 20, Nakajima et al. disclose: a hybrid saturable core reactor comprising: at least one first layer made of a switch magnetic material (Fig. 1: material of the magnetic core of the main saturable reactor 10) arranged and selected to function as a magnetic switch; (Fig. 3: time T1, Fig. 4: from a1 to c1 through b1: switch- off from a1 to b1 and switch-on from b1 to c1, see col. 11, lines 15 to 59) and to damp pulse energy reflections (Fig. 3: T2, Fig. 4 from b1 to e1 through d1) without interfering with the switch magnetic material functioning as a magnetic switch, (see col. 11 line 60 to col. 12 line 31 from which it can be deduced that the impedance of main reactor 10 is reduced with the contribution of the reset winding 12 and permits an inverse current il with a lower magnetic flux being reduced from ΔВ to ΔВ1. See col. 7 line 66 to col. 8 line 11 explaining that "the surge voltage is more effectively blocked by the second saturable reactor in the reset circuit output jitter can be reduced").
Nakajima et al. do not disclose: a toroid formed of a tape would into one or more turns, the tape having a radial cross section when wound; at least one second layer made of a damping material selected.
Taparia et al. disclose: a hybrid magnetic core loaded power inductor for high frequency application, wherein the hybrid magnetic core loaded power inductor includes a substrate, a first magnetic layer formed on the substrate, a conductive pattern formed on the first magnetic layer, at least an upper surface of the conductive pattern and a second magnetic layer ([0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakajima by forming the inductor with a layer of a switch magnetic material and a layer damping magnetic material in order to increase the energy density of the inductor.
Nakajima as modified do not disclose: a toroid formed of a tape would into one or more turns, the tape having a radial cross section when wound.
Melnychuk et al. disclose: inductor made with 2 sets of parallel windings (20 turns each) of Litz wire made on a toroidal, 50-50% NiFe tape wound core with two 1/8" air gaps and a resulting inductance of approximately 140 µH ([0157]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakajima as modified by forming the inductor as a tape would toroid in order to minimize magnetic flux leakage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakajima et al. (US 5,072,191) disclose: a high-voltage pulse generating circuit comprising a magnetic pulse compression circuit having a saturable reactor, and a variable inductor provided on the input side of the saturable reactor for controlling a pulse width of voltage pulse to be applied to the saturable reactor. This circuit may be used in discharge-excited lasers such as excimer lasers and accelerators such as linear induction accelerators (Abstract). Kawasuji (US 6,188,144) discloses: a plurality of series circuits of saturable reactors and transferring capacitors are connected in parallel to a peaking capacitor, the plurality of saturable reactors are magnetically coupled, and saturable reactors for finely adjusting a transfer initiation time are connected in series to the plurality of saturable reactors. Otherwise, a plurality of series circuits of saturable reactors and transferring capacitors are connected in parallel to the peaking capacitor, the plurality of saturable reactors are magnetically coupled, and post-saturation inductances of the plurality of saturable reactors are made different (Abstract).
/XINNING(Tom) NIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828