DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 16-21 are amended, Claims 1-15 have been cancelled; Claims 23-35 are withdrawn as non-elected claims, claims 16-21 remain for examination, wherein claim 16 is an independent claim.
Previous Rejections/Objections
Previous objection of Claim 22 because of the informalities is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s “Arguments/Remarks with amendment” filed on 4/3/2026.
Previous rejection of Claim(s) 16-17, 19, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniel (WO 2019033187 A1, with on-line translation, listed in IDS filed on 6/20/2023, thereafter WO’187) is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s “Arguments/Remarks with amendment” filed on 4/3/2026.
Previous rejection of Claim(s) 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’187 in view of SARRA et al (EP 4011624 A1, thereafter EP’624) is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s “Arguments/Remarks with amendment” filed on 4/3/2026.
In view of the Applicant’s amendments in the instant claims, newly recorded reference(s), and reconsideration, a new ground rejection is added as following:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17, 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniel (WO 2019033187 A1, with on-line translation, listed in IDS filed on 6/20/2023, thereafter WO’187) in view of Bush et al (US-PG-Pub 2010/0294725 A1, thereafter PG’725).
Regarding claim 16, WO’187 teaches a cold pelletization of iron-ore fines with mixture flexibility, with a grain size range of zero to 6.4 mm, said fines being inevitably generated by miners and steel industries with binders (Abstract and pa.[05] and [015] of WO’187), which reads on the binder composition for the cold forming of metal ore pellets as claimed in the instant claim. the comparison of the claimed binder composition and those disclosed by WO’187 is listed in the following table. WO’187 teaches the claimed binder composition comprising hydraulic component and additive with 63 and 65% alite (C3S) in the clinker; and overlapping the claimed fineness, Blaine fineness, and calcium oxide amount, which creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144 05 I. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the fineness, Blaine fineness, and calcium oxide amount from the disclosures of WO’187 since WO’187 teaches the same binder composition as claimed throughout whole disclosing range. WO’187 does not specify including alkanolamines in the hydraulic binder as claimed in the instant claim. PG’725 teaches binders of components in solid and aqueous media for metal or mineral ore beneficiation. (claims, and par.[0003]-[0007] and [0049] of PG’725). PG’725 indicates including alkanolamine as water-soluble organic amine (Par.[0094] of PG’725) with solution amount adjustment (par.[0096] of PG’725). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply alkanolamine as demonstrated by PG’725 for the binder of WO’187 since PG’725 indicates including alkanolamine as water-soluble organic amine (Par.[0094] of PG’725).
Binder composition
From instant Claim 16
From WO187
overlapping range
Hydraulic component and additive
included
This special cement characterized above contains between 60 and 65% calcium oxide in the hydrated silicate (par/[023])
Reads on
Fineness
At least
D95 < 40mm
D50 < 12mm
D10 < 5mm
fine grinding is available in granulometry 98% lower than 44 mm (cl.6)
Overlapping:
D95 < 40mm
D50 < 12mm
D10 < 5mm
Blaine fineness
6500-9000cm2/g
minimum Blaine of 560 m2 /kg (cement strength) (par.[018])
Overlapping:
6500-9000cm2/g
CaO
> 62.5wt%
60 and 65% calcium oxide (par.[023])
Overlapping
> 62.5-65 wt%
CS3
> 60wt%
alite (C3S) in the clinker, between 63 and 65% (par.[016])
63 and 65%
Alkanolamines
0.1-1 wt%
--
Included (PG’725)
--
Included (PG’725)
From instant claim 17
Comprising at least one of
0.5-10wt% gypsum
Including gypsum with optimized amount (par.[019] )
included
From claims 19 and 21
Further including
Including flux(cl.19)
Limestone or dolomite (cl.21)
Including dolomite (par.[020] and [042])
Reads on
Regarding claim 17, WO’187 specify that the gypsum dosage should be optimized through laboratory tests that optimize gypsum, aiming to raise the resistance of the cement; the gypsum to be dosed must be the natural mineral (Par.[019] and cl.6 of WO’187). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the gypsum amount from the disclosures of WO’187 since WO’187 teaches the same binder composition as claimed throughout whole disclosing range.
Regarding claims 19 and 21, WO’187 teaches including dolomite as flux in the binder (par.[020] and [042]), which reads on the claimed limitations as calmed in the instant claims.
Claims 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’187 in view of PG’725 and further in view of SARRA et al (EP 4011624 A1, thereafter EP’624).
Regarding claim 18, WO’187 provides example #AH in table 1 having Al2O3, Fe2O3, and SO3 within the claimed ranges. WO’187 in view of PG’725 does not specify including C3A and C4AF in the binder. EP’624 teaches hydraulic binder with a low CO2 footprint, having a low milled cement clinker content, and exhibiting a higher early strength than existing LC3 type binders (abstract of EP’624). EP’624 provides example #PC-M in table B having 65.8wt% C3S; 11.5wt% C3A; and 1.5wt% C4AF, which are within the claimed ranges of C3A and C4AF. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply proper amount of C3A and C4AF as demonstrated by EP’624 for the binder of WO’187 in view of PG’725 since all of EP’624, PG’725, and WO’187 teach the same hydraulic binder as claimed throughout whole disclosing range and EP’624 teaches proper binder composition for a higher early strength than existing LC3 type binders (abstract of EP’624).
From claim 18 (wt%)
#AH in table 1 of WO’187 (wt%)
Within range (wt%)
Further including
Al2O3 >4
Fe2O3 <4
SO3 >4
C3A >2
C4AF <11
Al2O3: 4.71
Fe < 1.69
SO3: 4.01
C3A:--
C4AF: --
Al2O3: 4.71
Fe < 1.69
SO3: 4.01
C3A:--
C4AF: --
From claim 20 (wt%)
Aluminate cement
2-20
--
--
Regarding claim 20, EP’624 teaches applying a 0.5 to 40% by weight of calcium aluminate cement (CAC) or calcium sulfo aluminates cement (CSA), preferably between 2 and 10 wt% (par.[0028] of EP’624), which is within the claimed aluminate cement range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply proper amount of aluminate cement as demonstrated by EP’624 for the binder of WO’187 since both of EP’624 and WO’187 teach the same hydraulic binder as claimed throughout whole disclosing range and EP’624 teaches proper binder composition for a higher early strength than existing LC3 type binders (abstract of EP’624).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments to the art rejection to Claim(s) 16-21 have been considered but they are moot in view of the new ground rejection as stated above. Regarding the arguments related to the amended features in the instant claims, the Examiner’s position has stated as above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIE YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734