DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Application
This final action on the merits is in response to the remarks and amendment received by the office on 02 April 2026. Claims 1-14 are pending. Claims 1, 5, and 9 are amended. No claims are added. No claims are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the degassing vessel" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claimed dosing unit is not established in claim 9 or claims 2 or 1, from which claim 9 depends. Rather, the dosing unit is established in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 4,555,384 to Morris et al. (‘384 hereafter), made of record per applicant disclosure.
Regarding claim 1, ‘384 teaches system for analyzing plural of material systems, the material systems being analyzed in respective amounts of 0.001 to 1 kg, and the material systems yielding a product having a viscosity of more than 10^1 mPas or which is solid at ambient conditions, the system comprising a processing unit for processing a viscous medium (Fig 1 item 1) and at least one feeding device for feeding starting materials into the processing unit, wherein the feeding device being capable of varying amounts of respective starting materials fed to the processing unit (Fig 1 item 4 and C7L53-C8L5), and the processing unit further comprises an outlet which is connected to a device for producing pellets or test specimens if the product is solid at ambient conditions or to a dosing pump for transferring the product into a collecting vessel if the product is highly viscous at ambient conditions (Fig 1 item 34, C12L50).
Regarding claim 2, ‘384 teaches the system wherein a separation unit for degassing is arranged between the processing unit and the device for producing pellets or test specimens or the dosing pump for transferring the product into a collecting vessel (Fig 1 items 1, 35, 45, 51 and 34).
Regarding claim 3, ‘384 teaches the system wherein the separation unit for degassing comprises a degassing vessel and a vacuum pump which is connected to the degassing vessel (Fig 1 item 51).
Regarding claim 4, ‘384 teaches the system wherein the device for producing pellets or test specimens comprises a dosing unit (Fig 1 item 34, C12L50).
Regarding claim 9, ‘384 teaches the system wherein the processing unit comprises a processing vessel and the processing vessel and/or the degassing vessel comprise a stirrer (Fig 1 items 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 10, ‘384 teaches the system wherein the stirrer is a horseshoe mixer (Fig 1 item 3).
Regarding claim 11, ‘384 teaches the system wherein the horseshoe mixer comprises at least one stirrer blade which is designed such that solid material which deposits on the walls of the processing vessel and/or the degassing vessel is scraped off the walls by the stirrer blade (Fig 1 item 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘384 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent 4,393,171 to Bracke et al. (‘171 hereafter).
Regarding claim 5, ‘384 does not teach a gear pump. In the related art of polymer production, ‘171 teaches the system wherein the dosing unit or the dosing pump is a gear type pump (C7L46-C7L48) for the benefit of transporting polymer melt to a pelletization die. It would have been obvious to one possessed of orinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘384 with those of ‘171 for the benefit of pelletizing samples in a continuous or semi-continuous manner.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘384 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent 4,188,432 to Holden et al. (‘432 hereafter).
Regarding claim 6, ‘384 does not teach a mold. In the same field of endeavor, material development and testing, ‘432 teaches that it is known to make pellets with a mold (C13L24-C13L27) for the benefit of preparing samples for further testing. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘384 with those of ‘432 for the benefit of preparing samples.
Regarding claim 6, ‘384 does not teach the relation between a mold and a dosing unit. In the same field of endeavor, material development and testing, ‘432 teaches the system wherein a mold for forming the pellets or the test specimens is connected to the dosing unit(C13L24-C13L27, the prior art single screw extruder is the claimed dosing unit) for the benefit of preparing samples for further testing. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘384 with those of ‘432 for the benefit of preparing samples.
Regarding claim 7, ‘384 does not teach a screw extruder. In the same field of endeavor, material development and testing, ‘171 teaches the system wherein the dosing unit is a screw injection machine (C13L24-C13L27) for the benefit of preparing samples for further testing. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘384 with those of ‘432 for the benefit of preparing samples.
Regarding claim 8, ‘384 does not teach an injection molding machine or extruder. In the same field of endeavor, materials development and testing, ‘432 teaches the system wherein the screw injection machine is an extruder or an injection molding machine (C13L24-C13L27) for the benefit of preparing samples for further testing. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘384 with those of ‘432 for the benefit of preparing samples.
Claim(s) 12 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘384 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0135958 to Kazemi et al. (‘958 hereafter).
Regarding claim 12, ‘384 does not teach a vessel holder for changing the processing vessel. In the related art of polymer production, ‘958 teaches the system wherein the processing unit comprises a processing vessel and a vessel holder for changing the processing vessel (Fig 4 items 11a and 112a and associated labelled feeds and outflows teach an arrangement of processing vessels which can be operated in serial or parallel modes. Additionally, the arrangement would allow the use of vessel 111a or 112a in isolation) for the benefit of producing desired polymer blends efficiently. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teaching of 384 with those of ‘985 for the benefit of increasing process efficiency.
Regarding claim 13, ‘384 does not teach the claimed arrangement. In the related art of polymer production, ‘958 teaches the system wherein the feeding device and the outlet are connected to the vessel holder (Fig 4 items 11a and 112a and associated labelled feeds and outflows teach an arrangement of processing vessels which can be operated in serial or parallel modes. Additionally, the arrangement would allow the use of vessel 111a or 112a in isolation) for the benefit of producing desired polymer blends efficiently. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teaching of 384 with those of ‘985 for the benefit of increasing process efficiency.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘384 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent 5,254,647 to Yamamoto et al. (‘647 hereafter).
Regarding claim 14, ‘384 does not teach a cleaning unit. In the related art of polymer production, ‘647 teaches the system wherein the system comprises a cleaning unit for cleaning the processing unit (C6L11-C6ZL23) for the benefit of increasing unit up-time. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of ‘384 with those of ‘647 for the benefit of increasing unit up-time.
Response to Arguments
In support of the patentability of the instant claims, applicant has argued that the previous and above applied prior art does not teach or analyzing material systems in the amounts claimed in claim 1, 0.001 – 1 kg. Applicant points out that in being directed to an apparatus for the continuous production of a styrenic/alkenylnitrile copolymer and as such, produces far in excess of the 1 kg upper material limit claimed. Examiner is not persuaded by this argument. Applicant has argued a far more limited scope of the term ‘analyzing’ than the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term. The term ‘analyzing’ is not reasonably understood to be a synonym for ‘producing.’ Even though the prior art apparatus likely produces far in excess of 1kg of material, any portion thereof may be trivially withdrawn and analyzed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JPR/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743