OFFICE ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant's transmittal of new Application, filed June 20, 2023. Claims 1-9 are pending. Claims 10-11 are cancelled.
Priority
This application filed 06/20/2023 is a National Stage entry of PCT/EP2022/050181 , International Filing Date: 01/06/2022 claims foreign priority to 21150580.5, filed 01/07/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicants' information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on
6/20/2023 and 6/27/2023 have been considered except where lined through. Please refer to Applicants' copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Claim Objections
1. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 should be amended to recite “wherein the base catalyst”.
2. The recitation in claim 8 “ wherein further is present an additive” should be revised to a proper transition wording.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1.Claims 1-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakkaraju et al. ChemCatChem 2016, 8, 3453 – 3457 (cited by Applicants in IDS).
Instant claims are drawn to process for preparing potassium oxalate which
process comprises contacting potassium formate with a base catalyst at a temperature
of from 140 to 260 °C, the base catalyst is a metal hydride.
The article by Lakkaraju discloses a conversion of formate salts of sodium or potassium to the corresponding oxalate, by thermal decomposition at various temperatures mediated by base catalyst such as NaH under inert atmosphere (abstract page 3452, Scheme, Table 1 reproduced below).
The article by Lakkaraju teaches the quantitative conversion of formate into oxalate could be achieved by simple calcination of molten formate salts in the presence of NaH (page 3456 and Fig, 2; instant claims 1, 2, 4)
Regarding instant claims 4 and 9 the article by Lakkaraju discusses integrated process for convention carbonated to formats and formate to value-added products such as oxalic acid (abstract; page 3454; Scheme 1 and eq. 1 on page 3453).
Regarding instant claims 6 and 7 the prior art teaches on experimental section page 2457 the catalyst (e.g. NaH) in weighed amounts of 2.5% by mass were mixed in a nitrogen glove box.
The difference between the method for converting formate salts to oxalate by heating mediated by metal hydride catalyst disclosed by the prior art and the instantly claimed method in that the prior art teaches performing the reaction at various temperatures ranging from 350-390 °C instead of 140°C to 260 °C as required by instant claims 1 and 3.
Regarding the temperature of the formate coupling to oxalate, the article by Lakkaraju teaches adjusting reaction conditions such as temperature, times, best yield conversion to product yield on page 3452 and various experimental conditions are listed on Table 1. Therefore, the determination of the appropriate temperature formate to oxalate as an art recognized result-effective variables, is subject to routine optimization in the course of modification of the process of the prior art by Lakkaraju.
Furthermore, pertaining to the temperature of a process, it is noted that generally, differences such parameters will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such parameter is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) See MPEP 2144.5.
The skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify the reaction conditions as part of routine optimization in attempting to obtain the highest product yield. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a reaction by varying experimental parameters in search of optimal conditions. See MPEP 2144.05 II.A:
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”)
The instantly claimed process therefore corresponds to the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. There would have been a reasonable expectation for success since each element retains its intended function in the combination.
Absent factual unexpected, unobvious, and beneficial results, the claimed invention would have been suggested to one skilled in the art and therefore, the instant claimed invention would have been obvious to one skilled in the art.
2.Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakkaraju et al. ChemCatChem 2016, 8, 3453 – 3457 cited by Applicants in IDS) as applied to claims 1-7, 9 above and further in view of Kaczur, “Formate to Oxalate: A Crucial Step for Conversion of CO2 into Multi-carbon Compounds.” June 2004 (cited in PTO-892 attached herewith).
The teachings of the prior art by Lakkaraju. regarding claims 1-7, 9 are discussed above.
The prior art by Lakkaraju do not teach the limitations of claim 8, pertaining to the using additive reducing the potassium formate melting point.
However, the prior art by Kaczur, analogous prior art also drawn to formate to oxalate:, teach the use of small amounts of sodium hydroxide had a beneficial effect, producing oxalate below the melting point of formate (page 1).
In view of the high level of skill in the art, the optimization of a known processes has been herein shown to be prima facie obvious.
"Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;". See MPEP § 2143.
Thus, the instant claims are obvious over the combined teachings of prior art.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
Telephone Inquiry
examiner should be directed to:
Ana Muresan
(571) 270-7587
Ana.Muresan@uspto.gov
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday (9:00AM - 5:30PM).
/ANA Z MURESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692