DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 04/16/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim objections from prior action has been cleared and is thus withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the argument filed on 04/16/2026 on the teachings of a four-way valve for now cancelled claim 3 (see remarks pg. 7-9), Castaneda is no longer being used to disclose this feature, and a new prior art, Williams et al. (US PG-Pub 20180100137 A1, as cited in the IDS and prior action) is applied to clarify the usage of a four-way valve in combination with Castaneda’s disclosure.
In regards to the argument on the water tank and the lack of teaching a media bag for now cancelled claim 3 (see remarks pg. 9-10), it should be clarified that the rejection additionally teaches a container for mixing water with a media culture (see Castaneda et al. [0021], [0037]-[0038]), where the “container” was defined in claim 1’s rejection to be comprising a bag (see Castaneda et al., [0003]). The water tank as reference in the rejection is directed to “a water supply”, and not the media bag as argued. Rejection in claim 1 below where cancelled claim 3 is incorporated into clarifies this to make it clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castaneda et al. (US PG-Pub 20180100137 A1, as cited in the IDS and prior action), and further in view of Williams et al. (US PG-Pub 20080226499 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Castaneda et al teaches an automated media preparation system, controlled by an electronic controller 50 (i.e. a computer), in electronic communication or otherwise operably connected to many of the components of the system. An electronic controller may be referred to a single unit or multiple units of integrated circuits and/or a computer processor (see Castaneda et al, [0033], [0044], Fig. 6A-6F and Fig. 7A-7G). Media is prepared for microbiology testing, by batch by mixing proportions of dry/premade media and water within a connecting sterile container, such as a bag, and creating the prepared media in the automated culture media preparation system. Said water is purified of pathogenic bacteria from using the steps of filtering, and heated to a predetermined incubation temperature within the water dispensing system. (see Castaneda et al, Abstract, [0003], [0005], [0014], [0017]-[0019]). Castaneda et al further teaches an attachable machine-readable code of the media, such as QR codes and barcodes, where when scanned, conveys and stores information relating to the particular media and/or media packet at the electronic controller. The scanned code may indicate a particular recipe to use in connection with the microbiology testing to be performed, such as the volume of water required for the scanned media (see Castaneda et al, [0050]). Castaneda et al. additionally discloses that water is heated before being dispensed, done by heating the water within a water tank 14 (i.e., a water supply). Pump assembly 22 is used to circulate the water through the system, such as at least between the water tank 14 and an outlet dispenser 24 through the filter cartridge 20, which dispenses heated and purified water into a container for mixing with a culture media (i.e., in a media bag). The system plumbing utilizes numerous valves, regulators, solenoids, and pressure transducers and the like to control the flow of the water through the system, including a valve ball 38 (see Castaneda et al., [0021], [0037]-[0038], [0040], Fig. 5).
Castaneda et al. fails to teach dispensing module for delivering and/or storing media in a finally prepared state, and a four-wave valve for connecting the media bag with the dispensing module.
However, in the analogous art of automated microsampling dissolution test system, Williams et al. teaches a dispensing manifold and a fluid handling system, comprising a bulk container/vessel 1 containing liquid media, which is connected to a four-way valve 6 that controls the flow of liquid from the container along fluid lines by way of fluid handling pumps 5. The liquid media can be dispensed from the bulk container 1 into different vessels such as weighing vessels 4 or holding vessels 17-24 through additional valves. The plurality of holding vessels, held above a plurality of dissolution vessels 34-41, contains temperature controllers for ensuring the media is pre-equilibrated prior to dispensing it in test vessels via a plurality of fluid dispensing nozzles from the dispensing manifold (see Williams et al., [0010], [0021], [0023]-[0024], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automated media preparation system and plumbing system for heated and filtered water supply of Castaneda et al. to incorporate fluidically connecting the media container or bag to a four-way valve to a dispensing manifold, to be dispensed into a holding vessel for dispensing the liquid media (as taught by Williams et al.), for the benefit of minimizing media equilibration time to mitigate the potential adverse impact with temperature sensitive formulation from minimized media change downtime (see Williams et al. [0021]).
In addition, it should be noted that the claim rejected is a system/apparatus claim, and as such covers the structure of the system/apparatus or what the system is, not what the system does. See MPEP 2114 II “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 2. Specifically, Castaneda et al teaches system according to claim 1, wherein the adjustable machine-readable data storage is an either an RFID label or a barcode, preferably a data matrix code according to the GS1 standard, which is attached to the media bag and/or the water sterilization filter set (see Castaneda et al, [0003], [0022] and [0050], disclosing the sample held in a sterile container, such as a beaker or bag, labeled and manually logged or recorded. The label having indicia, including the electronically stored information, which may include such as barcodes, two-dimensional symbologies, QR codes, and the like.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 5. Specifically, Castaneda et al teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the computer is integrated into the Media Preparation Module in form of a microcontroller or industrial pc and provides a user interface to control and/or adjust the information about and set values for the current state and/or operating parameters (see Castaneda et al, [0044], Fig. 6A-6F and Fig. 7A-7G, disclosing an electronic controller 50 is in electronic communication, or otherwise operably connected to, many of the components of the system. An electronic controller may be referred to a single, or multiple units, integrated circuits, a computer processor, volatile and/or non-volatile memory, and the like commonly used in connection with electronic controllers and computers to monitor and control various components and subsystems and provide a user interface and storage and retrieval of information.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 6. Specifically, Castaneda et al teaches system according to claim 1, wherein in case of using a barcode as attachable machine readable data storage the system additionally comprises a barcode reader device which is connected to the computer for data transmission (see Castaneda et al, [0016], [0044], Fig. 6A-6F and Fig. 7A-7G, disclosing a data entry device, such as a keypad, a touch screen, and/or a machine code reading scanner, is in electronic communication with the electronic controller, where the electronic controller 50 provides user interface and storage and retrieval of information.).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 17. Specifically, Castaneda et al. teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the adjustable machine-readable data storage (3) is a RFID label or a barcode that is a data matrix of a two-dimensional barcode, which is attached to the media bag (2) and/or the water sterilization filter set (see Castaneda et al, [0022], [0044], [0050], [0060], Fig. 8, disclosing machine readable code relating to the media, such as QR codes and barcodes, where when scanned, conveys and stores information relating to the particular media and/or media packet at the electronic controller, where said controller provides storage and retrieval of information. One or more labels comprising electronically stored information can be affixed onto the media container).
Claims 4, 7, 9-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Pighin et al (US Pg-Pub 20170128905 A1, as cited in the IDS and prior action).
Regarding claim 4, Castaneda et al teaches the recording of process parameters, including the identity of the user, sample, and media, water volume dispensed, and temperature of the water (see Castaneda et al, [0033]). Castaneda et al also teaches circulating heated water throughout the system for a predetermined period of time before allowing it to cool to ambient or maintenance temperature (see Castaneda et al, [0043]).
The combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. fails to teach the required conditions comprise specific set values for the operating parameters like the life time of filter set and/or media bag, and safety keys for ensuring the use of suitable system components and also comprise further specific set values for the system components like a global trade item number, a product catalogue number, a lot number, a serial number and an expiry date.
However, Pighin et al teaches systems and methods provide automated parameter assurance features and results for consumables used in bioprocessing and particularly for purifying, filtering, harvesting and collecting bioprocessing fluids. The consumables are characterized by at least one readable tolerance specification, such as a parameter specification. Such specifications include the model of the consumable; consumable ID; date of manufacture; capacity specifications; pressure specifications; temperature specifications; flow rate or other parameter specifications such as limits, safety limits, shelf life, use life (time or volume), time, volume or other parameter logged to date on the component, device or system; number of connections and disconnections; and combinations thereof (see Pighin et al, Abstract, [0058]). Furthermore, Pighin et al teaches that the parameter specifications can have different objectives, such as ensuring that only a genuine consumable is being used, such as a fluid management device for that system. For example, after an automated system check, a specific consumable can be recognized as non-genuine for use in that manifold system, and/or it can be recognized as having been used previously in order to lower cross-contamination risk. Non-compliance such as in these examples can be noted, communicated and/or used to prevent use and/or continued use. (see Pighin et al, [0061]). Pighin et al additionally teaches the labeling (e.g. RFID) of these consumables containing information such as serial numbers, lots, manufacturing information, material, and calibration details (see Pighin et al, [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process parameters of the combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. to incorporate the parameter specification, and label information (as taught by Pighin et al), for the benefit of establishing automation in parameter assurance, where features of consumables and other components may exhibit multiple identification points, for ensuring compliance with desired parameters (see Pighin et al, [0005]).
Regarding claim 7, Castaneda et al teaches machine readable code of the media, such as QR codes and barcodes, where when scanned, conveys and stores information relating to the particular media and/or media packet at the electronic controller, where said controller provides storage and retrieval of information (see Castaneda et al, [0044], [0050]).
The combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. fails to teach using a RFID label as attachable machine-readable data storage, the system additionally comprises a RFID reader device which reads and if necessary, powers the RFID labels.
However, Pighin et al teaches information storage means attached to consumables, such as a RFID. The operating system in the present disclosure interrogates the consumable through a wired, visual and/or wireless communication, which can include reading a single or several RFIDs (see Pighin et al, [0063], [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine-readable code and scanners of the combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al., to incorporate the RFID information storage means and reader (as taught by Pighin et al), for the benefit of decreasing the likelihood of operational failure due to incorrectly selecting automated or manual parameters (see Pighin et al, [0063]).
Regarding claim 9, Castaneda et al teaches an electronic controller in electronic communication, or otherwise operably connected to, many of the components of the automated media preparation system (see Castaneda et al, [0033], [0044]). The electronic controller is capable of scanning machine readable code of the media, such as QR codes and barcodes where when scanned, conveys and stores information relating to the particular media and/or media packet at the electronic controller. The scanned machine-readable code labeled on the media may indicate a particular recipe to use in connection with the microbiology testing to be performed (see Castaneda et al, [0050]). Furthermore, Castaneda et al teaches that the media is prepared as a batch by mixing proportions of dry media and water, requiring that the human operators provide the correct proportions (see Castaneda et al, [0005]). The water is heater before being dispensed, done by heating the water within the water tank 14 (see Castaneda et al, [00040]). A Pump assembly 22 is further disclosed, used to circulate the water through the system, such as at least between the water tank 14 and an outlet dispenser 24 through the filter cartridge 20, which dispenses heated and purified water into a container for mixing with a culture media. The system plumbing utilities numerous valves, regulators, solenoids, and pressure transducers and the like to control the flow of the water through the system, including a valve ball 38 (see Castaneda et al, [0021] and [0037]-[0038], Fig. 5).
The combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. fails to teach filling the dispensing module with a required amount of the finally prepared media.
However, Pighin et al teaches the dispensing module operation and method, where information from the flow path is used to dispense processed product for collection such as into storage containers. The system is able to dispense product according to the container volume indicated by the flow path. Dispensing occurs from the intermediate storage container according to the embodiment, thereby quantifying the amount of processed product to be dispensed (see Pighin et al, [0107], Fig. 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods and electronic controller of the combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al., to incorporate the dispensing module operations (as taught by Pighin et al) within the system of the combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al., for the benefit of being able to use the dispensing module function in a method to dispense some product for sampling purposes, such as in quality control (see Pighin et al, [0109], Fig. 39).
Regarding claim 10, Castaneda et al teaches that an electronic controller 50 is in electronic communication, or otherwise operably connected to, many of the components of the system. An electronic controller may be referred to a single, or multiple units, integrated circuits, a computer processor, volatile and/or non-volatile memory, and the like commonly used in connection with electronic controllers and computers to monitor and control various components and subsystems and provide a user interface and storage and retrieval of information (see Castaneda et al, [0044], Fig. 6A-6F and Fig. 7A-7G).
The combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. fails to teach adjusting the system settings to check if the acquired state and/or operating parameters of the system parts are matching their required set values and in case of critical exceedance performs actions to stop or adapt the media preparation process.
However, Pighin et al teaches systems and methods to ensure that an operator and/or automated system is unable to use the system outside the recommended safe tolerances, or ensure the device is genuine, by engaging interlock(s) when out of compliance. Interlocks can occur when the operating logic detects operation that is inconsistent with the readable tolerance specification or specifications. An example being the interlock activating a stoppage function with respect to the manifold system capable of avoiding out-of-compliance-operation (See Pighin et al, [0067]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic controller of the combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. to incorporate the interlocks (as taught by Pighin et al), for the benefit of decreasing the likelihood of operational failure due to incorrectly selecting automated or manual parameters (see Pighin et al, [0063]).
Regarding claim 11, Castaneda et al teaches the recording of process parameters, including the identity of the user, sample, and media, water volume dispensed, and temperature of the water (see Castaneda et al, [0033]).
The combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. fails to teach the method according to claim 10, wherein, the actions to stop or adapt the media preparation process includes rejecting a recognized unsuitable media bag or filter set, rejecting a filter set or media bag if maximum allowed amount of heated water or media quantity has been used, correction of used heated water volume, prevent the filling of the Dispensing Module if dissolving has not been reached, adjust a wrongly set water flow rate and /or temperature.
However, Pighin et al teaches systems and methods for use in providing assurance of compliance with requirements for proper operation of single-use bioprocessing fluid handling systems. This ensures the bioprocessing handling system has the correct consumable (e.g. containers, bags, tangential flow filtration, etc.) installed. Operational parameters are also monitored and operated on by a processor. Such parameters include but are not limited to pressure, pump rate, fluid flow at a location in the system, limits, range of operation, safety limits, use life (time or volume), time, temperature, volume of dispense quantity, and concentration factor. The system includes a reference system (spec storage device or median device, e.g. RFID, label, barcode, etc.) that contains the application and/or operation limits of the consumable of the particular system. The operating system interrogates the system for compliance for these specifications and parameters, and engages interlocks when the system falls outside the recommended safe tolerances, or ensures the device is genuine, by engaging interlocks when out of compliance (see Pighin et al, [0058], [0067]). Furthermore, Pighin et al teaches a prime module, with the function to fill the system, such as manifold tubing and other components, with product prior to the dispense unit operation. It has an option to abort, which closes the dispensing manifold, in case of any failure (see Pighin et al, [0103], Fig. 37). Pighin et al additionally teaches automatically monitoring normal flow filtration units, and adjusts pre-back filter pressure and flow rate to optimize flirtation speed, maximize filter throughput and eliminate the need for constant supervision during filtration runs (see Pighin et al, [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process parameters of the combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. to integrate the operational limits, compliance, adjustments, and interlocks for components (as taught by Pighin et al), for the benefit of establishing automation in parameter assurance, where features of consumables and other components may exhibit multiple identification points, for ensuring compliance with desired parameters (see Pighin et al, [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Castaneda et al., Williams et al and Pighin et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 12. Specifically, Castaneda et al teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein, additionally a maintenance and/or a sanitization process is performed (see Castaneda et al, [0043], disclosing that the entire system may be periodically sterilized within the system to a temperature which will kill all microbes that would otherwise interfere with the microbiology testing.), supported by the computer (see Castaneda et al, [0044], Fig. 6A-6F and Fig. 7A-7G, electronic communicator 50.) by reading, processing and using further information from the attachable machine readable data storage which is related to that maintenance and/or a sanitization process (see Castaneda et al., [0015], [0050] disclosing machine code reading scanner in electronic communication with the electronic controller, reading printed machine code such as barcodes for associated instructions sent to the system.).
Regarding claim 14, Castaneda et al teaches preparing media by mixing proportions of dry media and water, and the recording of process parameters, including the identity of the user, sample, and media, water volume dispensed, and temperature of the water (see Castaneda et al, [0005], [0033]). For each media sample tested, a label 60 is printed which includes information relating to the record, including user or operator identification, culture media identification, machine identification, date, time, water temperature, water volume, container/sample weight, container/sample/sample media weight, and weight of the container/sample/media/water (see Castaneda et al, [0060], Fig. 8).
The combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. fails to teach the method according to claim 9, wherein, a RFID with read and write capability is used and the computer is reading, processing and using not only the initial values of the information but recording in the RFID also all changed values which are impacting the media preparation process, like the remaining volume of water that can flow in the filter set before to be rejected, the remaining number of connections for the filter, and the remaining time before end of use for the media bag.
However, Pighin et al teaches an RFID transmitter/receiver, as a system for obtaining the specifications and/or operation limit of a given consumable component. These specifications and/or operational limits can be operational parameters for these consumables (e.g. containers, bags, filters, etc.) such as use time (volume or time), time and volume logged to date on the component, as well as volume of dispense quantity and concentration factor of the media (see Pighin et al, [0058], [0067]). While it does not explicitly teach writing capabilities, a RFID transmitter/receiver implies two-way communication between the transmitter/receiver and the RFID tag, meaning information (such as updated operational parameters) can be transmitted back to the RFID.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data logging of the combination of Castaneda et al. and Williams et al. to incorporate the RFID transmitter/receiver and operational parameters (as taught by Pighin et al), for the benefit of establishing automation in parameter assurance, where features of consumables and other components may exhibit multiple identification points, for ensuring compliance with desired parameters (see Pighin et al, [0005]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Castaneda et al., Williams et al. and Pighin et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 15. Specifically, Castaneda et al teaches a software product performing the method according to claim 9 (see Castaneda et al, [0049], Fig. 6A-6F and Fig. 7A-7G, disclosing the system including a laboratory information management system (LIMS) which is a software-based laboratory and information management system which works in conjunction with the electronic controller 50 in providing the automated processes of the system of the present invention.).
Claims 8, 13, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castaneda et al and Williams et al as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Lehtonen et al (US PG-Pub 20150314246 A1, as cited in the IDS and prior action).
Regarding claim 8, Castaneda et al teaches a printer for printing labels is also in electronic communication with the electronic controller, where the electronic controller provides a user interface and storage and retrieval of information (see Castaneda et al, [0016], [0044]).
The combination of Castaneda et al and Williams et al fails to teach that an external web tool is used to generated, preferable two-dimensional, barcodes which are read via the user via an web app and used to configure the computer.
However, in the analogous art of automated solution dispenser, Lehtonen et al teaches the systems and methods of allowing for the use of user interfaces facilitating the interactions of users with the computer system, where such examples of interfaces described include web-based user interfaces, that of which accepts input and output by generating webpages, which are transmitted via the Internet and viewed by the user using a web browser program, for example those that utilize Java, Ajax, Adobe Flex, Microsoft .NET, or similar technologies to provide real-time control in a separate program (see Lehtonen et al, [0192]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic controller of Castaneda et al to integrate the web-based user interface (as taught by Lehtonen et al), for the benefit of eliminating the need for refreshing a traditional HTML based web browser (see Lehtonen et al, [0192]).
Regarding claim 13, Castaneda et al teaches periodically sterilizing the entire system by heating water within the system to a temperature that will kill all microbes that would otherwise interfere with the microbiology testing. The water may be cycled throughout the system for a predetermined period of time, before being allowed to cool down to ambient or maintenance temperature, or drained and replaced with new water brought into the water tank (see Castaneda et al, [0043], Fig. 2).
The combination of Castaneda et al and Williams et al to teach the further information about the sanitization process includes the number of sanitizing cycles, the volume of sanitizer liquid, the waiting time between each sanitization cycle, the number of rinsing cycle, the volume of rinsing liquid, and the waiting time between each rinsing cycle.
However, Lehtonen et al teaches one or more sensors of the system of the disclosed invention. The system has various sensors which can be calibrated with sensor references for use in standard operations. Such sensors include but are not limited to volume or temperatures (see Lehtonen et al, [0039]). Additionally, Lehtonen et al teaches self-cleaning methods, where some embodiments include a controller configured to control the dispenser to implement a cleaning cycle, which may utilize it before, after, or during calibration procedures (see Lehtonen et al, [0039]). The system may perform at least one self-cleaning cycle using cleaning and/or flushing fluid, based on the cleanliness level measured by a sensor for cleanliness, additional cycles can be performed until the desired level is reached (see Lehtonen et al, [0027]. [0151]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sterilization process of Castaneda et al (and William et al) to incorporate the self-cleaning cycles and sensors (as taught by Lehtonen et al), for the benefit of reducing the risk of cross-contamination in a system handling multiple solutions, without the need for manual human intervention (see Lehtonen et al, [0011]).
Regarding claim 16, Castaneda et al. teaches machine readable code relating to the media, such as QR codes and barcodes, where when scanned, conveys and stores information relating to the particular media and/or media packet at the electronic controller, where said controller provides storage and retrieval of information. One or more labels comprising electronically stored information can be affixed onto the media container (see Castaneda et al, [0022], [0044], [0050], [0060], Fig. 8).
The combination of Castaneda et al and Williams et al fails to teach wherein the machine-readable data storage is a RFID label or a barcode that is a data matrix code according to the Global Standards 1 standard.
However, Lehtonen et al. teaches bottle labeling with machine-readable representations of data and RFID systems. It can comprise two dimensional or matrix barcodes, including GTIN-12 and GTIN-13 (Global Trade Item Number, developed by Global Standards 1) (see Lehtonen et al., [0211]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine readable code of Castaneda et al. to incorporate using barcodes such as GTIN-12 and GTIN-13 as data matrixes according to Global Standard 1 standard (as taught by Lehtonen et al.), for the benefit of being able to share barcode readouts linked in a network comprising solution/media data between multiple users, allowing to replicate results in different laboratories from barcode readouts (see Lehtonen et al., [0212]).
Regarding claim 18, Castaneda et al. teaches machine readable code relating to the media, such as QR codes and barcodes, where when scanned, conveys and stores information relating to the particular media and/or media packet at the electronic controller, where said controller provides storage and retrieval of information. One or more labels comprising electronically stored information can be affixed onto the media container (see Castaneda et al, [0022], [0044], [0050], [0060], Fig. 8).
The combination of Castaneda et al and Williams et al fails to teach wherein the adjustable machine-readable data storage is a RFID label.
However, Lehtonen et al. teaches bottle labeling with machine-readable representations of data and RFID systems. Labeling can be achieved by radio-frequency identification (RFID) (see Lehtonen et al., [0211]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine-readable code of Castaneda et al. to incorporate using RFID labels (as taught by Lehtonen et al.), for the benefit of being able to transmit through two-way radio transmitter-receivers to read the label's response and transmit observations and data to a linked automated dispensing system (see Lehtonen et al., [0213]).
Conclusion
/TRACY CHING-TIAN COLENA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797