Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 18, term “the at least one of the first and second light” (line 7) lacks antecedent basis, not only because the claim does not previously limit the light sources to be “at least one”, but also because only “light sources” have been previously claimed (not “light”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-15, 17-19, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin et al. (US 2004/0092794, hereinafter “Chin”) in view of Wang (US 2016/0249793) and Glukhovsky (US 2003/0028078).
As to claim 1, Chin discloses an endoscope tip or capsule endoscope comprising:
an illumination device (38, Figs.2,4) configured to illuminate a scene and including a plurality of groups of light sources (plurality of groups of LEDs 38, Fig.4, [0016]);
an optical imaging device (16, Fig.4) configured to image the scene ([0014]), wherein the plurality of light groups are arranged around the optical imaging device (Fig.4); and
a working channel outlet (working channel 36, Figs.2,4) positioned adjacent to the optical imaging device (Fig.4) and configured to accommodate an instrument therethrough (implicit because it is a working channel), wherein:
an area between the working channel outlet and the optical imaging device is free of light sources (as shown in Fig.4);
each of the groups includes a respective first light source configured to emit light with a first spectral distribution, and a respective second light source configured to emit light with a second spectral distribution (can include colored LEDs such as red, green, and blue, [0016]); and
the first spectral distribution is different from the second spectral distribution (different colors/wavelength ranges, [0016]).
With the modification of Chin, in view of Wang/Glukhovsky, for each of the groups and for each two light sources A and B selected from the first light source of the respective group, the second light source of the respective group, the first light source of the group adjacent to the respective group, and the second light source of the group adjacent to the respective group, a clearance between the light sources A and B indicates a length of a shortest straight line segment which connects a point on the light source A with a point on the light source B (see clearance A in the annotated figure above); and at least one of the following conditions is satisfied:
for each of the groups the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than or equal to the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the first light source of a group that is adjacent to the respective group (A<B in annotated figure above); and
for each of the groups the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than the clearance between the second light source of the respective group and the second light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (A<C in annotated figure above).
As to claim 2, wherein in each of the groups the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is the same (Figs.1B of Wang, light sources of each group are spaced identically and thus respective clearances will be the same).
As to claim 3, wherein in each of the groups the shortest straight line segment between a point of the first light source of the respective group and a point of the second light source of the respective group is smaller than twice a dimension among the dimensions of the first light source of the respective group perpendicular to the shortest straight line segment and the dimensions of the second light source of the respective group perpendicular to the shortest straight line segment (as clearly seen in annotated figure below).
As to claim 4, wherein for each of the groups an edge of the first light source of the respective group and an edge of the second light source of the respective group lie on a line which is parallel to the shortest straight line segment (as can be seen in the annotated figure below, certain edges of the A and B light source lie on a line which is parallel to the shortest straight line segment).
As to claim 5, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied for each of the groups:
the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group (clearance A in annotated figure above with respect to claim 1) is at least 20% smaller than the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the first light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (clearance B) (clearance A is substantially smaller (clearly >50%) than clearance B, thus it is implicit that clearance A is at least 20% smaller); and
the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group (clearance A in annotated figure above with respect to claim 1) is at least 20% smaller than the clearance between the second light source of the respective group and the second light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (clearance C) (clearance A is substantially smaller (clearly >50%) than clearance C, thus it is implicit that clearance A is at least 20% smaller).
As to claim 6, Chin further discloses an optical imaging device (imaging device 16, Fig.4) configured to image the scene, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: the first light sources are disposed on a first circular segment having a first center around the optical imaging device (first light sources A sit on a first circular segment with a radius R near optics 110, see annotated figure below); and the second light sources are disposed on a second circular segment having a second center around the optical imaging device (second light sources B sit on a second circular segment with a radius R near on optics 110; first and second circular segments shown separately for illustration purposes but may be overlapping at the same radius).
As to claim 7, wherein one of the following conditions is satisfied: when the first light sources are disposed on the first circular segment, for each of the groups an angle on the first circular segment between the first light source of the respective group and the first light source of the group adjacent to the respective group deviates from an ideal angle by no more than 20% (there is a 90 degree angle between each first light source A as shown in the annotated figure above, wherein the ideal angle is 360/4=90), and when the second light sources are disposed on the second circular segment, for each of the groups an angle on the second circular segment between the second light source of the respective group and the second light source of the group adjacent to the respective group deviates from the ideal angle by no more than 20% (there is a 90 degree angle between each second light source B as shown in annotated figure above, wherein the ideal angle is 360/4=90), and the ideal angle is 3600 divided by the number of groups (because of the symmetrical spacing, each light source will be at the ideal angle).
As to claim 8, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: when the first light sources are disposed on the first circular segment, an angle between a straight line, which connects a barycenter of a light emission from the first light source of the respective group with a barycenter of a light emission from the second light source of the respective group, and a radius from the first center to the first light source of the respective group is the same in each of the groups, and when the second light sources are disposed on the second circular segment, an angle between a straight line, which connects the barycenter of the light emission from the first light source of the respective group with the barycenter of the light emission from the second light source of the respective group, and a radius from the second center to the second light source of the respective group is the same in each of the groups (given the symmetrical spacing of the first and second light sources and the fact that they are on a circle of a single radius, the angle between the radius and the line between barycenters of light emission (e.g. center of emission surface of light source) will be identical between groups).
As to claim 9, wherein the first center is equal to the second center (first and second centers are the same as shown in annotated figure of claim 6 above).
As to claim 11, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: each of the first light sources is a light emitting diode or a laser diode or an emission end of a light guide; and each of the second light sources is a light emitting diode or a laser diode or an emission end of a light guide (LEDs, [0016]).
As to claim 12, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: for each of the groups the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group (clearance X in annotated figure below) is smaller than or equal to the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (clearance Y in annotated figure below) (clearance X is smaller than clearance Y); and for each of the groups the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group (clearance X) is smaller than or equal to the clearance between the second light source of the respective group and the first light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (clearance Z)(clearance X is smaller than clearance Z).
As to claim 13, wherein for each of the groups the shortest straight line segment between a point on the first light source of the respective group and a point on the second light source of the respective group runs parallel to a straight line segment that connects a barycenter of a light emission from the first light source of the respective group with a barycenter of a light emission from the second light source of the respective group (implicit: given that the LEDs are identical (except for color) in size and shape, each LED will have an respective identically positioned barycenter of light emission (e.g. center of the LED), a line connecting the barycenters of the A and B (first and second) light sources will be parallel with the clearance line X, as shown in annotated figure below; line connecting barycenter shown slightly offset for clarity purposes).
As to claim 14, wherein for each of the groups and for each two light sources C and D selected from the first light source of the respective group, the second light source of the respective group, the first light source of the group adjacent to the respective group, and the second light source of the group adjacent to the respective group, the distance between the light sources C and D indicates the length of a straight line segment that connects a barycenter of a light emission from the light source C with a barycenter of a light emission from the light source D, and at least one of the following conditions is satisfied:
for each of the groups a distance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than or equal to a distance between the first light source of the respective group and the first light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (assuming an arbitrary barycenter (e.g. center), distance A is smaller than distance B, as clearly shown in the annotated figure below); and
for each of the groups a distance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than or equal to a distance between the second light source of the respective group and the second light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (assuming an arbitrary barycenter (e.g. center), distance A is smaller than distance C, as clearly shown in the annotated figure above).
As to claim 15, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: for each of the groups the distance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than or equal to the distance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group; and for each of the groups the distance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than or equal to the distance between the second light source of the respective group and the first light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (both conditions are shown in the annotated figure of claim 12 above, wherein X<Y and X<Z).
As to claim 17, Tseng further discloses a control unit (implicitly computer 20, Fig.1, by explicit control of light sources simultaneously or sequentially, [0016]) configured to switch on or off, in each of the groups, the respective first light source together with the respective second light source ([0016]).
As to claim 18, Chin discloses an endoscope tip or capsule endoscope comprising
an illumination device (38, Figs.4) configured to illuminate a scene and including a first light source (one of the LEDs of 38, Fig.4) configured to emit light with a first spectral distribution (may generate different colors, [0016]) and a second light source (another of the LEDs 38, Fig.4) configured to emit light with a second spectral distribution ([0016]), the first spectral distribution being different from the second spectral distribution ([0016]);
a lens (part of image capture device 16, Fig.4,[0002]) configured to image the scene, wherein the at least one of the first and second light is arranged around the lens (Fig.4); and
a working channel outlet (distal outlet of instrument channel 36, Figs.4, [0016]) positioned adjacent to the lens (as shown in Fig.4) and configured to accommodate an instrument therethrough (by nature of it being a working channel, [0016]), wherein:
an area between the working channel outlet and the lens is free of light sources (as shown in Fig.4).
Although Chin discloses that the LED can be colored LEDs (e.g. reg, green, and blue, [0016]) disposed about the circumference of the endoscope distal end, Chin fails to disclose the pattern/arrangement of such red, green and blue LEDs, and particularly how all of the different colored LEDs are arranged relative to each other. Wang teaches, in the endoscope imaging and illumination art, to arrange a plurality of groups/modules (group/module 150,120,140, Fig.1B or group/module 210, Fig.2A,2B) of LEDs symmetrically around the circumference of the endoscope ([0030]), each group/module consisting of similarly ordered LEDs of different wavelengths (Figs.1A,1B,2A,2B, [0030]). Glukhovsky teaches that such an arrangement (note plurality of groups 53A,53B,53C,53D, Fig.4 of similarly ordered LEDs of different wavelengths, Fig.4, [0075]) distributes the light from each spectrally different light source evenly to provide a more uniform light distribution ([0077]). It is noted that although Glukhovsky exemplifies a capsule type endoscope in Fig.1, Glukhovsky recognizes that the disclosed embodiments and methods similarly apply to traditional endoscopes and catheter-like devices ([0032]). Since Chin does not disclose any particular pattern/arrangement for the differently colored LEDs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an arrangement that is known in the art to provide even and uniform light distribution, as taught by Wang and Glukhovsky.
Therefore, obviously using the particular arrangement of Wang in Chin, as set forth above will produce an arrangement of LEDs as illustrated below (Given the crude, hand-drawn nature of Fig.4 of Chin, the illustration presented with respect to claim 1 above is used to reflect how the LEDs would be arranged in Chin, as set forth above. Although only four groups are shown, there would likely be more given the number of LEDs shown in Fig.4 of Chin).
With the modification of Chin, in view of Wang/Glukhovsky, a clearance between the first light source and the second light source is smaller than twice a dimension among the dimensions of the first light source and the dimensions of the second light source (as shown in the annotated figure above for claim 3; additionally, each of the circumferences of the first and second light source would also be larger than the clearance);
the clearance between the first light source and the second light source indicates the length of a shortest straight line segment which connects a point on the first light source with a point on the second light source (as shown in annotated figure for claim 3 above, see clearance).
As to claim 19, wherein the dimension among the dimensions of the first light source and the dimensions of the second light source is perpendicular to the shortest straight line segment which connects a point on the first light source with a point on the second light source (as shown in annotated figure for claim 3 above).
As to claim 21, Chin further discloses a control unit (implicitly computer 20, Fig.1, by explicit control of light sources simultaneously or sequentially, [0016]) configured to switch on or off, in each of the groups, the respective first light source together with the respective second light source ([0016]).
As to claim 22, wherein a distance between the first light source and the second light source is smaller than twice the dimension among the dimensions of the first light source and the dimensions of the second light source (see line between the barycenters in the annotated figure of claim 13, such line is smaller than twice the circumference of either of the first light source or second light source); and the distance between the first light source and the second light source indicates the length of a straight line segment which connects a barycenter of a light emission from the first light source with a barycenter of a light emission from the second light source (see explanation of claims 13 and 14 above).
As to claim 23, Chin discloses an endoscope comprising the endoscope tip according to claim 1 (see description of claim 1 above); and a rigid or flexible shaft (endoscopic sheath can be both flexible (deflection) and rigid via a shape retaining mechanism, [0015]) that is directly or indirectly connected with the endoscope tip (illumination arrangement 38 (endoscope tip) disposed at the end of the endoscopic sheath 12, Fig.2).
Claim(s) 1-15, 17-19, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng (US 2017/0014020) in view of Glukhovsky (US 2003/0028078).
As to claim 1, Tseng discloses an endoscope tip or capsule endoscope comprising
an illumination device (light emitting unit 13a, Figs.9A,9C) configured to illuminate a scene and including a plurality of light sources (e.g. LEDs, three shown in Fig.9C);
an optical imaging device (image capture device 12a, Fig.9C) configured to image the scene ([0045]), wherein the plurality of light sources are arranged around the optical imaging device (Fig.9C); and
a working channel outlet (distal outlet of instrument channel 26, Figs.9A,9C, [0063]) positioned adjacent to the optical imaging device (as shown in Fig.9C) and configured to accommodate an instrument therethrough ([0063]), wherein:
an area between the working channel outlet and the optical imaging device is free of light sources (as shown in Fig.9C).
Tseng discloses that light emitting unit (13a) may include a light emitting module formed by LEDs that can generate different colors of light ([0045],[0066]) arranged around the optical imaging device (see Fig.9C), but fails to disclose the particular arrangement of the LEDs, including the number of LEDs, colors, and spacing. Glukhovsky evidences that it is known to provide arrangement wherein each unit includes a plurality of LEDs, each of the plurality of LEDs in each unit emit light at different wavelengths (see Fig.4, each unit 53A,53B,53C,53D include red 55, green 56, and blue 57 LEDs, arranged to surround the optical imaging system 22E). Glukhovsky teaches that such arrangement provides an advantage of distributing the light of each color relatively evenly and uniformly in the field of view ([0077]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the advantageous arrangement of LEDs as taught by Glukhovsky in the device of Tseng to provide a more even and uniform light distribution in the field of view. In making such modification, the Tseng/Glukhovsky device (see representative annotated figure below) would provide for each of the groups including a respective first light source (e.g. 55 or A in annotated figure below) configured to emit light with a first spectral distribution (e.g. red), and a respective second light source (e.g.56 or B) configured to emit light with a second spectral distribution (e.g. green), the first spectral distribution is different from the second spectral distribution, and for each of the groups and for each two light sources A and B selected from the first light source of the respective group, the second light source of the respective group (see As and Bs in annotated figure below), the first light source of the group adjacent to the respective group, and the second light source of the group adjacent to the respective group, a clearance between the light sources A and B indicates a length of a shortest straight line segment which connects a point on the light source A with a point on the light source B (clearance A in annotated figure below); and at least one of the following conditions is satisfied:
for each of the groups the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than or equal to the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the first light source of a group that is adjacent to the respective group (A<B in annotated figure above); and
for each of the groups the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than the clearance between the second light source of the respective group and the second light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (A<C in annotated figure above).
As to claim 2, wherein in each of the groups the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is the same (As shown in the annotated figure above, each of the light sources in each group are space identically).
As to claim 3, wherein in each of the groups the shortest straight line segment between a point of the first light source of the respective group and a point of the second light source of the respective group is smaller than twice a dimension among the dimensions of the first light source of the respective group perpendicular to the shortest straight line segment and the dimensions of the second light source of the respective group perpendicular to the shortest straight line segment (as clearly seen in annotated figure below).
As to claim 4, wherein for each of the groups an edge of the first light source of the respective group and an edge of the second light source of the respective group lie on a line which is parallel to the shortest straight line segment (as can be seen in the annotated figure above, any of the top or bottom edges of the LEDs will be parallel to the “clearance” line).
As to claim 5, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied for each of the groups: the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group (clearance A in annotated figure above with respect to claim 1) is at least 20% smaller than the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the first light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (clearance B; clearance A is substantially smaller (clearly >50%) than clearance B, thus it is implicit that clearance A is at least 20% smaller); and the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group (clearance A) is at least 20% smaller than the clearance between the second light source of the respective group and the second light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (clearance C; clearance A is substantially smaller (clearly >50%) than clearance C, thus it is implicit that clearance A is at least 20% smaller).
As to claim 6, further comprising an optical imaging device configured to image the scene, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: the first light sources are disposed on a first circular segment having a first center around the optical imaging device; and the second light sources are disposed on a second circular segment having a second center around the optical imaging device (first light sources 55 and second light sources 56 are disposed on a circular segment centered around imaging optics 22E, as shown in annotated figure below).
As to claim 7, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: when the first light sources are disposed on the first circular segment, for each of the groups an angle on the first circular segment between the first light source of the respective group and the first light source of the group adjacent to the respective group deviates from an ideal angle by no more than 20% (there is a 90 degree angle between each first light source 55 as shown in the annotated figure above, wherein the ideal angle is 360/4=90), and when the second light sources are disposed on the second circular segment, for each of the groups an angle on the second circular segment between the second light source of the respective group and the second light source of the group adjacent to the respective group deviates from the ideal angle by no more than 20% (there is a 90 degree angle between each first light source 56 as shown in the annotated figure above, wherein the ideal angle is 360/4=90), and the ideal angle is 360° divided by the number of groups.
As to claim 8, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: when the first light sources are disposed on the first circular segment, an angle between a straight line, which connects a barycenter of a light emission from the first light source of the respective group with a barycenter of a light emission from the second light source of the respective group, and a radius from the first center to the first light source of the respective group is the same in each of the groups, and when the second light sources are disposed on the second circular segment, an angle between a straight line, which connects the barycenter of the light emission from the first light source of the respective group with the barycenter of the light emission from the second light source of the respective group, and a radius from the second center to the second light source of the respective group is the same in each of the groups (given the symmetrical spacing of the first and second light sources and the fact that they are on a circle of a single radius (see annotated figure above with respect to claim 6), the angle between the radius and the line between barycenters of light emission (e.g. center of emission surface of light source) will be identical between groups).
As to claim 9, wherein the first center is equal to the second center (first and second centers are the same as shown in annotated figure of claim 6 above).
As to claim 10, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: a center of a plan view of the optical imaging device is equal to the first center; and the center of the plan view of the optical imaging device is equal to the second center (plan view of optical imaging device 22E shown in Fig.4, centers are equal, see annotated figure above for claim 6).
As to claim 11, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: each of the first light sources is a light emitting diode or a laser diode or an emission end of a light guide; and each of the second light sources is a light emitting diode or a laser diode or an emission end of a light guide (Tseng: LEDs, [0045]).
As to claim 12, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: for each of the groups the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group (clearance A in annotated figure below) is smaller than or equal to the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (clearance D in annotated figure below; clearance A is smaller than clearance D); and for each of the groups the clearance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than or equal to the clearance between the second light source of the respective group and the first light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (clearance E; clearance A is smaller than clearance E).
As to claim 13, wherein for each of the groups the shortest straight line segment between a point on the first light source of the respective group and a point on the second light source of the respective group runs parallel to a straight line segment that connects a barycenter of a light emission from the first light source of the respective group with a barycenter of a light emission from the second light source of the respective group.
As to claim 14, wherein for each of the groups and for each two light sources C and D selected from the first light source of the respective group, the second light source of the respective group, the first light source of the group adjacent to the respective group, and the second light source of the group adjacent to the respective group, the distance between the light sources C and D indicates the length of a straight line segment that connects a barycenter of a light emission from the light source C with a barycenter of a light emission from the light source D (note distance A in annotated figure below), and at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: for each of the groups a distance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than or equal to a distance between the first light source of the respective group and the first light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (assuming an arbitrary barycenter (e.g. center), distance A is smaller than distance B, as clearly shown in annotated figure below); and for each of the groups a distance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than or equal to a distance between the second light source of the
respective group and the second light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (assuming an arbitrary barycenter (e.g. center), distance A is smaller than distance C, as clearly shown in annotated figure above).
As to claim 15, wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: for each of the groups the distance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than or equal to the distance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group (assuming an arbitrary barycenter (e.g. center), distance A is smaller than distance B, as shown in annotated figure below).; and for each of the groups the distance between the first light source of the respective group and the second light source of the respective group is smaller than or equal to the distance between the second light source of the respective group and the first light source of the group that is adjacent to the respective group
(assuming an arbitrary barycenter (e.g. center), distance A is smaller than distance C, as shown in annotated figure above).
As to claim 17, further comprising a control unit (Tseng: control unit 60) configured to switch on or off, in each of the groups, the respective first light source together with the respective second light source (LEDs of each light emitting unit 13a are controlled (switched on and off) together to generate different colors, [0066], implicitly by control unit 60 because such controls imaging, [0043]).
As to claim 18, Tseng discloses an endoscope tip or capsule endoscope comprising
an illumination device (light emitting unit 13a, Figs.9A,9C) configured to illuminate a scene and including a first light source (one of the three light emitting units 13a, Fig.9C) configured to emit light with a first spectral distribution (may generate different colors, [0066]) and a second light source (another of the three light emitting units 13a, Fig.9C) configured to emit light with a second spectral distribution ([0066]), the first spectral distribution being different from the second spectral distribution ([0066]);
a lens (image capture device 12a, Fig.9C, which may include a lens, [0066]) configured to image the scene ([0045]), wherein the at least one of the first and second light is arranged around the lens (Fig.9C); and
a working channel outlet (distal outlet of instrument channel 26, Figs.9A,9C, [0063]) positioned adjacent to the lens (as shown in Fig.9C) and configured to accommodate an instrument therethrough ([0063]), wherein:
an area between the working channel outlet and the lens is free of light sources (as shown in Fig.9C).
Tseng discloses that light emitting unit (13a) may include a light emitting module formed by LEDs that can generate different colors of light ([0045],[0066]) arranged around the optical imaging device (see Fig.9C), but fails to disclose how each module provides different colors, and thus fails to disclose the particular arrangement of the LEDs, including the number of LEDs, colors, and spacing. Glukhovsky evidences that it is known to provide arrangement wherein each unit includes a plurality of LEDs, each of the plurality of LEDs in each unit emit light at different wavelengths (see Fig.4, each unit 53A,53B,53C,53D include red 55, green 56, and blue 57 LEDs, arranged to surround the optical imaging system 22E). Glukhovsky teaches that such arrangement provides the advantage of distributing the light of each color relatively evenly and uniformly in the field of view ([0077]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the advantageous arrangement of LEDs as taught by Glukhovsky in the device of Tseng to provide a more even and uniform light distribution in the field of view. In making such modification, the Tseng/Glukhovsky device will look like the representative annotated figure below.
Thus, the Tseng/Glukhovsky device will meet the limitation of a clearance between the first light source and the second light source is smaller than twice a dimension among the dimensions of the first light source and the dimensions of the second light source (see clearance and dimension in annotated figure below); and
the clearance between the first light source and the second light source indicates the length of a shortest straight line segment which connects a point on the first light source with a point on the second light source (see clearance in annotated figure above).
As to claim 19, wherein the dimension among the dimensions of the first light source and the dimensions of the second light source is perpendicular to the shortest straight line segment which connects a point on the first light source with a point on the second light source (dimension in annotated figure above is perpendicular with the clearance).
As to claim 21, further comprising a control unit (Tseng: control unit 60) configured to switch on or off the first light source together with the second light source (LEDs of each light emitting unit 13a are controlled (switched on and off) together to generate different colors, [0066], implicitly by control unit 60 because such controls imaging, [0043]).
As to claim 22, wherein a distance between the first light source and the second light source is smaller than twice the dimension among the dimensions of the first light source and the dimensions of the second light source (see line between the barycenters in the annotated figure of claim 13, such line is smaller than twice the perimeter of either of the light sources); and the distance between the first light source and the second light source indicates the length of a straight line segment which connects a barycenter of a light emission from the first light source with a barycenter of a light emission from the second light source (see line between the barycenters in annotated figure of claim 13).
As to claim 23, Tseng/Glukhovski disclose an endoscope comprising the endoscope tip according to claim 1 (see description of claim 1 above); and a rigid or flexible shaft (egg shaped casing 10, Fig.5, constitutes a rigid shaft; wiring unit 20, Figs.5,6, constitutes a flexible shaft) that is directly or indirectly connected with the endoscope tip (shafts are either directly or indirectly connected to first end 11a, Fig.1A, which includes the endoscope tip according to claim 1).
Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin et al. (US 2004/0092794, hereinafter “Chin”) in view of Wang (US 2016/0249793) and Glukhovsky (US 2003/0028078), and further in view of Griffin (US 2020/0113424).
As to claims 16 and 20, Chin discloses the apparatus as set forth above with respect to claims 1 and 18, but fails to circuit arrangement between the first and second light sources, and particularly that the first light source is electrically connected in parallel or series with the respective second light source. However, parallel and series circuit arrangements are two conventional arrangements known in the art for connecting multiple mulitcolored selectively actuated LEDs (Griffin: [0040],[0044]). Since Chin fails to disclose the particular circuit arrangement between the LEDs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the LEDs of Chin in either series or parallel since both arrangements are known to provide a suitable connection for control of multiple LEDs, as evidence by Griffin.
Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng (US 2017/0014020) in view of Glukhovsky (US 2003/0028078) and further in view of Griffin (US 2020/0113424).
As to claims 16 and 20, Tseng discloses the apparatus as set forth above with respect to claims 1 and 18, but fails to circuit arrangement between the first and second light sources, and particularly that the first light source is electrically connected in parallel or series with the respective second light source. However, parallel and series circuit arrangements are two conventional arrangements known in the art for connecting multiple mulitcolored selectively actuated LEDs (Griffin: [0040],[0044]). Since Tseng fails to disclose the particular circuit arrangement between the LEDs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the LEDs of Tseng in either series or parallel since both arrangements are known to provide a suitable connection for control of multiple LEDs, as evidence by Griffin.
Response to Arguments
Rejections and objections from the previous Office Action that have not been repeated in this Office Action should be considered as addressed or corrected, and thus hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 24, 2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Particularly, Applicant’s arguments are directed to the subject matter added to claims 1 and 18, and how such subject matter is not explicitly disclosed by the Oh and Wang references. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the Chin and Tseng references. It is noted that, although the rejection involving the Tseng and Glukhovsky references modify Tseng in view of Glukhovsky, an alternative rejection could have been made with Glukhovsky in view of Tseng. Such an alternative rejection would show obviousness to modify the Glukhovsky device to include a working channel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See references cited on the PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN P LEUBECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795