Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority (KR10-2020-0178395, filed on December 18, 2020; KR10-2021-0168178, filed on November 30, 2021) under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 3, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAN et al. (WO2019068051A2, hereinafter YAN) in view of YOON et al. (US20200038813A1, hereinafter YOON).
Regarding Claim 1, YAN discloses anion exchange polymers capable of forming anion-exchange membranes (AEMs) and ionomers (AEIs) for use in anion exchange membrane fuel cells (AEMFCs) (¶[0002]).
The aromatic monomer has substituents independently selected from hydrogen, halide, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, or aryl, wherein two substituents may be linked to form a five-membered ring optionally substituted with halide or alkyl. Preferred aromatic monomers include 9,9-dimethyl-9H-fluorene (¶[0056]).
The resulting poly(aryl piperidinium) anion exchange polymer comprises a backbone structural unit containing a piperidinium ring integrated into the polymer chain through the carbon opposite the positively charged nitrogen atom and associated with a counter-anion. The polymer further comprises an aromatic structural unit having substituents independently selected from hydrogen, halide, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, or aryl, wherein two substituents may be linked to form a five-membered ring optionally substituted with halide or alkyl (¶[0065]).
More specifically, the aryl linkages of the poly(aryl piperidinium) backbone may be derived from 9,9-dimethyl-9H-fluorene, and the piperidinium linkages may be derived from N,N-dimethyl-4-piperidinium (¶¶[0077]–[0078]).
Based on these disclosures, the 9,9-dimethyl-9H-fluorene-derived aryl linkage corresponds to the fluorene segment wherein each R is CH₃, and the N,N-dimethyl-4-piperidinium linkage corresponds to the piperidinium group integrated into the polymer backbone. Chemical Formula 1 permits A, B, C, and D to be identical or different and requires x + y + z + m = 1, without requiring each of x, y, z, and m to be greater than zero. The molar ratios x, y, z, and m define the proportions of the selected segment structures, including any repeated segment structures among A, B, C, and D.
However, YAN does not explicitly disclose that the porous polyethylene support is hydrophilized.
YOON discloses a method of hydrophilizing a porous membrane and preparing an ion-exchange membrane using the hydrophilized porous membrane (¶[0002]).
More specifically, the method includes hydrophilizing a porous membrane, preparing an electrolytic solution by dissolving a polymer electrolyte in a solvent, and impregnating the hydrophilized porous membrane with the electrolytic solution (¶[0020]). The porous membrane used in the method may comprise two types of polyethylene having different weight-average molecular weights and an inorganic filler (¶[0042]). After hydrophilization, the porous membrane is impregnated with the electrolytic solution to fill the pores of the porous membrane with the polymer electrolyte (¶[0062]).
The hydrophilization of the pore surfaces of the porous membrane disclosed by YOON increases affinity for the polymer electrolyte, facilitates binding of the polymer electrolyte within the pores, and improves durability and ion conductivity (¶[0063]). In view of YAN’s porous polyethylene support impregnated with a poly(aryl piperidinium) anion exchange polymer, a person skilled in the art would have hydrophilized the polyethylene support to predictably increase the affinity between the support and the impregnated ionomer and improve durability and ion conductivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the hydrophilization treatment, as disclosed by YOON, to the porous polyethylene support in the anion exchange composite membrane disclosed by YAN.
Regarding Claim 3, modified YAN makes obvious the polyfluorene-based anion exchange composite membrane of Claim 1. YOON discloses that the porous membrane may have a porosity of 50–80 vol% (¶[0019]), which is within the claimed range of “a porosity of 50–90%.” Furthermore, the porous membrane has an average pore size of 150 nm (¶[0067]), which corresponds to 0.15 μm and reads upon the claimed “a pore size of 0.01–0.5 μm.”
Regarding Claim 12, modified YAN makes obvious the polyfluorene-based anion exchange composite membrane of Claim 1. YAN discloses membrane-electrode assemblies for hydroxide exchange membrane fuel cells fabricated by depositing an electrode onto both sides of a poly(aryl piperidinium) membrane and completing the assembly with a gasket, gas diffusion layers, and flow fields (¶[00117]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified YAN makes obvious the polyfluorene-based anion exchange composite membrane of Claim 1. YAN discloses an anion exchange membrane fuel cell comprising a poly(aryl piperidinium) membrane separating the anode and cathode, wherein hydroxide ions flow through the membrane from the cathode to the anode (¶¶[00101]–[00103]).
Regarding Claim 14, modified YAN makes obvious the polyfluorene-based anion exchange composite membrane of Claim 1. YAN discloses that the anion/hydroxide exchange membranes may be used in electrolyzers, including water electrolyzers, and in electrolysis for H₂/O₂ production (¶[00105]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed May 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 dated February 25, 2026, have been fully considered. Claim 1 has been amended, and Claims 2, 4, and 5 have been canceled. Accordingly, the prior rejection is withdrawn in view of the claim amendment. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of new prior art, YAN (WO2019068051A2) and YOON (US20200038813A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAK L. CHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771