DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/20/2023 and 02/01/2024 have each been considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not appear to describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. It is the Examiner's position that at least a chemical structure formula of Formula 1 should be shown in the abstract. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 4, it is suggested that "X is O or S" be deleted from the claim since the variable X does not appear to be further limited; and
in claim 7, it is suggested that "the organic layers" on line 6 be replaced with " the one or more organic layers" for ease of reading.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites "the organic layer comprises…" on line 2. It is unclear if "the organic layer" refers to the "one or more organic layers provided between the first electrode and the second electrode" or refers to one particular layer.
For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted such that "the organic layer comprises…" on line 2 is read as "the one or more organic layers comprise…"
Regarding claim 9 recites "the organic layer comprises an electron-blocking layer and a hole transport layer, and any one or more of the layers comprises the heterocyclic compound". First, is unclear if "the organic layer" on line 2 refers to the "one or more organic layers provided between the first electrode and the second electrode" or refers to one particular layer. Second, it is unclear whether the "any one or more of the layers" on lines 2-3 refers to the "one or more organic layers provided between the first electrode and the second electrode" or any one or more of the electron-blocking layer and the hole transport layer.
For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted such that "the organic layer comprises…" on line 2 is read as "the one or more organic layers comprise…" and such that the "any one or more of the layers" on lines 2-3 refers to any one of the one or more organic layers provided between the first electrode and the second electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oh et al. WO-2016122150-A2 (hereinafter "Oh-WO" and see English language machine translation referred to as "Oh-MT").
It is noted that WO-2016122150-A2 is cited on the IDS of 06/20/2023.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7-9, Oh discloses an organic electric device including an organic material layer positioned between a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the organic material layer includes a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting auxiliary layer and a light emitting layer, wherein a compound represented by a Chemical Formula 1 is preferably contained in the hole transport layer or the light emitting auxiliary layer (Oh-MT, page 12 of 41, lines 16-24). Oh discloses examples of the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 including compound P-35
(page 14), which is a heterocyclic compound represented by the claimed Formula 1 and Formula 2 wherein:
X is S;
Ar1 is a substituted C6 aryl group (a phenyl group), Ar2 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (a phenyl group), and Ar3 is an unsubstituted C25 aryl group (a spirobifluorenyl group);
R1 to R8 are each hydrogen;
L1 is an unsubstituted C12 heteroarylene group (a carbazolyl group) and L2 to L4 are each a direct bond;
m is 1; and
n is 1 and o, p, and q are each 0.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. WO-2013055132-A2 (hereinafter "Park-WO" and see English language machine translation referred to as "Park-MT").
It is noted that WO-2013055132-A2 is cited on the IDS of 06/20/2023.
Regarding claims 1-9, Park teaches an organic electric device including an organic material layer formed between an anode and a cathode, wherein an emission layer may be formed of a compound represented by a Chemical Formula 1 (Park-MT, page 5 of 20, lines 34-36). Park teaches that by using the compound, it is possible to obtain high luminous efficiency, low driving voltage, improved color purity, and improved lifetime (Park-MT, page 3 of 20, lines 1-2). Park teaches examples of the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 including compound 3-20
(¶ [81]).
Park does not exemplify a compound of the claimed Formula 1. For example, the compound 3-20 differs from the claimed compound in the positions R9, R10, and R11 in the formulae of Park are hydrogen instead of the claimed -(L1)n-(Ar1)m. However, Park teaches R9, R10, and R11 may be a C6-C60 aryl group, among others (page 6 of 20, lines 12-16) and teaches specific examples of an aryl group include a phenyl group (page 3 of 20,lines 30-32).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Park, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one of the hydrogen atoms at the positions R9, R10, and R11 with a phenyl group, because Park teaches the variable may suitably be selected as such. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the emission layer of the device of Park and possess the beneficial properties of high luminous efficiency, low driving voltage, improved color purity, and improved lifetime taught by Park. See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
The modified compounds of Park meet the claimed Formula 1, Formula 2 and one of the modified compounds corresponds to the claimed compound 156.
Holes are transported in the emission layer and therefore the emission layer may also be considered a hole transport layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee et al. US-20240172556-A1 recites an organic electric element in which compound represented by Formula 1 is used for a hole transport band layer (¶ [0009]), and recites examples of the compound represented by Formula 1 include P-93
(¶ [0123], page 27).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786