DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/15/2025.
Claims 1-15 are cancelled.
Claims 16, 18-26, 28-35 are amended.
Claims 16-35 have been examined and rejected based on new grounds of rejection.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph rejection for claims 25 and 35 is withdrawn based on Applicant arguments and claim amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejection for claims 23-24 and 33-34 is withdrawn based on Applicant arguments and claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The following underlined limitation is new matter: “… MAC operation includes a power headroom (PHR) reporting”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-21, 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20220377622 A1) in view of Zhou (US 20230403122 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang discloses a method performed by a terminal (see FIG. 2, para 31, UE; also see FIG. 1. Illustrates a method for an example gNB for low layer inter-cell mobility management) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station to which a first cell belongs, configuration information for a second cell (see para 69, FIG. 7 regarding grouping of TCI states for serving cell and target cell … a gNB such as a Serving gNB (e.g., Source gNB 110) can configure N groups of TCI states for a UE by RRC signaling (e.g., see FIG. 3). The TCI states within a group can be used for one cell… TCI state groups can be configured explicitly as shown in Serving gNB cell 710)
performing a beam related measurement for the second cell and reporting a result information of the beam related measurement to the base station to which the first cell belongs (see paras 27-28, FIG. 1. UE performs measurements and reports them to Source gNB (or the first cell) based on the CSI framework. Source gNB receives the measurements in reports);
receiving, from the base station to which the first cell belongs, information indicating at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for the second cell (see para 28-29, Source gNB can provide a TCI indication to UE based on Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE)/i.e., representing TCI activation); and
Zhang teaches the above limitations for the gNB can configure the UE to collect L1 and L3 measurements of a second/neighbouring cell to make handover decisions.
Zhang does not disclose details regarding: performing a random access procedure toward the second cell, based on information associated with a timing advance (TA).
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches: see para 27, If the UE determines that at least one of the current TCI or the current TA is invalid, the UE falls back to the random access process. During the random access process, the UE can obtain a new TCI and a TA in the second step of the four-step random access, i. e., the UE can obtain a new TCI and a TA from message 2; or the UE can obtain a new TCI and a TA in the fourth step of the four-step random access, i. e., the UE can obtain a new TCI and a TA from message 4; or the UE can obtain a new TCI and a TA in the second step of the two-step random access, i. e., the UE can obtain a new TCI and a TA from message B. The UE can also enter a connected state to obtain a new TCI and a TA through signaling.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Zhang, to include details regarding performing a random access procedure toward the second cell, based on information associated with a timing advance (TA) taught by Zhou, so that the UE determines validity of a TCI and a TA and when the TCI or the TA is detected to be invalid, the UE may fall back to the random access process or the small data packet transmission, and obtain a new TCI and a new TA (see Zhou, para 28).
Regarding Claims 17, 27, Zhang discloses: a serving cell is changed from the first cell to the second cell, based on the reporting (see paras 28-29, Using the measurements and the groupings of TCI states, Source gNB makes a handover decision to change from one beam (e.g., TCI state) to another using L1 or L2 signaling. The handover decision can instruct a handover from a first TCI state in a first group associated with the source gNB to a second TCI state in a second group associated with the target gNB).
Regarding Claims 18, 28, Zhang discloses: the configuration information is received via radio resource control (RRC) (see para 69, FIG. 7 illustrates an example of grouping Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states into groups per cell, … a Serving gNB (e.g., Source gNB) can configure N groups of TCI states for a UE by RRC signaling).
Regarding Claims 19, 29, Zhang discloses: the first cell corresponds to a first physical cell identifier (PCI), and wherein the second cell corresponds to a second PCI (see para 26, the serving gNB can configure a group of Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states (e.g., a group of beams) to correspond a physical cell ID; also see details on para 69, FIG. 7 illustrates an example of grouping Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states into groups per cell, … a Serving gNB (e.g., Source gNB) can configure N groups of TCI states for a UE by RRC signaling. The TCI states within a group can be used for one cell. TCI state groups can be configured explicitly as shown in Serving gNB cell. The TCI group 1 corresponds to the physical cell ID=x/i.e., for the serving or source gNB. Each of the TCI states (e.g., each beam) can be configured explicitly such as “TCI 1” at 715a, “TCI 2” at 715b, and so on. The TCI group 2 corresponds to the physical cell ID=y/i.e., for the target gNB).
Regarding Claims 20, 30, Zhang discloses: transmitting, to the base station to which the first cell belongs, acknowledgement (ACK) information for the information indicating the at least one TCI state (see para 29, UE uses the TCI indication received to switch from a TCI state of Source gNB to a TCI state of Target gNB. After a given number of slots pass (e.g., after a given number of milliseconds pass) as appropriate, after an ACK for example, UE sets a confirmation timer and begins to communicate with the new cell and Target gNB).
Regarding Claims 21, 31, Zhang discloses: performing at least one medium access control (MAC) operation, after receiving the information indicating the at least one TCI state(see paras 28-29, Using the measurements and the groupings of TCI states, Source gNB makes a handover decision to change from one beam (e.g., TCI state) to another using L1 or L2 signaling. The handover decision can instruct a handover from a first TCI state in a first group associated with the source gNB to a second TCI state in a second group associated with the target gNB. Source gNB can provide a TCI indication to UE based on Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE).
Regarding Claim 26, Zhang discloses a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising:
at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled with the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the terminal to:
receive, from a base station to which a first cell belongs, configuration information for a second cell (see para 69, FIG. 7 regarding grouping of TCI states for serving cell and target cell … a gNB such as a Serving gNB (e.g., Source gNB 110) can configure N groups of TCI states for a UE by RRC signaling (e.g., see FIG. 3). The TCI states within a group can be used for one cell… TCI state groups can be configured explicitly as shown in Serving gNB cell 710)
perform a beam related measurement for the second cell and report a result information of the beam related measurement to the base station to which the first cell belongs (see paras 27-28, FIG. 1. UE performs measurements and reports them to Source gNB (or the first cell) based on the CSI framework. Source gNB receives the measurements in reports)
receive, from the base station to which the first cell belongs, information indicating at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI} state for the second cells (see para 28-29, Source gNB can provide a TCI indication to UE based on Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE)/i.e., representing TCI activation), and
Zhang teaches the above limitations for the gNB can configure the UE to collect L1 and L3 measurements of a second/neighbouring cell to make handover decisions.
Zhang does not disclose details regarding: perform a random access procedure toward the second cell, based on information associated with a timing advance (TA).
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches: see para 27, If the UE determines that at least one of the current TCI or the current TA is invalid, the UE falls back to the random access process. During the random access process, the UE can obtain a new TCI and a TA in the second step of the four-step random access, i. e., the UE can obtain a new TCI and a TA from message 2; or the UE can obtain a new TCI and a TA in the fourth step of the four-step random access, i. e., the UE can obtain a new TCI and a TA from message 4; or the UE can obtain a new TCI and a TA in the second step of the two-step random access, i. e., the UE can obtain a new TCI and a TA from message B. The UE can also enter a connected state to obtain a new TCI and a TA through signaling.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Zhang, to include details regarding performing a random access procedure toward the second cell, based on information associated with a timing advance (TA) taught by Zhou, so that the UE determines validity of a TCI and a TA and when the TCI or the TA is detected to be invalid, the UE may fall back to the random access process or the small data packet transmission, and obtain a new TCI and a new TA (see Zhou, para 28).
Claim(s) 23-24, 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Zhou, in view of Zhang (US 20170149546 A1, hereinafter referred to as Zhang-546).
Regarding Claims 23, 33, Zhang in view of Zhou do not disclose details regarding: receiving, from the base station to which the first cell belongs, information indicating whether to re-establish a radio link control (RLC) or not.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang-546 teaches these details: see para 382, if the data transmission of the bearer on the second base station needs to be resumed; and re-establish a Radio Link Control entity s-RLC (see para 5, RLC entity of the second base station) in the user equipment and resume the s-RLC; also see para 386-388, based on the results of the measurement object (see para 386, such as for example, a status of a radio link between the user equipment and the second base station, and for types of measurement objects), the UE determines that the second base station and the UE need to reestablish the RLC.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Zhang and Zhou, to include details regarding whether to perform re-establishment of a radio link control (RLC) or not as taught by Zhang-546, so that based on the results of the measurement object (see para 386, such as for example, a status of a radio link between the user equipment and the second base station, and for types of measurement objects), the UE determines that the second base station and the UE need to reestablish the RLC (see Zhang-546, para 386-388).
Regarding Claims 24, 34, Zhang in view of Zhou do not disclose details regarding: receiving, from the base station to which the first cell belongs, information indicating whether to reset a medium access control (MAC) or not.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang-546 teaches these details: see para 291, in a case in which the user equipment actively triggers suspending of a Split bearer and the MeNB does not send a suspend request to the SeNB after receiving a suspend indication sent by the user equipment, the SeNB may determine, according to its measurement of uplink signal strength or quality of the user equipment or according to a measurement result about a quantity of times of retransmission of the Radio Link Control entity ps-RLC in the SeNB, to suspend the data transmission of the Split bearer on the SeNB, reset the Media Access Control entity ps-MAC, in the SeNB, that is associated with the Split bearer, and suspend the Radio Link Control entity ps-RLC, in the SeNB, that is associated with the Split bearer; also see para 380, resetting a Media Access Control entity s-MAC in the user equipment, where the s-MAC is associated with the bearer and corresponds to the second base station.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Zhang and Zhou, to include details regarding whether to reset a MAC as taught by Zhang-546, based on the uplink signal strength or quality of the user equipment or according to a measurement result about a quantity of times of retransmission of the Radio Link Control entity ps-RLC in the SeNB, so as to even if the SeNB has not received a suspend request from the MeNB, the SeNB can determine, according to its measurement result (between UE and SeNB), whether to suspend the data transmission of the Split bearer on the SeNB (see Zhang-546, para 292).
Claim(s) 25 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Zhou, in view of Kishiyama (US 20150172034 A1).
Regarding Claims 25, 35, Zhang in view of Zhou do not disclose details regarding: the terminal uses a security key for the first cell and the terminal continues to use the security key for the second cell.
In the same field of endeavor, Kishiyama teaches these details: see paras 39-40, FIG. 3. In the wide area C1, which is a macro cell, uplink and downlink data signals are scrambled by scrambling sequence provided based on the cell ID and C-RNTI of the wide area C1. Meanwhile, in the local areas C2, which are small cells, uplink and downlink data signals are scrambled by scrambling sequence provided based on C-RNTI of the wide area C1. That is, in the local areas C2, data signals are scrambled by identifier information for the wide area C1. With this configuration, even if a mobile terminal apparatus carries out handover across local areas C2, scrambling is not changed. At this time, if the same C-RNTI is assigned to the mobile terminal apparatus by a radio network controller (RNC) and so on, there is no influence on scrambling in the local areas C2 even if the mobile terminal apparatus carries out handover across wide areas C1. As a result of this, if C-RNTI is the same between the wide areas C1, regardless of whether or not a plurality of local areas C2 are in the same wide area C1, common scrambling is applied to the data signals in the local areas C2.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Zhang and Zhou, to include the terminal uses a security key for the first cell and the terminal continues to use the security key for the second cell as taught by Kishiyama, to realize smooth mobility of the mobile terminal apparatus between local areas C2. Also, cell IDs are not used for scrambling in the local areas C2 so that cell planning of the local areas C2 is not needed (see Kishiyama, para 40).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16-35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472