Election/Restrictions
Claim 34 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/12/26. Applicant traverses based upon the argument of there would no serious burden to the examiner to examine claim 34. Claim 34 further includes a detector which measures the signal response from the electrodes and is distinct from the claimed subject matter of claim 1 as shown by the lack of unity in the restriction mailed 4/28/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 13-15, 17-19, 24, 26 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2009/0114541).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses an electronic sensor device comprising:
a substrate comprising at least one groove (fig. 2e,2g, groove 20; para 83), said groove including a first face (20a) and a second face (20b), said groove having a cross-sectional profile including at least a groove depth within said substrate and a groove width at a surface of said substrate (V groove having a depth within the surface, see fig. 2g);
said first face including a first electrically non-insulating portion (first electrode 31) and said second face including a second electrically non-insulating portion (second electrode 32) wherein, within said profile, said first electrically non-insulating portion is electrically separated from said second electrically non- insulating portion (the electrode portions are on opposite sides of the V groove); and
a detection medium (solution within groove 20 that contacts both electrodes 31 and 32 and accepts sample for detection, see fig. 5, par 100, 109, 141) provided within said groove, arranged to contactingly engage said first and second electrically non-insulating portions, and adapted to be contactingly engaged by an analyte (this limitation does not further structurally limit the instant claim. The analyte is not positively recited within the instant claim and can be added at a later time); and
wherein said profile or said detection medium is adapted such that, in use, a signal response is provided comprising a first response phase and a subsequent second response phase in response to an engagement of the analyte with said detection medium (this limitation does not further structurally limit the instant claim. The analyte is not positively recited within the instant claim and can be added at a later time. The detection medium, electrodes 31 and 32 of Choi are used to generate a phase response, fig. 9, where a first and second response represent exposure to the target analyte, para 141).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses an electronic sensor according to claim 1, wherein said detection medium (60) comprises a medium surface (the liquid has a surface) and a medium body (liquid has a body), and wherein said first response phase is provided in response to an engagement of the analyte with said medium surface (this limitation does not further structurally limit the instant claim. The analyte is not positively recited within the instant claim and can be added at a later time).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses an electronic sensor according to claim 2, wherein said second response phase is provided in response to an engagement of the analyte within said medium body (this limitation does not further structurally limit the instant claim. The analyte is not positively recited within the instant claim and can be added at a later time).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses an electronic sensor according to claim 2, wherein said medium body comprises a portion of said substrate forming said profile of said at least one groove (the medium body is provided within the groove as seen in fig. 4a-4b).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses an electronic sensor according to claim 4, wherein said profile of said at least one groove has a first characteristic shape (V groove) and wherein, in use, in second response phase said profile deforms to a second characteristic shape (this limitation does not further structurally limit the instant claim).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses an electronic sensor according to claim 1, wherein said signal response comprises a change in at least one predetermined electrical characteristic of said at least one groove (this limitation does not further structurally limit the instant claim. The analyte is not positively recited within the instant claim and can be added at a later time and therefore a signal response is not positively recited because it is based upon the analyte being presenting within the groove).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses an electronic sensor according to claim 6, wherein, within said first response phase, said predetermined electrical characteristic changes at a first rate and, within said second response phase, said predetermined electrical characteristic changes at a second rate (this limitation does not further structurally limit the instant claim. The analyte is not positively recited within the instant claim and can be added at a later time and therefore a signal response is not positively recited because it is based upon the analyte being presenting within the groove).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses an electronic sensor according to claim 8, wherein said first response phase lasts for a first time interval and said second response phase lasts for a second time interval (this limitation does not further structurally limit the instant claim. The analyte is not positively recited within the instant claim and can be added at a later time and therefore a signal response is not positively recited because it is based upon the analyte being presenting within the groove)..
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses an electronic sensor device according to claim 1, wherein said groove width is less than or equal to 100um (fig. 11a).
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses an electronic sensor device according to claim 1, wherein a groove aspect ratio is defined as the ratio of said groove depth to said groove width, and wherein said groove aspect ratio is within the range 0.1:1 to 50:1 (fig. 2g).
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses an electronic sensor device according to claim 1, wherein said profile is any one of: U-shaped, V-shaped (fig. 2g), asymmetrically V-shaped, rounded, semi-circular, or square shaped.
Regarding claim 17, Choi discloses an electronic sensor device according to claim 1, wherein said first or second electrically non-insulating portion extends from said respective first or second face onto said surface of said substrate (fig. 2g, shows electrodes 31 and 32 on two different surfaces).
Regarding claim 18, Choi discloses an electronic sensor device according to claim 1, wherein said first or second electrically non-insulating portion comprises a coating (the detection medium comprises a conductive polymer which coats the first and second electrodes; see fig. 5, para 106).
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses an electronic sensor device according to claim 1, wherein said at least one groove comprises a series of grooves, and wherein a second face of a first groove of the said series of grooves is in electrical communication with a first face of a second groove of said series of grooves (fig. 2g shows main groove at bottom created by surface 20a and 20b connecting. Further there is a second groove where the electrode 31 meets the surface 20a, and third groove where electrode 32 meets surface 20b).
Regarding claim 24, Choi discloses an electronic sensor device according to claim 1, wherein said detection medium is conformally deposited onto at least a portion of said profile (this limitation is drawn to a process/intended use limitation which does not further structurally limit the instant claim. See fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 26, Choi discloses an electronic sensor device according to claim 1, wherein said detection medium comprises a binder (dispersing agent) and an active component (monomer of conductive polymer or catalyst) in a mixed state (see fig. 4b).
Regarding claim 28, Choi discloses an electronic sensor device according to claim 26, wherein said signal response is provided in response to an engagement of the analyte with said active component (this limitation does not further structurally limit the instant claim. The analyte is not positively recited within the instant claim and can be added at a later time and therefore a signal response is not positively recited because it is based upon the analyte being presenting within the groove).
Regarding claim 29, Choi discloses an electronic sensor device according to claim 26, wherein said active component is provided as a solid filler or as a liquid (monomer of the conductive polymer or a catalyst are liquids; para 106).
Regarding claim 30, Choi discloses an electronic sensor device according to claim 26, wherein said binder is adapted to bind said active component within said detection medium (this limitation does not further structurally limit the instant claim. No specific binder has been claimed).
Conclusion
/SAMUEL P SIEFKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758