DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a reception unit configured to acquire information on a terrain…” in claim 12.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure for the above limitation described in the specification: (see at least Applicant Specification, page. 7 lines 18-25: Referring to FIG. 1, the device 100 may control an excavator 200, and in the embodiment, may be implemented as a computing device that operates through a computer program for implementing a function described in the specification. For example, the device 100 may be implemented to control the overall operation of the excavator 200 while mounted on the excavator 200, to transmit a control signal to a controller 240 while electrically connected to the controller 240 that controls the excavator 200, or to be included in the controller 240. The device 100 may include a reception unit 110 and a processor 120.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-15, 17-18, & 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0217050A1 (“Chiba”), in view of US 2018/0328003A1 (“Tsukamoto”).
As per claim 1 Chiba discloses
A method of controlling an excavator (see at least Chiba, para. [0031]: a hydraulic excavator having a bucket 10 as an attachment fitted at the distal end of a work implement.), the method comprising:
determining a first angle that is an angle of an arm at which a volume of an object contained in a bucket is a preset value (see at least Chiba, para. [0042]: An inclination angle of the arm 9 with respect to the boom is defined as an arm angle theta. An inclination angle of the bucket claw tip with respect to the arm is defined as a bucket angle y.….& para. [0093]: The target surface generation section 43g determines whether the estimated excavation volume Va exceeds the limit volume Vb set in advance (Step S5). When it is determined at Step S5 that the estimated excavation volume Va does not exceed the limit volume Vb (specifically, the estimated excavation volume Va is equal to or smaller than the limit volume Vb), the target surface generation section 43g does not generate the second target surface 700A, so that the first target surface 700 assumes the MC target surface (MC-applied target surface) (Step S6).);
moving the arm so that the angle of the arm corresponds to the first angle (see at least Chiba, para. [0105]: An excavation operation is typically started by the hydraulic excavator 1 with the input of an arm pull command ( crowding operation of the arm 6) via the operation device 45b under a condition in which the bucket claw tip is moved on the current landform to a position away from the machine body 1B through raising and lowering operations of the boom 5 and dumping operations of the arm 6.);
rotating a bucket connected to the arm in response to the angle of the arm corresponding to the first angle (see at least Chiba, para. [0107]: When excavation work is performed as described above using the work implement lA through the input of the arm crowding operation via the operation device 45b under a condition in which the MC-applied target surface can be set as appropriate in accordance with the estimated excavation volume Va, the MG/MC control section 43 follows the steps of the flowchart of FIG. 14 to perform the MC that controls at least one of the hydraulic actuators 5, 6, and 7 such that the vertical component ( component perpendicular to the target surface 700) of the speed vector of the claw tip is reduced as the claw tip gets closer to the MC-applied target surface, during a period of time over which the claw tip of the bucket 10 moves through the deceleration area 600 by the arm crowding operation.).
However Chiba does not explicitly disclose
moving a boom in response to an angle of the bucket corresponding to a second angle through the rotation of the bucket.
Tsukamoto teaches
moving a boom in response to an angle of the bucket corresponding to a second angle through the rotation of the bucket (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0059]: Based on the value of the bucket angle 8 detected by the bucket angle sensor S3, the controller 30 determines whether the bucket angle 8 is less than or equal to a predetermined value BrH (step STl). In this way, the controller 30 can determine whether the excavating operation has ended… & para. [0063]: If the boom angle a is greater than or equal to the first threshold value arHI (YES in step ST2), the controller 30 determines that the operation phase has changed from the excavating operation phase to the boom raising turning operation phase and controls the pump power of the main pumps 12L and 12R to decrease such that the operation speed of the hydraulic actuators gradually decreases (step ST3).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of moving a boom in response to an angle of the bucket corresponding to a second angle through the rotation of the bucket of Tsukamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operability and fuel efficiency (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0007]).
As per claim 2 Chiba discloses
wherein the determining of the first angle includes determining the first angle based on a trend line determined according to a slope of a terrain including the object (see at least Chiba, para. [0052]: The target surface setting device 51 is an interface through which information on the target surface 700 (including position information and inclination angle information on each target surface) can be input. The target surface setting device 51 is connected with an external terminal (not illustrated) that stores three-dimensional data of the target surface defined on the global coordinate system (absolute coordinate system). The input of the target surface via the target surface setting device 51 may be made manually by the operator.).
As per claim 3 Chiba discloses
wherein the moving of the arm includes rotating the arm so that an angle between the arm and a direction of gravity corresponds to the first angle (see at least Chiba, Fig. 8-9, para. [0042]: An inclination angle of the arm 9 with respect to the boom is defined as an arm angle theta. An inclination angle of the bucket claw tip with respect to the arm is defined as a bucket angle y.….& para. [0093]: The target surface generation section 43g determines whether the estimated excavation volume Va exceeds the limit volume Vb set in advance (Step S5). When it is determined at Step S5 that the estimated excavation volume Va does not exceed the limit volume Vb (specifically, the estimated excavation volume Va is equal to or smaller than the limit volume Vb), the target surface generation section 43g does not generate the second target surface 700A, so that the first target surface 700 assumes the MC target surface (MC-applied target surface) (Step S6).).
As per claim 4 Chiba does not explicitly disclose
wherein the rotating of the bucket includes rotating the bucket in a direction in which an angle between the arm and the bucket decreases.
Tsukamoto teaches
wherein the rotating of the bucket includes rotating the bucket in a direction in which an angle between the arm and the bucket decreases (see at least Tsukamoto, Fig. 3 A-C & para. [0060]: The predetermined value BrH may be suitably changed according to the work content. Note that as the bucket 6 closes, the bucket angle 8 decreases. If the bucket angle 8 is greater than the predetermined value BrH (NO in step STl), the controller 30 repeats the process of STl until the bucket angle 8 becomes less than or equal to the predetermined value 8 rH-).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of wherein the rotating of the bucket includes rotating the bucket in a direction in which an angle between the arm and the bucket decreases of Tsukamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operability and fuel efficiency (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0007]).
As per claim 6 Chiba does not explicitly disclose
wherein the rotating of the bucket includes:
sensing a pressure applied to the arm; and
rotating the boom in a direction in which the bucket raises in a state in which a hydraulic pressure applied to the arm and the bucket is maintained when the pressure applied to the arm corresponds to a first pressure.
Tsukamoto teaches
wherein the rotating of the bucket includes: sensing a pressure applied to the arm; and rotting the boom in a direction in which the bucket raises in a state in which a hydraulic pressure applied to the arm and the bucket is maintained when the pressure applied to the arm corresponds to a first pressure (see at least Tsukamoto, Fig. 6 & para. [0034-0038]: An arm operation lever 16A is an operation device for controlling opening/closing of the arm 5. The arm operation lever 16A uses hydraulic fluid discharged from the pilot pump 14 to introduce a control pressure corresponding to a lever operation amount into either a right or left pilot port of the flow control valve 155. Depending on the operation amount, the arm operation lever 16A may introduce a control pressure into a left pilot port of the flow control valve 156…Like the arm operation lever 16A, each of these operation devices use hydraulic fluid discharged from the pilot pump 14 to introduce a control pressure corresponding to its lever operation amount (or pedal operation amount) to a left or right pilot port of the flow control valve for the corresponding hydraulic actuator. Also, the operation content of operations of these operation devices by the operator are detected in the form of pressure by corresponding pressure sensors similar to the pressure sensor 17 A, and the detected pressure values are output to the controller 30.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of wherein the rotating of the bucket includes: sensing a pressure applied to the arm; and rotting the boom in a direction in which the bucket raises in a state in which a hydraulic pressure applied to the arm and the bucket is maintained when the pressure applied to the arm corresponds to a first pressure of Tsukamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operability and fuel efficiency (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0007]).
As per claim 7 Chiba does not explicitly disclose
wherein the rotating of the boom in the direction in which the bucket raises includes stopping the rotation of the boom when the pressure applied to the arm corresponds to a second pressure, and the second pressure is smaller than the first pressure.
Tsukamoto teaches
wherein the rotating of the boom in the direction in which the bucket raises includes stopping the rotation of the boom when the pressure applied to the arm corresponds to a second pressure, and the second pressure is smaller than the first pressure (see at least Tsukamoto, Fig. 6 & para. [0067-0068]: As the time progresses from time t2 to time t3; namely, as the bucket 6 moves from spatial area "2" to spatial area "3", the discharge pressure P of the pump gradually decreases from Pl to P2. Likewise, the pump power W gradually decreases from Wl to W2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of wherein the rotating of the boom in the direction in which the bucket raises includes stopping the rotation of the boom when the pressure applied to the arm corresponds to a second pressure, and the second pressure is smaller than the first pressure of Tsukamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operability and fuel efficiency (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0007]).
As per claim 8 Chiba does not explicitly disclose
wherein the moving of the arm includes rotating the arm in a direction in which the arm approaches a body of the excavator in a state in which the bucket and the boom are stopped.
Tsukamoto teaches
wherein the moving of the arm includes rotating the arm in a direction in which the arm approaches a body of the excavator in a state in which the bucket and the boom are stopped (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0086]: The operator adjusts the position of the bucket 6 so that the distal end of the bucket 6 is at a desired height position with respect to an excavation target, and then, the operator closes the arm 5 from an open state until the arm 5 becomes substantially perpendicular (about 90 degrees) to the ground as illustrated in (B) of FIG. 8. By this operation, soil at a certain depth is excavated and the excavation target in area D is gathered until the arm 5 becomes substantially perpendicular to the ground surface.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of wherein the moving of the arm includes rotating the arm in a direction in which the arm approaches a body of the excavator in a state in which the bucket and the boom are stopped of Tsukamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operability and fuel efficiency (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0007]).
As per claim 9 Chiba does not explicitly disclose
wherein the rotating of the bucket includes simultaneously rotating the arm and the bucket in a state in which the boom is stopped.
Tsukamoto teaches
wherein the rotating of the bucket includes simultaneously rotating the arm and the bucket in a state in which the boom is stopped (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0087]: The operation as illustrated in (C) of FIG. 8 may be a combined operation of the arm 5 and the bucket 6. In this way, the controller 30 can determine that the operation phase has changed from the excavating operation first half phase to the excavating operation latter half phase based on the orientation of the front work machine (the boom angle a and the arm angle.).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of wherein the rotating of the bucket includes simultaneously rotating the arm and the bucket in a state in which the boom is stopped of Tsukamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operability and fuel efficiency (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0007]).
As per claim 10 Chiba does not explicitly disclose
wherein the moving of the boom includes simultaneously rotating the arm, the bucket, and the boom.
Tsukamoto teaches
wherein the moving of the boom includes simultaneously rotating the arm, the bucket, and the boom (see at least Tsukamoto, Fig. 3 C-D, para. [0043-0046]: Subsequently or at the same time, the operator turns the upper turning body 3 in the direction indicated by arrow ARl to move the bucket 6 to a position where it can deposit the excavated soil. The operation of the excavator at this time is referred to as a boom raising turning operation, and such operation phase is referred to as a boom raising turning operation phase. [Examiner Note: Figs. 3C & 3D show the bucket being closed and the arm being shift and at the same time the boom is turned around.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of wherein the moving of the boom includes simultaneously rotating the arm, the bucket, and the boom of Tsukamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operability and fuel efficiency (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0007]).
As per claim 12 Chiba discloses
A device for controlling an excavator (see at least Chiba, para. [0062]: Reference is made to FIG. 5. The controller 40 includes an input interface 91, a central processing unit (CPU) 92 as a processor, a read only memory (ROM) 93 and a random access memory (RAM) 94 as storage devices, and an output interface 95.), the device comprising:
a reception unit configured to acquire information on a terrain including an object (see at least Chiba, para. [0062]: a signal from the target surface setting device 51, which serves as a device for setting the target surface 700, and a signal from the current landform acquisition device 96, which acquires the current landform 800, are applied to the input interface 91.); and
a processor configured to determine a first angle, which is an angle of an arm at which a volume of the object contained in a bucket is a preset value, based on the information on the terrain (see at least Chiba, para. [0042]: An inclination angle of the arm 9 with respect to the boom is defined as an arm angle theta. An inclination angle of the bucket claw tip with respect to the arm is defined as a bucket angle y.….& para. [0093]: The target surface generation section 43g determines whether the estimated excavation volume Va exceeds the limit volume Vb set in advance (Step S5). When it is determined at Step S5 that the estimated excavation volume Va does not exceed the limit volume Vb (specifically, the estimated excavation volume Va is equal to or smaller than the limit volume Vb), the target surface generation section 43g does not generate the second target surface 700A, so that the first target surface 700 assumes the MC target surface (MC-applied target surface) (Step S6).),
move the arm so that the angle of the arm corresponds to the first angle (see at least Chiba, para. [0105]: An excavation operation is typically started by the hydraulic excavator 1 with the input of an arm pull command ( crowding operation of the arm 6) via the operation device 45b under a condition in which the bucket claw tip is moved on the current landform to a position away from the machine body 1B through raising and lowering operations of the boom 5 and dumping operations of the arm 6.),
rotate the bucket connected to the arm in response to the angle of the arm corresponding to the first angle (see at least Chiba, para. [0107]: When excavation work is performed as described above using the work implement lA through the input of the arm crowding operation via the operation device 45b under a condition in which the MC-applied target surface can be set as appropriate in accordance with the estimated excavation volume Va, the MG/MC control section 43 follows the steps of the flowchart of FIG. 14 to perform the MC that controls at least one of the hydraulic actuators 5, 6, and 7 such that the vertical component ( component perpendicular to the target surface 700) of the speed vector of the claw tip is reduced as the claw tip gets closer to the MC-applied target surface, during a period of time over which the claw tip of the bucket 10 moves through the deceleration area 600 by the arm crowding operation.).
However Chiba does not explicitly disclose
move a boom in response to an angle of the bucket corresponding to a second angle through the rotation of the bucket.
Tsukamoto teaches
move a boom in response to an angle of the bucket corresponding to a second angle through the rotation of the bucket (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0059]: Based on the value of the bucket angle 8 detected by the bucket angle sensor S3, the controller 30 determines whether the bucket angle 8 is less than or equal to a predetermined value BrH (step STl). In this way, the controller 30 can determine whether the excavating operation has ended… & para. [0063]: If the boom angle a is greater than or equal to the first threshold value arHI (YES in step ST2), the controller 30 determines that the operation phase has changed from the excavating operation phase to the boom raising turning operation phase and controls the pump power of the main pumps 12L and 12R to decrease such that the operation speed of the hydraulic actuators gradually decreases (step ST3).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of move a boom in response to an angle of the bucket corresponding to a second angle through the rotation of the bucket of Tsukamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operability and fuel efficiency (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0007]).
As per claim 13 Chiba discloses
wherein the processor determines the first angle based on a trend line determined according to a slope of the terrain including the object (see at least Chiba, para. [0052]: The target surface setting device 51 is an interface through which information on the target surface 700 (including position information and inclination angle information on each target surface) can be input. The target surface setting device 51 is connected with an external terminal (not illustrated) that stores three-dimensional data of the target surface defined on the global coordinate system (absolute coordinate system). The input of the target surface via the target surface setting device 51 may be made manually by the operator.).
As per claim 14 Chiba discloses
wherein the processor rotates the arm so that an angle between the arm and a direction of gravity corresponds to the first angle (see at least Chiba, Fig. 8-9, para. [0042]: An inclination angle of the arm 9 with respect to the boom is defined as an arm angle theta. An inclination angle of the bucket claw tip with respect to the arm is defined as a bucket angle y.….& para. [0093]: The target surface generation section 43g determines whether the estimated excavation volume Va exceeds the limit volume Vb set in advance (Step S5). When it is determined at Step S5 that the estimated excavation volume Va does not exceed the limit volume Vb (specifically, the estimated excavation volume Va is equal to or smaller than the limit volume Vb), the target surface generation section 43g does not generate the second target surface 700A, so that the first target surface 700 assumes the MC target surface (MC-applied target surface) (Step S6).).
As per claim 15 Chiba does not explicitly disclose
wherein the processor rotates the bucket in a direction in which an angle between the arm and the bucket decreases.
Tsukamoto teaches
wherein the processor rotates the bucket in a direction in which an angle between the arm and the bucket decreases (see at least Tsukamoto, Fig. 3 A-C & para. [0060]: The predetermined value BrH may be suitably changed according to the work content. Note that as the bucket 6 closes, the bucket angle 8 decreases. If the bucket angle 8 is greater than the predetermined value BrH (NO in step STl), the controller 30 repeats the process of STl until the bucket angle 8 becomes less than or equal to the predetermined value 8 rH-).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of wherein the processor rotates the bucket in a direction in which an angle between the arm and the bucket decreases of Tsukamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operability and fuel efficiency (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0007]).
As per claim 17 Chiba does not explicitly disclose
wherein the processor senses a pressure applied to the arm and rotates the boom in a direction in which the bucket raises in a state in which a hydraulic pressure applied to the arm and the bucket is maintained when the pressure applied to the arm corresponds to a first pressure.
Tsukamoto teaches
wherein the processor senses a pressure applied to the arm and rotates the boom in a direction in which the bucket raises in a state in which a hydraulic pressure applied to the arm and the bucket is maintained when the pressure applied to the arm corresponds to a first pressure (see at least Tsukamoto, Fig. 6 & para. [0034-0038]: An arm operation lever 16A is an operation device for controlling opening/closing of the arm 5. The arm operation lever 16A uses hydraulic fluid discharged from the pilot pump 14 to introduce a control pressure corresponding to a lever operation amount into either a right or left pilot port of the flow control valve 155. Depending on the operation amount, the arm operation lever 16A may introduce a control pressure into a left pilot port of the flow control valve 156…Like the arm operation lever 16A, each of these operation devices use hydraulic fluid discharged from the pilot pump 14 to introduce a control pressure corresponding to its lever operation amount (or pedal operation amount) to a left or right pilot port of the flow control valve for the corresponding hydraulic actuator. Also, the operation content of operations of these operation devices by the operator are detected in the form of pressure by corresponding pressure sensors similar to the pressure sensor 17 A, and the detected pressure values are output to the controller 30.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of wherein the processor senses a pressure applied to the arm and rotates the boom in a direction in which the bucket raises in a state in which a hydraulic pressure applied to the arm and the bucket is maintained when the pressure applied to the arm corresponds to a first pressure of Tsukamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operability and fuel efficiency (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0007]).
As per claim 18 Chiba does not explicitly disclose
wherein the processor stops the rotation of the boom when the pressure applied to the arm corresponds to a second pressure, and the second pressure is smaller than the first pressure.
Tsukamoto teaches
wherein the processor stops the rotation of the boom when the pressure applied to the arm corresponds to a second pressure, and the second pressure is smaller than the first pressure (see at least Tsukamoto, Fig. 6 & para. [0067-0068]: As the time progresses from time t2 to time t3; namely, as the bucket 6 moves from spatial area "2" to spatial area "3", the discharge pressure P of the pump gradually decreases from Pl to P2. Likewise, the pump power W gradually decreases from Wl to W2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of wherein the processor stops the rotation of the boom when the pressure applied to the arm corresponds to a second pressure, and the second pressure is smaller than the first pressure of Tsukamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operability and fuel efficiency (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0007]).
As per claim 21 Chiba discloses
An excavator comprising: a boom; an arm connected to the boom; a bucket connected to the arm (see at least Chiba, para. [0035]: The front work implement lA includes a plurality of driven members (a boom 8, an arm 9, and a bucket 10) that are coupled with each other.); and
a controller configured to determine a first angle which is an angle of the arm at which a volume of an object contained in the bucket is a preset value (see at least Chiba, para. [0042]: An inclination angle of the arm 9 with respect to the boom is defined as an arm angle theta. An inclination angle of the bucket claw tip with respect to the arm is defined as a bucket angle y.….& para. [0093]: The target surface generation section 43g determines whether the estimated excavation volume Va exceeds the limit volume Vb set in advance (Step S5). When it is determined at Step S5 that the estimated excavation volume Va does not exceed the limit volume Vb (specifically, the estimated excavation volume Va is equal to or smaller than the limit volume Vb), the target surface generation section 43g does not generate the second target surface 700A, so that the first target surface 700 assumes the MC target surface (MC-applied target surface) (Step S6).),
control the arm so that the angle of the arm corresponds to the first angle (see at least Chiba, para. [0105]: An excavation operation is typically started by the hydraulic excavator 1 with the input of an arm pull command ( crowding operation of the arm 6) via the operation device 45b under a condition in which the bucket claw tip is moved on the current landform to a position away from the machine body 1B through raising and lowering operations of the boom 5 and dumping operations of the arm 6.),
control the bucket so that the bucket connected to the arm rotates in response to the angle of the arm corresponding to the first angle (see at least Chiba, para. [0107]: When excavation work is performed as described above using the work implement lA through the input of the arm crowding operation via the operation device 45b under a condition in which the MC-applied target surface can be set as appropriate in accordance with the estimated excavation volume Va, the MG/MC control section 43 follows the steps of the flowchart of FIG. 14 to perform the MC that controls at least one of the hydraulic actuators 5, 6, and 7 such that the vertical component ( component perpendicular to the target surface 700) of the speed vector of the claw tip is reduced as the claw tip gets closer to the MC-applied target surface, during a period of time over which the claw tip of the bucket 10 moves through the deceleration area 600 by the arm crowding operation.).
However Chiba does not explicitly disclose
control the boom so that the boom moves in response to an angle between the arm and the bucket corresponding to a second angle through the rotation of the bucket.
Tsukamoto teaches
control the boom so that the boom moves in response to an angle between the arm and the bucket corresponding to a second angle through the rotation of the bucket (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0059]: Based on the value of the bucket angle 8 detected by the bucket angle sensor S3, the controller 30 determines whether the bucket angle 8 is less than or equal to a predetermined value BrH (step STl). In this way, the controller 30 can determine whether the excavating operation has ended… & para. [0063]: If the boom angle a is greater than or equal to the first threshold value arHI (YES in step ST2), the controller 30 determines that the operation phase has changed from the excavating operation phase to the boom raising turning operation phase and controls the pump power of the main pumps 12L and 12R to decrease such that the operation speed of the hydraulic actuators gradually decreases (step ST3).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of control the boom so that the boom moves in response to an angle between the arm and the bucket corresponding to a second angle through the rotation of the bucket of Tsukamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve operability and fuel efficiency (see at least Tsukamoto, para. [0007]).
As per claim 22 Chiba discloses
A computer-readable recording medium on which a program for executing the method of claim 1 in a computer is recorded (see at least Chiba, para. [0062]: The CPU 92 performs conversion to enable calculation. The ROM 93 is a recording medium that stores a control program for performing MC and MG including processing relating to flowcharts to be described later and various types of information required for performing steps of the flowcharts.).
Claim(s) 5 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiba, in view of Tsukamoto, in view of US 2019/0093311A1 (“Naito”).
As per claim 5 Chiba does not explicitly disclose
wherein the moving of the boom includes rotating the boom until a difference value between a lowermost height that the bucket reaches and an uppermost height of a load carrier adjacent to the excavator corresponds to a preset value.
Naito teaches
wherein the moving of the boom includes rotating the boom until a difference value between a lowermost height that the bucket reaches and an uppermost height of a load carrier adjacent to the excavator corresponds to a preset value (see at least Naito, para. [0066-0071]: When controller 110 determines that the value of distance D is larger than threshold value Th (YES in step S8), then, in step S14, controller 110 stops boom 31 being raised. In step S16 subsequent to step S14, controller 110 determines whether wheel loader 1 is traveling forward. When controller 110 determines that wheel loader 1 is traveling forward (YES in step S16), the processing goes back to step S4. When controller 110 determines that wheel loader 1 is not traveling forward (NO in step S16), the processing ends.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of wherein the moving of the boom includes rotating the boom until a difference value between a lowermost height that the bucket reaches and an uppermost height of a load carrier adjacent to the excavator corresponds to a preset value of Naito, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to assist an operation by an operator in loading an excavated object onto a loading target (see at least Naito, para. [0009]).
As per claim 16 Chiba does not explicitly disclose
wherein the processor rotates the boom until a difference value between a lowermost height that the bucket reaches and an uppermost height of a load carrier adjacent to the excavator corresponds to a preset value.
Naito teaches
wherein the processor rotates the boom until a difference value between a lowermost height that the bucket reaches and an uppermost height of a load carrier adjacent to the excavator corresponds to a preset value (see at least Naito, para. [0066-0071]: When controller 110 determines that the value of distance D is larger than threshold value Th (YES in step S8), then, in step S14, controller 110 stops boom 31 being raised. In step S16 subsequent to step S14, controller 110 determines whether wheel loader 1 is traveling forward. When controller 110 determines that wheel loader 1 is traveling forward (YES in step S16), the processing goes back to step S4. When controller 110 determines that wheel loader 1 is not traveling forward (NO in step S16), the processing ends.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of wherein the processor rotates the boom until a difference value between a lowermost height that the bucket reaches and an uppermost height of a load carrier adjacent to the excavator corresponds to a preset value of Naito, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to assist an operation by an operator in loading an excavated object onto a loading target (see at least Naito, para. [0009]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiba, in view of Tsukamoto, in view of US 2022/0010521A1 (“Izumikawa”).
As per claim 11 Chiba does not explicitly disclose
wherein the first angle is determined based on a point at which a projection area of the bucket and the trend line overlap each other.
Izumikawa teaches
wherein the first angle is determined based on a point at which a projection area of the bucket and the trend line overlap each other (see at least Izumikawa, para. [0202]: In light of the above, the machine guidance device 50 controls the travel of the shovel 100during each stroke by appropriately arranging the virtual planes PS, such that the amount of soil loaded into the slope bucket 6A during a single stroke does not exceed the capacity of the slope bucket 6A. Specifically, as illustrated in FIG. 8, the machine guidance device 50 forcibly stops the travel of the shovel 100 when the shovel center point CP reaches a virtual plane PS. As a result, as illustrated in FIG. 9B, the upper turning body 3 can be positioned such that a slope area contacted by the slope bucket 6A during the current stroke overlaps with a slope area contacted by the slope bucket6A during the previous stroke by the predetermined width W2. & para. [0224]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiba to incorporate the teaching of wherein the first angle is determined based on a point at which a projection area of the bucket and the trend line overlap each other of Izumikawa, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the work efficiency of slope forming work (see at least Izumikawa, para. [0303]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668