DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse in the reply filed on 2/18/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s argument regarding traversal is not persuasive because the common limitation technical features is not novel over the prior art Kuwabata et al. (US publication 2021/0040385 A1) in view of Alghamdi et al. (US publication 2018/0182562 A1) (see restriction requirement mailed on 1/5/2026) and also Goto et al. (US publication 2024/0107792 A1) or Nojima et al. et al. (US publication 2022/0204845 A1) discloses common technical features (a core containing at least Ag, Ga, and S or Ag, Ga, and Se; and a shell coating a surface of the core, wherein the shell has at least Zn) (see claim rejection(s) below). Therefore, restriction requirement is maintained and made final. Claim 7-11 are examined. Claim(s) 1-6 remain withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al. (US publication 2024/0107792 A1), hereinafter referred to as Goto792.
Regarding claim 7, Goto792 teaches a quantum dot (fig. 3 and related text) comprising: a core (25a, [0085-0121]) containing at least Ag, Ga, and S or Ag, Ga, and Se ([0085-0092]); and a shell (25b, [0085-0121]) coating a surface of the core ([0085-0121], fig. 3), wherein the shell has at least Zn ([0093]), and the quantum dot exhibits fluorescence characteristics with a fluorescence full width at half maximum of 35 nm or less ([0113]) and a fluorescence quantum yield of 70% or more ([0114]) (The claimed limitation “a fluorescence full width at half maximum of 35 nm or less and a fluorescence quantum yield of 70% or more” overlaps prior art’s teachings and is a result-effective variable as suggested by Goto792. So, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the workable or optimal value through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired characteristics of the quantum dot. It has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05-2144.07).
Regarding claim 8, Goto792 teaches wherein the shell is made of ZnS ([0093]).
Regarding claim 9, Goto792 teaches wherein the core and the shell do not contain Cd and In ([0090-0093]).
Regarding claim 10, Goto792 teaches wherein a fluorescence wavelength is in a range of 400 nm or more and 700 nm or less ([0116-0118]).
Regarding claim 11, Goto792 teaches wherein a single core exhibits band edge emission ([0119]).
Claim 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nojima et al. et al. (US publication 2022/0204845 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nojima845.
Regarding claim 7, Nojima845 teaches a quantum dot (fig. 1 and related text) comprising: a core (1, [0033]) containing at least Ag, Ga, and S or Ag, Ga, and Se (AgGaSe.sub.2 or AgGaS.sub.2 for example, [0036]); and a shell (2, [0033]) coating a surface of the core (fig. 1), wherein the shell has at least Zn (ZnSe or ZnS for example, [0037]), and the quantum dot exhibits fluorescence characteristics with a fluorescence full width at half maximum of 35 nm or less and a fluorescence quantum yield of 70% or more (see full disclosure, it provides various examples of a fluorescence full width at half maximum and a fluorescence quantum yield throughout the disclosure) (The claimed limitation “a fluorescence full width at half maximum of 35 nm or less and a fluorescence quantum yield of 70% or more” overlaps prior art’s teachings and is a result-effective variable as suggested by Nojima845. So, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the workable or optimal value through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired characteristics of the quantum dot. It has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05-2144.07).
Regarding claim 8, Nojima845 teaches wherein the shell is made of ZnS ([0037]).
Regarding claim 9, Nojima845 teaches wherein the core and the shell do not contain Cd and In (core AgGaSe.sub.2 or AgGaS.sub.2 and shell ZnSe or ZnS).
Regarding claim 10, Nojima845 teaches wherein a fluorescence wavelength is in a range of 400 nm or more and 700 nm or less (see full disclosure).
Regarding claim 11, Nojima845 teaches wherein a single core exhibits band edge emission (see full disclosure).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 7-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,834,596 B2.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claim 7-11 of the instant application is encompassed by the subject matter of the Claim 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,834,596 and is obvious.
Claims of Instant Application
Claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,834,596 B2
7-11
1-7
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897