DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7 – 14 and 20 – 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 19, 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“docking element” in claims 2 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 5 – 6, 17 and 19 recite the limitation "the robotic vacuum" in lines 5 and line 2, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 depend from claim 3; Claims 6 and 19 depend from claim 5 and are therefore rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morin et al (US 20180235424 A1).
In re claim 1. Morin et al discloses a system (evacuation station, Fig. 2: 205 and mobile robot, 200), comprising:
a trash can (canister, 220);
a robotic vacuum docking station (base, 206) connected to the trash can (connected to 220, see Fig. 2);
In re claim 15. Morin et al discloses the system of claim 1,
wherein the docking station is a charging station (base, 206 in evacuation station, 205 is used for charging, see [0059]).
In re claim 3. Morin et al discloses a system (evacuation station, Fig. 2: 205 and mobile robot, 200), comprising:
a trash can (canister, 220);
a robotic vacuum docketing station (base, 206) connected to the trash can (connected to 220, see Fig. 2); and
a vacuum (motor, 218) of the trash can (canister, 220) for retrieving vacuumed debris from the robotic vacuum and emptying the vacuumed debris into the trash can (motor, 218 expels the air drawn out of the canister, 220 through an exit port 223 on the canister, 220. As noted, the removal of air generates negative air pressure in the canister, 220, which evacuates the debris bin, 210 by generating an air flow along the flow path, 222 that suctions the debris 215, see [0063]).
In re claim 17. Morin et al discloses the system of claim 3,
wherein the docketing station (base, 206) is a charger (having electrical contacts, 245) for the robotic vacuum (Additionally or alternatively, when the electrical contacts 240, 245 are properly mated, the control system 208 can execute a charging operation to restore, wholly or partially, the power source of the mobile robot 200, see [0061]).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by NA et al (US 20210038034 A1).
In re claim 2. NA et al discloses a system (station, Fig. 1: 1), comprising:
a trash can (housing, 2) with an upper lip (joint, see annotated Fig. 7A, below);
Fig 7A – illustrates the upper lip of trash can with joint to open lid
a hinge (joint, see annotated Fig. 7A, above) connected to the upper lip of the trash can (connected to housing, 2, see Fig. 7A);
a lid (cover member, 50) connected to the hinge for enclosing the trash can when the lid is closed on the hinge (connected to joint for enclosing housing, 2, see Fig. 7A);
an inlet (opening of housing, see annotated Fig. 3, below) connected to the trash can for receiving a robotic vacuum (connected to housing, 2 and receive robot cleaner, 100, see Fig. 3); and
Fig. 3 – illustrates the inlet and outlet of housing.
a docking element (charging terminal, 32) of the inlet (see annotated Fig. 3, above) for contacting the robotic vacuum received in the inlet (contact robot cleaner, 100 received in opening, see Fig. 3),
In re claim 16. NA et al discloses the system of claim 2,
wherein the docking element (charging terminal, 32) is a charger (charging terminal, 32 for charging robot cleaner, 100, see [0059]).
In re claim 4. NA et al discloses a system (station, Fig. 1: 1), comprising:
a trash can (housing, 2) with an upper lip (joint, see annotated Fig. 7A, below);
Fig. 7A – illustrates the upper lip of the housing with joint to open lid
a hinge (joint, see annotated Fig. 7A, above) connected to the upper lip of the trash can (connected to housing, 2, see Fig. 7A);
a lid (cover member, 50) connected to the hinge for enclosing the trash can when the lid is closed on the hinge (connected to joint for enclosing housing, 2, see Fig. 7A);
an inlet (opening of housing, see annotated Fig. 3, below) connected to the trash can for receiving a robotic vacuum (connected to housing, 2 and receive robot cleaner, 100, see Fig. 3);
Fig. 3 – illustrates the inlet and outlet of housing.
a docking element (charging terminal, 32) of the inlet (see annotated Fig. 3, above) for contacting the robotic vacuum received in the inlet (contact robot cleaner, 100 received in opening, see Fig. 3),
a suction inlet (docking suction port, 31) of the inlet (of opening, see Fig. 2);
a vacuum motor (driver, 20 has a motor, see [0048]) connected to the suction inlet (a driver, 20 has a motor which suctions dust into a dust bag, 200 from the robot cleaner, 100 connected with a docking suction port, 31, see [0039]);
a duct (40) connected to the vacuum motor (connected to drive, 20, see Fig. 3); and
an outlet (see annotated Fig. 3, above) connected to the duct (connected to 40, see annotated Fig. 3), the outlet dispenses vacuumed debris collected by the robotic vacuum into the trash can (the driver, 20 may form a suction channel A1 through which dust is suctioned to the inner part of the station 1 and a discharge channel A2 through which dust is discharged to the outer part of the station 1 after the dust is removed from the suction channel A1, see [0049]).
In re claim 18. NA et al discloses the system of claim 4,
wherein the docking element (charging terminal, 32) includes a charger (charging terminal, 32) for the robotic vacuum (charging robot cleaner, 100, see [0059]).
Claim(s) 5 - 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Won et al (US 20090044370 A1).
In re claim 5. Won et al discloses a system (maintenance station, Fig. 25A: 1200), comprising:
a trash can (1210);
a robotic vacuum docking station (docking portion, 1202) connected to the trash can (connected to 1210, see Fig. 25B); and
a vacuum motor (vacuum, 900) communicatively connected to a collected debris accessway of the robotic vacuum (connected to robot bin, 50 and evac duct, see Fig. 25B).
In re claim 6. Won et al discloses the system of claim 5, further comprising:
a canister (collection bin, 150) connected to the vacuum (connected to 900, see Fig. 25B);
wherein the vacuum retrieves the collected debris from the robotic vacuum and contains the collected debris so retrieved in the canister (In the configuration shown in FIG. 25B, the vacuum, 900 is a high powered vacuum (e.g., 6-12 amp) that pulls air through the filter, 910 and via the collection bin, 150, through ducting and hoses along or within the trash can portion, 1210, over and through the brush, 530, and optionally directly or diverted from the cleaning bin, 30 of the robot, 10, see [0082]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won et al (US 20090044370 A1) in view of Morin et al (US 20180235424 A1).
In re claim 19. Won et al discloses the system of claim 5, having a vacuum docking station (docking portion, 1202).
Won et al is silent about the robotic vacuum docking station is a charging station.
However, Morin et al teaches an evacuation station (generally, an evacuation station, can serve as a docking station and charging station, see [0058]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Won et al with the teachings of the robotic vacuum docking station is a charging station as taught by Morin et al. because it eliminates the need for manual intervention which improves efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gill et al (US 11191403 B2) teaches a robotic cleaner debris removal docking station.
Contact Information
/SHARONDA T FELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723