DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 6/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the support 4 of Hui is manufactured by press-bonding (compressing) a carbonaceous circular tube body 4a and a SUS mesh 4b together and, thus, cannot have a netlike tube-shaped structure. This is not found persuasive because the Supplementary European Search Report cites CN101789528A, along with US2003/0148175A1 and JP2000340263A, as X reference(s) with respect to independent claim 1 such that the shared technical feature among Groups I-III (i.e., the electrode assembly of claim 1) is not a special technical feature as it does not contribute over any one of the X cited references above. Further, the support 4 of Hui is considered to satisfy the support claimed in claim 1 because the support 4 of Hui includes a SUS mesh 4b satisfying “netlike” and includes a carbon cylinder 4a including a SUS mesh 4b inserted into a space within said carbon cylinder satisfying “tube-shaped”. Accordingly, Groups I-III lack unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shizuki et al. JP2000340263A, see English machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Shizuki discloses an electrode assembly (electrode group, see Abstract), comprising:
a first electrode sheet (negative electrode [0008]);
a second electrode sheet (positive electrode [0008]);
a separator sheet located between the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet (separator [0006]), the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator being wound about a winding central axis to define a cavity (wound about a tubular core [0006], [0011]-[0013]); and
a netlike tube-shaped support extending along a lengthwise direction of the cavity (tubular, net [0013]-[0014]).
Regarding claim 2, Shizuki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shizuki further discloses the netlike tube-shaped support is a netlike tube made from a wire or a strap (sheet or plate rolled into a tubular shape [0013]).
Regarding claim 3, Shizuki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shizuki further discloses the netlike tube-shaped support is a stent support (tubular core, net [0006], [0011]-[0014]).
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwanaga et al. (US 2003/0148175A1).
Regarding claim 1, Iwanaga discloses an electrode assembly (electrode assembly 10 [0037], Fig. 1-5), comprising:
a first electrode sheet (negative sheet [0039]);
a second electrode sheet (positive sheet [0039]);
a separator sheet located between the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet (separator [0039]), the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator being wound about a winding central axis to define a cavity (wound about center pin that is cylindrical and tube shaped [0043]); and
a netlike tube-shaped support extending along a lengthwise direction of the cavity (cylindrical and tube shaped [0043], through holes in the center pin [0072]-[0081], Fig. 4A-4B).
Regarding claim 2, Iwanaga discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Iwanaga further discloses the netlike tube-shaped support is a netlike tube made from a wire or a strap (made of a plate [0046]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Iwanaga discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Iwanaga further discloses the netlike tube-shaped support is a stent support (cylindrical and tube shaped [0043], through holes in the center pin [0072]-[0081], Fig. 4A-4).
Regarding claim 4, Iwanaga discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Iwanaga further discloses the netlike tube-shaped support is extendable and shrinkable in a radial direction or the lengthwise direction (slit 26 [0062], Fig. 3-4b which allows for the center pin to extend and shrink in a radial direction).
Regarding claim 5, Iwanaga discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Iwanaga further discloses a gap is present between the netlike tube-shaped support and an inner wall of the cavity (slit 26 [0062], Fig. 3-4b which is a gap positioned between the center pin and inner wall of the cavity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shizuki et al. JP2000340263A, see English machine translation, as applied to claims 1-3 as set forth above, in view of Kim et al. (EP3637534A1).
Regarding claim 6, Shizuki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Shizuki does not further disclose a wireless sensor located at the netlike tube-shaped support.
Kim discloses a cylindrical battery in which a pressure sensor is embedded measuring an internal pressure of a secondary battery to increase safety, the pressure sensor positioned on one side of the electrode assembly and embedded in the cylindrical battery and wirelessly connected (see Title, Abstract, [0006], [0011], [0015], [0025], Fig. 2-7).
Shizuki and Kim are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shizuki by providing a wireless pressure sensor positioned on one side of the electrode assembly and embedded in the cylindrical battery because Kim teaches improved safety.
Regarding claim 7, Shizuki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses the wireless sensor is a wireless pressure sensor, and
wherein the wireless pressure sensor is located at at least one location of an outer surface or an inner surface of the netlike tube-shaped support (pressure sensor positioned on one side of the electrode assembly and embedded in the cylindrical battery and wirelessly connected, see Title, Abstract, [0006], [0011], [0015], [0025], Fig. 2-7).
Claim(s) 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shizuki et al. JP2000340263A, see English machine translation, as applied to claims 1-3 as set forth above, in view of Shimizu (US 2018/0331399A1).
Regarding claim 6, Shizuki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Shizuki does not further disclose a wireless sensor located at the netlike tube-shaped support.
Shimizu discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery cell comprising a hollow part of the core material 5 provided with a temperature sensor 12 which serves as a cell monitoring system ([0058]-[0059], wireless communication [0066], Fig. 1-9).
Shizuki and Shimizu are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shizuki by providing a wireless temperature sensor in the hollow part of a core material because Shimizu teaches monitoring cell data to improve safety.
Regarding claim 8, Shizuki discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shimizu further discloses the wireless sensor is a wireless temperature sensor, and wherein the wireless temperature sensor is located at at least one location of an outer surface or an inner surface of the netlike tube-shaped support (hollow part of the core material 5 provided with a temperature sensor 12 which serves as a cell monitoring system [0058]-[0059], wireless communication [0066], Fig. 1-9).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwanaga et al. (US 2003/0148175A1), as applied to claims 1-5 as set forth above, in view of Kim et al. (EP3637534A1).
Regarding claim 6, Iwanaga discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Iwanaga does not further disclose a wireless sensor located at the netlike tube-shaped support.
Kim discloses a cylindrical battery in which a pressure sensor is embedded measuring an internal pressure of a secondary battery to increase safety, the pressure sensor positioned on one side of the electrode assembly and embedded in the cylindrical battery and wirelessly connected (see Title, Abstract, [0006], [0011], [0015], [0025], Fig. 2-7).
Iwanaga and Kim are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwanaga by providing a wireless pressure sensor positioned on one side of the electrode assembly and embedded in the cylindrical battery because Kim teaches improved safety.
Regarding claim 7, Iwanaga discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses the wireless sensor is a wireless pressure sensor, and
wherein the wireless pressure sensor is located at at least one location of an outer surface or an inner surface of the netlike tube-shaped support (pressure sensor positioned on one side of the electrode assembly and embedded in the cylindrical battery and wirelessly connected, see Title, Abstract, [0006], [0011], [0015], [0025], Fig. 2-7).
Claim(s) 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwanaga et al. (US 2003/0148175A1), as applied to claims 1-5 as set forth above, in view of Shimizu (US 2018/0331399A1).
Regarding claim 6, Iwanaga discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Iwanaga does not further disclose a wireless sensor located at the netlike tube-shaped support.
Shimizu discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery cell comprising a hollow part of the core material 5 provided with a temperature sensor 12 which serves as a cell monitoring system ([0058]-[0059], wireless communication [0066], Fig. 1-9).
Iwanaga and Shimizu are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwanaga by providing a wireless temperature sensor in the hollow part of a core material because Shimizu teaches monitoring cell data to improve safety.
Regarding claim 8, Iwanaga discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shimizu further discloses the wireless sensor is a wireless temperature sensor, and wherein the wireless temperature sensor is located at at least one location of an outer surface or an inner surface of the netlike tube-shaped support (hollow part of the core material 5 provided with a temperature sensor 12 which serves as a cell monitoring system [0058]-[0059], wireless communication [0066], Fig. 1-9).
Conclusion
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 8/17/2026