DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed November 25, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 22, 27 and 30 are amended, and claims 6-7 and 26 are cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 13-22, 27 and 30 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because new ground of rejection relies on the reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 22 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. (US20230299890A1, hereinafter Baek) in view of Baek et al. (US20230397232A1, hereinafter Baek232).
For claim 1, Baek teaches a method for data retransmission ([Para. 0038], the method may further include receiving, from the BS, a retransmission resource of the MBS SPS resource), performed by a user equipment ([Para. 0030], a method by which a user equipment (UE) operates), comprising: in response to the failure to receive MBS data (Baek [Para. 0078], when successful transmission of data to be received by the UE using the MBS SPS resource fails, the UE may notify the BS of the transmission failure by transmitting an HARQ NACK message. After receiving the HARQ NACK message, the BS may perform retransmission), monitoring retransmission data scheduling of a multicast broadcast service (MBS) based on a designated retransmission identifier of the MBS (Baek [Para. 0077], A group-configured scheduling-transmission radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI) may be included in the MBS SPS configuration information to be configured for the UE. [Para. 0079, 0094], Only when an initial transmission resource transmitted with the MBS SPS resource is not successfully received, the UE receives a resource allocated using the G-CS-RNTI. [Para. 0126], the BS may allocate a retransmission resource of an MBS SPS resource to the UE based on the feedback. The UE may be allocated by the BS the retransmission resource for MBS SPS. The retransmission resource may be transmitted in a DCI format of a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI).
Although teaching monitoring PDCCH based on RNTI for scheduling of retransmission, Baek does not explicitly disclose upon a period starting from a time point of the failure to receive data being equal to a predetermined period.
Baek232 is directed to providing method and device for MBS communication in wireless communication system. More specifically, Baek232 teaches upon a period starting from a time point of the failure to receive data being equal to a predetermined period ([Para. 0079], In order for the UE to receive a retransmission, the UE must be able to monitor the PDCCH and receive data at a time when retransmission is possible. To this end, the DRX retransmission timer may be started at a preset time point, and the UE may monitor the PDCCH for retransmission of the base station during this period. The start time of the DRX retransmission timer may be immediately after the HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer expires. [Para. 0085], During the DRX retransmission timer period, the UE may monitor the PDCCH to check whether there are a PDCCH allocated with the G-RNTI and a retransmission resource [Para. 0081], If data to be received in this HARQ process is not successfully received, the UE may have to perform retransmission. To this end, the HARQ RTT timer may be started. [Para. 0090] and [FIG. 1F], Multicast and broadcast services (MBS) assume that a plurality of UEs receive an MBS service. However, the UEs may have different HARQ feedback resources (FB) for MBS data (MBS RX) received through downlink. A constant K1 indicating the time from the received data to the feedback resource may be different for individual UEs. [Para. 0091] and [FIG. 1F], in case of receiving the same MBS service, it is necessary to keep the MBS retransmission scheduling region equal to the length of the DRX retransmission timer by making the start times of the DRX retransmission timers coincide. It is possible to determine the time point when the UE starts the HARQ RTT timer for MBS DRX, as the first symbol after receiving MBS data. The UEs receiving the MBS service can start the HARQ RTT timers in the same way. The base station does not retransmit MBS data during the HARQ RTT timer, and when the HARQ RTT timer expires, it may start the DRX retransmission timer at the next symbol. Even if the feedback resources for MBS data are located at different time points, the UEs start the DRX retransmission timers at the same time, so that the base station can secure an MBS retransmission scheduling region equal to the length of the DRX retransmission timer [Examiner’s Note: The time point of the failure to receive data is the first symbol after receiving MBS data. The period does not depend on the HARQ NACK scheduling, it only depends on HARQ RTT]. [Para. 0071], DRX parameters for an MBS service are: drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerMBS (HARQ RTT timer), drx-RetransmissionTimerMBS (DRX retransmission timer). [Para. 0085], Since the base station knows that retransmission will not be performed during the time in which the HARQ RTT timer of MBS DRX is running. [Examiner’s Note: That base station knows HARQ RTT used by UEs indicates that HARQ RTT itself is also predetermined as a service parameter drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerMBS]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek, so that the wireless device monitors PDCCH immediately HARG RTT time after receiving date transmission, as taught by Baek232. The modification would have utilized resources efficiently by aligning MBS retransmission scheduling regions of one or more terminals receiving MBS (Baek232 [Para. 0017]).
For Claim 2, Baek and Baek232 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach further comprising: determining the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS in response to obtained downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration information (Baek [Para. 0075], the BS may configure an MBS SPS resource by an RRC message transmitted to the UE. Baek [Para. 0077], A group-configured scheduling-transmission radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI) may be included in the MBS SPS configuration information to be configured for the UE. Baek [Para. 0079], When the data previously transmitted with respect to the resource allocated with the G-CS-RNTI has not been successfully received, the UE may receive a retransmission resource using the G-CS-RNTI. Baek [Para. 0126], the BS may allocate a retransmission resource of an MBS SPS resource to the UE based on the feedback. The UE may be allocated by the BS the retransmission resource for MBS SPS. The retransmission resource may be transmitted in a DCI format of a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI).
For claim 5, Baek and Baek232 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises at least one of following identifiers: a unicast retransmission identifier or a multicast retransmission identifier (Baek [Para. 0077], A group-configured scheduling-transmission radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI) may be included in the MBS SPS configuration information to be configured for the UE. Baek [Para. 0079], Only when an initial transmission resource transmitted with the MBS SPS resource is not successfully received, the UE receives a resource allocated using the G-CS-RNTI. [Para. 0049], the MBS communication is performed in a multicast method for many specified reception devices Baek [Para. 0126], The UE may be allocated by the BS the retransmission resource for MBS SPS. The retransmission resource may be transmitted in a DCI format of a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI).
For claim 8, Baek and Baek232 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein monitoring the retransmission data scheduling of the MBS based on the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises (Baek [Para. 0077], A group-configured scheduling-transmission radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI) may be included in the MBS SPS configuration information to be configured for the UE. Baek [Para. 0079], When the data previously transmitted with respect to the resource allocated with the G-CS-RNTI has not been successfully received, the UE may receive a retransmission resource using the G-CS-RNTI. Baek [Para. 0126], the BS may allocate a retransmission resource of an MBS SPS resource to the UE based on the feedback. The UE may be allocated by the BS the retransmission resource for MBS SPS. The retransmission resource may be transmitted in a DCI format of a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI): in response to having been sent a message of failure to receive MBS data to a base station (Baek [Para. 0078], when successful transmission of data to be received by the UE using the MBS SPS resource fails, the UE may notify the BS of the transmission failure by transmitting an HARQ NACK message. After receiving the HARQ NACK message, the BS may perform retransmission), monitoring the retransmission data scheduling of the MBS based on the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS (Baek [Para. 0077], A group-configured scheduling-transmission radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI) may be included in the MBS SPS configuration information to be configured for the UE. Baek [Para. 0079], Only when an initial transmission resource transmitted with the MBS SPS resource is not successfully received, the UE receives a resource allocated using the G-CS-RNTI. Baek [Para. 0126], the BS may allocate a retransmission resource of an MBS SPS resource to the UE based on the feedback. The UE may be allocated by the BS the retransmission resource for MBS SPS. The retransmission resource may be transmitted in a DCI format of a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI); or in response to a current received data being MBS data, monitoring the retransmission data scheduling of the MBS based on the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS.
For claim 22, Baek teaches a method for data retransmission ([Para. 0038], the method may further include receiving, from the BS, a retransmission resource of the MBS SPS resource), performed by a base station (Para. 0038], the method may further include receiving, from the BS, a retransmission resource of the MBS SPS resource), comprising: sending a retransmission identifier for indicating a UE to monitor retransmission data scheduling of an MBS ([Para. 0075], the BS may configure an MBS SPS resource by an RRC message transmitted to the UE. [Para. 0077], A group-configured scheduling-transmission radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI) may be included in the MBS SPS configuration information to be configured for the UE. [Para. 0079, 0094], Only when an initial transmission resource transmitted with the MBS SPS resource is not successfully received, the UE receives a resource allocated using the G-CS-RNTI [Para. 0126], the BS may allocate a retransmission resource of an MBS SPS resource to the UE based on the feedback. The UE may be allocated by the BS the retransmission resource for MBS SPS. The retransmission resource may be transmitted in a DCI format of a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI), to the UE via SPS configuration information ([Para. 0075], the BS may configure an MBS SPS resource by an RRC message transmitted to the UE. [Para. 0077], A group-configured scheduling-transmission radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI) may be included in the MBS SPS configuration information to be configured for the UE).
Although Beak indicating sending retransmission data based on any retransmission identifier in response of failure (Baek [Para.0078], when successful transmission of data to be received by the UE using the MBS SPS resource fails, the UE may notify the BS of the transmission failure by transmitting an HARQ NACK message. After receiving the HARQ NACK message, the BS may perform retransmission. The retransmission resource may be allocated in a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI), Baek232 more specifically discloses and in response to obtaining a message of failure to receive MBS data that is sent by the UE, sending retransmission data of the MBS to the UE based on the retransmission identifier, wherein the retransmission data scheduling is monitored by the UE upon a period starting from a time point of the failure to receive data being equal to a predetermined period.
Baek232 is directed to providing method and device for MBS communication in wireless communication system. More specifically, Baek232 teaches and in response to obtaining a message of failure to receive MBS data that is sent by the UE ([Para. 0081], data to be received in the HARQ process indicated by the PDCCH allocation of the G-RNTI may be received. If data to be received in this HARQ process is not successfully received, the UE may have to perform retransmission. [Para. 0082], Starting the HARQ RTT timer at the first symbol after transmitting HARQ feedback [Examiner’s Note: HARQ RTT timer may be started at different point]), sending retransmission data of the MBS to the UE based on the retransmission identifier ([Para. 0090], Multicast and broadcast services (MBS) assume that a plurality of UEs receive an MBS service by using a common group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI). [Para. 0085], During the DRX retransmission timer period, the UE may monitor the PDCCH to check whether there are a PDCCH allocated with the G-RNTI and a retransmission resource [Examiner’s Note: Retransmission is based on G-RNTI]. [Para. 0086], a feedback resource is transmitted on the physical uplink control channel (PDCCH) and a constant K1 indicating the time from the received data to the feedback resource. [Para. 0091], The base station does not retransmit MBS data during the HARQ RTT timer, and when the HARQ RTT timer expires, it may start the DRX retransmission timer at the next symbol. While the DRX retransmission timer is running, the base station may perform MBS data retransmission to the UE), wherein the retransmission data scheduling is monitored by the UE upon a period starting from a time point of the failure to receive data being equal to a predetermined period ([Para. 0079], In order for the UE to receive a retransmission, the UE must be able to monitor the PDCCH and receive data at a time when retransmission is possible. To this end, the DRX retransmission timer may be started at a preset time point, and the UE may monitor the PDCCH for retransmission of the base station during this period. The start time of the DRX retransmission timer may be immediately after the HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer expires. [Para. 0085], During the DRX retransmission timer period, the UE may monitor the PDCCH to check whether there are a PDCCH allocated with the G-RNTI and a retransmission resource. [Para. 0081], If data to be received in this HARQ process is not successfully received, the UE may have to perform retransmission. To this end, the HARQ RTT timer may be started. [Para. 0090] and [FIG. 1F], Multicast and broadcast services (MBS) assume that a plurality of UEs receive an MBS service. However, the UEs may have different HARQ feedback resources (FB) for MBS data (MBS RX) received through downlink. A constant K1 indicating the time from the received data to the feedback resource may be different for individual UEs. [Para. 0091] and [FIG. 1F], in case of receiving the same MBS service, it is necessary to keep the MBS retransmission scheduling region equal to the length of the DRX retransmission timer by making the start times of the DRX retransmission timers coincide. It is possible to determine the time point when the UE starts the HARQ RTT timer for MBS DRX, as the first symbol after receiving MBS data. The UEs receiving the MBS service can start the HARQ RTT timers in the same way. The base station does not retransmit MBS data during the HARQ RTT timer, and when the HARQ RTT timer expires, it may start the DRX retransmission timer at the next symbol. Even if the feedback resources for MBS data are located at different time points, the UEs start the DRX retransmission timers at the same time, so that the base station can secure an MBS retransmission scheduling region equal to the length of the DRX retransmission timer [Examiner’s Note: The time point of the failure to receive data is the first symbol after receiving MBS data. The period does not depend on the HARQ NACK scheduling, it only depends on HARQ RTT]. [Para. 0071], DRX parameters for an MBS service are: drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerMBS (HARQ RTT timer), drx-RetransmissionTimerMBS (DRX retransmission timer). [Para. 0085], Since the base station knows that retransmission will not be performed during the time in which the HARQ RTT timer of MBS DRX is running. [Examiner’s Note: That base station knows HARQ RTT used by UEs indicates that HARQ RTT itself is also predetermined as a service parameter drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerMBS]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek, so that the wireless device monitors PDCCH immediately HARG RTT time after receiving date transmission, as taught by Baek232. The modification would have utilized resources efficiently by aligning MBS retransmission scheduling regions of one or more terminals receiving MBS (Baek232 [Para. 0017]).
For claim 30, Baek teaches a communication device ([FIG. 15], UE), comprising: a transceiver ([FIG. 15], Transceiver 1510); a memory ([FIG. 15], Memory 1530); a processor ([FIG. 15], Processor 1520), respectively coupled to the transceiver and the memory ([FIG. 15]), and configured to control wireless signal transmission and reception of the transceiver by executing computer executable instructions on the memory ([Para. 0144], The transceiver 1510 may transmit or receive signals. [0145], the processor 1520 may control signal flows between the respective blocks. [0146], The memory 1530 may store at least one of information received or for transmission by the transceiver 1510 and information generated by the processor 1520), and capable of implementing: in response to the failure to receive MBS data (Baek [Para. 0078], when successful transmission of data to be received by the UE using the MBS SPS resource fails, the UE may notify the BS of the transmission failure by transmitting an HARQ NACK message. After receiving the HARQ NACK message, the BS may perform retransmission), monitoring retransmission data scheduling of a multicast broadcast service (MBS) based on a designated retransmission identifier of the MBS ([Para. 0075], the BS may configure an MBS SPS resource by an RRC message transmitted to the UE. [Para. 0077], A group-configured scheduling-transmission radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI) may be included in the MBS SPS configuration information to be configured for the UE. [Para. 0079, 0094], Only when an initial transmission resource transmitted with the MBS SPS resource is not successfully received, the UE receives a resource allocated using the G-CS-RNTI. [Para. 0126], the BS may allocate a retransmission resource of an MBS SPS resource to the UE based on the feedback. The UE may be allocated by the BS the retransmission resource for MBS SPS. The retransmission resource may be transmitted in a DCI format of a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI).
Although teaching monitoring PDCCH based on RNTI for scheduling of retransmission, Baek does not explicitly disclose upon a period starting from a time point of the failure to receive data being equal to a predetermined period.
Baek232 is directed to providing method and device for mbs communication in wireless communication system. More specifically, Baek232 teaches upon a period starting from a time point of the failure to receive data being equal to a predetermined period ([Para. 0079], In order for the UE to receive a retransmission, the UE must be able to monitor the PDCCH and receive data at a time when retransmission is possible. To this end, the DRX retransmission timer may be started at a preset time point, and the UE may monitor the PDCCH for retransmission of the base station during this period. The start time of the DRX retransmission timer may be immediately after the HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer expires. [Para. 0085], During the DRX retransmission timer period, the UE may monitor the PDCCH to check whether there are a PDCCH allocated with the G-RNTI and a retransmission resource [Para. 0081], If data to be received in this HARQ process is not successfully received, the UE may have to perform retransmission. To this end, the HARQ RTT timer may be started. [Para. 0090] and [FIG. 1F], Multicast and broadcast services (MBS) assume that a plurality of UEs receive an MBS service. However, the UEs may have different HARQ feedback resources (FB) for MBS data (MBS RX) received through downlink. A constant K1 indicating the time from the received data to the feedback resource may be different for individual UEs. [Para. 0091] and [FIG. 1F], in case of receiving the same MBS service, it is necessary to keep the MBS retransmission scheduling region equal to the length of the DRX retransmission timer by making the start times of the DRX retransmission timers coincide. It is possible to determine the time point when the UE starts the HARQ RTT timer for MBS DRX, as the first symbol after receiving MBS data. The UEs receiving the MBS service can start the HARQ RTT timers in the same way. The base station does not retransmit MBS data during the HARQ RTT timer, and when the HARQ RTT timer expires, it may start the DRX retransmission timer at the next symbol. Even if the feedback resources for MBS data are located at different time points, the UEs start the DRX retransmission timers at the same time, so that the base station can secure an MBS retransmission scheduling region equal to the length of the DRX retransmission timer [Examiner’s Note: The time point of the failure to receive data is the first symbol after receiving MBS data. The period does not depend on the HARQ NACK scheduling, it only depends on HARQ RTT]. [Para. 0071], DRX parameters for an MBS service are: drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerMBS (HARQ RTT timer), drx-RetransmissionTimerMBS (DRX retransmission timer). [Para. 0085], Since the base station knows that retransmission will not be performed during the time in which the HARQ RTT timer of MBS DRX is running. [Examiner’s Note: That base station knows HARQ RTT used by UEs indicates that HARQ RTT itself is also predetermined as a service parameter drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerMBS]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek, so that the wireless device monitors PDCCH immediately HARG RTT time after receiving date transmission, as taught by Baek232. The modification would have utilized resources efficiently by aligning MBS retransmission scheduling regions of one or more terminals receiving MBS (Baek232 [Para. 0017]).
Claims 9, 13 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. (US20230299890A1, hereinafter Baek) in view of Baek et al. (US20230397232A1, hereinafter Baek232), Zhou et al. (US20230063082A1, hereinafter Zhou), and further in view of Huang et al. (Huang et al. (US20250126679A1, hereinafter Huang).
For claim 9, Baek and Baek232 teach method of claim 1. The references further teach and monitoring the retransmission data scheduling of the MBS based on the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises at least one of: monitoring the retransmission data scheduling of the MBS based on either the unicast retransmission identifier or the multicast retransmission identifier (Baek [Para. 0077], A group-configured scheduling-transmission radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI) may be included in the MBS SPS configuration information to be configured for the UE. Baek [Para. 0079, 0094], Only when an initial transmission resource transmitted with the MBS SPS resource is not successfully received, the UE receives a resource allocated using the G-CS-RNTI [Para. 0049], the MBS communication is performed in a multicast method for many specified reception devices. Baek [Para. 0126], the BS may allocate a retransmission resource of an MBS SPS resource to the UE based on the feedback. The UE may be allocated by the BS the retransmission resource for MBS SPS. The retransmission resource may be transmitted in a DCI format of a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI), or determining a target retransmission identifier based on reception time points of retransmission scheduling indications identified by the unicast retransmission identifier and the multicast retransmission identifier respectively, and monitoring the retransmission data scheduling of the MBS based on the target retransmission identifier; or monitoring the retransmission data scheduling of the MBS respectively based on the unicast retransmission identifier and the multicast retransmission identifier, and determining retransmission data identified by any retransmission identifier as a target retransmission data in response to a reception time point of the retransmission data identified by any retransmission identifier being earlier than a reception time point of retransmission data identified by another retransmission identifier; or monitoring first retransmission data scheduling of the MBS based on the unicast retransmission identifier, monitoring second retransmission data scheduling of the MBS based on the multicast retransmission identifier, and performing combined decoding on first retransmission data and second retransmission data.
Although teaching monitoring PDCCH based on RNTI for scheduling of retransmission based on a multicast retransmission identifier as noted above, Baek and Baek232 do not explicitly disclose wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier.
Zhou is directed to providing discontinuous reception operation of multicast and broadcast services. More specifically, Zhou teaches wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier ([Para. 0292], The base station may, based on the received HARQ NACK, transmit a second DCI with CRC scrambled by the MBS-RNTI. The second DCI is transmitted to a group of wireless devices subscribed to the MBS session. [Para. 0297], The base station may, based on the received HARQ NACK, transmit a second DCI with CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI. The second DCI may indicate a retransmission of the MBS TB in a unicast transmission. [Para. 0331], the wireless device may not have knowledge, in advance, of whether a retransmission of the MBS TB is via a unicast PDSCH resource or via a multicast PDSCH resource. [Para. 0390] and [FIG. 38], The wireless device may receive the group common DCI (e.g., 2nd DCI with MBS-RNTI at T1 in FIG. 38) scheduling the retransmission of the MBS TB. [Para. 0400], The wireless device may receive the UE specific DCI (e.g., 3rd DCI with C-RNTI at T3 in FIG. 38 ) scheduling the retransmission of the MBS TB. The wireless device may receive the retransmission of the MBS TB (e.g., at T4 in FIG. 38). [Para. 0401], The base station may determine a unicast retransmission (by the 2nd DCI) or a multicast retransmission (by the 3rd DCI) of the MBS TB).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek and Beak232, so that the retransmission data may be transmitted via either unicast or multicast, as taught by Zhou. The modification would have supported DRX operation to improve UE battery lifetime (Zhou [Para. 0301]).
Although teaching monitoring the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS may be a unicast retransmission identifier or a multicast retransmission identifier. Baek, Baek232 and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier.
Huang is directed to providing communication method and related product. More specifically, Huang teaches wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier ([Para. 0278], The user equipment C may notify, by using feedback information, an access network device of a data packet that needs to be retransmitted. In a process of retransmitting a data packet, the user equipment may receive the multicast service data in both a multicast manner and a unicast manner).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek, Baek232 and Zhou, so that the retransmission data may be transmitted via both unicast and multicast, as taught by Huang. The modification would have improved the transmission efficiency of the multicast communication (Huang [Para. 0006]).
For claim 13, Baek and Baek232 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach and monitoring the retransmission data scheduling of the MBS based on the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises: in response to successful decoding of retransmission data of the MBS obtained based on any retransmission identifier, stopping monitoring retransmission data scheduling of the MBS associated with another retransmission identifier (Baek [Para. 0079], When data previously transmitted with respect to the resource allocated with the G-CS-RNTI has been successfully received, there is no need to receive the resource allocated with the G-CS-RNTI again).
Although teaching monitoring PDCCH based on RNTI for scheduling of retransmission, Baek and Baek232 do not explicitly disclose wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier.
Zhou is directed to providing discontinuous reception operation of multicast and broadcast services. More specifically, Zhou teaches wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier ([Para. 0292], The base station may, based on the received HARQ NACK, transmit a second DCI with CRC scrambled by the MBS-RNTI. The second DCI is transmitted to a group of wireless devices subscribed to the MBS session. [Para. 0297], The base station may, based on the received HARQ NACK, transmit a second DCI with CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI. The second DCI may indicate a retransmission of the MBS TB in a unicast transmission. [Para. 0331], the wireless device may not have knowledge, in advance, of whether a retransmission of the MBS TB is via a unicast PDSCH resource or via a multicast PDSCH resource. [Para. 0390] and [FIG. 38], The wireless device may receive the group common DCI (e.g., 2nd DCI with MBS-RNTI at T1 in FIG. 38) scheduling the retransmission of the MBS TB. [Para. 0400], The wireless device may receive the UE specific DCI (e.g., 3rd DCI with C-RNTI at T3 in FIG. 38) scheduling the retransmission of the MBS TB. The wireless device may receive the retransmission of the MBS TB (e.g., at T4 in FIG. 38). [Para. 0401], The base station may determine a unicast retransmission (by the 2nd DCI) or a multicast retransmission (by the 3rd DCI) of the MBS TB).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek and Baek232, so that the retransmission data may be transmitted via either unicast or multicast, as taught by Zhou. The modification would have supported DRX operation to improve UE battery lifetime (Zhou [Para. 0301]).
Although teaching monitoring the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS may be a unicast retransmission identifier or a multicast retransmission identifier. Baek, Baek232 and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier.
Huang is directed to providing communication method and related product. More specifically, Huang teaches wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier ([Para. 0278], The user equipment C may notify, by using feedback information, an access network device of a data packet that needs to be retransmitted. In a process of retransmitting a data packet, the user equipment may receive the multicast service data in both a multicast manner and a unicast manner).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek, Baek232 and Zhou, so that the retransmission data may be transmitted via both unicast and multicast, as taught by Huang. The modification would have improved the transmission efficiency of the multicast communication (Huang [Para. 0006]).
For claim 27, Baek and Baek232 teach the method of claim 22. The references further teach wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier (Baek [Para. 0079, 0094], Only when an initial transmission resource transmitted with the MBS SPS resource is not successfully received, the UE receives a resource allocated using the G-CS-RNTI. Baek [Para. 0126], The retransmission resource may be transmitted in a DCI format of a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI), and sending the retransmission data of the MBS to the UE based on the retransmission identifier comprises: sending the retransmission data of the MBS to the UE based on any retransmission identifier (Baek [Para. 0077], A group-configured scheduling-transmission radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI) may be included in the MBS SPS configuration information to be configured for the UE. Baek [Para. 0079], When the data previously transmitted with respect to the resource allocated with the G-CS-RNTI has not been successfully received, the UE may receive a retransmission resource using the G-CS-RNTI. Baek [Para. 0126], the BS may allocate a retransmission resource of an MBS SPS resource to the UE based on the feedback. The UE may be allocated by the BS the retransmission resource for MBS SPS. The retransmission resource may be transmitted in a DCI format of a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI).
Although teaching sending retransmission data based on any retransmission identifier, Baek and Baek232 do not explicitly disclose wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier.
Zhou is directed to providing discontinuous reception operation of multicast and broadcast services. More specifically, Zhou teaches wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier ([Para. 0292], The base station may, based on the received HARQ NACK, transmit a second DCI with CRC scrambled by the MBS-RNTI. The second DCI is transmitted to a group of wireless devices subscribed to the MBS session. [Para. 0297], The base station may, based on the received HARQ NACK, transmit a second DCI with CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI. The second DCI may indicate a retransmission of the MBS TB in a unicast transmission. [Para. 0331], the wireless device may not have knowledge, in advance, of whether a retransmission of the MBS TB is via a unicast PDSCH resource or via a multicast PDSCH resource. [Para. 0390] and [FIG. 38], The wireless device may receive the group common DCI (e.g., 2nd DCI with MBS-RNTI at T1 in FIG. 38) scheduling the retransmission of the MBS TB. [Para. 0400], The wireless device may receive the UE specific DCI (e.g., 3rd DCI with C-RNTI at T3 in FIG. 38) scheduling the retransmission of the MBS TB. The wireless device may receive the retransmission of the MBS TB (e.g., at T4 in FIG. 38). [Para. 0401], The base station may determine a unicast retransmission (by the 2nd DCI) or a multicast retransmission (by the 3rd DCI) of the MBS TB).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek and Baek232, so that the retransmission data may be transmitted via either unicast or multicast, as taught by Zhou. The modification would have supported DRX operation to improve UE battery lifetime (Zhou [Para. 0301]).
Although teaching monitoring the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS may be a unicast retransmission identifier or a multicast retransmission identifier. Baek, Baek232 and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier.
Huang is directed to providing communication method and related product. More specifically, Huang teaches wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier ([Para. 0278], The user equipment C may notify, by using feedback information, an access network device of a data packet that needs to be retransmitted. In a process of retransmitting a data packet, the user equipment may receive the multicast service data in both a multicast manner and a unicast manner).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek, Baek232 and Zhou, so that the retransmission data may be transmitted via both unicast and multicast, as taught by Huang. The modification would have improved the transmission efficiency of the multicast communication (Huang [Para. 0006]).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. (US20230299890A1, hereinafter Baek) in view of Baek et al. (US20230397232A1, hereinafter Baek232), and further in view of Chou (US20230403537A1, hereinafter Chou).
For claim 14, Baek and Baek232 teach the method of claim 1. Although teaching monitoring PDCCH based on RNTI for scheduling of retransmission, the references do not explicitly disclose further comprising: sending an indication message of reception of retransmission data of the MBS to a base station based on a designated uplink scheduling resource.
Chou is directed to providing hybrid automatic repeat request procedures for multimedia broadcast and multicast services. More specifically, Chou teaches further comprising: sending an indication message of reception of retransmission data of the MBS to a base station based on a designated uplink scheduling resource ([Para. 0071] and [FIG. 3C], If the UE 102 fails to successfully receive or decode the second TB, the UE 102 sends 342C a NACK to the second TB on the first PUCCH resource. The base station 104 responds by transmitting 344C a DCI 3 including an updated resource allocation for the second TB and a second PUCCH resource indicator to the UE 102. The DCI 3 may be sent via multicast (i.e., the base station 104 may scramble a CRC of the DCI 3 with the G-RNTI 2), or may be sent via unicast only to the UE 102 (i.e., the base station may scramble a CRC of the DCI 3 with a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) associated with the UE 102). The base station 104 transmits 346C the second TB in accordance with the DCI 3. If the UE 102 soft combines and successfully decodes the second TB, the UE 102 sends 348C the base station 104 an ACK on the second PUCCH resource indicated by the DCI 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek and Baek232, so that the UE transmits ACK in PUCCH scheduled in DCI for retransmission, as taught by Chou. The modification would have supported feedback form the UE regarding MBS transmissions to the RAN, especially in scenarios where the UE switches between MBS services or consumes multiple MBS services concurrently (Chou [Para. 0008]).
For claim 15, Baek, Baek232 and Chou teach the method of claim 14. The references further teach further comprising: sending an indication message indicating successful reception of retransmission data to the base station in response to successful decoding of at least one piece of retransmitted data (Chou [Para. 0071] and [FIG. 3C], If the UE 102 fails to successfully receive or decode the second TB, the UE 102 sends 342C a NACK to the second TB on the first PUCCH resource. The base station 104 responds by transmitting 344C a DCI 3 including an updated resource allocation for the second TB and a second PUCCH resource indicator to the UE 102. The DCI 3 may be sent via multicast (i.e., the base station 104 may scramble a CRC of the DCI 3 with the G-RNTI 2), or may be sent via unicast only to the UE 102 (i.e., the base station may scramble a CRC of the DCI 3 with a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) associated with the UE 102). The base station 104 transmits 346C the second TB in accordance with the DCI 3. If the UE 102 soft combines and successfully decodes the second TB, the UE 102 sends 348C the base station 104 an ACK on the second PUCCH resource indicated by the DCI 3); or sending an indication message indicating reception failure of the retransmission data to the base station in response to decoding failure of at least one piece of retransmission data; or sending an indication message indicating reception failure of the retransmission data to the base station in response to decoding failure of all retransmission data; or sending an indication message indicating successful reception of any retransmission data to the base station in response to successful decoding of any retransmission data; or sending an indication message indicating reception failure of any retransmission data to the base station in response to decoding failure of any retransmission data.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek and Baek232, so that the UE transmits ACK in PUCCH scheduled in DCI for retransmission, as taught by Chou. The modification would have supported feedback form the UE regarding MBS transmissions to the RAN, especially in scenarios where the UE switches between MBS services or consumes multiple MBS services concurrently (Chou [Para. 0008]).
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. (US20230299890A1, hereinafter Baek) in view of Baek et al. (US20230397232A1, hereinafter Baek232) and Chou (US20230403537A1, hereinafter Chou), Zhou et al. (US20230063082A1, hereinafter Zhou) and further in view of Huang et al. (Huang et al. (US20250126679A1, hereinafter Huang).
For claim 16, Baek, Baek232 and Chou teach the method of claim 14. The references further teach wherein the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier (Baek [Para. 0079, 0094], Only when an initial transmission resource transmitted with the MBS SPS resource is not successfully received, the UE receives a resource allocated using the G-CS-RNTI. Baek [Para. 0126], The retransmission resource may be transmitted in a DCI format of a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI), and the designated uplink scheduling resource is an uplink scheduling resource corresponding to any retransmission identifier (Chou [Para. 0071] and [FIG. 3C], If the UE 102 fails to successfully receive or decode the second TB, the UE 102 sends 342C a NACK to the second TB on the first PUCCH resource. The base station 104 responds by transmitting 344C a DCI 3 including an updated resource allocation for the second TB and a second PUCCH resource indicator to the UE 102. The DCI 3 may be sent via multicast (i.e., the base station 104 may scramble a CRC of the DCI 3 with the G-RNTI 2), or may be sent via unicast only to the UE 102 (i.e., the base station may scramble a CRC of the DCI 3 with a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) associated with the UE 102). The base station 104 transmits 346C the second TB in accordance with the DCI 3. If the UE 102 soft combines and successfully decodes the second TB, the UE 102 sends 348C the base station 104 an ACK on the second PUCCH resource indicated by the DCI 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek and Baek232, so that the UE transmits ACK in PUCCH scheduled in DCI for retransmission, as taught by Chou. The modification would have supported feedback form the UE regarding MBS transmissions to the RAN, especially in scenarios where the UE switches between MBS services or consumes multiple MBS services concurrently (Chou [Para. 0008]).
Although teaching designated uplink scheduling for ACK corresponds to the retransmission identifier, Baek, Baek232 and Chou do not explicitly disclose wherein the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier.
Zhou is directed to providing discontinuous reception operation of multicast and broadcast services. More specifically, Zhou teaches wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier ([Para. 0292], The base station may, based on the received HARQ NACK, transmit a second DCI with CRC scrambled by the MBS-RNTI. The second DCI is transmitted to a group of wireless devices subscribed to the MBS session. [Para. 0297], The base station may, based on the received HARQ NACK, transmit a second DCI with CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI. The second DCI may indicate a retransmission of the MBS TB in a unicast transmission. [Para. 0331], the wireless device may not have knowledge, in advance, of whether a retransmission of the MBS TB is via a unicast PDSCH resource or via a multicast PDSCH resource. [Para. 0390] and [FIG. 38], The wireless device may receive the group common DCI (e.g., 2nd DCI with MBS-RNTI at T1 in FIG. 38) scheduling the retransmission of the MBS TB. [Para. 0400], The wireless device may receive the UE specific DCI (e.g., 3rd DCI with C-RNTI at T3 in FIG. 38 ) scheduling the retransmission of the MBS TB. The wireless device may receive the retransmission of the MBS TB (e.g., at T4 in FIG. 38). [Para. 0401], The base station may determine a unicast retransmission (by the 2nd DCI) or a multicast retransmission (by the 3rd DCI) of the MBS TB).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek, Baek232 and Chou, so that the retransmission data may be transmitted via either unicast or multicast, as taught by Zhou. The modification would have supported DRX operation to improve UE battery lifetime (Zhou [Para. 0301]).
Although teaching monitoring the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS may be a unicast retransmission identifier or a multicast retransmission identifier. Baek, Baek232, Chou and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier.
Huang is directed to providing communication method and related product. More specifically, Huang teaches wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier ([Para. 0278], The user equipment C may notify, by using feedback information, an access network device of a data packet that needs to be retransmitted. In a process of retransmitting a data packet, the user equipment may receive the multicast service data in both a multicast manner and a unicast manner).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek, Baek232, Chou and Zhou, so that the retransmission data may be transmitted via both unicast and multicast, as taught by Huang. The modification would have improved the transmission efficiency of the multicast communication (Huang [Para. 0006]).
For claim 18, Baek, Baek232 and Chou teach the method of claim 14. The references further teach wherein the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier (Baek [Para. 0079, 0094], Only when an initial transmission resource transmitted with the MBS SPS resource is not successfully received, the UE receives a resource allocated using the G-CS-RNTI. Baek [Para. 0126], The retransmission resource may be transmitted in a DCI format of a PDCCH using the G-CS-RNTI), and the method further comprises: determining an uplink scheduling resource corresponding to a retransmission identifier associated with successfully decoded retransmission data as the designated uplink scheduling resource (Chou [Para. 0071] and [FIG. 3C], If the UE 102 fails to successfully receive or decode the second TB, the UE 102 sends 342C a NACK to the second TB on the first PUCCH resource. The base station 104 responds by transmitting 344C a DCI 3 including an updated resource allocation for the second TB and a second PUCCH resource indicator to the UE 102. The DCI 3 may be sent via multicast (i.e., the base station 104 may scramble a CRC of the DCI 3 with the G-RNTI 2), or may be sent via unicast only to the UE 102 (i.e., the base station may scramble a CRC of the DCI 3 with a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) associated with the UE 102). The base station 104 transmits 346C the second TB in accordance with the DCI 3. If the UE 102 soft combines and successfully decodes the second TB, the UE 102 sends 348C the base station 104 an ACK on the second PUCCH resource indicated by the DCI 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek and Baek232, so that the UE transmits ACK in PUCCH scheduled in DCI for retransmission, as taught by Chou. The modification would have supported feedback form the UE regarding MBS transmissions to the RAN, especially in scenarios where the UE switches between MBS services or consumes multiple MBS services concurrently (Chou [Para. 0008]).
Although teaching designated uplink scheduling for ACK corresponds to the retransmission identifier, Baek, Baek232 and Chou do not explicitly disclose wherein the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier.
Zhou is directed to providing discontinuous reception operation of multicast and broadcast services. More specifically, Zhou teaches wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier ([Para. 0292], The base station may, based on the received HARQ NACK, transmit a second DCI with CRC scrambled by the MBS-RNTI. The second DCI is transmitted to a group of wireless devices subscribed to the MBS session. [Para. 0297], The base station may, based on the received HARQ NACK, transmit a second DCI with CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI. The second DCI may indicate a retransmission of the MBS TB in a unicast transmission. [Para. 0331], the wireless device may not have knowledge, in advance, of whether a retransmission of the MBS TB is via a unicast PDSCH resource or via a multicast PDSCH resource. [Para. 0390] and [FIG. 38], The wireless device may receive the group common DCI (e.g., 2nd DCI with MBS-RNTI at T1 in FIG. 38) scheduling the retransmission of the MBS TB. [Para. 0400], The wireless device may receive the UE specific DCI (e.g., 3rd DCI with C-RNTI at T3 in FIG. 38) scheduling the retransmission of the MBS TB. The wireless device may receive the retransmission of the MBS TB (e.g., at T4 in FIG. 38). [Para. 0401], The base station may determine a unicast retransmission (by the 2nd DCI) or a multicast retransmission (by the 3rd DCI) of the MBS TB).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek, Baek232 and Chou, so that the retransmission data may be transmitted via either unicast or multicast, as taught by Zhou. The modification would have supported DRX operation to improve UE battery lifetime (Zhou [Para. 0301]).
Although teaching monitoring the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS may be a unicast retransmission identifier or a multicast retransmission identifier. Baek, Baek232 and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier.
Huang is directed to providing communication method and related product. More specifically, Huang teaches wherein, the designated retransmission identifier of the MBS comprises a unicast retransmission identifier and a multicast retransmission identifier ([Para. 0278], The user equipment C may notify, by using feedback information, an access network device of a data packet that needs to be retransmitted. In a process of retransmitting a data packet, the user equipment may receive the multicast service data in both a multicast manner and a unicast manner).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Baek, Baek232, Chou and Zhou, so that the retransmission data may be transmitted via both unicast and multicast, as taught by Huang. The modification would have improved the transmission efficiency of the multicast communication (Huang [Para. 0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417