DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 10/08/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/08/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 06/20/2023, 11/20/2024, and 07/16/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 includes the word “reminder” which appears to be a typo of the intended word ‘remainder’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 includes “…with improved strength and corrosion resistance”. The term “improved” is a relative and/or subjective term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “improved” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The public and persons of ordinary skill in the art would not understand the scope of what “improved strength and corrosion resistance” is such that the they would be informed of the boundaries of what constitutes infringement of the patent.
Claim 8 depends from claim 1 and further requires “…wherein a particle size of the primary carbide is 10 µm or less” which lacks sufficient antecedent basis because no carbides are recited in claim 1. However, it is noted that claim 5 introduces ‘a primary carbide’ while claim 6, which depends from claim 5, includes “the primary carbide”. Thus, it is unclear if claim 8 should depend from claim 5 or claim 6. In the interest of furthering prosecution, claim 8 has been interpreted to depend from claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millward et al. (WO 2016/093762).
Regarding claim 1, Millward et al. (Hereinafter “Millward”) teaches a stainless steel strip having a matrix comprising tempered martensite and austenite (meeting claimed ‘martensitic stainless steel’ because the steel includes tempered martensite) having a composition as follows:
Element
Claimed
Millward Broad (Pgs 2-5)
Millward Inv. Ex.
Analysis of Inv. Ex
C
0.3-0.5
0.3-0.5
0.40
Within range
N
0.01-0.025
0.02-0.15
0.052
Reasonably close
Si
0.3-0.5
0.2-0.8
0.42
Within range
Mn
0.4-0.6
0.2-1.0
0.56
Within range
Cr
13.1-14.5
12.0-15.0
13.4
Within range
Mo
0.95-1.10
0.5-2.0
0.99
Within range
V
0.05-0.3
0.01-0.20
0.055
Within range
Ni
0.3-0.5
≤ 2.0
0.15
Reasonably close
Cu
0.001-0.5
≤ 2.0
-
Reasonably close
Fe
Remainder
Remainder
Remainder
Within range
impurities
inevitable
impurities
impurities
Within range
To be clear, the broad ranges disclosed by Millward meet the claimed ranges while the inventive example of Millward is reasonably close to the claimed ranges.
It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Additionally, it has been held that ‘a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close’. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In the instant case, the proportion are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.
With regard to the claimed feature directed to the composition satisfying claimed Formula (1), using the minimum and maximum values of the broadly disclosed ranges, Millward effectively embodies a minimum value of 7.12 and a maximum value of 52.8 when calculated according to claimed Formula 1. Thus, the effectively disclosed range of Millward is 7.12 to 52.8 which overlaps the claimed range of 16.4 to 23.3.
As an additionally finding of fact, the inventive example of Millward embodies a value of 18.28 which lies squarely within the claimed range of 16.4 to 23.3.
Lastly, and considering the language of the preamble directed to the martensitic stainless steel sheet being ‘hot-rolled annealed’ and having improved strength and corrosion resistance, it is noted that ‘hot-rolled annealed’ is product by process language (MPEP 2113) and Millward expressly teaches that the steel strip is improved (Page 2 line 11) and has an optimized property profile (Page 2 line 4) as well as “improved” properties (Page 7 line 20). Specifically, Millward teaches that chromium is added to impart corrosion resistance to the steel (Page 3 lines 12-13).
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2113).
Thus, there is sufficient prima facie basis to expect that Millward’s martensitic stainless steel sheet, even though it is manufactured by cold-rolling (see Page 2 line 14; i.e. a different process than ‘hot-rolled annealed’ as claimed), would embody improved strength and corrosion resistance absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 2, Millward teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above but is silent to the composition satisfying claimed Formula (2). However, the composition of Millward is reasonably close such that, using the inventive example of Millward and approximating that Fe comprises 83.9534% of the composition and 0.001% Cu is present as an impurity (supported at least by Page 4 lines 23-28 “Cu may contribute to increasing the hardness and the corrosion resistance of the steel” and “Copper (≤ 2.0%)”), the inventive example meets the claimed Formula (2) because, when calculated, the example would embody a value of approximately 38.51 which lies within the claimed range of -14 to 50.
To make the record clear, the Ni % in the inventive example is 0.15% which lies slightly outside of the claimed range of 0.3 to 0.5% but, using this value in the calculation, the composition still achieves a value within claimed Formula 2. Notably, the difference between 0.15 and the lower bound of 0.3 is 0.15%, which without evidence that such a difference is significant or critical, would be considered to be ‘reasonably close’ to the claimed lower bound. Nevertheless, the broad range for nickel (i.e. “≤ 2.0%” at Page 4 lines 8-12) disclosed by Millward meets the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, Millward teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above but is silent to the composition satisfying claimed Formula (3). However, using the disclosed broad ranges of C and N taught by Millward, the composition embodies a minimum value of 0.32 (i.e., 0.3 + 0.02) and a maximum value of 0.65 (i.e. 0.5 + 0.15) which overlaps the claimed range of 0.37 to 0.43.
Regarding claim 4, Millward teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above but is silent to the composition satisfying claimed Formula (4). However, using the disclosed broad ranges of Mo and V taught by Millward, the composition embodies a minimum value of 0.51 (i.e., 0.5 + 0.01) and a maximum value of 2.2 (i.e. 2.0+ 0.20) which overlaps the claimed range of 1.0 to 1.35.
Regarding claim 5, Millward teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above but is silent to the composition having a ferrite as a base structure; a primary carbide represented by (Cr, Fe, Mo, V)7C3; and a secondary carbide represented by (Cr, Fe, Mo, V)23C6.
However, Millward acknowledges that C forms primary carbides of the type M23C6, M7C3, and M6C (Pg 2 lines 27-33; but that the steel limits these carbides with preferably none present), Si is a strong ferrite former and increases carbon activity (Pg 2 lines 35-37), Cr and Mo are ferrite stabilizers with Mo expressly being a “strong carbide forming element and also a strong ferrite former”, and V forms evenly distributed fine precipitated carbides in the matrix (Page 3 lines 11-31).
USPTO does not possess the capabilities to make and test compositions of the prior art.
Considering that Millward teaches a composition that meets the claimed composition and expressly describes that elements present in the composition would form primary carbide, fine precipitated carbides (i.e. secondary carbides), and ferrite, there is a sufficient prima facie basis to expect the composition of Millward to possess “a ferrite as a base structure; a primary carbide represented by (Cr, Fe, Mo, V)7C3; and a secondary carbide represented by (Cr, Fe, Mo, V)23C6” absent evidence to the contrary.
It has been held that ‘where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Additionally, it has been held that ‘[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties’. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Further, it has been held that ‘when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F. 2d 67, 205 USPQ 594, (CCPA 1980).
Lastly, it has been held that ‘when the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not’. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and it’s fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products See In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 59 CCPA 1036, 173 USPQ 685 (1972).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Millward teaches the composition as applied to claim 5 above but is silent to the wt% of (Mo+V) in the primary and secondary carbides being from 2.93 to 5.67% and 12.2 to 14.8%, respectively.
However, it has been held that ‘where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Additionally, it has been held that ‘[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties’. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Further, it has been held that ‘when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F. 2d 67, 205 USPQ 594, (CCPA 1980).
Lastly, it has been held that ‘when the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not’. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and it’s fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products See In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 59 CCPA 1036, 173 USPQ 685 (1972).
In the instant case, Millward acknowledges that C forms primary carbides of the type M23C6, M7C3, and M6C (Pg 2 lines 27-33; but that the steel limits these carbides with preferably none present), Si is a strong ferrite former and increases carbon activity (Pg 2 lines 35-37), Cr and Mo are ferrite stabilizers with Mo expressly being a “strong carbide forming element and also a strong ferrite former”, and V forms evenly distributed fine precipitated carbides in the matrix (Page 3 lines 11-31).
USPTO does not possess the capabilities to make and test compositions of the prior art.
Considering that Millward teaches a composition that meets the claimed composition and expressly describes that elements present in the composition would form primary carbide, fine precipitated carbides (i.e. secondary carbides), and ferrite, there is a sufficient prima facie basis to expect the composition of Millward to possess a wt% of (Mo+V) in the primary and secondary carbides from 2.93 to 5.67% and 12.2 to 14.8%, respectively.
Regarding claims 8-10, Millward teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 and/or 5 above but is silent to the particle size of the primary carbide being 10 micron or less, a carbide deviation is 10 pieces/100 square microns or less in a longitudinal direction, and/or after being cold-rolled, a distribution density of carbide is 42 to 58 pieces/100 square microns.
However, it has been held that ‘where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Additionally, it has been held that ‘[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties’. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Further, it has been held that ‘when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F. 2d 67, 205 USPQ 594, (CCPA 1980).
Lastly, it has been held that ‘when the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not’. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and it’s fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products See In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 59 CCPA 1036, 173 USPQ 685 (1972).
Considering that Millward teaches a composition that meets the claimed composition, there is a sufficient prima facie basis to expect that the composition of Millward would possess the features as claimed and/or perform in the manner claimed (i.e. ‘after cold-rolled, a distribution density of carbide is 42 to 58 pieces/100 µm2’) absent evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ohtsubo et al. (U.S. 5,939,018) directed to a martensitic stainless steel for a seamless steel pipe with similar composition to that claimed (see Col. 5 for various recitations/disclosures regarding elemental composition and effects).
ALEXANDRA M MOORE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1738
/ALEXANDRA M MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738