DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments/ Status of Claims
An amendment, filed 08/19/2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 and 11-14 are currently pending.
Claim 1-6 are withdrawn.
Claim 7-9 and 11-12 have been amended, amendments finds support in the specification.
Claim 10 has been cancelled.
Therefore, claim 7-9 and 11-14 are currently under consideration for this office action.
Status of Previous Rejections
The previous 35 USC § 112(a) rejections of the claims 8-9, and 35 USC § 112(b) rejections of the claims 7-9 and 11-14 have been withdrawn, due to amendments of the claims.
The previous 35 USC § 103 rejections of the claims 7-9 and 11-14 have been withdrawn, due to amendments of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hideo Hara, et.al. [US20200306892A1] (provided in the IDS) (hereafter Hara), and further in view of Tagami Takashi [JPH0531451A] (Machine translation) (Original provided in the IDS).
Regarding claim 7, and 11-12, Hara teaches a plated steel sheet, comprising a base steel sheet; a Zn-Al-Mg-based plating layer on the base steel sheet (a Zn-plated steel sheet, see Hara’s [0010]),
wherein the plated steel sheet comprises an edge portion formed by laser cutting, and wherein the Zn-Al-Mg-based plating layer is removed at the edge portion to expose the base steel sheet (laser cutting method for a plated steel sheet: cutting the plated steel sheet by irradiating the plated steel sheet covered with a plate metal with laser light, emitting assist gas onto a cut surface of the plated steel sheet, the cut surface being formed during the cutting, see Hara’s [0010] – [0012] and claim 1, 17). Hara further teaches Zn plated layer is Zn-Al-Mg-based plated layer (a steel sheet plated with zinc-alloy of 6% aluminum, 3% magnesium, and the balance of zinc, see Hara’s [0049]). Hara further teaches the cut surface being formed in the step of cutting, the plate metal fused by irradiation of the laser light flow to the cut surface so as to cover the cut surface with the plate metal see Hara’s [0011]).
Although Hara is silent about the “wherein a width of the edge portion at which the base steel sheet is exposed is 100 µm or less, and wherein the coating layer is provided on the exposed base steel sheet at the edge portion”, claim recites “width of the edge portion at which the base steel sheet is exposed is 100 µm or less” without reciting the lower limit of the width of the edge portion, and the page 12 of the instant specification of the disclosure also does not have any lower limit of the width, i.e. therefore, the width of the edge portion can be zero. Therefore, Hara meets the limitation of the wherein a width of the edge portion at which the base steel sheet is exposed is 100 µm or less.
But Hara is silent about “the coating layer is provided on an upper surface of the Zn-Al-Mg-based plating layer”.
However, Takashi teaches a plated steel sheet for an exterior panel, wherein a base steel sheet, a Zn plating layer, and a coating layer are sequentially stacked and provided, and the Zn plating layer comprises an edge portion (a sheet metal is processed into a formed body of the desired shape by techniques such as cutting, bending and welding, is subjected to a zinc plating treatment to form a plated formed body, and a fluororesin coating is applied to the plated formed body. The surfaces and cut edges are completely coated with zinc plating. This, together with the subsequent fluororesin coating treatment, significantly improves the corrosion prevention effect compared to conventional methods) (Takashi’s Claim 1, [ 0008]-[0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Takashi’s teachings of a fluororesin coating along with zinc plating to cover the surfaces and the cut edges to modify Hara’s Zn-Al-Mg based plated steel sheet to improve the corrosion resistance for using an exterior panel.
Regarding Claim 8 and 14, all the discussions above claim 7 are applicable for claim 8 and 14, however, Hara is silent about the thickness of the coating and Zn-Al-Mg-based plating layer.
However, Takashi teaches the coating layer provided on the edge portion has a thickness greater than or equal to a thickness of the Zn-Al-Mg-based plating layer (zinc-plated layer is of approximately 10 μm on the surface of the steel sheet base, [Section 0014] and (in the fluororesin coating process, first, a primer coat is applied as a fluororesin undercoat to the entire surface of the molded body (including the outer and inner surfaces and cut edges) to form a primer coating film of about 15 μm) [Section 0016] and (then a fluororesin coating film is of approximately 30 μm) [Section 0017]. Takashi further teaches therefore, there is no loss of zinc plating at bends during sheet metal processing, at welded surfaces, cut edges, etc., and the corrosion prevention effect can be significantly improved compared to conventional methods [Section 0020].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Takashi’s teaching to modify Hara for producing a plated steel sheet with a coating layer to reduce loss of zinc plating and to improve corrosion prevention effect significantly.
Regarding Claim 9, all the discussions above claim 7 are applicable for claim 9, however, Hara is silent about the thickness of the coating.
However, Takashi teaches the coating layer provided on the edge portion may have a thickness equal to or greater than half of a thickness of the coating layer provided on an upper surface of the Zn-Al-Mg-based plating layer (in the fluororesin coating process, first, a primer coat is applied as a fluororesin undercoat to the entire surface of the molded body (including the outer and inner surfaces and cut edges) to form a primer coating film of about 15 μm) [Section 0016] and (then a fluororesin coating film is of approximately 30 μm) [Section 0017]. Takashi further teaches therefore, there is no loss of zinc plating at bends during sheet metal processing, at welded surfaces, cut edges, etc., and the corrosion prevention effect can be significantly improved compared to conventional methods [Section 0020]. As Takashi’s coating covers the outer and inner surfaces and cut edges, therefore, Takashi’s coating layer on the edge portion and on an upper surface of the Zn-Al-Mg-based plating layer are the same film would have same thickness.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Takashi’s teaching to modify Hara for producing a plated steel sheet with a coating layer to reduce loss of zinc plating and to improve corrosion prevention effect significantly.
Regarding Claim 13, all the discussions above claim 7 are applicable for claim 13, Hara is silent about the thickness of the Zn-Al-Mg-based plating layer.
However, Takashi teaches the Zn-Al-Mg-based plating layer has a thickness of 10 μm on the surface of the steel sheet base [Section 0014], which is within the as recited range in the instant claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated 08/19/2026, with respect to the previous 35 USC § 103 rejections of the claims have been acknowledged but does not seem persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that “Hara describes laser cutting a plated sheet but intentionally causes molten plating metal to flow onto and cover the cut surface, see Hara paragraphs [0010] through [0012] and claim 17. Hara therefore does not leave the base steel sheet exposed at the edge in the final plated steel sheet”, does not seem persuasive, as Hara clearly teaches two steps laser cutting method for a plated steel sheet:
cutting the plated steel sheet by irradiating the plated steel sheet covered with a plate metal with laser light, and then
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cutting at the edge)]emitting assist gas onto a cut surface of the plated steel sheet, the cut surface being formed during the cutting, (see Hara’s [0010] – [0012] and claim 1, 17), for better understanding Examiner interpreted a schematic view of the Hara’s teachings, wherein Hara’s laser cutting step which exposed at the cut surface and the cut surface is then covered with a coating.
And with respect to Applicant’s amended exposed edge potion of the steel sheet, claim recites, “width of the edge portion at which the base steel sheet is exposed is 100 µm or less” without reciting the lower limit of the width of the edge portion, and the page 12 of the instant specification of the disclosure also does not have any lower limit of the width, i.e. therefore, the width of the edge portion can be zero, therefore, Hara still meets the limitation of the wherein a width of the edge portion at which the base steel sheet is exposed is 100 µm or less.
In response to applicant's argument that “Tagami begins with an unplated steel sheet, forms and cuts the sheet, then zinc plates the entire formed body, including its cut edges, and thereafter applies primer and fluororesin coatings, see Tagami paragraphs [0008], [0009], and [0014] through [0017]. Tagami accordingly places coating over zinc plated cut edges, not directly on an exposed base steel edge next to a retained Zn-Al-Mg-based plating layer. The two references do not describe the location relationship required by claim 7”, does not seem persuasive, because “the location relationship required by claim 7” has been discussed above, and for rest of the argument about Tagami, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, primary reference Hara teaches laser cutting of Zn-Al-Mg plated steel and covering the cut surface with a coating layer, and Takashi teaches a coating over Zn-Al-Mg plated steel, together improves corrosion resistance and reduces loss of the Zn (Takashi’s Claim 1, [ 0008]-[0009]).
In response to applicant's argument about Kumon, “Kumon's coating is already present before the sheet is shear cut”, seems persuasive, as Kumon’s undercoat, top coat are deposited over Zn plated steel sheet, is already over there before cut (see Kumon’s [0030]) as claim requires coating after the cut and Kumon teaches when cut end exposed, at a relatively early stage after the start of exposure, the components in the coating rapidly combine with the eluted components of the plated metal to form a highly protective coating, which in particular makes it possible to significantly suppress the occurrence of edge creep ((see Kumon’s [0030]), which is different process than Hara’s laser cut and then covering the laser cut portion. Therefore, rejection over Kumon has been withdrawn and Kumon is not being used in this rejection.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of the claims 7-9 and 11-14 have been maintained but rewritten due to amendment. (please see the corresponding rejection section for further details).
Conclusion
/NAZMUN NAHAR SHAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/DANIELLE M. CARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738
9/18/2026