DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 8-9, and 17 in the reply filed on March 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-7, 10-16, and 19-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 24, 2026.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
A modified vinyl alcohol polymer comprising a structural unit represented by the following formula (1), and having a water-insoluble content of 1,000 ppm or less,
wherein, in the formula (1), X, Y, and Z each independently represent an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, an alkenyl group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, a phenyl group, a benzyl group, a vinylphenyl group, a halogenated alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, a halogenated phenyl group, an aminoalkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, a mercaptoalkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, an ureidoalkyl group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, an isocyanate alkyl group having 2 to 8 carbon atoms, a group having 3 to 20 carbon atoms and comprising an epoxy group, a group having 3 to 20 carbon atoms and comprising an acrylamide group, a group having 4 to 20 carbon atoms and comprising a methacrylamide group, an acetoxy group, or a group represented by -(CH2)n-O-R1 (wherein R1 represents a hydrogen atom, an alkali metal atom, an alkaline earth metal atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, an alkenyl group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, an acryloyl group, a methacryloyl group, or a glycidyl group; and n represents an integer of 0 to 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishii (US 20170137600 as listed on IDS dated October 3, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Nishii discloses in Example 1-13 a modified polyvinyl alcohol obtained by reacting PVA particles dissolved in DMSO, then reacted with stearyl acid and a silane coupling agent 3-methacryloxypropyltrimethyoxysilane were added ([0087] Table 1), thereby reading on formula (1) wherein X and Y are a group represented by (CH₂)ₙ-O-R¹, wherein n is 0 and R¹ is an alkyl group having 2 carbons, and Z is a group represented by (CH₂)ₙ-O-R¹, wherein n is 3 and R¹ is a methacryloyl group.
Nishii is silent on the polymer having a water-insoluble content as recited in the instant claim.
However, water solubility of the polymer is dependent on the structure of the polymer. Nishii discloses a substantially identical polymer as claimed in the instant claim. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the water-insoluble content of the modified vinyl alcohol polymer to be inherent.
Regarding claim 2, Nishii discloses in Example 1-13 the modified polyvinyl alcohol has a content of 1 mol% of the structural unit represent by the above formula (1), thereby lying inside the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, Nishii discloses the modified polyvinyl alcohol of Example 1-13 comprises a structural unit reading on formula (1) wherein X and Y are a group represented by (CH₂)ₙ-O-R¹, wherein n is 0 and R¹ is an alkyl group having 2 carbons, and Z is a group represented by (CH₂)ₙ-O-R¹, wherein n is 3 and R¹ is a methacryloyl group as recited in the rejection for claim 1. Therefore, the content of structural unit represented by formula (1) with respect to the total structural units comprising a silicon atom is 100 mol%, thereby lying within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 8, Nishii discloses particles of modified polyvinyl alcohol in Example 1-13 as recited in the rejection for claim 1, thereby anticipating the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, Nishii is silent on the dispersity A of the silicone atoms as recited in the instant claim.
However, dispersity of the polymer is dependent on the structure of the polymer. Nishii discloses a substantially identical polymer as claimed in the instant claim. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the dispersity A of the modified vinyl alcohol polymer to be inherent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishii (US 20170137600 as listed on IDS dated October 3, 2023).
The modified vinyl alcohol polymer of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 17, Nishii teaches the modified vinyl alcohol polymer is used to form a coating on the outer surface of a tire by in-mold forming [0059], thereby reading on the molded product of the instant claim.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763