DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimobe (WO 2020/144877 A1, published 16 Jul. 2020, hereinafter Shimobe) in view of Becker et al. (US Patent 3,847,726, published 12 Nov. 1974, hereinafter Becker).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-5, Shimobe teaches a laminated iron core formed by layering a plurality of steel sheets with an adhesive layer therebetween, where the adhesive layer is a heat-curable resin containing epoxy resin and 5-30 vol.% inorganic particles with an average diameter 10-100 nm (Abstract). Shimobe teaches his heat-curable resin is cured to 150°C (paragraph 0021). Shimobe’s teaching example 1 comprises 9.2 wt.% silica particles and has a tensile shear adhesive strength at 25° of 8.1 MPa (or N/mm2) (Table 1, see original WO patent document, a portion of this table is translated and reproduced below). Thus, Shimobe teaches a ratio of curing temperature (in °C) to wt% of inorganic material of 16.3 (150/9.2).
Shimobe does not disclose the damping ratio of his laminated iron core.
Becker teaches a sheet metal-epoxy laminate with a damping factor of 0.18 to 0.37 (Abstract and col. 8, Table).
Given that Shimobe and Becker are drawn to sheet metal-epoxy laminates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a laminate with the damping factor taught by Becker for the laminated iron core form taught by Shimobe. Since Shimobe and Becker are both drawn to sheet metal-epoxy laminates, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in having a laminate with the damping factor taught by Becker for the laminated iron core form taught by Shimobe. Further, Becker teaches his sheet metal laminates with damping factors in this range have outstanding vibration-damping properties (col. 2, lines 65-67).
Shimobe does not disclose the peel strength or the resoftening temperature of his laminated iron core.
However, given that the laminated iron core of Shimobe in view of Becker has the same plurality of steel sheets, same composition of interlayer adhesive with the same type of resin and type, size, amount of inorganic nanoparticles, and damping ratio, within the overlapping ranges, the laminated iron core of Shimobe in view of Becker would inherently have the same peel strength and resoftening temperature as the claimed invention, and therefore, would fall within the claimed ranges for peel strength and resoftening temperature.
Regarding claim 3, Shimobe in view of Becker teaches the elements of claim 1, and Shimobe’s teaching examples have tensile shear adhesive strength at 150°C of 5.1-7.2 MPa (Table 1, reproduced above).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a tensile shear adhesive strength at 150°C from the overlapping portion of the ranges taught by Shimobe because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (KR 2019/0078282 A, published 04 Jul. 2019, hereinafter Ha) in view of Shimobe (WO 2020/144877 A1, published 16 Jul. 2020, hereinafter Shimobe) and further in view of Becker et al. (US Patent 3,847,726, published 12 Nov. 1974, hereinafter Becker).
Regarding claims 1-5, Ha teaches an adhesive coating for electrical steel sheet comprising 20-40 wt.% resin and 10-35 wt.% of inorganic nanoparticles, in which the adhesive coating is positioned between a plurality of electrical steel sheets (Abstract). Ha teaches the resin is epoxy (paragraph 0038), and the inorganic nanoparticles are SiO2 or TiO2 (paragraph 0045). Ha teaches the curing temperature is 200-600°C (paragraph 0091), with exemplary examples cured at 200-250°C (paragraph 0102).
Thus, Ha teaches a ratio of curing temperature (in °C) to wt% of inorganic material of 5.7 (200/35) to 25 (250/10).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a ratio of curing temperature to amount of inorganic material from the overlapping portion of the ranges taught by Ha because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
Ha does not disclose the tensile/shear strength of his electrical steel sheet product, its high temperature adhesive strength, its peel strength, its resoftening temperature, nor its damping ratio.
Shimobe’s teaching example 1 comprises 9.2 wt.% silica (SiO2) particles and has a tensile shear adhesive strength at 25° of 8.1 MPa (or N/mm2) (Table 1, see original WO patent document, reproduced above).
Given that Ha and Shimobe are drawn to sheet metal-epoxy laminates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an adhesive strength as taught by Shimobe for the electrical steel sheet laminate taught by Ha. Since Ha and Shimobe are both drawn to sheet metal-epoxy laminates, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in having a laminate with an adhesive strength as taught by Shimobe for the electrical steel sheet laminate taught by Ha. Further, Shimobe teaches one should vary the contents of the epoxy resin and the content of the inorganic particles in order to adjust the Young’s modulus, which impacts the adhesive strength in order to avoid poor bonding between the steel sheets (paragraphs 0014 and 0016).
Ha does not disclose the damping ratio of his electrical steel sheet product.
Becker teaches a sheet metal-epoxy laminate with a damping factor of 0.18 to 0.37 (Abstract and col. 8, Table).
Given that Ha and Becker are drawn to sheet metal-epoxy laminates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a laminate with the damping factor taught by Becker for the electrical steel sheet laminate taught by Ha in view of Shimobe. Since Ha and Becker are both drawn to sheet metal-epoxy laminates, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in having a laminate with the damping factor taught by Becker for the electrical steel sheet laminate taught by Ha in view of Shimobe. Further, Becker teaches his sheet metal laminates with damping factors in this range have outstanding vibration-damping properties (col. 2, lines 65-67).
Ha does not disclose the high temperature adhesive strength of his electrical steel product, its peel strength, nor its resoftening temperature.
However, given that the electrical steel sheet product of Ha in view of Shimobe and further in view of Becker has the same plurality of steel sheets, same composition of interlayer adhesive with the same type of resin and type, size, amount of inorganic nanoparticles, adhesive strength, and damping ratio, within the overlapping ranges, the electrical steel sheet product of Ha in view of Shimobe and further in view of Becker would inherently have the same high temperature adhesive strength, peel strength, and resoftening temperature as the claimed invention, and therefore, would fall within the claimed ranges for high temperature adhesive strength, peel strength, and resoftening temperature.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 Jul. 2026 have been fully considered, but they were not persuasive.
Applicant did not amend the claims.
Applicant argues that Becker determines a mechanical loss factor using a flexural vibration method, while claim 1 requires an axial vibration damping ratio measured using an FRF meter and that damping values obtained by different measurement and analytical methods are not necessarily interchangeable.
However, applicant has provided no evidence to support their position. The examiner’s position remains that given that Becker discloses damping factor that falls within the presently claimed range, the claimed damping ratio is met absent evidence of criticality regarding how the damping ratio is measured. It is noted that “the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record”, In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). It is the examiner’s position that the arguments provided by the applicant regarding the damping ratio must be supported by a declaration or affidavit.
Applicant argues that the laminate disclosed by Becker from which the damping ratio results is materially different from the electrical steel laminate of Shimobe and Ha including different adhesive layer thickness.
However, Becker is only used as teaching reference in order to teach a certain concept, namely, a damping ratio that provides sheet metal-epoxy laminates with outstanding vibration-damping properties. It is noted that the "test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art", In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413,208 USPQ 871,881 (CCPA 1981) and that "combining the teachings of references does not involve an ability to combine their specific structures", In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USP 224, 226 (CCPA). The examiner is not incorporating Becker’s structural or compositional teachings into either Shimobe or Ha. Rather, it is the examiner’s position that given that Shimobe, Ha, and Becker are all drawn to sheet metal-epoxy laminates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a sheet metal-epoxy laminates in either Shimobe or Ha with the damping ratio taught be Becker to produce sheet metal-epoxy laminates with outstanding vibration-damping properties.
Applicant argues that there is no reasonable expectation that Shimobe and Becker or Ha and Becker would meet the particular axial FRF damping ratio as presently claimed.
However, as set forth above, there is no evidence that how the damping ratio is measured affects the value of the damping ratio or that the damping ratio of Becker would not meet that presently claimed.
Applicant argues that any inherency theory is unsupported given that a finding that a characteristic may be present is insufficient to establish inherency.
However, the examiner did not use inherency to meet the claimed axial vibration damping ratio. Rather, it is the examiner’s position that one would use a sheet metal-epoxy laminate in either Shimobe or Ha with the damping ratio disclosed by Becker to provide sheet metal-epoxy laminates with outstanding vibration-damping properties.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN VINCENT LAWLER whose telephone number is 571-272-9603. The examiner can normally be reached on M - F 8:00 am- 5:00 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/JOHN VINCENT LAWLER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787