Applicant’s amendment filed 5/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 50, 60 and 70 were amended. Claims 50-77 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 50-55, 58-65, 68-73, 76 and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfiglio (US 2002/0050096) in view of Jones et al. (US 4,421,544; patented December 20, 1983) in view of Smith et al. (5,916,029; patented June 29, 1999) and Holzfuss et al. (WO 2021/255033; published December 23, 2021).
Applicant claims an inoculant method comprising introducing a composition into an environment and/or contacting a seed with the composition, wherein the composition comprises Bradyrhizobium as a nitrogen-fixing inoculant; a plant nutrient comprising 0.01-25% by weight zinc, 0.01-15% molybdenum and 0.01-25% by weight manganese; and 10-60% by weight of a carrier comprising corn components, wherein the composition is in a dry particulate form having an average particle size of less than about 175 microns and a moisture content less than about 5% by weight, wherein the composition is free of microorganisms other than the nitrogen-fixing inoculant. (claim 50)
Applicant claims seed having an outer surface and comprising a composition comprises Bradyrhizobium as a nitrogen-fixing inoculant; a plant nutrient comprising 0.01-25% by weight zinc, 0.01-15% molybdenum and 0.01-25% by weight manganese; and 10-60% by weight of a carrier comprising corn components, wherein the composition is in a dry particulate form having an average particle size of less than about 175 microns and a moisture content less than about 5% by weight, wherein the composition is free of microorganisms other than the nitrogen-fixing inoculant. (claim 60)
Applicant claims an inoculant composition comprising Bradyrhizobium as a nitrogen-fixing inoculant; a plant nutrient comprising 0.01-25% by weight zinc, 0.01-15% molybdenum and 0.01-25% by weight manganese; and 10-60% by weight of a carrier comprising corn components, wherein the composition is in a dry particulate form having an average particle size of less than about 175 microns and a moisture content less than about 5% by weight, wherein the composition is free of microorganisms other than the nitrogen-fixing inoculant. (claim 70)
With respect to claims 50-53, 55, 59-63, 69-71, 73 and 77, Bonfiglio teaches an aqueous-based inoculant for leguminous seeds containing microorganisms of the Bradyrhizobium genus, a molybdenum compound and polymers which are stable at room temperature and keep the number of viable bacteria over long periods of time (abstract). It is known that the process of nitrogen fixation is activated by a nitrogenase enzyme containing molybdenum so molybdenum can be spread over the surface of seed at germination to aid in quicker nodulation [0010]. Preferred strains are Bradyrhizobium japonicum [0022]. The concentration of viable cells in the final composition is about 5.0X109 bacteria/ml [0025]. Coating seeds is performed by spraying on or mixing with the seed in a hopper [0033]. Two kilograms of soybeans seeds were inoculated a composition comprising Bradyrhizobium japonicum in solution with sodium alginate, carboxymethyl cellulose, 0.2% molybdenum source (K2MoO4) and PVP and viable bacteria remained at 2.36X104 UFC/seed for up to 336 hours [0041-43; limitations of claims 50-53, 59-63, 69-71 and 77].
With respect to claims 50, 58, 60, 68, 70 and 76, Bonfiglio do not specify the carrier comprises ground corn components, that the average particle size is less than about 175 microns, that the composition is in a dry particulate form or that the plant nutrient comprises 0.01-25% by weight zinc and 0.01-25% by weight manganese. With respect to claims 54, 64 and 72, Bonfiglio does not specify cornmeal. It is for this reason that Jones et al. Smith et al. and Holzfuss et al. are joined.
Jones et al. teach a legume-inoculating composition which may be packaged, transported and stored as a frozen liquid concentrate, a dry powder, or a granular bulk material (column 1, lines 56-65). The compositions are prepared by combining Arthrobotrys with bacterial culture of genus Rhizobium with a carbohydrate nutrient and inorganic minerals that stimulate plant growth, such as, sodium molybdate, ferrous sulphate, potassium phosphates and borax (column 2, lines 1-33). The dry, powdered and granular forms may also include inert fillers or carriers such as montmorillonite (a source of potassium, calcium and magnesium), sodium bentonite (a source of sodium), clays, ground corncobs or ground peat (column 2, lines 34-37). The growth media used to grow the Rhizobium bacterium comprises sodium molybdate and ferrous sulphate as trace minerals (column 3, lines 22-27). The concentration of the bacterium per gram of composition is preferably 1x105-1X109 CFU of Rhizobium bacterium per gram of composition (column 3, lines 52-65). A dry, seed-coating composition suitable for preplant dusting and coating of legumes comprises 23.05% viable liquid culture containing Arthrobotrys fungi and Rhizobia bacteria, 50.8% montmorillonite clay, 25.40 dry sodium bentonite clay and 0.75% dry cornmeal (column 4, lines 13-26; limitation of claims 50, 54, 60, 64, 70 and 72). The mixture is then air dried to a total moisture content of approximately 5% by weight (column 4, lines 17-31). The dry granular is prepared by mixing 1 part by weight of the dry, seed-coating composition with 6 parts by weight of sodium bentonite clay, ground corn cobs (cornmeal), or mixtures of each and substituting equal amounts of ground peat and glucose in place of the clay (column 4, lines 32-44; limitation of claims 58, 68 and 78). The species Rhizobium japonicum was used in tests wherein soybean plants were inoculated (column 5, lines 21-62).
Smith et al. teaches a process for liquid application of dry microbial preparations to seed wherein superior survival is obtained upon drying the preparation on the seeds (abstract). Nitrogen fixation in leguminous plants is possible because of symbiotic relationship with bacteria of the genus Rhizobium and Bradyrhizobium which form nodules on the roots of legumes and Bradyrhizobium japonicum is associated with soybeans (column 1, lines 12-26). Previous methods include mixing an active, living rhizobia culture in a carrier such as humus or peat which maintains bacteria in a living state (column 1, lines 27-34). Other methods prepare a dry, dormant inoculant which produces a composition wherein the water content is less than 5% with clay mixtures of montmorillonite and kaolinite are increasingly preferred (column 1, lines 44-60). The coated seeds obtained by the claimed process have a survival rate and shelf life comparable to dusted seeds but lack disadvantages resulting from release of loose dust in the surrounding atmosphere (column 2, lines 1-3 and 40-42). The preferred microorganism is a strain from Rhizobium or Bradyrhizobium, preferably Bradyrhizobium japonicum (column 3, lines 8-25). The water content of the dry, dormant bacterial composition is less than 5% and mixed with and optional inert powdered carrier (column 3, lines 46-65). A final moisture level of 5% or less is important in maximizing storage life and the dried product is then milled to a final particle size of 0.1-150 microns (column 4, lines 7-10; column 5, lines 30-35). The process includes preparing an aqueous mixture or slurry comprising 0.5-75% weight carbohydrates to improve microbial survival on seed (column 4, lines 31-44). The carbohydrates include starches (column 5, lines 47-52). The seeds coated include soybeans, clovers, alfalfa, peas and garden variety beans (column 6, lines 1-8).
Holzfuss et al. teach an agronomic composition comprising zinc, manganese and microorganisms capable of promoting nutrient uptake by a plant from the soil and seed coated with the composition (abstract). The agronomic composition comprises 10-50 wt% zinc, 10-89 wt% manganese and 0.1-10 wt% one or more microorganisms (page 3, lines 15-26). The microorganisms are preferably bacteria or fungi and include rhizobia (page 7, line 33 through page 8, line 24). The composition is a seed treatment on soybeans (Glycine max) (page 18, line 7 through page 19, line 8).
Bonfilgio, Jones et al., Smith et al. and Holzfuss et al. are drawn to methods of making soybean seed coatings comprising microorganisms. It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Bonfilgio, Jones et al., Smith et al. and Holzfuss et al. and select Bradyrhizobium as a dry seed coating with cornmeal carrier and a moisture content less than about 5% by weight with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Bonfilgio, Jones et al., Smith et al. and Holzfuss et al. to include making a dried seed coating with a moisture content less than 5% because Jones et al. teach dry seed coatings suitable for preplant dusting and coating of legumes comprising dry cornmeal and a total moisture content of approximately 5% by weight and Smith et al. teach that a final moisture level of 5% or less is important in maximizing storage life.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Bonfilgio, Jones et al., Smith et al. and Holzfuss et al. and select particles of a particle size of 0.1-150 microns with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Bonfiglio, Jones et al., Smith et al. and Holzfuss et al. to include dry particles with a particles size of 0.1-150 microns because Smith et al. teach dry seed coatings wherein the dried product is then milled to a final particle size of 0.1-150 microns to improve shelf life.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Bonfiglio, Jones et al., Smith et al. and Holzfuss et al. and include 0.01-25% by weight zinc and 0.01-25% by weight manganese with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Bonfilgio, Jones et al., Smith et al. and Holzfuss et al. to include 0.01-25% by weight zinc and 0.01-25% by weight manganese because Holzfuss et al. teach formulating agronomic formulations which are seed coating comprising 10-50 wt% zinc, 10-89 wt% manganese and 0.1-10 wt% one or more microorganisms. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to formulate a compositions comprising nutrients comprising 2% molybdenum, 10-25% zinc and 10-25% manganese with Bradyrhizobium, wherein the remaining ingredient is corn components which can be optimized to amounts of up to 40% of the final composition.
Claims 56, 57, 66, 67, 74 and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfiglio (US 2002/0050096) in view of Jones et al. (US 4,421,544; patented December 20, 1983) in view of Smith et al. (5,916,029; June 29, 1999) and Holzfuss et al. (WO 2021/255033; published December 23, 2021), as applied to claims 50-55, 58-65, 68-73, 76 and 77 in further view of Williams (US 5,300,127; patented April 5, 1994).
Applicant claims an inoculant method comprising introducing a composition into an environment and/or contacting a seed with the composition, wherein the composition comprises Bradyrhizobium as a nitrogen-fixing inoculant; a plant nutrient comprising 0.01-25% by weight zinc, 0.01-15% molybdenum and 0.01-25% by weight manganese; and 10-60% by weight of a carrier comprising corn components, wherein the composition is in a dry particulate form having an average particle size of less than about 175 microns and a moisture content less than about 5% by weight, wherein the composition is free of microorganisms other than the nitrogen-fixing inoculant. (claim 50)
Applicant claims seed having an outer surface and comprising a composition comprises Bradyrhizobium as a nitrogen-fixing inoculant; a plant nutrient comprising 0.01-25% by weight zinc, 0.01-15% molybdenum and 0.01-25% by weight manganese; and 10-60% by weight of a carrier comprising corn components, wherein the composition is in a dry particulate form having an average particle size of less than about 175 microns and a moisture content less than about 5% by weight, wherein the composition is free of microorganisms other than the nitrogen-fixing inoculant. (claim 60)
Applicant claims an inoculant composition comprising Bradyrhizobium as a nitrogen-fixing inoculant; a plant nutrient comprising 0.01-25% by weight zinc, 0.01-15% molybdenum and 0.01-25% by weight manganese; and 10-60% by weight of a carrier comprising corn components, wherein the composition is in a dry particulate form having an average particle size of less than about 175 microns and a moisture content less than about 5% by weight, wherein the composition is free of microorganisms other than the nitrogen-fixing inoculant. (claim 70)
The teachings of Bonfiglio, Jones et al., Smith et al. and Holzfuss are addressed in the above 103 rejection.
Bonfiglio, Jones et al., Smith et al. and Holzfuss do not teach the compositions further comprise mica coated with TiO2 or a dye or colorant. It is for this reason that Williams is joined.
Williams teaches a soybean seed coated with inoculant composition comprising a carrier, beneficial microorganisms and an adhesive polymeric material which has high average loading of viable organisms per seed (abstract). The carrier is preferably peat, and is alternatively composted of corn cobs (column 2, lines 66-68). The microorganisms are preferably selected from Rhizobium, including Bradyrhizobium (column 3, lines 1-7). It is desirable to incorporate pigments into the coated seeds to distinguish them from other products and the pigments are selected from dyes, such as methyl violet and titanium dioxide-coated micas (lustres) (column 3, lines 8-25).
Bonfiglio, Jones et al., Smith et al., Holzfuss et al. and Williams are drawn to methods of making dry soybean seed coatings comprising microorganisms. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Bonfiglio, Jones et al., Smith et al., Holzfuss et al. and Williams to further include titanium dioxide coated mica and dyes with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Bonfiglio, Jones et al., Smith et al., Holzfuss et al. and Williams to further include titanium dioxide coated mica and dyes because Williams teaches it is desirable to incorporate pigments selected from dyes and titanium dioxide coated mica lustres onto the coated seeds to distinguish the seeds from other products or one of ordinary skill could use the pigments to distinguish the different types of seeds used.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 5/20/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection in view of primary reference Bonfiglio.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
DANIELLE D. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1617