DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 21 November 2025 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 21 July 2023.
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 21 July 2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Response to Amendment5. Applicant’s arguments filed 21 November 2025 have been entered. The claims have been amended, canceled, and added as follows: I. Claims are amended: 1-3, 5, 7 II. Claims cancelled: 4, 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 21 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasiveI. Applicant arguing that Xiong does not teach regarding four codepoints. Examiner respectfully disagree Xiong teaches a 2-bit field inherently comprises exactly four binary combinations (00, 01, 10, 11), because a 2-bit indicator has four possible binary combinations. The codepoints is functionally equivalent to indicator values or bit combinations in this context. ¶[0057]-[0061]. II. Applicant arguing that table 6.12.1.1-2 and 6.1.2.1.1-3 of TS 38.214 to indicate the aggregation level of the Msg3 retransmission. Examiner respectfully disagree that this tables are from ¶[0071] mention relate to PUSCH time domain resource allocation. Xiong teaches a 2-bit indicator for the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission ¶[0059]-[0061], a set of repetition levels can be configured as (2, 4, 8, 16) and 2-bit indicator in the RAR may be used to indicate which repetition level is applied ¶[0057], and including the case when a coverage enhancement level may correspond to a transmission without repetitions ¶[0084].III. Applicant arguing that Xiong fails to disclose the specific mapping where codepoint ‘00’ corresponds to repetition number 1(no repetition). Examiner respectfully disagree. Xiong teaches that no repetition (repetition level =1) is a valid, selectable state within its repetition level. Selection mechanism based on coverage conditions. Xiong teaches when coverage is sufficient (high RSRP), the system logically selects the baseline set containing “no repetition” ¶[0083]-[0084], [0104].The Examiner has carefully considered applicant’s arguments but finds them unpersuasive. As demonstrated above, combination Wu and Xiong discloses all limitation of the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20220070938 A1) in view of Xiong et al. (US 20210251016 A1).
With regarding Claim 1, a user equipment (UE), comprising: transmission circuitry configured to transmit, to a base station, a random access preamble with a random access preamble identifier (RAPID) in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion (Fig. 1-2, [¶0043]-[0044], [0153].[0043] Preferably, the performing uplink data transmission via a contention-based RACH procedure, comprises: transmitting a MsgA, wherein the MsgA comprises a physical random access channel (PRACH) and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and the PUSCH carries the uplink data and a UE contention resolution identifier (ID); monitoring the MsgB, wherein the MsgB carries a UE contention resolution ID, and if the UE contention resolution ID carried by the MsgB is the same as the UE contention resolution ID carried by the PUSCH of the MsgA, the RACH procedure is characterized to be successfully contended.[0044] Preferably, the MsgB comprises: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); wherein, the PDSCH comprises a physical media access control (MAC) random access response (RAR) corresponding to the UE, and the MAC RAR indicates the UE contention resolution ID.[0153] the UE reads each MAC subheader until reads its own RAPID, that is, the Preamble ID indicated by the RAPID is the Preamble ID used by itself in the PRACH of MsgA;); and reception circuitry configured to receive, from the base station, a random access response (RAR) (Fig. 2, 10 - STEP 2. ¶[0044], [0131], [0228].[0044] Preferably, the MsgB comprises: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); wherein, the PDSCH comprises a physical media access control (MAC) random access response (RAR) corresponding to the UE, and the MAC RAR indicates the UE contention resolution ID.[0131] Embodiment 1. EDT Based on 2-step RACH Procedure (Media Access Control (MAC) Random Access Response (RAR) Indicates a Contention Resolution Signaling.), wherein the RAR including a medium access control (MAC) subPDU with the a-RAPID corresponding to the transmitted random access preamble (Fig. 3, ¶[0153]-[0154].[0153] When the payload sizes of different types of MAC RARs are identical, during the UE looks up its own MAC RAR in the MAC PDU, i.e., looking up a MAC RAR corresponding to the Preamble ID used by the UE in the PRACH of the MsgA, the behavior of the UE is the same as that of the existing systems, that is, the UE reads each MAC subheader until reads its own RAPID, that is, the Preamble ID indicated by the RAPID is the Preamble ID used by itself in the PRACH of MsgA; since the payload sizes of all MAC RARs are identical, the position of the MAC RAR corresponding to its own RAPID in the MAC PDU may be determined according to the position of its own RAPID in the MAC header.[0154] the UE reads each MAC subheader until reads its own RAPID, that is, the Preamble ID indicated by the RAPID is the Preamble ID used by itself in the PRACH of MsgA; since the payload sizes of MAC RARs corresponding to different RAPIDs may be different, the UE needs to read MAC RAPs corresponding to respective RAPIDs before reading its own RAPID to determine types and payload sizes thereof, and may determine the position of the MAC RAR corresponding to its own RAPID in the MAC PDU after reading all MAC RARs corresponding to all the previous RAPIDs.) the MAC subPDU including a RAR uplink (UL) grant (Fig. 7A-7B, 9 and ¶[0046], [0049], [0191]-[0192].[0046] the second type of MAC RAR, containing an uplink grant (UL Grant), wherein the UL Grant is used to schedule retransmission of the PUSCH of MsgA, or containing an UL Grant and at least one of a TA Command and a TC-RNTI. [0049] the second type of the DCI, containing the retransmission scheduling of the PUSCH of the MsgA, or containing the retransmission scheduling of the PUSCH in MsgA and at least one of a TA Command and a TC-RNTI.), one or more bits of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field included in the RAR UL grant are used to indicate a repetition number of a PUSCH that has been scheduled by the RAR UL grant (See Fig. 6A-6B, 9, 12 and ¶[0150]- [0151], [0155]-[0156], [0191]-[0192], [0243].[0191] Indicating MCS of the PUSCH retransmission, which may reuse the “Modulation and coding scheme (MCS)” field contained in the UL scheduling DCI or contained in the RAR grant in the existing system.[0196] Indicating the time domain resource assignment of the PDSCH, which may reuse the “Time domain resource assignment” field contained in UL scheduling DCI in the existing system.[0243] Optionally, the PUSCH of the MsgA or Msg3 PUSCH is configured to be transmitted based on multiple possible TBS values. For some TBS values, the number of time units assigned in the time domain exceeds 2 (including 2), and the transport block (TB) is based on the multiple time units for repeated transmission, that is, the coded and modulated TB is mapped to the time-frequency resource in one time unit, and is repeatedly transmitted in the time domain. For example, the number of repeat times of TBS #3 in FIG. 12 is 4, and the number of repeat times of TBS #2 is 2.); and Wu may not explicitly disclose transmission circuitry is further configured to transmit the PUSCH with the repetition number, the one or more bits is 2 bits, four codepoints of the 2 bits correspond to four predefined repetition numbers, a codepoint '00' corresponds to a repetition number with a value 1 and indicates a PUSCH transmission without repetition, and other codepoints, among the four codepoints, correspond to repetition numbers with a value above 1. However, in analogous art, Xiong disclose transmission circuitry further configured to transmit the PUSCH with the repetition number(See Claim 12 and ¶[0050], [0054]-[0059], Table 1-5.[0054] As above, for the 4-step RACH, coverage enhancement may be used for proper system operation. Embodiments for coverage enhancement for a Msg3 PUSCH are provided as follows. Note that in the following embodiments, a Msg3 PUSCH repetition may refer to a Msg3 PUSCH with a repetition scheduled by a RAR UL grant and/or fallback RAR UL grant or a Msg3 PUSCH retransmission with a repetition that is scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 with Cyclic Redundancy Error (CRC) scrambled by a temporary cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (TC-RNTI)). the one or more bits is 2 bits, four codepoints of the 2 bits correspond to four predefined repetition numbers, a codepoint '00' corresponds to a repetition number with a value 1 and indicates a PUSCH transmission without repetition, and other codepoints, among the four codepoints, correspond to repetition numbers with a value above 1 (See ¶[0056]-[0061], [0086], [0102], [0068]-[0070], [0083]-[0084], [0104]. Disclosed no repetition state that the repetition level framework includes “transmission without repetition, e.g., flowing Rel-15 specifications” this establishes that repetition=1 is a valid, selectable state, when coverage us sufficient (high RSRP), the system logically selects the baseline set containing no repetition, and assigning lowest binary value to the baseline default operational state (Rel-15), no repetition baseline is repetition number 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xiong to modify the system of Wu in order to provides random access procedures and Xiong teaches repurposing bits from the MCS field in the RAR UL grant to indicate PUSCH repetition numbers, 2 bit repetition indicator to assign one codepoint to baseline repeat count =1(no repetition), because that preserves the already defined baseline behavior and provides a complete 4 choice selector. 00is the all zero default for 2 bit filed and it is map the default code point to do nothing extra (no repetition) consistent with base line transmission behavior. This combination improving the power consumption of the UE, and the waste of system resources may be reduced Wu ¶[0017]. And NR may enable everything connected by wireless and deliver fast, rich contents and services by Xiong ¶[0048].
With regarding Claim 2, a base station, comprising: reception circuitry configured to receive, from a user equipment (UE), a random access preamble with a random access preamble identity (RAPID) in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion (Fig. 1-2, [¶0043]-[0044], [0153].[0043] Preferably, the performing uplink data transmission via a contention-based RACH procedure, comprises: transmitting a MsgA, wherein the MsgA comprises a physical random access channel (PRACH) and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and the PUSCH carries the uplink data and a UE contention resolution identifier (ID); monitoring the MsgB, wherein the MsgB carries a UE contention resolution ID, and if the UE contention resolution ID carried by the MsgB is the same as the UE contention resolution ID carried by the PUSCH of the MsgA, the RACH procedure is characterized to be successfully contended.[0044] Preferably, the MsgB comprises: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); wherein, the PDSCH comprises a physical media access control (MAC) random access response (RAR) corresponding to the UE, and the MAC RAR indicates the UE contention resolution ID.[0153] the UE reads each MAC subheader until reads its own RAPID, that is, the Preamble ID indicated by the RAPID is the Preamble ID used by itself in the PRACH of MsgA;); and control circuitry configured to generate a random access response (RAR) including a medium access control (MAC) sub-protocol data unit (subPDU) with the RAPID corresponding to the received random access preamble (Fig. 2, 3, 10 - STEP 2. ¶[0044], [0131], [0228], [0153]-[0154].[0044] Preferably, the MsgB comprises: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); wherein, the PDSCH comprises a physical media access control (MAC) random access response (RAR) corresponding to the UE, and the MAC RAR indicates the UE contention resolution ID.[0131] Embodiment 1. EDT Based on 2-step RACH Procedure (Media Access Control (MAC) Random Access Response (RAR) Indicates a Contention Resolution Signaling.[0153] When the payload sizes of different types of MAC RARs are identical, during the UE looks up its own MAC RAR in the MAC PDU, i.e., looking up a MAC RAR corresponding to the Preamble ID used by the UE in the PRACH of the MsgA, the behavior of the UE is the same as that of the existing systems, that is, the UE reads each MAC subheader until reads its own RAPID, that is, the Preamble ID indicated by the RAPID is the Preamble ID used by itself in the PRACH of MsgA;), wherein the MAC subPDU includes a RAR uplink (UL) grant (Fig. 7A-7B, 9 and ¶[0046], [0049], [0191]-[0192].[0046] the second type of MAC RAR, containing an uplink grant (UL Grant), wherein the UL Grant is used to schedule retransmission of the PUSCH of MsgA, or containing an UL Grant and at least one of a TA Command and a TC-RNTI. [0049] the second type of the DCI, containing the retransmission scheduling of the PUSCH of the MsgA, or containing the retransmission scheduling of the PUSCH in MsgA and at least one of a TA Command and a TC-RNTI.), one or more bits of the a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field included in the RAR UL grant are used to indicate a repetition number of a PUSCH that has been scheduled by the RAR UL grant (See Fig. 6A-6B, 9, 12 and ¶[0150]- [0151], [0155]-[0156], [0191]-[0192], [0243].[0191] Indicating MCS of the PUSCH retransmission, which may reuse the “Modulation and coding scheme (MCS)” field contained in the UL scheduling DCI or contained in the RAR grant in the existing system.[0196] Indicating the time domain resource assignment of the PDSCH, which may reuse the “Time domain resource assignment” field contained in UL scheduling DCI in the existing system.[0243] Optionally, the PUSCH of the MsgA or Msg3 PUSCH is configured to be transmitted based on multiple possible TBS values. For some TBS values, the number of time units assigned in the time domain exceeds 2 (including 2), and the transport block (TB) is based on the multiple time units for repeated transmission, that is, the coded and modulated TB is mapped to the time-frequency resource in one time unit, and is repeatedly transmitted in the time domain. For example, the number of repeat times of TBS #3 in FIG. 12 is 4, and the number of repeat times of TBS #2 is 2.); and Wu may not explicitly disclose the reception circuitry is further configured to receive the PUSCH with the repetition numb erg the one or more bits is 2 bits, four codepoints of the 2 bits correspond to four predefined repetition numbers, a codepoint '00' corresponds to a repetition number with a value 1 and indicates a PUSCH transmission without repetition, and other codepoints, among the four codepoints, correspond to repetition numbers with a value above 1. However, in analogous art, Xiong disclose the reception circuitry is further configured to receive the PUSCH with the repetition number, (See Table 1-5, and ¶[0059]-[0063], Claim 12 and ¶[0054]-[0057].[0059] In one example, assuming a 2-bit indicator for the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, the number of bits for the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field may be reduced from 4 to 2. In other words, only 4 rows of MCS table can be used for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission. As shown in the Table 1, the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission is explicitly indicated in the RAR UL grant)[0054] As above, for the 4-step RACH, coverage enhancement may be used for proper system operation. Embodiments for coverage enhancement for a Msg3 PUSCH are provided as follows. Note that in the following embodiments, a Msg3 PUSCH repetition may refer to a Msg3 PUSCH with a repetition scheduled by a RAR UL grant and/or fallback RAR UL grant or a Msg3 PUSCH retransmission with a repetition that is scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 with Cyclic Redundancy Error (CRC) scrambled by a temporary cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (TC-RNTI)). the one or more bits is 2 bits, four codepoints of the 2 bits correspond to four predefined repetition numbers, a codepoint '00' corresponds to a repetition number with a value 1 and indicates a PUSCH transmission without repetition, and other codepoints, among the four codepoints, correspond to repetition numbers with a value above 1 (See ¶[0056]-[0061], [0086], [0102], [0068]-[0070], [0083]-[0084], [0104]. Disclosed no repetition state that the repetition level framework includes “transmission without repetition, e.g., flowing Rel-15 specifications” this establishes that repetition=1 is a valid, selectable state, when coverage us sufficient (high RSRP), the system logically selects the baseline set containing no repetition, and assigning lowest binary value to the baseline default operational state (Rel-15), no repetition baseline is repetition number 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xiong to modify the system of Wu in order to provides random access procedures and Xiong teaches repurposing bits from the MCS field in the RAR UL grant to indicate PUSCH repetition numbers, 2 bit repetition indicator to assign one codepoint to baseline repeat count =1(no repetition), because that preserves the already defined baseline behavior and provides a complete 4 choice selector. 00is the all zero default for 2 bit filed and it is map the default code point to do nothing extra (no repetition) consistent with base line transmission behavior. This combination improving the power consumption of the UE, and the waste of system resources may be reduced Wu ¶[0017]. And NR may enable everything connected by wireless and deliver fast, rich contents and services by Xiong ¶[0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xiong to modify the system of Wu in order to provides random access procedures and Xiong teaches repurposing bits from the MCS field in the RAR UL grant to indicate PUSCH repetition numbers, 2 bit repetition indicator to assign one codepoint to baseline repeat count =1(no repetition), because that preserves the already defined baseline behavior and provides a complete 4 choice selector. 00is the all zero default for 2 bit filed and it is map the default code point to do nothing extra (no repetition) consistent with base line transmission behavior. This combination improving the power consumption of the UE, and the waste of system resources may be reduced Wu ¶[0017]. And NR may enable everything connected by wireless and deliver fast, rich contents and services by Xiong ¶[0048].
With regarding Claim 3, a method performed by a base station, the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a random access preamble with a random access preamble identity (RAPID) in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion(Fig. 1-2, [¶0043]-[0044], [0153].[0043] Preferably, the performing uplink data transmission via a contention-based RACH procedure, comprises: transmitting a MsgA, wherein the MsgA comprises a physical random access channel (PRACH) and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and the PUSCH carries the uplink data and a UE contention resolution identifier (ID); monitoring the MsgB, wherein the MsgB carries a UE contention resolution ID, and if the UE contention resolution ID carried by the MsgB is the same as the UE contention resolution ID carried by the PUSCH of the MsgA, the RACH procedure is characterized to be successfully contended.[0044] Preferably, the MsgB comprises: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); wherein, the PDSCH comprises a physical media access control (MAC) random access response (RAR) corresponding to the UE, and the MAC RAR indicates the UE contention resolution ID.[0153] the UE reads each MAC subheader until reads its own RAPID, that is, the Preamble ID indicated by the RAPID is the Preamble ID used by itself in the PRACH of MsgA;); generating a random access response (RAR) including a medium access control(MAC) sub-protocol data unit subPDU with a theRAPID corresponding to the received random access preamble (Fig. 3, ¶[0153]-[0154].[0153] When the payload sizes of different types of MAC RARs are identical, during the UE looks up its own MAC RAR in the MAC PDU, i.e., looking up a MAC RAR corresponding to the Preamble ID used by the UE in the PRACH of the MsgA, the behavior of the UE is the same as that of the existing systems, that is, the UE reads each MAC subheader until reads its own RAPID, that is, the Preamble ID indicated by the RAPID is the Preamble ID used by itself in the PRACH of MsgA; since the payload sizes of all MAC RARs are identical, the position of the MAC RAR corresponding to its own RAPID in the MAC PDU may be determined according to the position of its own RAPID in the MAC header.[0154] the UE reads each MAC subheader until reads its own RAPID, that is, the Preamble ID indicated by the RAPID is the Preamble ID used by itself in the PRACH of MsgA; since the payload sizes of MAC RARs corresponding to different RAPIDs may be different, the UE needs to read MAC RAPs corresponding to respective RAPIDs before reading its own RAPID to determine types and payload sizes thereof, and may determine the position of the MAC RAR corresponding to its own RAPID in the MAC PDU after reading all MAC RARs corresponding to all the previous RAPIDs.), wherein the MAC subPDU includes a RAR uplink(UL) grant (Fig. 7A-7B, 9 and ¶[0046], [0049], [0191]-[0192].[0046] the second type of MAC RAR, containing an uplink grant (UL Grant), wherein the UL Grant is used to schedule retransmission of the PUSCH of MsgA, or containing an UL Grant and at least one of a TA Command and a TC-RNTI. [0049] the second type of the DCI, containing the retransmission scheduling of the PUSCH of the MsgA, or containing the retransmission scheduling of the PUSCH in MsgA and at least one of a TA Command and a TC-RNTI.), and one or more bits of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field included in the RAR UL grant are used to indicate a repetition number of a PUSCH that has been scheduled by the RAR UL grant (See Fig. 6A-6B, 9, 12 and ¶[0150]- [0151], [0155]-[0156], [0191]-[0192], [0243].[0191] Indicating MCS of the PUSCH retransmission, which may reuse the “Modulation and coding scheme (MCS)” field contained in the UL scheduling DCI or contained in the RAR grant in the existing system.[0196] Indicating the time domain resource assignment of the PDSCH, which may reuse the “Time domain resource assignment” field contained in UL scheduling DCI in the existing system.[0243] Optionally, the PUSCH of the MsgA or Msg3 PUSCH is configured to be transmitted based on multiple possible TBS values. For some TBS values, the number of time units assigned in the time domain exceeds 2 (including 2), and the transport block (TB) is based on the multiple time units for repeated transmission, that is, the coded and modulated TB is mapped to the time-frequency resource in one time unit, and is repeatedly transmitted in the time domain. For example, the number of repeat times of TBS #3 in FIG. 12 is 4, and the number of repeat times of TBS #2 is 2.); and Wu may not explicitly disclose receiving the PUSCH with the repetition number, where in , the one or more bits is 2 bits, four codepoints of the 2 bits correspond to four predefined repetition numbers, a codepoint '00' corresponds to a repetition number with a value 1 and indicates a PUSCH transmission without repetition, and other codepoints, among the four codepoints, correspond to repetition numbers with a value above 1. However, in analogous art, Xiong disclose receiving the PUSCH with the repetition number, where in (See Claim 12 and ¶[0050], [0054]-[0059], Table 1-5.[0054] As above, for the 4-step RACH, coverage enhancement may be used for proper system operation. Embodiments for coverage enhancement for a Msg3 PUSCH are provided as follows. Note that in the following embodiments, a Msg3 PUSCH repetition may refer to a Msg3 PUSCH with a repetition scheduled by a RAR UL grant and/or fallback RAR UL grant or a Msg3 PUSCH retransmission with a repetition that is scheduled by a DCI format 0_0 with Cyclic Redundancy Error (CRC) scrambled by a temporary cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (TC-RNTI)). the one or more bits is 2 bits, four codepoints of the 2 bits correspond to four predefined repetition numbers, a codepoint '00' corresponds to a repetition number with a value 1 and indicates a PUSCH transmission without repetition, and other codepoints, among the four codepoints, correspond to repetition numbers with a value above 1 (See ¶[0056]-[0061], [0086], [0102], [0068]-[0070], [0083]-[0084], [0104]. Disclosed no repetition state that the repetition level framework includes “transmission without repetition, e.g., flowing Rel-15 specifications” this establishes that repetition=1 is a valid, selectable state, when coverage us sufficient (high RSRP), the system logically selects the baseline set containing no repetition, and assigning lowest binary value to the baseline default operational state (Rel-15), no repetition baseline is repetition number 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xiong to modify the system of Wu in order to provides random access procedures and Xiong teaches repurposing bits from the MCS field in the RAR UL grant to indicate PUSCH repetition numbers, 2 bit repetition indicator to assign one codepoint to baseline repeat count =1(no repetition), because that preserves the already defined baseline behavior and provides a complete 4 choice selector. 00is the all zero default for 2 bit filed and it is map the default code point to do nothing extra (no repetition) consistent with base line transmission behavior. This combination improving the power consumption of the UE, and the waste of system resources may be reduced Wu ¶[0017]. And NR may enable everything connected by wireless and deliver fast, rich contents and services by Xiong ¶[0048].
With regarding Claim 5, Wu in view of Xiong discloses all features of claims 1, wherein Wu may not explicitly disclose the one or more bits is 2 bits, and four codepoints of the 2 bits correspond to four repetition numbers, respectively, and wherein the four repetition numbers are indicated by a system information block However, in analogous art, Xiong disclose the one or more bits of the field is 2 bits, and four codepoints of the 2 bits correspond to four repetition numbers, respectively, wherein the four repetition numbers are indicated by a system information block Type 1 (SIB 1) (See ¶[0093], [0056], [0057]. [0093] In one option, a set of repetition levels for a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by SIB1 or the RMSI, e.g., {2, 4, 8, 16}. Then, the 2-bit field in the DCI for scheduling Msg4 can be used to indicate which repetition level is used for the transmission of the PUCCH. Alternatively, two bits in a MAC CE of Msg4 can be used to indicate which repetition level is used for the transmission of the PUCCH [0056] In another embodiment, a set of repetition levels for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can be configured by the RMSI or SIB1, and one field in the RAR can be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values.
[0057] In one example, a set of repetition levels can be configured as (2, 4, 8, 16) and 2-bit indicator in the RAR may be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xiong to modify the system of Wu ‘s RAR coverage mechanism to convey Xiong’s four repetition numbers, and SIB1, because Wu RAR UL grant coverage enhancement parameters and Xiong’s teaches the specific four-values repetition scheme. This combination teachings improves system efficiency: UEs receive the defined repetition values via SIB1, ensuring consistent system wide configuration, and RAR UL grant then select among those values using 2-bit codepoint.
With regarding Claim 7, Wu in view of Xiong discloses all features of claims 1and 5, wherein Wu may not explicitly disclose the one or more bits is 2 bits, and four codepoints of the 2 bits correspond to four repetition numbers, respectively, wherein the four repetition numbers are indicated by a system information block Type 1 (SIB 1) However, in analogous art, Xiong disclose the one or more bits is 2 bits, and four codepoints of the 2 bits correspond to four repetition numbers, respectively, and wherein the four repetition numbers are indicated by a system information block Type 1 (SIB 1) (See ¶[0093], [0056], [0057].[0093] In one option, a set of repetition levels for a PUCCH carrying a HARQ-ACK response of Msg4 can be predefined or configured by SIB1 or the RMSI, e.g., {2, 4, 8, 16}. Then, the 2-bit field in the DCI for scheduling Msg4 can be used to indicate which repetition level is used for the transmission of the PUCCH. Alternatively, two bits in a MAC CE of Msg4 can be used to indicate which repetition level is used for the transmission of the PUCCH [0056] In another embodiment, a set of repetition levels for a Msg3 PUSCH transmission can be configured by the RMSI or SIB1, and one field in the RAR can be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values.
[0057] In one example, a set of repetition levels can be configured as (2, 4, 8, 16) and 2-bit indicator in the RAR may be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xiong to modify the system of Wu ‘s RAR coverage mechanism to convey Xiong’s four repetition numbers, and SIB1, because Wu RAR UL grant coverage enhancement parameters and Xiong’s teaches the specific four-values repetition scheme. This combination teachings improves system efficiency: UEs receive the defined repetition values via SIB1, ensuring consistent system wide configuration, and RAR UL grant then select among those values using 2-bit codepoint.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHIVAKRISHNA . VALLAMDASU
Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468