Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by English translation of JP2013077462A (Fujisawa).
Regarding claim 1, Fujisawa teaches a copper foil as a current collector for a lithium battery (lithium ion secondary battery), and more particularly to a copper foil (current collector) that deposits a negative electrode active material to constitute a negative electrode [p. 1 lines 14-16, p. 3 lines 1-4]. Fujisawa teaches a laminated body comprising: a first metal layer containing copper [p. 1 line 39]; and a second metal layer containing nickel and laminated directly on the first metal layer [p. 3 lines 1-5] , wherein a first surface of the second metal layer is a surface in contact with the first metal layer, a second surface of the second metal layer is a reverse surface of the first surface, a thickness direction of the second metal layer is a direction approximately perpendicular to the first surface and oriented from the first surface toward the second surface [p. 4 line 17-24], a unit of a content of nickel in the second metal layer is % by mass [p. 3 line 5-6, p. 5 line 24-25], and the content of nickel in the second metal layer increases along the thickness direction [p. 8 lines 2—60 and p. 9 line 1-3].
Regarding claim 3, Fujisawa teaches wherein the second metal layer consists of a plurality of nickel-containing layers laminated in the thickness direction, and a content of nickel in each of the plurality of nickel-containing layers is different from each other [p. 4 lines 5-60, p. 5 line 1-2, p. 5 lines 41-47].
Regarding claim 5, Fujisawa teaches wherein the content of nickel in the second metal layer is the lowest in the vicinity of the first surface, increases stepwise along the thickness direction, and is the highest in the vicinity of the second surface [p. 3 line 5-6, p. 4 line 1-10; line 23-32] [p. 8 lines 2—60 and p. 9 line 1-3].
Regarding claim 6, Fujisawa teaches wherein the content of nickel in the second metal layer is the lowest in the vicinity of the first surface, increases continuously along the thickness direction, and is the highest in the vicinity of the second surface [p. 3 line 5-6; p. 4 line 1-10; lines 23-32] [p. 8 lines 2—60 and p. 9 line 1-3].
Regarding claim 7, Fujisawa teaches a negative electrode current collector for a lithium ion secondary battery, the negative electrode current collector comprising the laminated body according to claim 1 [p. 1 line 39-40].
Regarding claim 8, Fujisawa teaches a negative electrode for a lithium ion secondary battery, the negative electrode comprising: the negative electrode current collector according to claim 7; and a negative electrode active material layer containing a negative electrode active material, wherein the negative electrode active material layer is laminated directly on the second surface of the second metal layer [p. 1 line 31-40].
Regarding claim 9, Fujisawa teaches the negative electrode according to the negative electrode according to claim 8 wherein the negative electrode active material contains silicon [p. 1 36-37].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2013077462A (Fujisawa) in view of US20220127743A1 (Kaidi)
Regarding claim 2, Fujisawa does not teach wherein the second metal layer further contains at least one element selected from the group consisting of phosphorus and tungsten. Kaidi teaches A composite copper foil contains a carrier layer, a release layer and an ultra-thin copper layer in this order. In the composite copper foil, the release layer includes a binary alloy or a ternary alloy comprising nickel, and is formed into an amorphous layer, and the ultra-thin copper layer is peelable from the carrier layer [abs]. Kaidi teaches the second metal contains tungsten [0034, 0077]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fujisawa in view of Kaidi and incorporate the Tungsten in the second metal layer as doing so provides a composite copper foil that may not cause workability and quality problems because an increase in peel strength is small at high temperatures and a carrier layer may be easily peeled off from an ultra-thin copper layer [0013].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach the recitation claim in claim 4, “wherein a thickness of the first metal layer is represented by T1,a thickness of the second metal layer is represented by T2, and T2/T 1 is 0.6 or more and 1.0 or less.”. The closest prior art of record Fujisawa in view of Kaidi teach all the limitations recited in claim 1, however does not teach the relationship required of T2/T1 as claimed. Fujisawa teaches the first metal layer to have a thickness between 0.5-10µm tand the second metal to have a thickness of 5-50nm. Upon calculation, the prior art does not teach a value of T2/T1 to be between 0.6 or more and 1.0 or less; nor does it teach anything close to the required ranges. Neither the cited references or related prior art provide a rationale to include the limitations of claim 4.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/268,643 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both require the following limitations:
A laminated body comprising:
a first metal layer containing copper; and
a second metal layer containing nickel and laminated directly on the first metal layer,
wherein a first surface of the second metal layer is a surface in contact with the first metal layer,
a second surface of the second metal layer is a reverse face of the first surface,
a thickness direction of the second metal layer is a direction approximately perpendicular to the first surface and oriented from the first surface toward the second surface,
a unit of a content of nickel in the second metal layer is % by mass;
wherein the second metal layer further contains at least one element selected from the group consisting of phosphorus and tungsten,
wherein a thickness of the first metal layer is represented by T1,
a thickness of the second metal layer is represented by T2, and
T2/T1 is 0.6 or more and 1.0 or less,
the negative electrode current collector comprising the laminated body
a negative electrode active material layer containing a negative electrode active material,
wherein the negative electrode active material layer is laminated directly on the second surface of the second metal layer
wherein the negative electrode active material contains silicon.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/268,394 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both require the following limitations:
A laminated body comprising:
a first metal layer containing copper; and
a second metal layer containing nickel and directly laminated on the first metal layer,
wherein the second metal layer further contains at least one element selected from the group consisting of carbon, phosphorus, and tungsten,
the negative electrode current collector and
a negative electrode active material layer containing a negative electrode active material, wherein
the negative electrode active material layer is directly laminated on the second metal layer,
wherein the negative electrode active material contains silicon.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729