DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers (JAPAN 2020-212308 12/22/2020) required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements dated 9/8/2023; 11/5/2025; and 5/21/2025 have been considered and made of record.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“attachment/detachment portion” in claim 1;
“a sealing member” in claim 1;
“a transfer mechanism” in claim 1;
“a pressure application portion” in claim 2;
“a pressure application portion” in claim 3; and
“a medium management unit” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As discussed above, the claim element “transfer mechanism” is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f). Review of the disclosure fails to clearly identify the specific structure that corresponds with this claim element. Specifically, reference to “transfer mechanism” can only be found in the abstract and claims along with a reference in paragraph [0006] of the specification which do not identify any corresponding structure. While claims 2 and 3 appear to correlate some structure to this claim element, it is not clear how parts of previously recited claim elements can constitute the separate claim element of “a transfer mechanism”. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claims 2-9 are also considered indefinite because these claims depend from indefinite claim 1 and fail to cure the deficiencies of the claim from which they depend.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above in the rejection under 35 USC 112(b), the disclosure fails to clear identify any corresponding structure that performs the function related to the “transfer mechanism” claim element of claim 1. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-9 are included in this rejection because they depend from rejected claim 1 and fail to cure the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katayama et al. (US 2019/0382703) in view of Nozaki et al. (US 2015/0231628).
With respect to claim 1, the reference of Katayama et al. discloses:
A cell culture container (Figs. 1, 2 and 9) comprising:
an insert member (cell culture insert) (2) having a membrane (porous membrane)(3) on which a cell (epithelial cells)(6) is seeded, the insert member defining a first inner space that functions as an anaerobic chamber (anaerobic environment)(Fig. 1);
a container (culture tank)(1) having an attachment/detachment portion (top wall of culture tank (1) which includes opening (1a)) to and from which the insert member is attachable and detachable, the container defining a second inner space that functions as an aerobic chamber (aerobic environment)(Fig. 1); and
a sealing member (sealing agent/gasket)(4) that closes an opening of the aerobic chamber between the attachment/detachment portion and the insert member with the insert member being attached to the attachment/detachment portion.
As discussed previously, it is noted that the claim elements “attachment/detachment portion” and “a sealing member” are considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f).
With respect to “attachment/detachment portion”, the top wall of culture tank (1) which includes opening (1a) is considered a structural and functional equivalent to the top wall structure (12) of the container (10) with opening (12c) as shown in Fig. 1 of the instant application.
With respect to “a sealing member”, the sealing agent/gasket (4) is considered a structural and functional equivalent to the sealing gasket/o-ring (50) of the instant application.
Claim 1 differs by reciting that the culture container includes:
a transfer mechanism that transfers force to the sealing member, wherein
the sealing member closes the opening in response to an input of the force from the transfer mechanism, and allows the insert member to be detached from the container when application of the force from the transfer mechanism is released.
The reference of Nozaki et al. discloses that it is known in the art to provide a culture container (Figs. 1-3) that includes a container (105) and an insert member (113) with a transfer mechanism (115, 102 and 108) for transferring force to a sealing member (103), wherein the sealing member (103) closes the opening in structure (109) in response to an input of the force from the transfer mechanism (115, 102 and 108), and allows the insert member (113) to be detached from the container (105) when application of the force from the transfer mechanism is released.
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Katayama et al. to include a transfer mechanism as suggested by the reference of Nozaki et al. for the known and expected result of providing an art recognized means for maintaining the structural integrity of the seal between the culture container and the culture insert while allowing the insert device to be easily removed from the culture container.
As discussed previously, it is noted that the claim element “a transfer mechanism” is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f).
With respect to “a transfer mechanism”, elements (103, 115 and 108) are considered to be structural and functional equivalents to the elements (60, 40 and 61b) of the instant application.
With respect to claim 3, the structure encompassed by the combination of the references as discussed above with respect to claim 1 would include a first cover (115) wherein the sealing member is an o-ring (103) that covers the opening and the transfer mechanism has a pressure application portion (102) that is provided at the first cover (115) and that is pressed against the o-ring when the first cover (115) is fixed to the container (105).
With respect to claim 4, the reference of Katayama et al. discloses that the container (1) is provided with a through hole (1a) (Fig. 9) that communicates the second inner space (aerobic chamber) with outside of the container.
With respect to claim 5, while the reference of Katayama et al. discloses the use of an elastic member (4)(Fig. 9) that closes the through hole (1a)(Fig. 9), the reference does not disclose that it is attached to the first cover. However, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the elastic member between the first cover and the opening for the known and expected result of providing an art recognized means for maintaining the structural integrity of the seal between the elastic member and the sealed opening while allowing the opening to be easily uncovered after removal of the lid.
With respect to claim 9, the reference of Katayama et al. discloses the use of intestinal epithelial cells (¶[0081]-[0082]). With respect to the recited medium management unit, the reference of Nozaki et al. disclose that it is known in the art to provide the culture device with flow channel tubes (211-214) (Fig. 2A) for adding and/or removing fluids with respect to the chambers which would be a functional and structural equivalent to the recited “a medium management unit”.
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of the primary reference with a medium management unit that suctions and discharges a medium accommodated in at least one of the chambers as is conventional in the art as evidenced by the reference of Nozaki et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 6-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 2, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest a cell culture container, in the claimed environment or scope of claim, that includes a cover fixable to the container and includes a pressure application portion that presses a loop-shaped member against an o-ring positioned on a tapered portion of the attachment/detachment portion of the container.
With respect to claims 6 and 7, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest a cell culture container, in the claimed environment or scope of claim, that includes a second cover fixable to the container as required of claim 6.
With respect to claim 8, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest a cell culture container, in the claimed environment or scope of claim, wherein the upper wall of the container includes a standing wall protruding from the upper wall to support a flange portion of the insert member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references of Knebel et al. (US 2010/0129850) and Wilkes et al. (US 2007/0166817) are cited as prior art which pertains to cell culture containers that include cell culture inserts.
/William H. Beisner/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1799
WHB