DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are currently pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, drawn to claims 1-6 and 15 with election of species of 1-[2-[[1-(4-chlorophenyl)pyrazol-3-yl]oxymethyl]-3-methyl-phenyl]-4-methyl-tetrazol-5-one as compound I and [(1S,2S)-1-methyl-2-(o-tolyl)propyl] (2S)-2-[(4-methoxy-3-propanoyloxypyridine-2-carbonyl)amino]propanoate as compound II in the reply filed on 01/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that unity of invention is present as evidenced by the ISR. This is not found persuasive because unity of invention is not present since the technical feature (i.e. the fungicidal mixture comprising as active components – compound I and compound II selected from II-1 and II-2) is not a special technical feature because it fails to define a contribution over the prior art as discussed below in the 103(a) rejection. Therefore claims 1-15 are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept, and there is lack of unity of invention. not considered a unique special technical feature.
Claims 7-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01/16/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
In accordance with the MPEP, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species and the claims drawn to the elected species are allowable, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended (see MPEP 803.02). If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non-elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be reexamined. Id. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. Id. In the event prior art is found during reexamination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final. Id.
Applicants' elected species of 1-[2-[[1-(4-chlorophenyl)pyrazol-3-yl]oxymethyl]-3-methyl-phenyl]-4-methyl-tetrazol-5-one as compound I and [(1S,2S)-1-methyl-2-(o-tolyl)propyl] (2S)-2-[(4-methoxy-3-propanoyloxypyridine-2-carbonyl)amino]propanoate as compound II does not appear allowable, therefore the search and examination of the claims has not been extended beyond the elected species (see the following 35 USC 103(a) rejection).
Claim 3 does not read on the elected embodiment and are therefore considered withdrawn claims. Since the elected embodiment is not allowable, subject matter not embraced by the elected embodiment is therefore withdrawn from further consideration. It has been determined the entire scope claimed is not patentable.
Priority
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant's Information Disclosure Statements filed on 06/21/2023 and 07/27/2023 have been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copies of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection I
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BURNS et al (see WIPO Pub No. 2021/244950, pub. 12/09/2021 and filed 05/27/2021, which claims priority to EP 20178042.6, filed 06/30/2020, hereafter referred to as WO ‘950).
WO ‘950 discloses fungicidal composition comprising a mixture of components (A) and (B). WO ‘950 teaches that component (B) is a compound selected from metyltetraprole, which corresponds to compound I: 1-[2-[[1-(4-chlorophenyl)pyrazol-3-yl]oxymethyl]-3-methyl-phenyl]-4-methyl-tetrazol-5-one (see line 9, p. 2) as well as metarylpicoxamid, which corresponds to compound II-1: [(1S,2S)-1-methyl-2-(o-tolyl)propyl] (2S)-2-[(4-methoxy-3-propanoyloxypyridine-2-carbonyl)amino]propanoate (see line 19 of p. 3) of instant claim 1. Further, WO ‘950 teaches component (B) is taught in a particularly preferred set of embodiments selected from group consisting of metyltetraprole (see line 6, p. 16) and metarylpicoxamid (see line 19, p. 16). Further preferred compounds include mefentrifluconazole (see line 7, p. 16), which corresponds to a compound of claim 5. Additionally, the composition may comprise one or more further pesticides, which includes copper oxychloride (see claim 12, line 40, p. 293) and an agriculturally acceptable carrier (see claim 13, p. 295). This reads on claims 5-6. The weight ratio of component (A) to component (b) may be from 100:1 to 1:100, etc (see claim 7, p. 292). Regarding claim 15, WO ‘950 teaches that the active ingredients (i.e. the composition) may be mixed with adjuvants to give a suspension and diluted to treat plant propagation material (see p. 121) and exemplifies a formulation containing 28% of active ingredients.
Thus, prior to the filing of the instant application, following the teachings of WO ‘950, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine components metyltetraprole and metarylpicoxamid in order to form a fungicidal composition. MPEP 2144.06, Section I states that it is obvious to combine equivalents known for the same purpose. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). (That the two claimed types of active agents, GABA-a agonists and ARBs, were known to be useful for the same purpose—alleviating hypertension—alone can serve as a motivation to combine). In the instant case, both metyltetraprole and metarylpicoxamid are taught as active ingredients for a fungicidal composition. Thus, it would obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate a composition with said components to control or prevent infestation of plants by phytopathogenic microorganisms in order to discover a composition having maximal activity against the desires phytopathogens. MPEP 2144.06, Section II also states that “additionally, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In reFout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982)”.
Regarding the ratios of the compounds in the composition, as stated above, WO ‘950 teaches 100:1 to 1:100 as a starting point for two components in a fungicidal mixture. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine two components known to have activity against fungus using said ratios. MPEP 2114305, Section I teaches that "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (claimed alloy held obvious over prior art alloy that taught ranges of weight percentages overlapping, and in most instances completely encompassing, claimed ranges; furthermore, narrower ranges taught by reference overlapped all but one range in claimed invention). Further, MPEP 2144, Section II(A), states that differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is well known that "in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. See In re Swain et al., 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1250, 156 F.2d 239, 70 USPQ413.
Rejection II
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BURNS et al (see WIPO Pub No. 2021/244951, pub. 12/09/2021 and filed 05/27/2021, which claims priority to EP 20178040.0, filed 06/30/2020, hereafter referred to as WO ‘951).
WO ‘951 discloses fungicidal composition comprising a mixture of components (A) and (B). WO ‘951 teaches that component (B) is a compound selected from metyltetraprole, which corresponds to compound I: 1-[2-[[1-(4-chlorophenyl)pyrazol-3-yl]oxymethyl]-3-methyl-phenyl]-4-methyl-tetrazol-5-one (see line 11, p. 2) as well as metarylpicoxamid, which corresponds to compound II-1: [(1S,2S)-1-methyl-2-(o-tolyl)propyl] (2S)-2-[(4-methoxy-3-propanoyloxypyridine-2-carbonyl)amino]propanoate (see line 19 of p. 3) of instant claim 1. Further, WO ‘951 teaches component (B) is taught in a particularly preferred set of embodiments selected from group consisting of metyltetraprole (see line 12, p. 21) and metarylpicoxamid (see line 25, p. 21). Further preferred compounds can include mefentrifluconazole (see line 13, p. 21), which corresponds to claim 5. Additionally, WO ‘951 teaches the composition may comprise one or more further pesticides, which includes copper oxychloride (see claim 12, line 6, p. 276) and an agriculturally acceptable carrier (see claim 13, p. 277). The weight ratio of component (A) to component (b) may preferably be from 100:1 to 1:100, etc.
Thus, prior to the filing of the instant application, following the teachings of WO ‘950, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine components metyltetraprole and metarylpicoxamid in order to form a fungicidal composition. MPEP 2144.06, Section I states that it is obvious to combine equivalents known for the same purpose. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). (That the two claimed types of active agents, GABA-a agonists and ARBs, were known to be useful for the same purpose—alleviating hypertension—alone can serve as a motivation to combine). In the instant case, both metyltetraprole and metarylpicoxamid are taught as active ingredients for a fungicidal composition. Thus, it would obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate a composition with said components to control or prevent infestation of plants by phytopathogenic microorganisms in order to discover a composition having maximal activity against the desires phytopathogens. MPEP 2144.06, Section II also states that “additionally, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In reFout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982)”.
Regarding the ratios of the compounds in the composition, as stated above, WO ‘950 teaches 100:1 to 1:100 as a starting point for two components in a fungicidal mixture. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine two components known to have activity against fungus using said ratios. MPEP 2114305, Section I teaches that "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (claimed alloy held obvious over prior art alloy that taught ranges of weight percentages overlapping, and in most instances completely encompassing, claimed ranges; furthermore, narrower ranges taught by reference overlapped all but one range in claimed invention). Further, MPEP 2144, Section II(A), states that differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is well known that "in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. See In re Swain et al., 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1250, 156 F.2d 239, 70 USPQ413.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KAREN CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623