DETAILED ACTION
This office action was made in response to an amendment filed 3/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-19, 24, 25, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D’Elia et al (US 10,591,371). D’Elia discloses:
With regard to claim 17 - An external force measurement unit for measuring an external force applied to a spindle 210, the external force measurement unit comprising:
a load cell comprising:
a support ring 202;
a first flap 208 arranged on the support ring 202;
a second flap 208 (see Fig. 5A) arranged opposite to the first flap 208 on the support ring 202,
wherein each of the first flap 208 and the second flap 208 is arranged in a radial direction towards an outside of the support ring 202; and
a first bearing support adapted to take up a first bearing 201 in a first bearing seat 204, wherein the first bearing 201 is adapted to take up a rotating spindle 210;
a first strain gauge arranged on the first flap 208 (“A sensor 208 is located at positions shown as A, B, C, and D. In certain embodiments, bearing sensor assembly 550 is configured according to sensor array configuration 600, with strain gauges 560 disposed in positions A, B, C, and D.” – column 9, lines 15-19);
a second strain gauge arranged on the second flap 208 (see above); and
an evaluation unit 1503 for measuring a resistance of the first strain gauge and a resistance of the second strain gauge, wherein the resistance of the first strain gauge is measured separately from the resistance of the second strain gauge (“Load sensor 208 resistance varies as a function of the applied load (force). Supplying load sensors 208 with a reference voltage allows the voltage drop across the load sensors to be measured. In one embodiment, load sensor 208 outputs are amplified using an operational amplifier according to manufacturer's recommendations, with amplification controlled using a digitally variable resistor, which can be set by onboard processor 1503. Onboard processor 1503 reads a load sensor 208 and temperature sensor 1506 inputs by causing ADC 1504 to perform an ADC operation.” – column 14, lines 37-46).
With regard to claim 18 - with a first flap end and a second flap end being arranged at respective ends of the first flap 208 and the second flap 208 (see Fig. 5A).
With regard to claim 19 - wherein the evaluation unit 1503 is further adapted to:
determine an offset of the external force, determine a position of a lever arm of the spindle, and determine the external force applied to the spindle based on the resistance of the first strain gauge, the resistance of the second strain gauge, and the offset (“Load sensor 208 signals are used in power calculation by on board processor 1503. Hall Effect sensor 301 output state is changed as each magnet 212 on crank position sensor sleeve 205 passes the Hall Effect sensor 301 location. As described in further detail herein, an output signal from Hall Effect sensor 301 is used for crank position and crank velocity calculations necessary for power calculations by on board processor 1503. In one embodiment, temperature sensor 1506 changes resistance as a function of the ambient temperature. Also using a reference voltage, the voltage drop across the temperature sensor 1506 can be measured by ADC 1504. Conventional load sensors 208 can vary their output as a function of temperature. In one embodiment, temperature sensor 1506 signal information is used for calibration (temperature) compensation of the load sensor 208 signals. Various calibration curves, similar to FIG. 7, would be created in the desired range of operating temperatures. To calculate a load value (applied force) at a particular temperature, an interpolation would be performed using the calibration curves and the temperature indicated by temperature sensor 1506.” – Column 14, lines 46-67).
With regard to claim 24 - wherein the evaluation unit is configured to smooth the respective measured resistances of the first strain gauge and the second strain gauge over time through a low pass filter (“In one embodiment, power is measured using techniques disclosed herein to produce sequential power values. The sequential power values are then filtered using, for example, a conventional second order Butterworth filter to produce a smoother, more representative power output, shown in the upper plot (Filtered BB Power). Readings from a dynamometer in the same system are shown in the lower plot (Raw Dyno Power). As shown, the filtered plot in the upper graph is more intuitive and representative of cyclist power output and effort.” – column 11, lines 58-67).
With regard to claim 25 - wherein the evaluation unit is configured to:
determine a drift in the resistance of the first strain gauge and the resistance of the second strain gauge over time; and
recalibrate the first strain gauge and the second strain gauge by applying a drift compensation (“Method 1600 begins at step 1610, where power measurement system 200 samples one or more vertical bearing reaction values (e.g., vertical bearing reaction 1303). In one embodiment, electrical analog signals from load sensors 208 are sampled by ADC 1504 to generate corresponding ADC samples. The ADC samples are used as input values to a sensor calibration curve, with force values provided as corresponding outputs. In certain embodiments, sensor amplifier and filter 1505 amplifies and/or filters the electrical analog signals to generate processed analog signals to be digitized by ADC 1504.” – column 17, line 65 – column 18, line 8).
With regard to claim 27 - further comprising an angular encoder (Hall Effect sensor) configured to determine a radial position of the spindle (“Logic board 207 includes a Hall Effect sensor 301 configured to face inner sleeve 203. In certain embodiments, Hall Effect sensor 301 is positioned at least partially within a hole in inner sleeve 203, such that magnets 212 can be readily detected as crank position sensor sleeve 205 rotates. As a magnet 212 approaches, Hall Effect sensor 301 detects a magnetic field from the magnet 212 and generates a detection signal (e.g., a pulse or other form of signal). […] In another example, an optical sensor detects an optical mark such as a reflective surface (detection feature) brought into proximity of the optical presence sensor.” – column 5, line 65 – column 6, line 32).
With regard to claim 28 - wherein the spindle 210 is received inside a first bearing ring of a first bearing 201 and inside a second bearing ring of a second bearing 211.
Claim(s) 17, 18, 20-23, and 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rossberger et al (DE 10 2016 122 845). Rossberger discloses:
With regard to claim 17 - An external force measurement unit for measuring an external force applied to a spindle 35, the external force measurement unit comprising:
a load cell comprising:
a support ring 47;
a first flap 90 arranged on the support ring 47;
a second flap 90 (see Fig. 21) arranged opposite to the first flap 90 on the support ring 47,
wherein each of the first flap 90 and the second flap 90 is arranged in a radial direction towards an outside of the support ring 47; and
a first bearing support adapted to take up a first bearing 45 in a first bearing seat (see Fig. 11), wherein the first bearing 45 is adapted to take up a rotating spindle 35;
a first strain gauge 92 arranged on the first flap 90;
a second strain gauge 92 arranged on the second flap 90 (see Figs. 21 and 22); and
an evaluation unit 48 for measuring a resistance of the first strain gauge and a resistance of the second strain gauge, wherein the resistance of the first strain gauge is measured separately from the resistance of the second strain gauge (“The Tretwelle [sic] 35 is concentric to the rotor shaft 27 and to the output shaft 39 partly inside the rotor shaft 27 and partly inside the output shaft 39 arranged. The Tretwelle 35 is over a drive-side Tretwellen ball bearing 45 radially outward in a load cell 47 stored, in turn, in the motor housing 22 is used. A printed circuit board, also referred to as a "PCB force sensor" 48 with an electronic evaluation is at the load cell 47 attached and a connection of the circuit board 48 is via a ribbon cable 63 guided radially outward and with the electronics on the circuit board 23 connected.” – see translation, page 13).
With regard to claim 18 - with a first flap end and a second flap end being arranged at respective ends of the first flap 90 and the second flap 90 (see the ends of flaps 90 connected to outer ring 97, Figs. 21, 22).
With regard to claim 20 - a motor housing 22, wherein the first flap 90 and the second flap 90 are taken up in a load cell carrier seat in the motor housing 22 (see Fig. 31).
With regard to claim 21 - wherein the load cell is provided with a vertical guiding assembly that interacts with the motor housing 22 (see mounting holes 98).
With regard to claim 22 - wherein the vertical guiding assembly is provided as an anchor flap 91 defining a fixing pinhole 98, a symmetry axis of the fixing pinhole being essentially parallel to a symmetry axis of the support ring (see Figs. 21 and 22).
With regard to claim 23 - wherein in a mounted state of the load cell in the motor housing, a fixing pin is inserted into the fixing pinhole and into a corresponding anchor hole in the motor housing (“The outer ring 97 has four mounting holes 98 on, with which the load cell 47 at an in 1 Gear housing, not shown, can be fixed, wherein an end face of the outer ring 97 rests against the gear housing.” – see translation, page 24, Figs. 32 and 33).
With regard to claim 26 - a freewheel 49 connected to the spindle 35.
With regard to claim 27 - further comprising an angular encoder (Hall Effect sensor) configured to determine a radial position of the spindle (“The inner rotor shaft 27 is on the drive side to the outside through a drive-side rotor ball bearings 29 in the motor housing 22 stored. An outer ring of the drive-side rotor ball bearing 29 is in a cylindrical recess of the motor housing 22 arranged. On the drive side is axially adjacent to the outer rotor shaft 26 a sensor ring 45 on the inner rotor shaft 27 arranged, which has a Hall sensor 353 opposite, in the motor housing 22 is arranged.” – see translation, page 33)
With regard to claim 28 - wherein the spindle 35 is received inside a first bearing ring of a first bearing 45 and inside a second bearing ring of a second bearing 46 (see Fig. 20).
With regard to claim 29 - an electric drive for an electrically assisted bicycle, the electric drive comprising: an electric motor (20, 22, 26, 27), and the external force measurement unit according to claim 17.
With regard to claim 30 - further comprising a motor housing 22.
With regard to claim 31 - An electrically assisted bicycle with the electric drive according to claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossberger et al (DE 10 2016 122 845) in view of Fischer et al (EP 0496918). Rossberger discloses, with regard to claim 32, a spindle 35 provided in the vicinity of the external force measurement unit, wherein the spindle 35 is provided with magnetic material that is configured to cause a Hall sensor 353 to issue a signal upon rotation of the spindle 35. However, Rossberger fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of flux grooves extending longitudinally in parallel to a symmetry axis of the spindle, the flux grooves being arranged on a circumference in an outer cylindrical surface of the spindle. Fischer teaches a Hall Effect sensor for a spindle wherein the spindle is provided with magnetic material (“For this purpose, corresponding encoder parts with markings in the form of ferromagnetic teeth are connected to the crankshaft and the camshaft.” – see translation, page 1) that is configured to cause a Hall sensor 21, 22 to issue a signal upon rotation of the spindle, wherein a plurality of flux grooves R, L extending longitudinally in parallel to a symmetry axis of the spindle, the flux grooves being arranged on a circumference in an outer cylindrical surface of the spindle (see Figs. 1 and 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the force measurement unit of Rossberger with the teaching of Fischer such that the spindle includes a plurality of flux grooves extending longitudinally in parallel to a symmetry axis of the spindle, the flux grooves being arranged on a circumference in an outer cylindrical surface of the spindle, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow for the Hall effect sensor to accurately discern the rotational position of the spindle.
With regard to claim 33, Fischer teaches wherein a reference flux groove R of the plurality of flux grooves R, L has a different width in a circumferential direction and/or a different depth than other flux grooves of the plurality of flux grooves (see Figs. 1 and 2).
With regard to claim 34, Fischer teaches wherein a reference flux shoulder Z between these flux grooves has a different width in a circumferential direction than that of a flux shoulder between adjacent flux grooves of other flux grooves of the plurality of flux grooves (see Figs. 1 and 2).
With regard to claim 35, Rossberger discloses wherein the spindle is configured to receive a pedal crank at each of two spindle ends of the spindle (“Furthermore, the present application discloses a door shaft for a freewheel assembly, the door shaft having at a first end a first attachment area for a pedal crank and at a second end opposite thereto a second attachment area for a pedal crank.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the D’Elia reference, the load sensors 208 lie between inner bearing cup 202 and outer bearing cup 204. In the non-final rejection these two numbers were transposed, but Fig. 5A of the reference shows this configuration clearly. Thus, the load sensors 208, which correspond with the claimed flaps, are arranged in a radial direction towards an outside of the support ring 202.
Regarding the evaluation unit 1500 of D’Elia and whether it measures the resistances of the strain gauges separately, Fig. 8, along with the passage, “FIG. 8 is a plot of exemplary force measurements sampled from four load sensors 208” (column 10, lines 14-15), show that the resistance from the individual strain gauges is measured separately. Thus, the rejection in light of D’Elia is maintained.
With regard to Rossberg, the reference states, “According to a special embodiment, the load cell has four measuring ranges, which are arranged at intervals of 90 degrees. As a result, on the one hand a good support of the recorded in the load cell bearing can be achieved and on the other hand a measurement of defined radial forces are made possible, from which a torque acting on a crankshaft torque can be calculated, the crankshaft is supported by the bearing.” Thus, it discloses that the resistance from the individual strain gauges is measured separately, as required by claim 1. Fig. 41 also discloses two separate measurements of strain taken simultaneously. Thus, the Rossberg rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY WILHELM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617 June 11, 2026