DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (US 2014/0231769 A1) in view of Hyun (English translation of KR 20200100972 A obtained from Espacenet).
Regarding claims 1, 3-5, and 7-11, Nishimura teaches an organic electroluminescence device having improved lifetime by including an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer therebetween, wherein the organic layer includes an emitting layer, which further includes a first host material, a second host material, and a phosphorescent dopant material (abstract; ¶ [0227]-[0233]). Nishimura teaches a specific example of such a device in Example 6 which comprises H13 as the first host material and H6 as the second host material (see Table 1 on pg. 416). Compound H13 is reproduced below in comparison to the claimed Formula 1 (see structure on pg. 415).
H13:
Formula 1:
Compound H13 reads on the claimed Formula 1 wherein:
L is an unsubstituted C6 arylene (phenylene) (claim 3);
Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl) (claim 4);
Ar3 is hydrogen (claim 5);
D is not required to be present; and
n is an integer of 0.
H6 fails to read on the claimed Chemical Formula 2. However, Nishimura teaches the second host material may be represented by formula (30) (¶ [0039]). Additionally, Nishimura teaches the compound represented by formula (30) exhibits electron blocking capability or hole transporting capability (¶ [0227]).
formula (30):
Hyun teaches an organic luminescent compound represented by chemical formula I for use in an organic layer of an organic light-emitting device, wherein the compound provides the device with excellent luminous efficiency and quantum efficiency and improved lifetime (¶ [0012]-[0016], [0084], and [0205]). The compound may specifically be provided as a host in a light-emitting layer (¶ [0194]; Table 2 on pg. 43). Additionally, as the compound represented by chemical formula I may be used in a hole transport layer or an electron blocking layer, the compound has electron blocking and hole transporting capability (¶ [0053]). Examples of compounds represented by chemical formula I include compound 1 (see structure on pg. 13). Hyun’s compound 1 reads on Nishimura’s formula (30) (see Nishimura, ¶ [0039]-[0049]).
compound 1:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the second host compound of H6 in Nishimura’s Example 6 with a compound represented by Hyun’s chemical formula I, based on the teaching of Hyun. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a device with excellent luminous efficiency and quantum efficiency and improved lifetime, as taught by Hyun.
In particular, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select Hyun’s compound 1, because it would have been choosing from a list of exemplified compounds taught by Hyun and represented by chemical formula I, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in the light-emitting layer of the device of Nishimura in view of Hyun and possessing the benefits taught by Nishimura and Hyun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising second host compounds represented by Nishimura’s formula (30) having the benefits taught by Nishimura in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Hyun’s compound 1 fails to read on the claimed Chemical Formula 2 due to the attachment position of the arylamine group.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of Hyun’s compound 1 wherein the arylamine group
is provided in the highlighted location
. One of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would have been motivated to produce the positional isomers of the compound represented by Hyun’s chemical formula I in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful in the light-emitting layer of the device of Nishimura in view of Hyun and possess the properties taught by Hyun. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. Compounds which are positional isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II.
The modified compound 1 reads on Nishimura’s formula (30) wherein: Ar230 in each instance is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 12 ring carbon atoms; Y3 is O; L3 is a single bond; w is 1; R231 is hydrogen and R232 is a substituted alkoxy group that combines with an adjacent R232 to form a ring (see Nishimura, ¶ [0039]-[0049]). Accordingly, the modified Example 6 is expected to obtain the benefits of Nishimura.
The modified compound 1 is reproduced below in comparison to the claimed Chemical Formula 2.
modified 1:
2:
2-a:
The modified compound 1 reads on the claimed Chemical Formula 2 wherein:
A’1 is represented by Chemical Formula 2-a;
Ar’1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl) (claim 9);
L’ is a single bond (claim 8);
Ar’2 and Ar’3 are each an unsubstituted C12 aryl (biphenyl) (claim 10);
D is not required to be present; and
n’ is 0.
Additionally, the modified compound 1 reads on the claimed Chemical Formula 2-1 (claim 7) and the fifth claimed compound on pg. 115 of claim 11.
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Nishimura in view of Hyun teach the modified Example 6 comprising Nishimura’s compound H13 as the first host compound, as described above with respect to claim 1.
H13:
Compound H13 fails to read on the claimed Chemical Formula 1-2 due to the attachment position of the phenyl-triazine moiety. However, in formula (1), Nishimura does not limit the attachment of dibenzofuran to the remainder of the structure (¶ [0007]-[0017]).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Nishimura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of H13 wherein the phenyl-triazine moiety is attached in the 1-position of the dibenzofuran rather than the 2-position. One of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Nishimura’s formula (1) in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful as the first host in the light-emitting layer of the device of Nishimura in view of Hyun and possess the properties taught by Nishimura. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. Compounds which are positional isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II.
The modified H13 reads on the claimed Chemical Formula 1-1 (claim 2) and reads on the second claimed compound on pg. 54 in claim 6.
Contact Information
/BRAELYN R WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1786