DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims foreign priority to FR2014057 filed 12/23/20020. The instant application is a 371 of PCT/FR2021/052441 filed 12/23/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 09/21/2023, 08/07/2025 and 01/28/2026 all comply with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP §609. Accordingly, it has been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 Indefiniteness
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "at least one other filler" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 26 depends from claim 14. Claim 14 does not recite a filler, therefore the term at least one other filler is not supported by the claim from which claim 26 is depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A)Claims 14-22 and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maio et al (EP1588686A1 provided by applicant in the IDS filed 09/21/2023).
Maio recites a cosmetic composition with improved skin substantive, long wear and no-transfer properties comprising: 0.25% - 40% by weight of the composition of a particular silicone-containing polyurethane, in which the silicone pre-polymer is an alkoxylated, bis-hydroxyalkyl group terminated polydialkylsiloxane, in which the reactive OH- group is attached to a carbon atom, the silicone-containing polyurethane having a molecular weight of between 5,000 and 800,000, the balance comprising conventional cosmetic excipients, colourants and additives (Maio at claim 1). Maio further recites an Example 5 reproduced below;
.
Maio further teaches the use of 5 to 20% silica (Maio at [0043]). Maio teaches that the composition provides benefits to the film forming adhesive and sensorial properties of the cosmetic when applied to the lips (Maio at [0005-0006]).
Maio differs from the instant claims in this rejection insofar as it does not teach the combination of the instantly recited components with sufficient specificity for anticipation. Maio teaches the components of the instant recited composition and uses each component of their established function in the art but does not explicitly combine the components together into a single embodiment or a preferred composition.
However, given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the filing of the present patent application and following the teachings of Maio to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results. MPEP §2143 and §2144.06(I).
With regards to the amount of the silicone-polyurethane polymer it would have been prima facie obvious to have optimized the amount of polymer in the composition. Maio teaches 0.25% - 40% by weight of the composition of a particular silicone-containing polyurethane, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of at least 17.5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
B) Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maio et al (EP1588686A1 provided by applicant in the IDS filed 09/21/2023) as applied to claim14-22 and 34-28 above, and further in view of Ranade (WO2009/082565 provided by applicant in the IDS filed 09/21/2023).
The teachings of Maio are discussed above.
The teachings of Maio differ from instant claim 23 insofar as they do not teach specific silicas. The teachings of Ranade cure this deficit.
Ranade teaches a cosmetic with hydrophobized silica Aeroxide LE 3 type (Ranade at [0048]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the silica of Maio with the silica of Ranade for a cosmetic composition comprising silica. See MPEP 2144.06(I).
Double Patenting
Claims 14-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/268,650 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach a cosmetic with a silicone-polyurethane polymer and one or more linear or branched C8-C19 alkanes.
The instant application recites a cosmetic composition for care and/or make-up of keratinous materials, comprising, in a physiologically acceptable medium: a) a silicone/polyurethane polymer with an active material content of at least 17.5% by weight, relative to the total weight of the composition, b) one or more linear or branched C8-C19 alkanes, and c) a silica powder.
The reference application recites a homogeneous single-step cosmetic composition for applying make-up to keratin materials, comprising, in a physiologically acceptable medium, at least:- one or more linear or branched C8-C19 alkane(s);- one or more phenyl silicone oil(s) whose refractive index at 25°C is greater than 1.45 and having a viscosity at 25°C of greater than 100 mPa.s selected from the group consisting of oils of the INCI names phenylpropyldimethylsiloxysilicate, trimethyl pentaphenyl trisiloxane, trimethylsiloxyphenyl dimethicone, and mixtures thereof; and - a silicone-polyurethane polymer. (650’ at claim 1). The reference application recites wherein the composition is a liquid and anhydrous composition (650’ at claim 2). The reference application recites wherein the silicone- polyurethane polymer is present in the composition in an active material content ranging from 14 to 25%, by weight relative to the total weight of the said composition (650’ at claim 3). The reference application recites further comprising a lipophilic gelling agent (650’ at claim 4). The reference application recites wherein the branched C8- C19 alkanes are chosen from the group consisting of isododecane, isodecane,isohexadecane, hemi-squalane and mixtures thereof, and the linear C8-C19 alkanes are chosen from the group consisting of n-dodecane, n-undecane, n-tridecane, n-tetradecane,n-pentadecane and mixtures thereof. (650’ at claim 5). The reference application recites wherein the compositionfurther comprises one or more the silicone oil(s) comprising at least one phenyl group, whose refractive index at 25°C is greater than 1.45, are chosen selected from the group consisting of oils of the INCI names phenylpropyldimethylsiloxysilicate, diphenyldimethicone, diphenylsiloxyphenyltrimethicone, phenyltrimethicone, andmixtures thereof (650’ at claim 6). The reference application recites wherein the composition comprises at least one trimethyl pentaphenyl trisiloxane (650’ at claim 7). The reference application recites
(650’ at claim 8). The reference application recites further comprising a copolymer comprising carboxylate groups and polydimethylsiloxane groups (650’ at claim 9). The reference application recites wherein the composition comprises – isododecane; - a trimethyl pentaphenyl trisiloxane, and- a silicone-polyurethane polymer reaction product of a hydroxyl functionalized polyorganosiloxane of formula Ib:
(650’ at claim 10). The reference application recites further comprising an ingredient selected from a wax, a filler, a colouring agent and mixtures thereof (650’ at claim 11). The reference application recites wherein the fillers are chosen from the group consisting of silica powders, cellulose powders, cotton powders and mixtures thereof (650’ at claim 12). The reference application recites a cosmetic process for caring for and/or applying make-up to keratin materials, comprising the application, to the said keratin materials, of a composition (650’ at claim 13). The reference application recites further comprising at least one pigment (650’ at claim 14). The reference application recites further comprising a diphenylsiloxy phenyl trimethicone (650’ at claim 15).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are presently allowable.
Correspondence
/AMANDA MICHELLE PETRITSCH/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612