DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when these claim recites “1 to 9.5 parts by weight of carbon black master batch”, because the recitation does not set forth the content of carbon black in the carbon black master batch, thus it is not clear how much carbon black is included in the resin composition as claimed, thus render the scope of the claim is not clearly defined. Claims 2-8 are also rejected for depending from claim 1, thus inclusion of its indefinite features.
Claim 4 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when these claim recites “wherein the carbon black master batch has a particle size of 10 nm to 40 nm and a nitrogen adsorption specific surface area (NSA) of 150 to 250 m2/g.”. It is well-known in the art that a master batch of a colorant is generally in a form of pellet which is prepared by melt-extrusion of a mixture of resins and colorants, thus it is impossible to have pellet size in a nanometer range and extremely high surface area as claimed. In this office action, it is taken that the carbon black particle in the master batch has particle size and surface area as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minami (JP 2019167498, of record, ‘498 hereafter) in view of Monden (US 2011/0207846, ‘846 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-5, ‘498 discloses a resin composition for 3D printing ([0008]) comprising 100 parts by weight of polycarbonate (PC) resin having a viscosity average molecular weight of 14,000 to 30,000 ([0008]-[0027]); a polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) resin having an intrinsic viscosity of 0.5 to 1.2 dl/g, which inherently has a melting temperature falling within in the range of 215 to 235°C (PBT resin having melting temperature of 220 to 230 °C is well-known in the art, [0048], [0052]-[0055], [0064]); and preferably 15-45 parts by weight of carbon fiber (CF) having diameter 3 to 15 microns ([0039]-[0040]); wherein the content of PBT is preferably 1 to 10 parts per 100 part of PC ([0064]), and carbon fiber is preferably 15 to 45 parts per 100 parts of PC ([0008]), thus render the contents of PC, PBT and carbon fiber satisfying presently claimed ranges (such as Example 4, PC%=100/(100+25+8) =100/133=75.2 wt%, PBT%=8/133=6.0 wt%, CF%=25/133=18.8 wt%, estimated based on total resin composition). ‘498 discloses that the resin composition also contains a carbon black master batch ([0134]), but does not set forth the content of carbon black master batch in a range of 1 to 9.5. However, in the same filed of endeavor, ‘846 discloses a PC resin composition, wherein a master batch of carbon black is used to render the composition having needed black color with a content of carbon black master batch falling within the presently claimed range ([0029]-[0030], [0152]-[0158]), Table 3, G1 and G2, Table 8, Examples 17 and 18). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a carbon black master batch as taught by ‘846, to modify the resin composition of ‘498, in order to render a resin composition having desired black color. ‘846 also discloses that the particle size of the carbon black is 18 nm ([0154[, Table 3, G1 and G20) and a nitrogen adsorption specific surface area (NSA) can be of 50 to 400 m2/g, overlaps presently claimed range as in claim 4.
Regarding claims 6-8, modified ‘498 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘498 discloses the composition also includes other additives such as a lubricant [0097]), an ultraviolet absorber or light stabilizer ([0065]-0090]), an impact modifier ([0109]-[0115]), a matting agent ([0104]), a flame retardant ([0065]) or a mixture thereof; and a filament or pellet for 3D printing ([0123], strands reads upon filaments, [0131]) comprising the composition of any one of claims 1 to 6.
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782