DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and response filed on February 10, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 1-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 21, 2025. Claims 7-10 are directed to the elected invention and examined herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on February 05, 2026 has been considered. WO 2019/173058 has been lined through because this citation was cited on the PTO-892 attached to the November 13, 2025 Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dow Global Technologies LLC (WO 2019/173058).
Dow discloses an electrical steel sheet comprising an electrical steel sheet substrate (pg 25, line 14) and a bonding coating layer that includes an adhesive resin and a bonding additive (pg 20, lines 15-20). The adhesive resin is a polyurethane that can contain aromatic isocyanate components, such as 4, 4’-methylene-diphenyldiisocyanate and 2,4-methylene-diphenyldiisocyanate (pg 5, line 19-29), which reads on instantly claimed Chemical Formulas 5 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dow Global Technologies LLC (WO 2019/173058) in view of Posco (KR 10-2019-0078162, which is cited on IDS of 06/21/2023). US Pub 2021/0071047 is a family member English language equivalent to KR ‘162.
Dow does not specifically disclose an electrical steel sheet laminate comprising a plurality of electrical steel sheets. As noted above, Dow discloses that the adhesive coating can be used with electrical steel sheet substrates (pg 25, line 14). Dow further states that the adhesive exhibits good latency, long open times, and faster handling strength build up properties (pg 24, lines 3-6). Posco discloses that it is known in the art to bond a plurality of electrical steel sheets with a similar polyurethane-based adhesive in order to obtain a laminated structure suitable for use in motor or transformer applications [0004]. It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared an electrical steel sheet laminate suitable for use in motor or transformer application, as taught in Posco, using the steel sheets and adhesive components of Dow, motivated by the desire to obtain a laminate having desired latency and strength build up properties, as taught in Dow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The claim objections and rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the previous Office action are withdrawn in via of the present amendment and response.
The argument that Dow only discloses an adhesive for assembling vehicle parts and does not disclose an electrical steel sheet is not persuasive. Dow discloses the following (see page 25, lines 12-15): “Advantageously, the 2K PU adhesive of the present invention can be suitable as a structural adhesive. The 2K PU adhesive of the present invention can be used, for example, to bond together composites; coated metals such as e-coated steel, e-coated aluminum and the like; and sheet-molded compounds (SMC); and mixtures of such materials.” (Emphasis added).
The argument that POSCO discloses an electrical steel sheet and laminate but does not disclose Chemical Formula 5. This is recognized in the above rejection. However, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the present case, it is Dow that is relied upon to teach the adhesive having Chemical Formula 5, not POSCO, which is relied on to teach the electrical steel sheet laminate.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781